Highway Robbery

Submitted: Saturday, Jul 18, 2009 at 20:22
ThreadID: 70776 Views:3393 Replies:7 FollowUps:6
Higway Robbery

This is an article in "The Monthly" from 2006, I just stumbled across but it's interesting re tourist behaviour.

Dont shoot the messenger if you object to it.
Colin.

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Saturday, Jul 18, 2009 at 20:41

Saturday, Jul 18, 2009 at 20:41
Hi Colin
I do not think that it is "Don't shoot the messenger if you object to it" If any of those that are responsible for those thefts, read your thread, they should be ashamed of themselves and can only be classed as "low life thieves".

It was an interesting read.

Who has been here

AnswerID: 375106

Reply By: Member - Rob S (NSW) - Saturday, Jul 18, 2009 at 20:42

Saturday, Jul 18, 2009 at 20:42
Hey Colin good read, the more money some people have the tighter they get or somthing like that.
What's got me worried is how have you come across that article from 2006 what have you been up to? LOL

Rob
I only ever made one mistake
and that's when I thought I was wrong!

AnswerID: 375107

Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Saturday, Jul 18, 2009 at 20:58

Saturday, Jul 18, 2009 at 20:58
Hi Rob
as you well know I lost a lot of time last year fixing my car LOL.

Someone told me about this article and i just found it today.

Cheers, Colin.
FollowupID: 642377

Follow Up By: Member - Cozzie Toodyay (WA) - Saturday, Jul 18, 2009 at 21:09

Saturday, Jul 18, 2009 at 21:09
Good read mate how true can't stop laughing
FollowupID: 642379

Reply By: The Geriatric Gypsies - Saturday, Jul 18, 2009 at 21:08

Saturday, Jul 18, 2009 at 21:08
goodday colin
they probably cut it up to drain out all the crook fuel they had bought from there during the day, we got fuel there on a trip and the truck didnt have enough power to pull the skin off a rice pudding for nearly an hour while i pumped over from the 2nd tank which i didnt fill there so they cant complain about being robbed

AnswerID: 375114

Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Saturday, Jul 18, 2009 at 21:23

Saturday, Jul 18, 2009 at 21:23
G'day Steve,
Hows the travel going? Will you and Denny still be at StGeorge??

Renate & I are looking forward to being there and then continue across to the Simpson from there.

Happy travels mate.
Colin.
FollowupID: 642383

Follow Up By: Kev - Member - Wynnum - Saturday, Jul 18, 2009 at 21:29

Saturday, Jul 18, 2009 at 21:29
Geri,

Sorry mate but two wrongs don't make a right.

Kev
FollowupID: 642386

Follow Up By: The Geriatric Gypsies - Saturday, Jul 18, 2009 at 23:44

Saturday, Jul 18, 2009 at 23:44
goodday col
yes we will be there will also have 2 of the grandkids with us

Kev
the price they charge out there someone was probably tgaking revenge for dodgy fuel

FollowupID: 642410

Reply By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Saturday, Jul 18, 2009 at 22:49

Saturday, Jul 18, 2009 at 22:49
It's not limited to outback places - at the pool/gym I go to in the fair city of Perth, it's amazing the number of people who nick the tap handles or shower roses from the shower, or just plain break them off!
AnswerID: 375123

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Sunday, Jul 19, 2009 at 08:16

Sunday, Jul 19, 2009 at 08:16
It allways amazes me when you see the amount of pilfering re the Taps and Shower Heads ect, I come across it all the time being in the Plumbing Game, and the easiest way to prevent it is to install Commercial Type Plumbing Fittings, that are VANDAL PROOF, they cost marginally more, but they save money in the end, one has to have a special tool to unscrew them ect, we have installed heaps of them and they never get knocked off.

AnswerID: 375136

Reply By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Sunday, Jul 19, 2009 at 10:33

Sunday, Jul 19, 2009 at 10:33
Colin
I know exactly what you mean, I lent a 1/3 length of garden hose with fittings to tourist a few weeks ago because his hose was about 3 m to short to reach a tap, that was the last I ever seen of it,
The park owner recently bought a really good power board so tourists would have power for when they were short on leads , it cost $130 and lasted 1 night, next morning they shot through with it,
it was exactly like the one shown below.

AnswerID: 375149

Reply By: Rolly - Sunday, Jul 19, 2009 at 15:35

Sunday, Jul 19, 2009 at 15:35
The attitudes that got many early of the early 'settlers' to this fair land a free passage 220 years ago seem to have lodged firmly in the mentality of the succeeding generations.

This 'petty pilfering' was alive and well when I first started using caravan parks in 1965 and seems not to have changed.

Public changing rooms and showers at beachside and other facilities suffer the same inexplicable losses.

It's the same attitude as prevails in industrial relations exercises: the "bosses" want to get as much out the workforce and pay them as little as they possibly can, and the "workers" take every opportunity to avoid effort, slope off early whenever no-one's looking and take unwarranted 'sickies' as if they are part of the annual leave entitlement.

So what's new ?????

AnswerID: 375198

Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Sunday, Jul 19, 2009 at 16:42

Sunday, Jul 19, 2009 at 16:42
Rolly, you replied "So what's new ?????"

Putting it so eloquently Rolly, that's what's new mate.
ROTFLMAO.
Colin.
FollowupID: 642461