Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 22, 2009 at 23:32
MakFloyd
About to put an offer in on 2004 GXL 4.7lt. V8 Petrol
With 90,000km on clock. Was hoping someone can tell me whether 40k is a reasonable price to pay with all options below;
2 inch lift ,33" BFG At's, 3 inch Mandrel Exhuast, Pacemakers, K&N Filter, 1200lb winch, Blackwidow Drawers (with fridge slide), UHF in o/h console, HID spots, wiring upgrade, Rino roof rack.
Reply By: Flywest - Wednesday, Jul 22, 2009 at 23:42
Wednesday, Jul 22, 2009 at 23:42
It's a thirsty engine basically which is why you find em available - those who bought them can't afford to run them.
Dunno if you still get the 2 govt rebates on LPG conversion (totaling 3 grand) but if you do, it COULD be a good buy because it might then become affordable to run.
To my way of thinking - (being an old phart) the high lift etc reeks of
young hoons vehicle - hammered off road for the mere fun of it and the best part of it's trouble free life knocked out of it.
I'd offer 35 maybe....allowing you $ to spend on LPG conversion.
That or offer 20K and invest the other 20 k in BP shares, and use the annual dividend cheque to pay for fuel, for the life of the vehicle.
They are out there in the market place for a reason...they gobble fuel!
IF you can live with that -its a great buy!
Few can - spending half your weekly earn at the fuel bowser, and most of it in excise taxes of one type ro another gets old real fast!
The fuel efficient T diesels are hard to find & hold their price - for a reason, because they get good economy and are cheap to run.
The petrol models are capable enough off road.
If you can afford to feed it - when it's eating you out of house n home then knock yourself out and buy it.
Follow Up By: Member - Ivan (ACT) - Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 07:29
Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 07:29
I'm not sure that a 2" lift indicates hoons at all - more to the point - who doesn't have a 2" lift if they are going to use the vehicle offroad, and need additional clearance..
I have one of these and average 18lt per 100 around town and 24 offroad - recent trip across the Simpson only put those figures a few notches above some of the T/Ds.
Having said that, I think 40 is a bit high.
Follow Up By: Paul (WA) - Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 18:33
Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 18:33
I agree with Ivan
I'm not sure that a 2" lift indicates hoons at all. I had
mine lifted by ARB by 2 " about 3 years ago and to look at the vehicle, you wouldn't easily notice the difference.
My fuel consumption sits at around 6.5km/l on the bitumen - halve that for sand driving. With the 180 litre sub
tank replacement (270 litres) there is adequate fuel capacity to get to most
places of interest.
I am very happy with the performance of the engine and the vehicle.
Only engine repair in 4.5 years (since new) has been replacement of the engine oil pressure switch. Only other mechanical replacement has been new CV boots.
A very reliable and enjoyable car to drive
40 is a bit high
Follow Up By: Dunco (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 22:20
Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 22:20
Flywest....I have a 2007 V8 and I can afford it...it isn't all that much different than a diesel..
When diesel drivers tell the truth that is :-)
Reply By: Member - Captain (WA) - Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 00:20
Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 00:20
About six months ago my brother bought a 2002 Lexus 4.7 with 160,000 for $26K. This was in original condition, has full Lexus features (4" adjustable
suspension, full leather, full electrics, traction control, HID high beam etc...) and has performed faultlessly for the 6 months he has had it.
The new price of the options listed for the GXL would be <<$10K and their value now would be $3-4K at best IMHO - and thats if you want the features. So lets say the GXL is now $36K, my preference would still be for the Lexus at $26K.
If you are keen on the GXL, I would be offering much less than the $40K. V8 petrols are not as popular a choice and depreciate significantly compared to a diesel. But any deal where both parties are happy with the price is a good deal.
Reply By: muzzgit - Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 01:45
Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 01:45
One thing you need to remember is you rarely get your money back on accesories, and he may be trying to recoup some money he has spent on some of those toys.
As for the fuel consumption, if it doesn't concern you, get it. Maybe find out who his mechanic is and have a chat.
-----------------------------------------------------
A fella at work owned a 2.8 patrol and tows a big (big ish) van. He got Tee boned earlier this year and has bought a V8 100 series. I can only go by what he said, but he recons sitting on about 95 klm/h with his van on the consumption isn't much worse then the 2.8 was when it was screeming it's nuts off trying to do 95klm/h.
Obviously when he gets a rush of blood to the head and tries to keep up with others then the fuel consumption is woefull.
Reply By: png62 - Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 08:29
Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 08:29
G'day MakFloyd, this is one of those posts that can bring out the " I can't afford one so why should you have all the fun" answers. Much better to stick to facts.
The petrol engine is more costly fuel wise than the diesel, it is cheaper to service, it is cheaper to purchase in the first instance. If you are planning lots of long, long, long range stuff you may need to fit a long range
tank. It has 145 ltrs fuel capacity and typically give you about 17ltrs/100klms ie roughly 800kl range between filling up. A terrific vehicle with an engine as smooth as silk and delightful to listen to.
Checkout the redbook.com.au or carsales.com.au sites for price comparisons - always keep in mind the price you have been quoted is the "asking" price, negotiate it down to a price both you and the seller can be happy with and it is a win/win.
My personal opinion is that it is a little on the high side but that is relative to condition, others being available (supply and demand) BUT most importantly how much do you WANT it?
P.S. I am biased I drive a 2005 GXL LC100 series with the 1HZ diesel and live axle version.
Reply By: Member - Tony V (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 09:07
Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 09:07
As a LC100 4.7 V8 owner (with LPG) I can say I am extremely happy with my vehicle, 33" tyres, 2" lift, draws and winch. but with 160,000 kms (I suppose to some including the NSW Government, i'm a hoon).
I brought
mine new in 2004 with LPG fitted via the dealer for $61k on road. The $12k cost saving against the diesel pays for the difference in Ltrs per 100kms and cheaper service cost. LPG makes it more viable, however crossing the Simpson means carring extra fuel due to LPG.
Great touring vehicle. The new LC200 has increased the 100 value just a little but as with most
views here, $40k seems too much.
You will need to decide on the value of the add on's and if they are worth the extra $10k, example Winch $1,500 - 2" lift $1000 - Tyres $1800 if new - etc. etc.
REDBOOK Redbook prices below.
* Private Price Guide $29,400 - $32,900
* Trade In Price Guide $21,900 - $25,400
* Average Km 80,000 - 130,000
Reply By: vk1dx - Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 09:11
Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 09:11
Please feel free to go your own way but I suggest you look again at a diesel.
We recently loaded it up to about 3500kg (bit high we know) and on the drive to
Adelaide on bitumen we got 10.6lt per 100Km. Naturally more on the dirt and at this stage don't care how much per lt. Just how much per
tank.
Paid 43K for ours at Christmas with 120K on the clock. Excellent condition. A few scratches but the appearance was not important. No extras just the 2005 HDJ100 auto. Haven't done any of the sums for the dirt. We were just surprised when we filled up in
Adelaide. Not needing any fuel before then! Worked out the usage before leaving the servo. 10.6 wow.
Reply By: fisho64 - Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 10:43
Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 10:43
Mak, make sure the lift at the front has been done with a diff drop kit, if not the CV's suffer and fail as
mine did. I bought it at 100,000K and not sure how long torsion bars had been wound up but it ripped the guts out when I got sand bogged.
Not sure whick "
young hoons" would be buying that vehicle as mentioned by someone else here?
Reply By: familyguy - Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 20:10
Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 20:10
I recently purchased a 2003 for just under $30k with only a couple of the minor extras listed.
Mine also has more K's
I spent at least three months trawling all the sites on the net.
1 point is where are you? I noticed the replies from WA thought $40k was too much. When researching I noticed they were cheaper in WA and QLD.
If you are in Victoria like me they seemed to be more $ and there was fewer of them for sale.
With regard to the extras. If you intended to fit them yourself then they are worth it. If not they are just a bonus. Ie: During my research I saw similar cars at $35k without the extras so if you intending adding all the extras anyway then they would cost you more than $5k and the $40k price is probably right for YOU.
I also disagree about the lift being done for "hooning". The security of buying one of these vehicles is that the original purchase price limits to some degree who would have owned it. Not many
young hoons would have purchased a $60k + landcruiser for hooning in.
Beautiful car for touring with highway fuel consumption pretty good. Once you have one you wont be disappointed.
Reply By: TerraFirma - Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 21:47
Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 21:47
It's clear the mods are there to make the vehicle more of an outback capable machine, certainly not hoon. 2" is on the money IMO. There are easily $8-10k worth of mods and then some at retail price so if the car is in good knick and you'll utilise or want those mods then go for it. Thats not to say $38k wouldn't be unreasonable and I would think you have bought plenty of car for the money.
Follow Up By: MakFloyd - Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 22:40
Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 22:40
Hey cheers for everyones advice.
Will definately being offering 35K and see where we go from there.
Hope i don't upset the guy.I think he is keen to get 40K for it.
But is clear now he is asking to much trying to recoupe all those Xtras.