Amps or Amphours - Please try to get it right.

Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 10:42
ThreadID: 71050 Views:4497 Replies:14 FollowUps:61
I wish all the electrical experts on this site would be a little more careful with their use of electrical units. Their advice would be a little more believable.

Example:-
A fridge does not use 48 Amps in a day. It uses 48 Amphours in a day.

An Amp is a measure of electrical current. An Amphour is a unit of electrical charge.

The correct terminology for this fridge could be

It uses 48 Amphours a day.
It average current is 4 Amps.

OK maybe I'm being pedantic, but it doesn't help an explanation when Amp and Amphour are used incorrectly.

I've now crawled back under my rock and await the attack. :-)

Reply By: Mandrake - Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 10:48

Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 10:48
That means I got my Solar Calculator wording correct ... Hey !!

Rgds

Steve - Still learning about DC power .. 24 Days to go !!
AnswerID: 376641

Follow Up By: Lex M (Brisbane) - Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 10:50

Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 10:50
I think your in the minority. Congratulations.
FollowupID: 644046

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 11:39

Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 11:39
sheez, at least get the units right in your solar powered fridge post....it's Ah, not aH. LOL

I don't know how you can live with yourself ;)

FollowupID: 644050

Follow Up By: Mandrake - Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 12:02

Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 12:02
And I was feeling so good about getting the calculator correct...

BUMMaH Ah haha Ah haHa

I gotta get back to work .. starting to go gah GAh ...

I need a holiday !

Mandrake - 24 slow days to go ..

FollowupID: 644057

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 12:47

Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 12:47
rub it in....:)

FollowupID: 644062

Reply By: Member -Signman - Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 10:57

Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 10:57
Hi Lex
I guess you mean.. It's average current 'draw' is 4 Amps ???
Am i being pedantic ??

AnswerID: 376642

Follow Up By: Lex M (Brisbane) - Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 11:50

Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 11:50
I would say "its average current is 4 Amps" or "it draws 4Amps".

But if you want to say "It's average current 'draw' is 4 Amps "
that's fine by me.

As long as you don't say
"It's average current 'draw' is 4 Amps per hour".
FollowupID: 644054

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 12:09

Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 12:09
As long as you don't say
"It's average current 'draw' is 4 Amps per hour".

Why not.... it will eventually run for a total of 60 mins at some point...:))
FollowupID: 644060

Follow Up By: Nomadic Navara - Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 20:38

Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 20:38
If your fridge draws 48 A/H per day and there is 24 hours in a day then the average current is 2 A. The 4 A would be the peak running current. (There would be very short but higher than 4 A peaks as the motor starts.)

FollowupID: 644129

Follow Up By: Maîneÿ . . .- Thursday, Jul 30, 2009 at 00:39

Thursday, Jul 30, 2009 at 00:39
Peter,
please don't show Lex his obvious mistake,
he must be using a 12 hour day, as a day, to make his numbers add up.

You say: "the average current is 2 A" or is it 2 Amp ?

Maîneÿ . . .
FollowupID: 644174

Follow Up By: Nomadic Navara - Thursday, Jul 30, 2009 at 19:15

Thursday, Jul 30, 2009 at 19:15
"You say: "the average current is 2 A" or is it 2 Amp ?"

Either is correct. Note the space between the 2 and the A. The term 2A is definitely incorrect.

FollowupID: 644264

Follow Up By: Maîneÿ . . .- Thursday, Jul 30, 2009 at 19:31

Thursday, Jul 30, 2009 at 19:31
Peter the actual number "2" was what I was referring to.

As Lex's post stated '4' which is obviously incorrect
it clearly should be '2'
just a mathematical mistake :-)

Maîneÿ . . .
FollowupID: 644266

Reply By: Mandrake - Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 11:03

Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 11:03
Actually it is its not it's as it's is it is not belonging to it ... Now that is pedantic !

Mandrake
AnswerID: 376644

Follow Up By: tim_c - Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 11:39

Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 11:39
I knew what you were saying, but had to read it about five times very slowly to make sense of it! :) That one has always bugged me, because I reckon the rule is wrong:
If you talk about "Mandrake's POD trailer..." the ' goes in.
If you talk about "The POD trailer's features..." the ' goes in.
But if you substitute "it" for "POD trailer", suddenly the ' should be left out ie. "Its features include..." Go figure?!
FollowupID: 644051

Reply By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 11:04

Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 11:04
Hey Lex

I being pedantic , but you might want to check your figures.
AnswerID: 376645

Follow Up By: Lex M (Brisbane) - Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 11:15

Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 11:15
I use a twelve hour day. I sleep the rest.

FollowupID: 644047

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Thursday, Jul 30, 2009 at 08:14

Thursday, Jul 30, 2009 at 08:14
I think you better work out the current useage for a CPAP too then Lex. LMAO.

Robin, I hope you got your wires connected again or you won't get any worry about using amps/amphours. Pretty substantial stick to cause that break.
FollowupID: 644187

Reply By: vk1dx - Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 11:14

Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 11:14
Just another few bobs worth. I found these words that can also make it easier for some to understand. Firstly as with a lot of things these days spelling seems to be left out some times. For amphours "read amp" hours. Its two words. And I do not want to wake up that spell checker thread again. If you don't believe me try putting "amphours" in Google and search for it. Okay enough of that. As a tech I fully undrstand it but as a scribe I leave a lot to be desired. So I quote the following that I came across recently when looking at fridges.

This is quoted from the following address: http://www.fridge-and-solar.net/amps.htm

"
Amps, Amp-hours, Watts !! what's that all about?

Ok, let's start with Amp-hours verses Amps....

I think it's easer to understand if I give you some examples to work through.

For the sake of this explanation lets say you have a 12 volt compressor motor fridge, and this fridge draws 5 amps while it's compressor motor is running, now if the compressor motor ran for a whole hour the fridge would have drawn 5 amps in total for that hour, or 5 amp hours (5Ah), and if it like this for 24 hours it would have drawn and consumed 120 Amp-hours in total, 5Ah x 24h = 120Ah.

But the fact is the compressor motor should not be running continuously for the whole 24 hours, they should cycle on and off as required to keep the temperature constant in the fridge, so if it was running at say a 50% duty cycle, i.e. running on and off for only half of the hour in total, it would still be drawing 5A when it's running, but for only half the time, so that would now be 2.5Ah it draws from the battery each hour, and 60Ah over a 24 hour period.

So along these lines lets look at say an electric 12 volt water pump, it may draw 10A while it's running, but if it only runs for a total of 15 minutes each day, it's total draw for the whole day would be only 2.5Ah, not much at all.

Ok some electrical appliances are rated in Watts rather than Amps, but that's ok, it's easy to convert these Watts to Amps.

You simply take the stated Watts, and divide that by the Voltage and this gives you the Amps that the item will draw

So lets say for example you have a 120 Watt light globe (like the type you find in some car spot lights) and divide this 120W by the 12V that is used to power it and you end up with 10A at 12V.

This also works the other way around, if you have the amps and the voltage of an item and you want to know the Watts, simply multiply the amps by the voltage and you have the Watts.

So for example remember that water pump that was drawing 10A at 12V, well 10A x 12V = 120 Watts

Now this works for any Voltage, Watts and Amps combination.

Like a 100W household light globe at 240V = 0.41A.
"

This says it better than I can.

AnswerID: 376646

Follow Up By: Lex M (Brisbane) - Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 11:26

Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 11:26
A google of "amphour" gets 80,700 hits.
A google of "amp hour" gets 304,000 hits.

Both seem to be well used.
The abreviation "Ah", "A h", and "A-h"
The problem with "Amp hour" is the confusion generated by the two seperate words "amp" and "hour" as two totally different units. "Amphour"

It probably should be "Amp-hour" but what does amps minus hours equal.

I believe "Amphour" is more universally used.
FollowupID: 644049

Follow Up By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 12:05

Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 12:05
OK, thanks for that because at the moment we a planning a trip with a bit of free camping & I have charged our battery fully & at the moment have it in our van with two lights switched on to see how long they go for.

But to calculate am I right with the following: The battery is a sealed deep cycle 95 amp hr (wrong terminology?) & I have been told you should not let it get below 30% of its capacity = a usable 66.5 amp hour?
Van lights each have two 15w globes. So 15x2 divided by 12 = 2.5 amps ?

So if I divide the usable 66.5 amp hrs by 2.5 says the battery would run one light with two bulbs for a total of 26.6 hours. Is that correct?

I am told the van is fitted with a "gizmo" that will shut the power off when the battery gets to a certain discharge level & not allow it to be totally flattened. Thanks for any advise & cheers
FollowupID: 644058

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 12:09

Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 12:09
Hey Lex

I don't understand. I don't get any "amphour" hits. They are all "amp hour". Also try our spell checker also.

If I type "amphour" into Google it comes back with heaps of hits but the page is headed by "Did you mean: amp hour". Even though the hit count says "Results 1 - 10 of about 460,000 for amphour. (0.13 seconds)" all the "hits" are for "amp hour". Not one amphour in the 44 pages.

As far as more universally used I had never heard of it before you mentioned it. I worked in an electronics environment for 45 years and this is the first time I have heard of it. I find the term as two words very easy to use and as an instructor I cannot recall any confusion in any lectures I presented and there were plenty as training and design specifications etc were an integral part of my career.

I am not trying to make a big deal out of this and believe this is not the venue for an in-depth scientific discussion there fore I will let it go at that. As long as our 4WD colleagues know that their fridge will work then that's fine.

Thank you for your time and I think I have stated my case enough. Have a good day.

FollowupID: 644059

Follow Up By: Lex M (Brisbane) - Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 12:50

Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 12:50
Google search has a nasty habit of searching for what it thinks you want.

You need to force it to search for amphour explicitly by putting the search string in qoutes and you will get something like this

FollowupID: 644063

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 14:16

Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 14:16
I'll wade in! Don't forget the hyphen.
Its "Amp-hour" and not "amp hour" and not "amphour".

If you google "amp-hours" you get 86,200,000 hits!
If you google "amp-hour" you get 3,050,000 hits

Now, Lex I don't think you're pedantic. I agree with your original point. If you made us call it "ampere-hour" then I'd say you were pedantic!

phil
FollowupID: 644078

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 14:25

Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 14:25
Ah You have to laugh. No Phil not at you. With you. Like Lex says further down this post AAAARRRRRGGGGGHHHHH. Spell check that one.

My fridge works nicely.
FollowupID: 644080

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 18:10

Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 18:10
Gday Phil-vk1dx,

Lex actually said "AAAAAAAArrrrrrrgggghhhhhhhhhh!!!!!!!!" :-)))

I guess a minority on this site couldn't give a stuff if their terminology is incorrect - after a few reds, I feel the same. Maybe thats the perceived problem with this site - too many grey nomads posting after a few reds......aaahhhh - one day I'll be a grey nomad!

namesake
FollowupID: 644100

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 18:24

Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 18:24
I may be grey but the real boss luckily still has a job.

You have a great day.

FollowupID: 644102

Follow Up By: Maîneÿ . . .- Thursday, Jul 30, 2009 at 09:59

Thursday, Jul 30, 2009 at 09:59
Lex,
You say;
"A google of "amphour" gets 80,700 hits.
A google of "amp hour" gets 304,000 hits.

I believe "amphour" is more universally used."

It's probably not "more universally used" if Google returns only ~¼ the results of the more often used Amp Hour, or is there something I can't see in the results??

Maîneÿ . . .
FollowupID: 644201

Follow Up By: Lex M (Brisbane) - Thursday, Jul 30, 2009 at 19:12

Thursday, Jul 30, 2009 at 19:12
Sorry Typo.
Meant to say is universally used. Obviously not more.
FollowupID: 644263

Reply By: Lex M (Brisbane) - Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 11:29

Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 11:29
Oops left out a bit.

"Amphour" I believe is less likely to be misinterpreted.

(Typing is my fourth language)
AnswerID: 376649

Reply By: Rockape - Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 12:08

Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 12:08
Now for the new challange, is a day 24hrs or 12 hrs or is it gunna be 4amps/hr or 2amps/hr.

Just haveing a bit of a laugh
AnswerID: 376653

Follow Up By: Lex M (Brisbane) - Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 12:52

Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 12:52
AAAAAAAArrrrrrrgggghhhhhhhhhh!!!!!!!!
FollowupID: 644064

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 12:52

Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 12:52

It was getting boring

FollowupID: 644065

Follow Up By: Maîneÿ . . .- Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 18:40

Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 18:40
Isn't a 'day' 12 hours ?
isn't a 'night' 12 hours ?

so the day & night make up a 'day' of 24 hours....

But then I've read (should that be red ?) that 'oils are not oils too'

Naaahhh, English isn't confusing :)

Maîneÿ . . .
FollowupID: 644105

Follow Up By: Welldone WA - Thursday, Jul 30, 2009 at 02:44

Thursday, Jul 30, 2009 at 02:44
ODE TO THE SPELL CHECKER

Eye halve a spell chequer
It came with my pea sea.
It plainly marques four my revue
Miss steaks eye kin knot see.

Eye strike a quay and type a word
And weight for it two say
Weather I am wrong oar write
It shows me strait aweigh.

Eye have run this poem threw it
I am shore yore pleased too no
Its letter perfect awl the weigh
My chequer tolled me sew!

Let's face it -English is a crazy language:-

We take it for granted , but if we explore its paradoxes, we find that quicksand can work slowly, boxing rings are square and a guinea pig is neither from Guinea nor is it a pig.
Why is it that writers write but fingers don't fing, grocers don't groce and hammers don't ham? If the plural of tooth is teeth, why isn't the plural of booth beeth? One goose - two geese, so one moose - two meese. Why isn't the word "phonetically" spelled that way? If you had a bunch of odds and ends and get rid of all but one of them, what do you call it?
We recite at a play and play at a recital. Ship by truck and send cargo by ship, have noses that run and feet that small . How can a fat chance and a slim chance be the same thing while a wise man and a wise guy are the opposite?
You have to marvel at the unique lunacy of a language in which your house can burn up as it burns down, in which you fill in a form by filling it out and in which an alarm goes off by going on.
English was invented by people, not computer, and reflects the creativity of the human race (which, of course, isn't really a race at all). That is why when the stars are out, they are visible, but when the lights are out they are invisible.
Further proof of the craziness:-
The bandage was wound around the wound.
The farm was used to produce produce.
The dump was so full that it had to refuse refuse .
We must polish the Polish furniture.
He could lead if he could get the lead out.
The soldier decided to desert his dessert in the desert.
Since there is no time like the present , he decided to present the present.
When shot at, the dove dove into the bushes.
The insurance was invalid for the invalid.
There was a row among the oarsman about how to row.
The buck does funny things when the does are present.
After a number of injections my jaw got number.
FollowupID: 644177

Follow Up By: Ray - Thursday, Jul 30, 2009 at 08:09

Thursday, Jul 30, 2009 at 08:09
I would agree. English language as I know it is what I call a bastered language. It has rules that are constantly broken. On the other hand there are a number of places around the world where English is the prime language although some places have bastardised English even further. I am English by birth although I have lived in Oz for fifty years and quite pleased that the English language has been adopted by so many countries and feel sorry for any foreigner that has to try to learn it. I wished that I had patented English before I left England. I might have been a millionaire by now
FollowupID: 644186

Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 13:20

Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 13:20
'OK maybe I'm being pedantic'

Maybe you are right.

But then, I'm one who doesn't get too hung up on such things. As long as I understand what a poster means. I don't get in a tiz about spelling either. But that's just me.
AnswerID: 376660

Reply By: redeye141 - Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 18:19

Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 18:19
Lex M

I have to agree with you 100%.

Amps is an instantaneous current measurement

Amp-hour is the consumption of current over a given time. (one hour)

NB. This passed the spell checker. (apart from Lex and Redeye)

Redeye
AnswerID: 376700

Follow Up By: redeye141 - Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 18:32

Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 18:32
Oh NO

Lex.

I did not consume your statement correctly.

No No No No No No.......... you are only 50% correct.

Amp-hour is current delivered or consumed in one hour. It has nothing to do with 24, 12 hours. Only one hour. That is why it is called Amp-hour.

A 10 Amp-hour load (current delivered or consumed in one hour) will require 100 Amp-hours from the supply for 10 hours.

Redeye
FollowupID: 644103

Follow Up By: Lex M (Brisbane) - Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 21:55

Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 21:55
"Amp-hour is current delivered or consumed in one hour"

Amp-hour or Amp hour or Amphour or Ah or A-h or whatever is current multiplied by time. could be a minute, that is current/60 Ah
Could be a week, that is current X 168 Ah.

FollowupID: 644150

Follow Up By: Member - Allan B (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 22:41

Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 22:41
........"Amp-hour is current delivered or consumed in one hour" .......
Not quite right.

An ampere-hour is the unit of electric charge and 1 Ah is defined as a current of 1 amp for 1 hour (1x1)

The actual value of Ah is found by multiplying the current (in amp units) by time (in hour units).

So as an example ...... 2 amps for 4.5 hours is 2 x 4.5 = 9 Ah

It doesn't matter how long the time so long as it is expressed in decimal hours.

But to be correct, the current must be steady at one value. If the current varies during the period of observation then the calculation must be broken into sections. For example, 2 amps for 2 hours (2x2=4) plus the next 3 hours at 2.5 amps (3x2.5=7.5) Therefore 4 + 7.5 = 11.5 Ah total.

FollowupID: 644162

Follow Up By: Maîneÿ . . .- Thursday, Jul 30, 2009 at 09:52

Thursday, Jul 30, 2009 at 09:52
Allen,
won't that make the power consumption of a 12v (which is NOT 12v anyway) fridge impossible to write down as a number, when used in advertising etc. ?

Maîneÿ . . .
FollowupID: 644200

Follow Up By: Member - Allan B (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 30, 2009 at 10:53

Thursday, Jul 30, 2009 at 10:53
Hi Mainey,

The short answer is yes.

It can be difficult for a fridge manufacturer to express power consumption in a meaningful manner. The problem is that these 12v fridges vary their power consumption dependent on load and furthermore cycle on and off dependent on internal temperature.

As a consequence Waeco express for their CF-35AC "Average power consumption 0.85 amps/hr". Now I believe that this fridge draws about 4 amps when running so I interpret it as meaning that it will typically consume, over a period of 1 hour, the same amount of power as a continual load of 0.85 amps. So the motor, drawing 4 amps is only running for about 21% of the time.

Engel on the other hand for their MT45F-S fridge express "DC power consumption variable from 0.5 to 2.5 amps maximum". So they state that the current may vary between 0.5 and 2.5 amps but make no expression about the duty cycle.

In both cases the actual power consumed over a given period will vary with the heat load within the fridge and the ambient temperature so the manufacturer is unable to give a figure of actual power consumption. Although Waeco does take a stab at it by using the term "average".

If the manufacturer were to only give the "worst case" maximum current drain then perhaps some consumers may make comparative evaluations which may not be to the manufacturer's advantage. If brand "A" consumed twice the current of brand "B" but only ran for half the time then they have identical consumption, but brand "A" may be rejected as "using more power" in the eyes of a consumer. It is not easy for the manufacturer to make an expression of power consumption which would be meaningful to a consumer.

FollowupID: 644206

Follow Up By: Maîneÿ . . .- Thursday, Jul 30, 2009 at 11:38

Thursday, Jul 30, 2009 at 11:38
Allan,
Yes, what I was attempting to introduce was the ramp-up current drain on start-up.

My '96 mod fridge did draw 10 Amps *plus* but with a ~30% duty cycle it averaged 2.8 Amphour (or is it Amp Hour) over a 48 hour period when tested by a Perth 12v company, sitting empty in a 'tin shed' on a hot weekend.
Later models have much reduced start-up and running current draw (or is that drawer)

Maîneÿ . . .
FollowupID: 644210

Follow Up By: Member - Allan B (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 30, 2009 at 13:59

Thursday, Jul 30, 2009 at 13:59
Mainey, we are getting "off-topic".

If you want to pursue the fridge power consumption perhaps we should start a fresh thread.

FollowupID: 644219

Follow Up By: Maîneÿ . . .- Thursday, Jul 30, 2009 at 16:10

Thursday, Jul 30, 2009 at 16:10
Allan,
no, I don't wish to pursue a fridge power consumption thought, my only accessory that uses heaps of power is my fridge, so I just made direct comparison to your post on the Waeco and Engel fridge power consumption numbers and your method of typing the numbers you used.

I had to ask the question using the words " it averaged 2.8 Amphour (or is it Amp Hour) over a 48 hour period " for it to have any relevant meaning at all.

As I said the ramp-up (start up) current drain has to be taken into account when quoting power usage, because it does take more current to start the compressor than it does to maintain it running when it's warmed up.

Maîneÿ . . .
FollowupID: 644228

Follow Up By: Lex M (Brisbane) - Thursday, Jul 30, 2009 at 19:16

Thursday, Jul 30, 2009 at 19:16
Qoute.
As a consequence Waeco express for their CF-35AC "Average power consumption 0.85 amps/hr".

And that gets us back to the original topic.
If I understand the intention of this datum.

This should be "Average power consumption 0.85 amphours/hr"
Or if you prefer "Average power consumption 0.85 amps"
FollowupID: 644265

Follow Up By: Member - Allan B (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 30, 2009 at 19:35

Thursday, Jul 30, 2009 at 19:35
Yes Lex, that was an exact quote from the Waeco site. I saw the error of expression and wondered if someone else would pick-up on it .... and you have! But I chose to quote it exactly as it was.

But you cannot say "amphours/hour". They should have said as your alternative... "Average power consumption 0.85 amps"

But then, we all knew what they meant, didn't we? LOL

FollowupID: 644267

Follow Up By: Lex M (Brisbane) - Thursday, Jul 30, 2009 at 21:07

Thursday, Jul 30, 2009 at 21:07
But you cannot say "amphours/hour".

Can you please explain exactly what you consider wrong with this.
Is the problem the use of / as an abbreviation of per?
Or am I missing something else?

Would you accept .85 Ah per hour?
Or 20.4 Ah per day?
That's .85 X 24. Have to be really careful with the arithmetic. :-)

FollowupID: 644285

Follow Up By: Lex M (Brisbane) - Thursday, Jul 30, 2009 at 21:22

Thursday, Jul 30, 2009 at 21:22
"It is not easy for the manufacturer to make an expression of power consumption which would be meaningful to a consumer."

How about some sort of standard like:-

A (whatever brand) Fridge loaded with (some standard amount) litres of water, maintaining a temp of (some standard temperature eg 5 degrees) degrees, in an external temperature of (some standard temperature eg 30 degrees),
uses (some number ) of Ah per day.

Shouldn't be hard to get all the fridge manufacturers to agree to that. :-)
Should have kept that for Friday funnies.

FollowupID: 644292

Reply By: Member - Garth J (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 18:49

Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 18:49
I'll kick in on two angles

electrically and grammatically

Ampere is an instantaneous value

and Ampere is spelt with a capital because it is a Pro-noun!!!!LOL

Garth
AnswerID: 376710

Follow Up By: Member - Allan B (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 19:27

Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 19:27
No Garth, it's not a pronoun.

The SI units given a capital or uppercase symbol are because they are named after a person. So we have .......

Ampere or Amp: Andre-Marie Ampere
Volt: Alessandro Volta
Watt: James Watt
Ohm: Georg Ohm (The symbol being the Greek letter omega)

And the accepted engineering convention for electric charge is expressed as Ampere-hour or Amp-hour or Ah.

FollowupID: 644110

Follow Up By: Member - Garth J (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 20:52

Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 20:52
Thanks Allan,

Agree with what you say.........

How about a personal pro noun???

I've been an electrician longer than I was at school studying english!!!!

Seeya
Garth
FollowupID: 644136

Follow Up By: Member - Allan B (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 21:51

Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 21:51
Hi Garth,

Symbols are actually noun forms. But I'm not going to get into lexicographical exercises (how's that for a word!) or I may draw the criticism of some others who like to keep it simple, no matter how wrong!

However I do find the derivations of words and expressions used in physics to be interesting.

And me too ......... I have been in electrics in one form or another since ....... well, since longer than I can remember! LOL

FollowupID: 644149

Follow Up By: Lex M (Brisbane) - Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 22:10

Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 22:10
A quick google on SI standards seems to show that the capital (when unit is named after a person) only applies to the abbreviation.

So you have ampere or amp or A.

and you have volt or V.

Doesn't seem to make a lot of sense.
FollowupID: 644152

Follow Up By: Member - Allan B (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 22:53

Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 22:53
Yair Lex, I'm not sure why the symbol gets uppercase while the unit does not.

If it was for the reason of clarity then you would think that all symbols, and not just those named after a person, would be in uppercase. If I ever did know, then I have forgotten.

There is one exception to the rule. A litre is given uppercase for the symbol (L) and I do know that was done for clarity so as not to be confused with the numeral 1.

FollowupID: 644163

Reply By: Maîneÿ . . .- Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 18:53

Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 18:53
Lex,
you posted:
"The correct terminology for this fridge could be:

It uses 48 Amphours a day.
It average current is 4 Amps"

So is this a normal 'day' = 24 hours ?

if so, then the fridge draws 48 / 24 = 2 (not 4)

The fridge must only run for 12 hours, (not at night) ?
48 / 12 = 4 Amps

Do the numbers tell the truth or lie ?

Maîneÿ . . .
AnswerID: 376711

Reply By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 19:55

Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 19:55
This thread started off ok but now seems to have degenerated into a heap of tech stuff that probably makes sense to Auto sparky's or the like, but to us fence sitters = crap. LOl . Anyway I know it is my choice , I don't have to read it if I don't want to but most ordinary people on this site just want a fairly straightr forward answer to a straight forward question? Is that reasonable?
If we want to go to Uni in order to understand the technical lingo relating to a simple question, perhaps we should ask it on another forum.? Just my opinion!! Cheers
AnswerID: 376733

Follow Up By: Rolly - Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 20:33

Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 20:33
Uni, my derriere, this is first year high school stuff.
FollowupID: 644128

Follow Up By: Maîneÿ . . .- Thursday, Jul 30, 2009 at 16:21

Thursday, Jul 30, 2009 at 16:21
Barry,

YOUR correct :)

"" most ordinary people on this site just want a fairly straightr forward answer
to a straight forward question ""

That's 'just my opinion' too :)

Maîneÿ . . .
FollowupID: 644230

Follow Up By: Member - Allan B (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 30, 2009 at 17:06

Thursday, Jul 30, 2009 at 17:06
Barry,

The "tech stuff" that you call crap did certainly did contain a lot of crap.

It started with Lex clarifying the difference between amps and amp-hours which is simple enough but then degenerated into a lot of waffle about numbers and how many hours in a day etc. Not only were some expressions plain wrong but they also served to confuse the whole issue.

If you ask me a question you will get a clear answer and you will not need a higher education to understand it. If its electrical and my answer does not make sense to you then maybe you shouldn't be fooling with it! But stick with it and you may learn.

FollowupID: 644237

Follow Up By: Maîneÿ . . .- Thursday, Jul 30, 2009 at 17:27

Thursday, Jul 30, 2009 at 17:27
Allan,
Calm down,
A question for you;
in Lex's original post;

"Example:- A fridge does not use 48 Amps in a day
It uses 48 Amphours in a day

It average current is 4 Amps"

Is his statement *technically* correct, a simple 'yes' or 'no' will surfice
No argument needed :-)

Maîneÿ . . .

FollowupID: 644245

Follow Up By: Member - Allan B (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 30, 2009 at 17:59

Thursday, Jul 30, 2009 at 17:59
Mainey,

Is Lex's statement technically correct?

It may be or it may not be. Depends.

You sort it out with him ....... I'm busy with Barry! LOL

FollowupID: 644254

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 30, 2009 at 18:07

Thursday, Jul 30, 2009 at 18:07
If we are into correctness then that should be

You're correct not YOUR correct :) .

Sorry about that.

Its the abbreviation of You are, or am I missing something here.

FollowupID: 644255

Follow Up By: Maîneÿ . . .- Thursday, Jul 30, 2009 at 19:09

Thursday, Jul 30, 2009 at 19:09
Allan,
Sorry, but if I wanted Lex's thoughs I would have asked him,
however I want yours, so I've asked you

I thought by adding:
"a simple 'yes' or 'no' will surfice - No argument needed :-) "

there would be no problem.

Graham,
yes,
you're (maybe) missing something, the word "your" was typed in 'Capitals' :-))

Maîneÿ . . .
FollowupID: 644262

Follow Up By: Member - Allan B (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 30, 2009 at 20:05

Thursday, Jul 30, 2009 at 20:05
Well Mainey, there IS a problem. Your question cannot be properly answered with a simple yes or no. It is like me asking you if you have stopped stealing things from shops?....... answer yes or no!

You have an issue with Lex's mathematics or expression and want me to add fuel to that argument. Well I decline to get involved with that, not because I don't have an opinion about it but because it is not MY issue!

FollowupID: 644281

Follow Up By: Maîneÿ . . .- Thursday, Jul 30, 2009 at 20:57

Thursday, Jul 30, 2009 at 20:57
Allan,
Of course I can answer your question with a 'yes' or 'no' answer !
My answer to your (stupid) question to me, is exactly the same answer you would give, in the exact same circumstances, if you were asked, but I assure you I'm not interested in your private life, isn't it ?

In Lex's original post:
"Example:- A fridge does not use 48 Amps in a day
It uses 48 Amphours in a day
It average current is 4 Amps "

Correct answer . . 2
NOT . . 4

Maybe you did not even know, because you did not correct it?

Obviously you're not worried people reading this forum will see the wrong information, when you're not prepared to take action to correct it, I think that's wrong.

Maîneÿ . . .
FollowupID: 644284

Follow Up By: Member - Allan B (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 30, 2009 at 23:32

Thursday, Jul 30, 2009 at 23:32
Oh come on Mainey.

Why on earth should I criticize Lex's mathematics when it is of no consequence?
In any case you had already taken Lex to task and I quote:

"from Mainey, July 30, at 19:31"
"As Lex's post stated '4' which is obviously incorrect it clearly should be '2'
just a mathematical mistake :-) "

Lex's mathematic example had no real effect on the point that he was making about the difference between amps and amp-hours.

Should we all throw stones at him? Take a Bex and have a lie-down.

FollowupID: 644317

Follow Up By: Maîneÿ . . .- Thursday, Jul 30, 2009 at 23:56

Thursday, Jul 30, 2009 at 23:56
Allen,
I've never asked you to *criticize* Lex's mathematics ????

All I did was ask you if his numbers were accurate and correct ?
you replied:
"It may be or it may not be. Depends.
You sort it out with him ....... I'm busy with Barry! "

No, we shouldn't throw stones, that's not nice is it?

Maîneÿ . . .
FollowupID: 644321

Follow Up By: Member - Allan B (QLD) - Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 01:35

Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 01:35
Mainey, I have sent you a Member Message.

FollowupID: 644327

Follow Up By: Maîneÿ . . .- Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 08:38

Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 08:38
Allan,
yes you did, and now we all know it too
should I mention it was 2 MM's
and that I've also replied ha ha

I believe it should have been placed here!

Maîneÿ . . .
FollowupID: 644334

Reply By: Member - Porl - Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 22:11

Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 22:11
I'm sure it was Mainey that went bananas on this topic on the overlander site, am probably historically mistaken if so apologies mainey.

But I find it an excellent topic and am keen for the correct correct consenus of the electrically educated.

Though I think it is agreed that there is no such thing, other than band names, as "amps" so therefore amp hours, or amperes depending upon level of education with such marvels, is the correct measure and leads to a reduction of obfuscation.
AnswerID: 376757

Follow Up By: Lex M (Brisbane) - Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 22:27

Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 22:27
amp would appear to be an accepted abbreviation for amperes in the SI standard
FollowupID: 644158

Follow Up By: Maîneÿ . . .- Thursday, Jul 30, 2009 at 00:21

Thursday, Jul 30, 2009 at 00:21
Porl, you have some memory, I attempt to use politically correct terminology, however when replying to a post I tend to use the same terminology they have used *unless* it's technically opposite of being correct.
If someone calls it Amps then Amps is still good as a reply if it fits in with the reply and does not denigrate the result.

Just as I've asked above: is a day 12 hours or is it 24 hours ?
The correct answer is only relevant to the post it referrs to, nothing more and nothing less.

Maîneÿ . . .
FollowupID: 644172

Reply By: Muddy doe (SA) - Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 22:39

Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 22:39
As soon as someone started quoting SI Units I knew this was going to get deep.

Without detail focused people the world would be a very different place. Lots of great ideas but no-one to get the nuts and bolts stuff done!

Love these sorts of discussions and if I pick up one extra valid piece of info it was worth reading.

Muddy

AnswerID: 376761

Follow Up By: Member - Allan B (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 30, 2009 at 09:23

Thursday, Jul 30, 2009 at 09:23
You can still get the job done whilst paying attention to detail.

FollowupID: 644194