80 series electric windows

Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 22, 2009 at 16:10
ThreadID: 70882 Views:2494 Replies:6 FollowUps:1
No doubt this has been raised before but buggered if I can find any posts on the subject.
Recently I was in the cold country and the electric windows on the GXL were even slower than normal. Worse than that - they wouldn't go down all the way and almost got stuck. Eventually did get them back up but ever so slowly.
Wasn't necessarily freezing when this happened but was cold. Batteries OK.
They work fine again, albeit slow as usual, now that we're back in Brissie.
Any suggestions on why this happens and the solution (other than staying away from cold places) would be appreciated.
Thanks from the Moose.

Reply By: Member - John - Wednesday, Jul 22, 2009 at 16:51

Wednesday, Jul 22, 2009 at 16:51
G'day, have you tried graphite in the tracks?

AnswerID: 375686

Reply By: Max - Sydney - Wednesday, Jul 22, 2009 at 17:36

Wednesday, Jul 22, 2009 at 17:36
Moose

I've got a '97 GXL and have never experienced that problem, nor have I ever thought that the windows were slow. (But then there are those who would say that I am slow).

I wonder if the linkages in the doors need a bit of lubrication and / or the tracks need adjustment.

Its a long shot, but I'd wriggle the main fuse in its holder and make sure that connectors at the back of the fuse box are not loose causing a bit of voltage drop that gets worse when its cold. And the connectors to the door switches and the power window master switch (which i guess is a relay). And of course, the old stand by - are the battery earth lead connections clean and tight at both ends?

Not much help I'm afraid but worth doing to be sure.

Max
AnswerID: 375692

Reply By: Volvo driver - Wednesday, Jul 22, 2009 at 19:50

Wednesday, Jul 22, 2009 at 19:50
mine does the same thing on cold mornings or when there's been a heavy frost..
don't know how to fix it other than not opening the windows when it's freezing anyway
AnswerID: 375716

Reply By: Member - DOZER- Wednesday, Jul 22, 2009 at 21:51

Wednesday, Jul 22, 2009 at 21:51
sum1 has sprayed fish oil in your doors previously and its in the tracks.
AnswerID: 375745

Reply By: Hunt - Wednesday, Jul 22, 2009 at 21:58

Wednesday, Jul 22, 2009 at 21:58
Gday, I have a 96 model and thought that I was the only one with this problem. I have tried graphite in the tracks also lubed every movable part all electrical connections have been checked but it has made no difference.
Have found that the front passenger side is the worst and the back windows don't seem to be affected and in summer not a problem.
I do live in a cold climate so any useful idea's would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks in advance.
AnswerID: 375746

Follow Up By: Levenx (Sth Coast NSW) - Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 21:53

Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 21:53
gosh, that sounds exactly like my windows!!
FollowupID: 643250

Reply By: Member - Matt & Caz H (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 15:20

Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 15:20
Hey Moose

Our 80 series doesn't like the cold either - we noticed this in Tassie - we have a 97 40th Ann TD we are now in Kununurra and its around 35deg every day and no window issues at all!!!

Caz
AnswerID: 375832