Dome vent cover breaking up

Submitted: Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 18:54
ThreadID: 70728 Views:3446 Replies:5 FollowUps:1
Hi all, I have a Windsor Genesis, not yet one year old and the dome covers on the rear vents have broken up. You can hold the plastic between your fingers and it just crumbles. I am in Coober Pedy at the moment and will be moving on our way home back to Perth. I have taken the domes off and taped up the vents as we will be hitting the wet weather soon. I was told by the place I bought the van from that perhaps I have parked the van for too long in the sun. He did not know what to say when I told the van was only 10 months old. One would think that these things would have a longer life. We have been on the road for two and ahalf months now and are having th time of our life.
Has this happened to any of you guys out there.
Thankyou in advance for your feed back

Reply By: Notso - Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 19:13

Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 19:13
I had the same problem with mine. The replacement I bought 2 years ago is still as good as new. I think they must have had a bad batch, or just used a lower grade in the original installation. The replacement one was thicker and more stiff than the original.
AnswerID: 374836

Reply By: Tessysdad - Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 19:27

Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 19:27
G'day Michael,
haven't had the problem myself but met up with a fellow on our travels who repairs caravans. He said he always carries a spare because they deteriorate as yours has. Most people I have spoken to say that they can only be expected to last 12-18 mths. Seems like you got a raw deal in that regard. When checking them out at Camec I was told the same story, so I asked if there was an alternative product which did better under UV. He said they were UV resistant, but made in the US of A. The other thing to watch is the opaque cover on your door handle light.

Happing vanning,
Mike and Jan.
AnswerID: 374838

Reply By: The Geriatric Gypsies - Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 19:35

Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 19:35
goodday micheal
we also own a genesis and have had a heap of problems with the dealer we now bypass the dealer and go straight to windsor the bloke you spoke to is a wanker as there is a crook batch of the vent lids ,we owned a coromal before this and had 1 break up also( there seems to be an expensive batch okay and a cheap batch that are crap) and the dealer told me they were having problems with them
.Ring windsor factory in melb 0399304900 and ask for helen she is the complaints dept tell her whats going on and not happy, should be a dealer along the way or a caravan repair place who can fix them but you have to get her ok so you can get them to pay or you pay and claim repair money back
we told our dealer we wouldnt bring a kids billy cart to the morons in his workshop
when we picked the van up there had been no predelivery ,grease on the floor batteries not connected properly fridge only connected to car batteries not the van supply the list goes on and as far as the salesman he was just lower than a politician(even lower than a snakes belly)lying mongrel

ps the van is great
AnswerID: 374842

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 20:55

Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 20:55
Our previous 2006 Van had the same problem, it just disintergrated, I went back to the dealer and he said it's a well know problem in the van industry, he ended up giving me two, one for a spare, our latest van has had no problem with the vent as yet, I was talking to a fellow some time back, and he said he painted his white, after the first one exploded, since then he has had no problems.

AnswerID: 374858

Follow Up By: Member - Niss42 - Friday, Jul 17, 2009 at 14:14

Friday, Jul 17, 2009 at 14:14
I had the same problem in May, the jensen hatch dome in the en suit just disintegrated. I contacted a Caravan service place ahead of us and ordered a replacement which I picked up a few days later.
If it is a Jensen brand, there are two models, I got up and took a photo which i emailed ahead to the service place.
I have of others spray painting them with silver to reflect the UV.

Barry
FollowupID: 642239

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Saturday, Jul 18, 2009 at 19:37

Saturday, Jul 18, 2009 at 19:37
Michael, there seems to be a problem largely with some European made acrylic covers.

Firstly there is a problem between the inner and outer skins. Two small drill holes underneath, but inside the sealed area help gas expansion between the layers. Inside the seal area as you don't want dust between the layers if you can help it.

Secondly, there is a lot of heat transfer and the UV light that breaks down the acrylic material, especially in caravans stored outside. I have seen aluminium strip stuck on, exterior foil or UV defensive plastics, though no one seems to know the life.

Others have used Thermoshield to paint over and that has a huge impact on reducing heat inside caravans in high solar active areas - like tropical and summer conditions.

I have seen some of their figures from February this year when at mid day with ambients were 30 degrees C, unprotected roofs were over 60 degrees, and a/c ducting the same. Protected surfaces were at about 30 +/- so a very considerable reduction in solar transmission.

You need to clean acrylic surfaces particularly well to get it prepared and give several coats and protect with a house Solarguard afterwards. It is an industrial coating that seems to work anyway as long as it gets some days to harden before you tow. I can post some pics if you wish.
AnswerID: 375092