how to inflate a tyre

Submitted: Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 21:18
ThreadID: 70926 Views:3623 Replies:7 FollowUps:12
I got this link on an email i hope it works does anyone know what they are using and does it work!!!

http://mail.google.com/mail/?um=1&hl=en&zx=1t2w1yy2ybodt&shva=1#inbox/122769488ea43948

Cheers Brenton

Reply By: Dave(NSW) - Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 21:36

Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 21:36
I don't think that works, Just goes to Google E mail.
GU RULES!!

AnswerID: 375910

Reply By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 21:45

Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 21:45
Anything like this one:

AnswerID: 375912

Follow Up By: blueriderwa - Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 21:53

Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 21:53
That's pretty cool , am i correct in thinking that this is a method of getting the bead back in place because it looks like they then go to the tyre and add more air?
FollowupID: 643251

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 21:58

Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 21:58
Yeh, it apparently works..someone on EO (Norm??) did the same experiment some time back with some footage of how to do it, must find the thread.

FollowupID: 643252

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 22:01

Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 22:01
yeh, just re-seating the bead....still need to inflate the tyre potentially. A Youtube search of "reseating bead" will pull up heaps of videos.

FollowupID: 643253

Follow Up By: Luke SA - Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 22:08

Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 22:08
Did this at work a few months back on a backhoe. work mates were impressed
FollowupID: 643254

Reply By: Member - Brenton W (SA) - Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 21:51

Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 21:51
Sorry the link didnt work, it was a video of a hilux ute with a flat front tyre off the bead, they sprayed some airosol can goo around the rim half way then a lighter was lite and the tyre just poped out on the bead.
not sure if thats a hoax or can be done looked impressive.

Brenton
AnswerID: 375914

Follow Up By: Member - Murray R (VIC) - Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 22:11

Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 22:11
Member Mick O has used this method to seat tyres, he posted a video of him
self some time back using this method when outback

Murray
Another Mexican

FollowupID: 643255

Follow Up By: equinox - Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 22:39

Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 22:39
Here's Micks Video:

FollowupID: 643267

Reply By: Member - Mfewster(SA) - Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 22:12

Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 22:12
This has been discussed on EO many times. It can be done alright. It certainly is regularly done around central Oz where I was taught the trick. About one third of a cup of petrol is the go up there. Pout it into the rim and dribble a bit outside. Throw a match at it (Make sure you are standing well back, the tyre, rim will jump a foot or two up into the airwith a very impressive bang.
AnswerID: 375916

Follow Up By: blueriderwa - Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 22:28

Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 22:28
petrol and fire dont mix in my opinion. no doubt it will work but sorry i feel it a bit irrisponsible to recommend something like this on a public forum, again sorry nothing personal but something that i am passionate about. the guy on the video is using aerostart which is still a little dangerous but a lot safer than petrol.
FollowupID: 643262

Follow Up By: Member - Mfewster(SA) - Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 23:13

Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 23:13
It is less dangerous than carrying petrol in a jerry and filling your tank. You pour a max of one third of a cup from your jerry into a cup. Obviously you screw the cap back onto the jerry and move it well away and you don't do this near a fire or with a ciggy in your mouth. This is no more dangerous than filling your motor mower or chain saw. Probably considerably safer in fact as you are using smaller quanities of liquid and wont be near a an engine that may still be hot. The technique is actually taught in some 4wd training courses. The speccy bang is a bit misleading and is caused by the rapid expansion of the gases sealing up the tyre and the resultant compression. It is nowhere near as dangerous as it sounds. The sealing up instantly extinguishes the petrol as it cuts off the oxygen
Mind you, using diesel is more dangerous for this purpose. There is some great footage around of some idiots trying to do this with diesel, which burns slowly rather than exploding and the lads watch their tyre literally going up in smoke.
FollowupID: 643283

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Friday, Jul 24, 2009 at 05:39

Friday, Jul 24, 2009 at 05:39
Blue, I think I would prefer to have a go if really needed. Beats waiting for the search party to find you. Isn't this just the place to hear about these things. I am happy I found it and will keep it in mind.

Besides aren't we all supposed to have some common sense and do it carefully. Oops - apologies - wrong generation. Sorry.

Also don't we all carry fire extinguishers!!! We have two 2lb ones in the car.

FollowupID: 643297

Follow Up By: tim_c - Friday, Jul 24, 2009 at 13:22

Friday, Jul 24, 2009 at 13:22
I probably wouldn't recommend using petrol in this situation - not just the volitility of it, but I'd also be worried about what the petrol would do to the inside of the tyre since petrol melts rubber.
FollowupID: 643366

Follow Up By: Moose - Friday, Jul 24, 2009 at 13:24

Friday, Jul 24, 2009 at 13:24
G'day Mike
I would imagine that using 1/2 cup would lead to some petrol remaining unburned inside the tyre. I can't imagine that it all vapourises instantly. So wouldn't that potentially lead to the insides of the tyre being affected over time?
Just wondering if anyone has looked inside after using the petrol method.
Not having a go - just wondering if it may cause later problems.
Cheers from the Moose
FollowupID: 643367

Reply By: Member - Tony V (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 22:29

Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 22:29
Brenton,

Haven't used it for a while, finished comps.
It works with "start yer bastard", never tried WD40 but that may work.

An alternative I have used is the small butane gas bottles for the $19 single burner stove, take the spray button off the top of a WD40 can or similar.
The butane holds in the bottom of the tyre, light and stand back. (or in most cases you naturally jump back).

You only need 20 seconds of spray, the gas will flash, but should seat the bead on the rim provided mud , dirt or sand is cleaned out.

Should only be used if no alternative and in most cases the tyre should be removed, cleaned and refitted afterwards.

Don't like to use petroleum sprays as it may affect the rubber long term.

Just a note, take the tyre valve out, this prevents over inflation and makes pumping the tyre quicker, it is relatively easy put the valve back in even at 30 or 40 psi

AnswerID: 375920

Reply By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 22:52

Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 22:52
Yep used Butane gas from my portable stove. Works well but watch you fingers. I have a blog on it with a few video examples.

Here's the link:

Reseating a tyre using butane gas.

AnswerID: 375926

Reply By: Flywest - Friday, Jul 24, 2009 at 01:11

Friday, Jul 24, 2009 at 01:11
Maybe I should read this thread again...

So my tire is a bit flat - not fully and not off the bead, so I figure i'll try this gas thing to just inflate it like the thread title says!

Guess what - the tyre's still flat, I have no eye lashes, owbreys, or fringe left, and my wheel trim is on the neighbor's roof! ;o(

My wife's taken all the matches and hidden them!

What did I do wrong? - damn tyres still flat - I pronounce this one a dud!

This is like the one my mate got me on - pour a Jerry can of petrol on a carton of booze and drop a match, voila - instant cold beer!

All I got was burns to my legs and no beer not even hot ones!
I hate getting suckered all the time.
This is like lighting pharts - burnt my socks off.

I give up on these tricks, you guys can have them!

AnswerID: 375934

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Friday, Jul 24, 2009 at 05:47

Friday, Jul 24, 2009 at 05:47
Reminds me of when as a young lad in the early 60's I put a lit penny bunger" in coke bottle and slipped running to safety. My aunt (a nurse) took great delight in picking the bits of glass out of my rear end. Ouch.

But I will keep this "trick" in mind for an emergency.

Have a good day and keep the beer in the fridge.

Catchyalatr
FollowupID: 643298