WA vehicle licence stickers gone

Submitted: Friday, Jul 24, 2009 at 16:56
ThreadID: 70943 Views:4924 Replies:10 FollowUps:10
WA plans to discontinue issuing drivers with new vehicle licence stickers as part of a cost cutting exercise. They reckon that the Cops here have enough online data to check if a vehicle is registered or not. What happens if I drive interstate - do the cops there have access to WA vehicle registration data ? If not, how do I prove that my vehicle is licenced ?

Reply By: Robert HL (SEQ)(aka zuksctr) - Friday, Jul 24, 2009 at 17:09

Friday, Jul 24, 2009 at 17:09
Mal, i would say if you have paid the bill that you would also get a receipt for the said reg. or license.
Providing you carry it with you would/should be ok. to prove other wise

AnswerID: 376014

Reply By: Maîneÿ . . .- Friday, Jul 24, 2009 at 17:53

Friday, Jul 24, 2009 at 17:53
Mal,
"If not, how do I prove that my vehicle is licensed"

obviously your not a politician or civil servant, I bet the answer is - they won't know.

Just imagine you get stopped at the back of beyond, the man in blue asks you to produce your vehicle registration paperwork, that you have never kept in the car in case it gets pinched anyway, and you tell him the paperwork is at home in Perth.

Wonder if he will believe you, or maybe the guy who is similarly stopped while driving YOUR car, that he stole that night, and you did not known it was even missing.

You may now have to prove you own the car too?

Maîneÿ . . .

AnswerID: 376021

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (WA) - Friday, Jul 24, 2009 at 18:18

Friday, Jul 24, 2009 at 18:18
You only have to prove your vehicle is registered if you are charged with it NOT being registered. Any cop who thinks your car may not be registered can check it on the spot or later via your rego plates.

Don't know what you mean about the stolen car bit...the rego sticker has never had any relevance to assiting police in whether a car is stolen or not..

And..if it is not a requirement for a WA registered vehicle to have a C/R sticker on the window in WA, then other states won't require it either, if you're in a WA registered car.

If it concerns, just keep a photo copy in your glove box and the original at home with all your other personal documents.

cya
FollowupID: 643409

Reply By: Member - Teege (NSW) - Friday, Jul 24, 2009 at 18:00

Friday, Jul 24, 2009 at 18:00
There has been a national register of vehicles available to the cops for years. This is a very late response by the authorities to that technology. Sometimes the simplest things take the longest. In NSW for a few years now we have been able to register our vehicles on line. There was no need for a cash register imprint on the rego sticker to prove that you had paid it. So why have the B-----y thing in the first place?

teege
AnswerID: 376022

Follow Up By: Member - Teege (NSW) - Friday, Jul 24, 2009 at 18:05

Friday, Jul 24, 2009 at 18:05
Sorry, that should read there IS no need for an imprint.

teege
FollowupID: 643403

Follow Up By: Members Paul and Melissa (VIC) - Friday, Jul 24, 2009 at 20:06

Friday, Jul 24, 2009 at 20:06
i agree-bugger the labels off too! vic does not require a stamp or register imprint on the thing either so what purpose does it serve? i do realise that VIN and weights are on it but SURELY there is another way to have this on the vehicle? maybe a sticker on the number plates?
FollowupID: 643435

Reply By: Zebra400 - Friday, Jul 24, 2009 at 19:05

Friday, Jul 24, 2009 at 19:05
We lived in Scandinavia for 2 years and in Finland we had a car with no registration label. We travelled throughout Europe & England and were never once asked why we didnt have a rego label.

I would love to see the rego label given the flick. It would save me a frustrating job every 12 months.
AnswerID: 376030

Reply By: obee1212 - Friday, Jul 24, 2009 at 19:58

Friday, Jul 24, 2009 at 19:58
But am I who I think I am and do I really own the vehicle. Best I carry a drivers licence boat driver licence trailer licence passport fishing licence radio licence and pretty soon an AUSTRALIA card. Well bugger them all, those gestapo B's. Its nice to go to Vietnam or Indonesia sometimes and feel like a free man for a change.

Owen
AnswerID: 376041

Follow Up By: Lex M (Brisbane) - Friday, Jul 24, 2009 at 20:39

Friday, Jul 24, 2009 at 20:39
Had we all got the Australia card years ago when it was first proposed, you might not now have to carry all those licences.
FollowupID: 643444

Follow Up By: obee1212 - Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 21:15

Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 21:15
I have to agree with there. Every time I look for a card in my wallet to give blood or go to the library or whatever, it looks like a playing deck. I like to whinge about cards but it's the efficient world we live in. Europe has had id card for a long time and no one there complains. You're right man.

Owen
FollowupID: 643593

Reply By: Member - ross m (WA) - Friday, Jul 24, 2009 at 20:15

Friday, Jul 24, 2009 at 20:15
I was talking to the girl at the Post Office the other day about this and she heard it wasnt set in concrete yet.

The day isnt far away when your car will have a bar code or mobile phone transmitter that alerts the cops an unlic car is on the road
AnswerID: 376047

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 14:00

Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 14:00
Nah, it just won't start at all if expired. :)

FollowupID: 643519

Follow Up By: Member - ross m (WA) - Sunday, Jul 26, 2009 at 23:22

Sunday, Jul 26, 2009 at 23:22
England was tossing up whether to do just that not long ago.
The upside is they would be able to switch off a stolen vehicle.
A small area with a large population means one satelite can monitor all the traffic
FollowupID: 643726

Reply By: jolo - Friday, Jul 24, 2009 at 20:52

Friday, Jul 24, 2009 at 20:52
In Victoria, we have our rego number in large print on the rego sticker so the toll cameras can have another check on the vehicle. I assume it is a help to pick up cars with stolen plates etc using the toll roads.
AnswerID: 376061

Reply By: HappyCamper - Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 10:39

Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 10:39
G'day Mal

The states are now linked (have been for sometime) so it's a simple matter of typing your rego number into the correct screen and bingo!

Having a sticker on your windscreen means zilch!! The registration could have been cancelled for many reasons, may not have been paid in the first place, etc etc etc.

Do NOT carry your registration papers unless you plan to sell your car while travelling. If someone steals your car, papers in the glovebox, sign the papers and sell it to the first unsuspecting person and nick off with the $$$'s. Of course, if they were to sell it to a dealer then a check is done, but they wouldn't be going down this road (pun intended).

The only proof you need that your vehicle is registered is to pay the registration by the due date.

Otoh, it's an offence NOT to produce your driver's licence atm, so make sure that's in your wallet...again a glovebox is definitely not a suitable place.

Hope this helps?
Bronwyn ;-)

AnswerID: 376116

Follow Up By: DIO - Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 13:42

Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 13:42
If travelling interstate (i.e. away from the state in which your licence was issued) you ARE required to carry your drivers licence with you at all times when driving. There are also specific requiremetns for holders of heavy vehicle licences (when driving such vehicles - even in their home state).
FollowupID: 643515

Follow Up By: HappyCamper - Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 13:56

Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 13:56
DIO I think you misread my reply. I did say you are required (by law) to produce your driver's licence, but don't have to carry your vehicle registration, this is nothing new but the non-issue of a registration label is and really makes total sense.

Hope this clarifies?
Bronwyn ;-)
FollowupID: 643518

Reply By: Rolly - Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 12:29

Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 12:29
I've just renewed my car registration, due in August, and received the usual windscreen decoration.
AnswerID: 376139

Follow Up By: landseka - Monday, Jul 27, 2009 at 10:58

Monday, Jul 27, 2009 at 10:58
I just did mine on Friday too and was told the new rules take effect on January 1st
FollowupID: 643779

Reply By: Member - Mfewster(SA) - Monday, Jul 27, 2009 at 08:38

Monday, Jul 27, 2009 at 08:38
Don't know whether it is still the case, but when I was a kid in WA, we used ti have a bike number plate on every push bike
AnswerID: 376370