Chain saw to pack in 4X4
Submitted: Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 13:35
Member - Maria J (NSW)
We are looking for a small compact chainsaw to be able to take with us on our travels. We have gone from a duel cab ute with a canopy to a wagon, so space is at a preium. I know you are able to get compact ones but who makes them? Any suggestions?
Reply By: Peter_n_Margaret - Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 14:13
Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 14:13
Maria, we have an inverter, so we carry a 550W electric sabre saw with a variety of blades up to 300mm long.
The advantages are low weight, low space, no fuel, no smell and quiet.
Plus.... with the right blades you can cut a bull-bar, or almost anything else.
OKA196 Motorhome
Follow Up By: Skippype - Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 15:46
Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 15:46
You are right there.. And they are cheaper that the petrol ones....
Skip
Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 20:40
Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 20:40
But the disadvantage is that you can only get as far away from your car as a power lead will let you.
Reply By: GregF - Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 14:41
Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 14:41
Try the new little Makita 2 strokes, got a bar about 300mm long. Saw them at a Makita Do in
Adelaide last week, they seemed to go oright,
GregF
Reply By: Serendipity of Mandurah (WA) - Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 16:09
Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 16:09
Hi Maria
I pack a 300mm Stihl chainsaw and have done for 15 years - same unit. They are around $400 new and just last forever.
I own a cordless sabre saw as
well and they are great and with the right blades they will cut just about anything. To cut firewood they would run out of choof too quickly and you would be recharging after every cut. I had a need to cut 2 x tree roots off the other day - about 150mm dia - and the cordless emptied one battery per root. They are a good option if you don't have a chainsaw and they do pack down much smaller and don't require oil and petrol - so a lot of good points but would struggle to cut enough wood for a decent campfire.
Hope that helps.
Reply By: SPRINT-GTO - Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 16:28
Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 16:28
Stihl MS192t weight 3kg, 12" bar, easy to remove plastic housing,built in chain tensioner ---around $629
Stihl MC180--12" bar around $539
Stihl Model 009good saw but discontinued.
Echo also good saw 10" bar (model cs2600es)
" " 12"bar (modelcs320T)
Or Bunnings have a small petrol chainsaw for $135!!
Remember you get what you pay for . Stihl are good quality saws.
Follow Up By: warfer69 - Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 19:37
Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 19:37
I have the Stihl MS 250 WoodBoss,I dont think you need anything bigger than that,the next one down would be perfecto imho...
Only got about an hours use before the chain flung off and sparks..It was all check beforehand,the piece i was cutting at the time was about 3 inches diameter and bone dry hardwood...Unusual i thought for such a good brand chainsaw,prior to the incident i cut quite a big log without issues (even hav a witness on this
forum) it took two to put on roofrack lol...
Reply By: sweetwill - Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 19:06
Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 19:06
hi maria j
this might not be the place to put this, but i have a stihl 025 wood boss excess to my needs it has a 14'' bar measured will the bar was attached.cheers bill. phone 0439841474 $300.
Reply By: Crackles - Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 19:54
Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 19:54
The shortest chainsaws available are the arborist models which have the rear handle on top like the
Stihl MS192T Excellent power to weight & cut a reasonable sized tree.
Cheers Craig..............
Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Friday, Jul 24, 2009 at 09:06
Friday, Jul 24, 2009 at 09:06
MS 200T , remove 12" bar for transport thru areas where chainsaw are banned and unit is same size as a 6pk of stubbies.
Reply By: Robin Miller - Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 19:54
Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 19:54
Hi Maria
We have a few chainsaws but wanted to get the most compact so we could always have it in the car.
Size was important and even the addition of a carry case was unacceptable to us, hence we put a plastic shopping bag over ours each time its used and this stops the odd oil/petrol drops.
The most compact chainsaw is the Stihl MS170 miniboss typically $350.
Ensure it comes with 35cm bar.
The MS180 is a slightly more powerful but almost identical cousin , its significantly dearer and extra power is wasted for general use.
There are arborist chainsaws which don't have the handle at the back which are shorter but are much harder to use for general tree removal etc.
The MS170 , while not cheap is all you want and the smallest , but as other post have indicated you can pay 50% less and get a bigger but equally useful product e.g. Talon.
Reply By: Best Off Road - Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 20:38
Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 20:38
Maria,
I'll go against the tide of spending big dollars on a chainsaw.
We have a small Talon, 38cc job. Cost us $160 almost 5 years ago and has done a swag of
camping trips, cutting firewood and
clearing tracks. I've never so much as changed the sparkplug.
The only maintenance has been tightening the chain and sharpening it (using a $50, 12 volt sharpener).
The old "you only get what you pay" theory has been dismissed by me many times. Sure, if you're a treelopper and belt the living daylights out of it, get a good one, BUT, for the average camper, a cheapie will siit your needs.
Reply By: fisho64 - Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 20:40
Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 20:40
Bunnings have tiny 2 stroke chainsaws for $130 at the moment, 12 or 14" bar.
Follow Up By: The Lobster - Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 21:12
Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 21:12
They definitely are tiny. I thought they were kids toys when I first saw them!
matt
Follow Up By: fisho64 - Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 23:55
Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 23:55
They looked pretty good to me though.
Found my self thinking about whether I had anything to cut down!
Reply By: Gronk - Friday, Jul 24, 2009 at 01:22
Friday, Jul 24, 2009 at 01:22
I was going to buy a cheapy a couple of months ago ( all approx $260 ) then asked for a price on the cheapest Huskie they had....a superceded one for $320....
And although it will never get a hard life, hopefully in 5yrs time it will still start 1st pull ...so was glad to pay a few extra bucks for it ..
And I got a canvas carry bag ( approx $25 ) for it from In Front canvas which holds everything ( saw, petrol,lube , spanners etc ) and also stops other things from coming into contact with the saw ..
Reply By: Member - Sigmund (VIC) - Friday, Jul 24, 2009 at 06:32
Friday, Jul 24, 2009 at 06:32
Question is what do you want to use it for?
If just occasional firewood then get something cheap.
But if you expect to have to clear logs off tracks then think about a 20 or 22" bar.
Reply By: Von Helga - Friday, Jul 24, 2009 at 08:25
Friday, Jul 24, 2009 at 08:25
Maria,
I'm with Jim. I have a Bunnings (GMC) cheapy based on Jim's logic. I know GMC may have gone bust but for the dollars I'll throw it away when it breaks and buy another and still in front of a Sthil
Trevor
Reply By: chrisroi - Friday, Jul 24, 2009 at 22:17
Friday, Jul 24, 2009 at 22:17
Hi i boughrt 2 12" gmc saws from bunnings for $100. and have cut heaps with them easy to use easy to start and cheap, I think they are the ozito ones for $135 but in my experience cheap is good.Cchris
Reply By: Member - Howard (ACT) - Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 22:13
Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 22:13
Best way to improve the cutting performance of the cheapies is to chuck away the supplied handyman/saftey /no kickback chain with only a cutting tooth every 4 links and replace with a proper quality chain.- should cost less than 35 bucks.
the saw will pull itself thru the wood rather than have to be forced ,in fact if you force it you will stall the smaller underpowered saws.