NSW Government crackdown on vehicle modifications

Submitted: Sunday, Jul 26, 2009 at 19:02
ThreadID: 70999 Views:3264 Replies:2 FollowUps:7
Just read an interesting article in The Sunday Telegraph,stating"Thousands of motorists wiill be forced to pay the state government as much as $1000 each to change their car suspensions following a crackdown on vehicle modifications.
From August 1,motorists will be prohibited from raising or lowering the height of vehicles unless the alterations are approved by licensed RTA engineers at a cost of up to $1000.
Until now, it has been legal to raise or lower a vehicle by 5cm without RTA approval or by 15cm with approval.
Failure to comply will incur fines up to $7000.
The state government claims the changes are needed to stamp out car hoons & will save lives."

What next? I suppose the government could place a tax on all 4wd's with an ExplorOz wheel cover.

Vince.

Reply By: Member - Toyocrusa (NSW) - Sunday, Jul 26, 2009 at 19:09

Sunday, Jul 26, 2009 at 19:09
Hi Vince. Have a look at The Landys thread, 70938 lots of info there. Bob.
AnswerID: 376309

Follow Up By: Member - Vince B (NSW) - Sunday, Jul 26, 2009 at 19:17

Sunday, Jul 26, 2009 at 19:17
Hi Toyocrusa.
Sorry to drag up old info.
We are a bit slow up this part of the state LOL.
Vince
FollowupID: 643689

Follow Up By: Member - Toyocrusa (NSW) - Sunday, Jul 26, 2009 at 19:37

Sunday, Jul 26, 2009 at 19:37
No worries mate. Like Leah & Amelia painted on the rock
FollowupID: 643695

Reply By: warfer69 - Sunday, Jul 26, 2009 at 19:30

Sunday, Jul 26, 2009 at 19:30
Hiya Vince

I'd like to liv in your part of the world,no telly,radio etc etc lol...Its been going on a little while,If you buy this months 4wdAction it explains a lot and where to object etc etc...

The Grey Nomads are the biggest Hoons imho and while there hooning they'll knock orrrff anything thats not bolted down ! Keep an eye out, lmao

AnswerID: 376317

Follow Up By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Sunday, Jul 26, 2009 at 20:05

Sunday, Jul 26, 2009 at 20:05
Hiya warfer 69, sorry to hear you have such a low opinion about us grey nomads.
Most of us are honest people who leave the hooning & the knocking "orrrffof anything" to others! Best wishes & cheers.

FollowupID: 643699

Follow Up By: warfer69 - Sunday, Jul 26, 2009 at 20:19

Sunday, Jul 26, 2009 at 20:19
***sorry to hear you have such a low opinion about us grey nomads***

Hiya Bazza

Just being sarcastic,If you read previous threads it just suggested that GN are responsible for thieving etc etc to which i do not believe..60% of my friends come under the Grey Nomads banner.I am 43 so not too far way..lol

FollowupID: 643702

Follow Up By: Member - Vince B (NSW) - Sunday, Jul 26, 2009 at 20:23

Sunday, Jul 26, 2009 at 20:23
Hi warfer69.
Just spent two weeks hooning through western Qld towing the new caravan.
Had a ball with my "modified"pajero LOL.
Vince.
FollowupID: 643705

Follow Up By: Member - Vince B (NSW) - Sunday, Jul 26, 2009 at 20:26

Sunday, Jul 26, 2009 at 20:26
Hi Barry F.
I hope it wasn't you who pinched my wheel cover lol.
Vince
FollowupID: 643706

Follow Up By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Sunday, Jul 26, 2009 at 21:58

Sunday, Jul 26, 2009 at 21:58
Yep It was me, I am a collectormaniac. I usualy pinch em with the wheel still attached, saves a fortune on tyres. LOL & cheers
FollowupID: 643718