Found - Patrol keys at the base of Mitchell Falls, Kimberley!!
Submitted: Monday, Jul 27, 2009 at 09:55
Leroy
I lost my keys at
Mitchell Falls back in early May so I couldn't believe it when I got a call yesterday from the woman at Heliwork at the
Mitchell Plateau camp ground. She said some hikers found my keys at the base of the falls. At the base, I didn't go down to the base of the falls!! They must of fallen out of my shorts onto the
seat of the chopper and as we did a turn over the falls, slipped out. The hikers handed the keys into the office at the
camp ground where I left my details. What are the chances of finding a needle in a
hay stack like that???
Leroy
PS And I was only thinking last week I should buy a replacement spare.
Reply By: Member - Porl - Monday, Jul 27, 2009 at 13:26
Monday, Jul 27, 2009 at 13:26
Well so many looks an but replies, its deserving of at least one so maybe, go buy a lotto ticket.
Follow Up By: Leroy - Monday, Jul 27, 2009 at 13:34
Monday, Jul 27, 2009 at 13:34
80mil jackpot so maybe I should!
Leroy
Reply By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Monday, Jul 27, 2009 at 13:31
Monday, Jul 27, 2009 at 13:31
Hi Leroy
You are one lucky person, the next question is will the transponder still work.
Follow Up By: Leroy - Monday, Jul 27, 2009 at 13:36
Monday, Jul 27, 2009 at 13:36
Dunno but it's in the post so we shall see. Hopefully it didn't land hard on a rock and it's fall was broken by leaves and soft grass :)
Leroy
Reply By: PradOz - Monday, Jul 27, 2009 at 15:45
Monday, Jul 27, 2009 at 15:45
I reckon you are lucky that was the only thing to fall out of your shorts
Reply By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Monday, Jul 27, 2009 at 18:35
Monday, Jul 27, 2009 at 18:35
Leroy,
How did you get home without the keys? spare set hidden perhaps?
A lucky find indeed :)
Follow Up By: Leroy - Tuesday, Jul 28, 2009 at 09:04
Tuesday, Jul 28, 2009 at 09:04
We had a spare in the vehicle but the prob was how to get it out! I wasn't keen on breaking a window because we still had a way to go on the dusty roads. Long story short, I got onto a tech guy at NRMA (yes they have phones there) and the CALM (Like Parks, DSE etc) guys assisted with helping me break in. Otherwise it was going to be a more than a week to get a key from Nissan sent up!
Leroy
Reply By: Family Friendly Oz Camping - Monday, Jul 27, 2009 at 20:04
Monday, Jul 27, 2009 at 20:04
Well done Leroy,
We all get lucky occasionally.
If we are travelling with another car, we swap spares keys just in case.
Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Thoughtfully- Monday, Jul 27, 2009 at 21:05
Monday, Jul 27, 2009 at 21:05
Way to go, great news that. And good of them to hand them in. People are good eh
Reply By: Flywest - Monday, Jul 27, 2009 at 22:05
Monday, Jul 27, 2009 at 22:05
Yeah -
well - you can tell the rangers at Uluru (Ayers Rock when I was there in '79) that no ones returned my wallet with 60 bucks in it that blew outta my stubbies shorts pocket in the wind as we climbed the 2nd steep chained section, in the last 30 years!
It's about time they got out there and found it dammnit - I've been more than patient after all - they can find keys at the bottom of a waterfall- they can find a missing wallet in 30 years surely! ;o)
Cheers!
Reply By: muzzgit - Monday, Jul 27, 2009 at 23:28
Monday, Jul 27, 2009 at 23:28
We take spare keys and hide them in the car. Even if I have to smash a window it's better than phoning someone at home and explaining where the hidden key is to get into the house to get the spare keys and and post them to where ever we are.
Imagine if your 20 klm up
the beach, or 500klm from nowhere?
Reply By: Member - John S (QLD) - Monday, Jul 27, 2009 at 23:38
Monday, Jul 27, 2009 at 23:38
Well hopefully it wont be too much longer when they invent a way to access your car with your own finger print. Just like they have done with laptop computers.
Reply By: Member - Andrew (WA) - Tuesday, Jul 28, 2009 at 00:19
Tuesday, Jul 28, 2009 at 00:19
Great story....you just never know..
How's this one....I had a mate in the Carnarfin (
Carnarvon) fishing comp. He bought a very expensive new rod and reel set-up which he promptly dropped overboard on the first day about 40 mile out. The story went around the competitors at the weigh in...
Later in the week during the weigh ins....my mate was presented with a new rod and reel....funny thing was it was his original one lost days earlier and hooked by another fisherman off the bottom fishing the same area...
What are the chances of that????????
Reply By: Leroy - Tuesday, Jul 28, 2009 at 09:06
Tuesday, Jul 28, 2009 at 09:06
There sure are some amazing 'what are the chances' stories.
Leroy
Reply By: Member - Mal W (NSW) - Tuesday, Jul 28, 2009 at 16:08
Tuesday, Jul 28, 2009 at 16:08
recently had an early morning swim in
the pool below
Wangi Falls in
Litchfield. Unfortunately in my haste I swam off with my prescription glasses on and they disappeared. We toured up to Buley
Rock Holes and
Florence falls for the day before retuning to the
camp site about 3:30pm. I wandered down to
the pool, hoping to find someone with a mask and
snorkel. There was a
young girl there with a set but she was just going into the
water so I kept an eye on her, trying not to seem too interested and getting arrested, when I noticed another chap drying himself off with a set nearby. I approached him and asked if I could borrow them as I had a fair idea as to where the glasses were. Oh, he said, do you mean these, handing me my glasses, a little bent and missing one lens where they had been stood on. But there is more. He had the other lens as
well, but the little tiny screw that clamps the lens was missing. He had swum back with the glasses in his back pocket of his board shorts. So, he checks his pocket and produces the screw. 10 mins back at the
camp and all was sorted.(After many thanks to the finder) Didn't buy a Lotto ticket. Reckoned I had used up all my luck.
Mal
Reply By: Flywest - Tuesday, Jul 28, 2009 at 19:53
Tuesday, Jul 28, 2009 at 19:53
Took these two old dudes out fishing one day.
Eddie & Ernie - brothers.
Well Eddie's so sea sick he can't stand up, on his knees, & heaving over the side. He throws so hard one go, that his false teeth went with it!
After that he's feeling a bit better and doesn't want us to go back in just yet - starts to even fish a little - but you can see he's still crook and not enjoying it much at all.
I'm happy enough to go back in but Eddie doesn't want to spoil Ernie's day out fishing, so we persevere another hour maybe.
Ernie gets this idea to take the mickey outta Eddie and when the fishing's a bit slow - he secretly takes out his own false teeth out and ties em to the end of his line and drops it over!
When he has Eddies attention for a second he fakes the biggest bite and wrestles this set of false teeth all the way to the boat, like its a shark or something, and cool as you like - lifts the false teeth into the boat, saying "Jeeze Eddie would ya look at that - I've hooked ya false teeth!"
Quick as a wink Eddie whips em off the end of his brothers line - slaps em in his gob, trys to chew down - whips em back out again (without seeing the joke at all), and unceremoniously tosses em back over the side, saying "nah - they aren't
mine - they don;t fit must be someone elses"!.
Bugger me - I had the pair of them to take back without either of em being able to speak properly, and BOTH minus their false teeth!
Funnyest days fishing I ever had!
They were a right pair!