I’ve just lost seven years of my life.
Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 22, 2009 at 02:47
Kim and Damn Dog
I can’t believe how bloody dumb I am. At the wrong push of a button I’ve lost all the old photographs of the
Canning Stock Route, Day Dawn, and Alfred’s family photographs, including the connection with other families up in the Northern
Kimberley.
All my old drover’s and Abo contacts are lost as
well.
Elisa Canning if you’re listening in, I’m sorry about this girl, but one day we’ll drive a mob off cattle from Billuna to
Wiluna together in celebration of the Family’s history.
The maps are also gone. Just the effort we put into finding old maps took years. God if I could swear on this site....!!!!
I’m sitting here feeling a bit sorry for myself at the moment. This work was so important to me, and I really put my guts into writing a history off the
Kimberley and
Pilbara during those days.
I guess that’s the way life is, so I’ll have to start again.
Kim
Reply By: Oldsquizzy (Kununurra) - Wednesday, Jul 22, 2009 at 02:58
Wednesday, Jul 22, 2009 at 02:58
A good IT guy should be able to retrieve them for you..Dont do to much more to your putor and talk to David in the morning.
Follow Up By: landed eagle - Wednesday, Jul 22, 2009 at 06:57
Wednesday, Jul 22, 2009 at 06:57
That's right. The data isn't truly gone until the section of the hard drive it was on has been over-written with new data or formatted back to a blank drive.That's how the forensic police nab computer fraudsters.
I'll ask the question...........it's not in the recycle bin is it?
Pays to back up,I copy all my family photos ,etc onto a removable hard-drive and CD for safe keeping.
Reply By: Toadkeeper Jo aka Qlder Jo - Wednesday, Jul 22, 2009 at 05:54
Wednesday, Jul 22, 2009 at 05:54
yep, even though we can wipe stuff and can't get it back, those who really know what they are doing can.. I don't know how, I cannot get my brain around watching then do it but they can!
Good luck with it Kim... go deliver your comp to a Professional today and hoping we will hear that you have everything back again!
Follow Up By: Bushtrek - Wednesday, Jul 22, 2009 at 10:30
Wednesday, Jul 22, 2009 at 10:30
The data isn't truly deleted until it is overwriiten by some other activity you carry out on the computer. As "landed eagle" explained.
When you delete a file in Microsoft, all you do is disconnect the link address to that file from the main operating system MS DOS. The file stays there.
You can buy a small piece of software that recovers deleted files. It costs $60 thereabouts and is available from PC Tools.......called File Recover.
Works very
well for just this sort of accident, as long as you run it immediately after the deletion, and before you do anything else with your computer..
File Recover
Reply By: Member - Lotzi (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 22, 2009 at 07:26
Wednesday, Jul 22, 2009 at 07:26
Gday Kim
It all should still be on the computer, follow advice above and good luck, I know how you feel.
All the best with it.
Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 22, 2009 at 07:41
Wednesday, Jul 22, 2009 at 07:41
G/Day Kim
Sorry about what happened with the Computer, but as they all said just leave it and get an expert to retrieve it, I have done the same thing with some of our business files.
Reply By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Wednesday, Jul 22, 2009 at 07:47
Wednesday, Jul 22, 2009 at 07:47
Hi Kim
Like all have said above, there are ways of retrieving that deleted data. Also The most important thing for any computer, is BACK UP YOUR DATA. With the cost of an external USB portable backup Hard Drives, 500gb selling for under $130.00, these are the cheapest form of insurance for backing up all data and programmes on any computer. Also depending on the size and amount of data that you wish to backup, USB flash or pen drives are also a very cheap and portable way so saving data, or just burn the data and photos to either CD or DVD.
All the best and I hope that you are able to retrieve the lost data.
Reply By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 22, 2009 at 07:58
Wednesday, Jul 22, 2009 at 07:58
Hi Kim.
So easily done, I deleted my whole web site the other day. Kids took my mind off what I was doing, Instead of transferring the files to the server I deleted them from my computer. I hunted around the HD and found them :)
Try a program called
PC INSPECTOR
It's free. I haven't used it personally, I've only read about.
Give that a try.
Reply By: Member - Shane L - QLD - Wednesday, Jul 22, 2009 at 08:17
Wednesday, Jul 22, 2009 at 08:17
Hi Kim,
I have done this a couple of times as
well, all is not lost. Have you tried to "roll back"/restore your computer to before you "hit" the button/key? I found a very good program for retrieval of data and still have it that I could email to you if you want? it takes some time to run and recover but is way cheaper than paying through the nose for it.
let me know and I will send it to you.
Shane
Follow Up By: Member No 1- Wednesday, Jul 22, 2009 at 10:29
Wednesday, Jul 22, 2009 at 10:29
doing a restore does not get back your data
Reply By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 22, 2009 at 08:20
Wednesday, Jul 22, 2009 at 08:20
1st thing to do, though it's probably too late now, is to TURN THE COMPUTER OFF!!! As long as no further disk I/O is done then it's retrievable. The more it's used from now on the less likely you can get your data back.
Follow Up By: viz - Wednesday, Jul 22, 2009 at 12:08
Wednesday, Jul 22, 2009 at 12:08
Turn the computer off, retrieve the HDD and give it to s specialist who will mount the drive as an external HDD or 2nd drive. This way there is minimal i/o writing to disk which will overwrite the files.
You can do this yourself on another computer if you think you are capable - however I would not recommend loading any additional software onto the disk itself. Use another computer's drive to do that and then use THAT computer to inspect the HDD...
This is what I use for backup -
http://www.stardom.com.tw/sohoraid_feature.htm
Double redundant, automatic and I store one disk permanently off site and rotate it through the machine on a regular basis.
Expensive, yes, though one of the less expensive RAID options. But nothing in comparison of losing some 46,000 digital images which mean everything to me - they are my life for the last 8 years...
My sympathies mate, but all is not lost. Just need to spend a little money and time - you should get them all back.
viz
Reply By: Member - Barnray (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 22, 2009 at 09:05
Wednesday, Jul 22, 2009 at 09:05
R Studio recovery is also very good.Barnray
Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Wednesday, Jul 22, 2009 at 11:08
Wednesday, Jul 22, 2009 at 11:08
Gday Kim,
Like others have said...it may not all be lost, sometimes they can retreive some things.
Thats the photos Im talking about, not your 7 years and mental state! LOL
Hairy
Follow Up By: handy - Wednesday, Jul 22, 2009 at 11:47
Wednesday, Jul 22, 2009 at 11:47
i think the noise of his gun going off might of affected him lol
Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Wednesday, Jul 22, 2009 at 12:20
Wednesday, Jul 22, 2009 at 12:20
Hahahaha......It could be age too......
You know when people call him a gem?.........
What they mean is hes that bloody old and dry if you could get enough heat into him he would turn into a diamond!
Reply By: Dunco (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 22, 2009 at 12:33
Wednesday, Jul 22, 2009 at 12:33
Plenty of software out there to try.
Or just do a google search on Data Retrieval and you will see what options you have.....HEAPS !
Data Retrieval
Reply By: Member - Mfewster(SA) - Wednesday, Jul 22, 2009 at 14:41
Wednesday, Jul 22, 2009 at 14:41
Absolutely agree with those saying turn it off and don't touch it. I wouldn't try to get low cost data retrieval program and do it myself either. (unless the files I have lost aren't really importanta to me). As everyone says, the more it runs, the more you are likely to lose. We lost a hard disk two years ago and I was amazed at just what a Data retrieval mob was able to get back. Not cheap Cost a few $100. Depends on how much time you have and how thorough you want them to be. Really digging takes longer and hence costs more. They have techniques
well beyond the DIY programs.
I now have 3 back up systems. One on a second hard drive in the computer that can instantly rebuild everything including the operating system (Acronis). Also have 2 external plug in hard drives that are only used for files. One of these is at a friends place and a rotate these about once a monthe so if the computer is pinched or house burns down, I always have most of my files safe at another property.
Reply By: vk1dx - Wednesday, Jul 22, 2009 at 14:49
Wednesday, Jul 22, 2009 at 14:49
Sympathetic reader here. Bin-there-done-that. Maybe not as badly as you did as our photos are also on CD's and DVD's.
Now we have a terrabyte on each PC and it automatically backs up the complete pc every night. Its an incremental backup that retains old files as
well as gets a copy of any new file. Keep it all is my motto. So far that backup is 116Gb and increases by about 1Mb a week. Unless we go on a trip and then the photos add a bit more than that. We added 2.4Gb of photos from the recent
Kimberley trip. So it should last several years at that rate. We are not habitual upgraders so my estimation should stand.
I should have known better also. I worked in IT when I finished work.
Yep Thats life - Good attitude.
Reply By: TerraFirma - Wednesday, Jul 22, 2009 at 16:34
Wednesday, Jul 22, 2009 at 16:34
Don't panic drop it in to a memory recovery place and they will retrieve it all, my mate did the same thing. (Camera Memory Card or Hard Drive)
Reply By: Kim and Damn Dog - Wednesday, Jul 22, 2009 at 19:09
Wednesday, Jul 22, 2009 at 19:09
Thank you all for your advice. It’s very much appreciated, and I really mean that.
I’ll have a look at all the suggestions and hopefully retrieve the data.
As for you Hairy, I’ll populate your back yard with these old bones one day, just to buggar up the blades on your mower! LOL
Kim
Follow Up By: viz - Wednesday, Jul 22, 2009 at 19:44
Wednesday, Jul 22, 2009 at 19:44
Let us know how you go mate - something like this gives us all the horrors - be good to find out that you succeeded in getting your files back...
viz
Reply By: poppypat - Wednesday, Jul 22, 2009 at 21:16
Wednesday, Jul 22, 2009 at 21:16
How did you lose them if you deleted them to the hard drive to the rec/bin hit restore that should tell what program you are using it might be lost it is hard to wipe it out it might still be there let me know supa252@hotmail.com i might be able to help you kind regards Pat,s wife Sue .
Reply By: Richard Kovac - Wednesday, Jul 22, 2009 at 22:11
Wednesday, Jul 22, 2009 at 22:11
Kim
Was the button a Big Red one? if you formated a drive then maybe no hope, but if you only deleted it then it can be recovered, (remember undelete in Windows 3.1 all it does is un-address it sort off..
Follow Up By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 08:09
Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 08:09
Even a formatted drive can be recovered.
Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 10:25
Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 10:25
I found this
"Formatting the drive erases a large amount of data present on it, but not all the data. The recovery of the data depends on the fragmentation of the file system as the parts of files are being placed on different
places in the drive. The data recovery software will assume that files were not fragmented and stored in continuous clusters. If the partition was formatted using different file system, then recovery process will be very complicated."
Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 22, 2009 at 22:11
Wednesday, Jul 22, 2009 at 22:11
Depending on whether your hard drive is formatted in Fat 32 or NTFS a very very good recovery program is GETDATA BACK FAT32 or GETDATABACK ntfs
You do need a second drive to recover the files to however.
This works better in FAT 32 than it does in NTFS.
I accidentally formatted a large drive with all my good stuff on it and it was going to cost $800 to get it done by a HDD recovery place.
3 hours later had it all back perfectly.
I now have a 1 tb external disk which I constantly back up all my pics onto.
For about $225 is a very good investment.
You must have not been paying attention cos when you delete something windoze always asks "Are you sure you want to delete these files"
Check your recycle bin they may be still there DONT USE THE DRIVE AT ALL as it makes it much harder to recover the files.
Follow Up By: warfer69 - Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 19:51
Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 19:51
I'll second that software Graham,To erase disk i use the ol Killdisk before reloading windows..
Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 20:11
Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 20:11
I actually had F Disked the drive and it still got the 28 gig of stuff I needed
Even Fdisking or using something like a commercial cleaner will not prevent getting data back.
The only real way is to drill holes in it and drop it in acid for about a week.
Follow Up By: warfer69 - Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 20:21
Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 20:21
Hiya Graham
Not surprised with fdisk but next time try killdisk if ya got nothing better to do lol,it has about 3 available methods,each taking a longer time...
I'm with ya there but i use a Mash Hammer lol
Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 20:45
Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 20:45
I use BC Wipe which can erase it to military specs but Im told that even after that a specialist like the FBI can actually retrieve even after that.
Only acid, a drill or the hammer is definite.
Reply By: Member - Flynnie (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 19:09
Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 19:09
For my 2 cents I agree with the advice of turn it off and do nothing yourself except take it to an expert.
If you were familiar enough with data recovery techniques yourself you would not have posted the message in the first place. It is NOT the time to learn this skill now. Get a professional to do it and be prepared to pay.
Once you have your data back that is the time to start doing backups. I use Acronis and several external storage drives which are rotated. One is off site so even if the house burns down I will have still have a copy.
DO NOT ATTEMPT the recovery yourself or most likely you will permanently loose stuff.
Reply By: Lindsay & Aj - Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 17:10
Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 17:10
If you send me the hard drive i will retrieve all the data if it hasn't all ready been done. Im in
Adelaide and do data retrieval. I have access to be able to retrieve dead or working hard drives and flash drives to . Please email me at. order@matrixcomputers.org if you want some help
Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Thoughtfully- Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 20:27
Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 20:27
At the risk of being droll Kim you should be more religious, because JESUS SAVES!
I have lots of memories of children saved on 4 hard drives on 3 pooters.
Next time that might be a good option.
You should get most back mate. Good luck