Security in Port Augusta ?

Submitted: Sunday, Jul 19, 2009 at 00:25
ThreadID: 70780 Views:3576 Replies:9 FollowUps:1
Hi all ,

I'm at a mates place and I was talking about security and my mate said to lock up at port Augusta as the van park he stayed at had a huge fence around it and it was locked up after about 5 PM and 4 vans were still broken into as they were able to jump the fence! He is sure it was a popular park and had a good rep and said that I was mad to free camp around around there so what do you guys think ??

Cheers .

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Sunday, Jul 19, 2009 at 02:23

Sunday, Jul 19, 2009 at 02:23
Johny Boy

Just go and travel, stay in the park and see what it's like for yourself. don't worry about what other people say, just Nikkie it...

AnswerID: 375129

Reply By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Sunday, Jul 19, 2009 at 02:36

Sunday, Jul 19, 2009 at 02:36
Hi Johny boy, we stayed there last year on our way to Birdsville. We had no problems and we were in our tent, we made the point to take any valuables with us when we left the park though. The only problem that we had was the trains shunting so early in the morning.

The Park itself was good, was clean and tidy although quite muddy in patches as we had some storms during the night.

Deanna

Simba, our much missed baby.

AnswerID: 375130

Reply By: jdwynn (Adelaide) - Sunday, Jul 19, 2009 at 08:35

Sunday, Jul 19, 2009 at 08:35
I've stayed at the Big 4 a few times - no problems. In fact the place is great in a way - travellers can be crossing the country north south or east west, so its an interesting place to be and to have a chat. Cheers

AnswerID: 375138

Reply By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Sunday, Jul 19, 2009 at 09:23

Sunday, Jul 19, 2009 at 09:23
Johny Boy
When ever I'm passing through that area I stay at Port Augusta Caravan Park at Stirling North, entry is off Brook St.

AnswerID: 375140

Reply By: curious - Sunday, Jul 19, 2009 at 09:55

Sunday, Jul 19, 2009 at 09:55
I've stayed at the caravan park in Port Augusta many times without any problems. A couple of times during the night I've been woken by drunks yelling in nearby houses or streets but that can happen anywhere. Certainly no trouble with theft in the park. It's clean and well run; reasonably secure at night when it's locked up but determined thieves can always get in.
AnswerID: 375146

Reply By: bernie b - Sunday, Jul 19, 2009 at 11:41

Sunday, Jul 19, 2009 at 11:41
gday john,

there are plenty of places to free camp around the "gutta",i generally camp out at the tanks,on the eyre and lincoln hwy intersection.if your going north there is a great camp site ,rest area on the left about 10 ks out.if your going east,head up horrocks pass,theres a camp site halfway up and another one on top.if your going west,just after the tanks turnoff there is a dirt track running parralel to the highwaythat weaves amoungst the trees.if your going south to adelaide,there is a great site at mambray creek,about 50 ks out.south towards whyalla has two or three good shelterd caravan only(no trucks),rest areas.i always camp out,and enjoy the experience.port augusta township has unfortunately a well earned reputation for petty theft,etc,such a shame as it really has oodles of history and character.
cheers bernie
AnswerID: 375163

Reply By: Member - Peter (1) - Sunday, Jul 19, 2009 at 13:57

Sunday, Jul 19, 2009 at 13:57
G'day John,

I have recently returned from a trip which took me up the west coast, across to Darwin and down through the centre to Port Augusta and back to Perth. Whilst travelling down from Darwin I was told by many not to stay at Port Augusta as I would probably lose everything not tied down, I heard of cars being broken into at all the caravan parks and many things stolen, Big 4 and Shoreline being the worst. All the incidents were reported second or more hand, nobody I spoke to actually suffered a theft, two incidents which were repeated several times were 1. a handbag containing money and jewellery stolen out of car and 2. purse containing money and credit cards stolen out of vehicle. Both these supposedly stolen when parked in the caravan park.

The facts are 1. the handbag was stolen out of an "unlocked" car at the Arid Lands Park, NOT the caravan park where the people were staying and 2. the purse was stolen from the "unlocked" car in Woolies carpark, NOT the caravan park where the the people were staying.

How do I know all this? My niece's partner is a local copper in Port Augusta and was involded in both incidents, which happen about a year apart. In both incidents, the bag and purse and all contents, except for the money, was recovered. He told me that the local police are always locking unlocked vehicles left by tourist while they do the tourist bit or their shopping and is supprised there aren't more thefts. I also spoke to the people in the Big 4 caravan park about what I heard and was told that they often hear these tales and are at a lost as to where they originate. Yes there was a short period of time about five years ago when a team of young people went through the town stealing anything not locked down, but that was sorted out and is no longer a problem.

I am sorry to have got on my soap box over this, but as I grew up in Port Augusta back in the 50's and still have family living there which I visit regularly, I hate to hear people who do not have the facts run down a person or place just on hearsay.Port Augusta has no more problems than any other place and just because people who are too stupid to lock their vehicle and have something stolen should not blame the place entirely.

Peter (1)
It doesn't get any better than this!!!
Peter (1)

AnswerID: 375181

Follow Up By: Member - Mark (Tamworth NSW) - Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 22:27

Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 22:27
Dear Peter and John

I foolishly left my vehicle unlocked in the Big 4 at Port Augusta about 3 weeks ago. I was unware it was unlocked, casualty I suppose of 2 long days drive.
Yes my vehicle was "broken into" and $1000 worth of items stolen.
However, as 6 other vehicles in the park that night had their windows smashed as well as items stolen, perhaps I was better off having left it unlocked!

I was advised by someone who grew up ca 1 hour SE of Port Augusta to avoid Port Augusta and stay in a small town park before it, wish I had followed his advice. I asked him as I had read on this Forum previously that there were problems at Port Augusta, just as some other towns in my part of the world have problems, you do your best to avoid them.

Yes we will drop into Port Augusta in future and spend money in the town, the people were friendly and really helpful. But we won't be staying there.
As we found on our recent 3 weeks trek, often uncrowded small town caravan parks offer more enjoyable stays than larger town ones with more "stars".
FollowupID: 643604

Reply By: Pradobob - Sunday, Jul 19, 2009 at 14:57

Sunday, Jul 19, 2009 at 14:57
Stayed at Big 4 Port Augusta in September school holidays a couple of years ago. No problems with security.
Shopped in town, did the tourist bit, ate in restaurants, drank in pubs, no problem.
These negative rumours must have a detrimental effect on tourism. I take no notice of "a mate of a mate told me" etc rumours.
AnswerID: 375190

Reply By: Member - GREENDOG - Sunday, Jul 19, 2009 at 18:52

Sunday, Jul 19, 2009 at 18:52
We opted to stay at the Quorn C-P on our way to Birdsville instead of PT Augasta for this reason.cheer's GD
AnswerID: 375229