VSI 50 nsw ride heights put on hold

Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 16:35
ThreadID: 71062 Views:5423 Replies:11 FollowUps:13
Have just got off phone to nsw rta tech standards (Iwas checking trim height for 80 series as my current one has nsw rego) and the fellow I was speaking to advised that this afternoon they were advised the implementation due 1 august has been put on hold.

for those interested trim height for 92-97 1fzfe 80 series is
front 525mm and rear 550 mm
minimun heights are 490 front and 505 rear.
we wait for official notification
Howard
Resigned to Retirement

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 17:12

Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 17:12
hahahahahahaha..... I think the penny has finally dropped that they are gunna be tying themselves up in more red-tape than they can possibly handle...... hahahaahaha
AnswerID: 376689

Follow Up By: Rockape - Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 17:57

Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 17:57
Roachie,
they can't even manage mobile phones, they are scarey
FollowupID: 644096

Reply By: The Landy - Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 17:13

Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 17:13
There is nothing out in terms of press releases yet, however one of the Associations has advised this is the case and that a consultative group is to be formed to canvas input from four wheel drive groups.

Get behind your club and Association on this one......
AnswerID: 376690

Reply By: Member - Johny boy (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 17:43

Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 17:43
Hi Howard,
Mate I know I must be the only bloke on E/O that don't understand what Trim height means but could you please explain, as I own a 98 mod 100 ser and would like to know the specs and where they measure from? My mate just came back from an Engineers inspection for his 80 ser for a 6'' lift ( $800 odd later) and he was told that anything up to and including 50mm is not required to supply an engineers report and he was also told that 33 "tyres were allowed on the 80 & 100 ser but he was not sure if this effected the height when combined with a lift of 50 mm ,I thought that it would not effect the measuring as they measure from arch tip on front or rear guard to bottom edge of rim (not Tyre) that means the cars measurement cant change even if it had no tyres on it ?

Well its all good news that its on hold but I think we should use this down time to prepare for when ( not if) it does come back in .

AnswerID: 376694

Follow Up By: Member - Howard (ACT) - Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 18:05

Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 18:05
john,
trim height is the distance between the centre of the wheel(axle) and the top of the wheel arch.
i suggest you google nsw rta then search VSI 50 and there is a nice little picture.
what is allowed today has nothing to do with a what this change is proposing unless you are already engineered.
under VIS 50 the tyre height increase is added to the trim height measurement to determine total lift and anything over 50mm will not be registerable for unrestricted road use.
285/75/16 tyres alone put 21mm into the height increase on a 80 series gxl.
this leaves just over 1'' for suspension increase.
Howard
Resigned to Retirement

FollowupID: 644099

Follow Up By: viz - Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 20:00

Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 20:00
Tried looking on the RTA website for Vehicle Desciptor Sets for the Landcruiser and the only one I can find is for the Landcruiser 120 (Prado).

Anyone else like to have a crack at this? Mine is a 105 Landcruiser.

viz
FollowupID: 644122

Reply By: Member - Tony V (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 17:43

Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 17:43
With you there Landy,

Time to get counted, 4WD NSW & ACT represent 90 Clubs and about 10,000 members. (plus families). That can be a lot of voice.

Today Greg Redfern, President and Roger Sheath Vice President met with other interest groups and Minister Daley.

It is going to be hard as individuals to voice your feelings, this may be the year to join a Club and see what it can offer, or more importantly what you can offer to the Club and the community.

Imagine if all 4WD'ers were Club Members, I thing 30,000 or more members plus families.

Maybe its time to, not just stop this sort of thing, but be consulted and help shape these sort of rules. The same with parks and land closures.

Yes get rid of the "Hoon's", but lets do this the right way.

Wow, that more like 10 cents worth....

AnswerID: 376695

Follow Up By: The Landy - Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 17:55

Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 17:55
Tony...100%, that is the way it needs to go....
FollowupID: 644095

Reply By: Member - Johny boy (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 19:12

Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 19:12
Hi again Howard ,
thanks for explaining that to me as I did not know it was to the center of rim as I thought it would be the same way that they measure before and after lift jobs ,and that was to bottom of rim but I suppose you can buy different size rims ?
But that still don't gel as when you measure from the edge of guard to center of rim the tyre size should not change that measurement only if you were to measure from edge of guard to ground/road ,did I get that right LOL!
Anyway I think I might have to look for a good family 4x4 club out Penrith way to be able to be counted/heard if need be .

AnswerID: 376718

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 19:20

Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 19:20
Does anyone really believe that the workshop that checks your vehicle for road worthiness is going to grab the specification book and a tape measure and check every vehicle.. Most of those guys are blind and check vehicles with their white stick..Tap Tap Tap!! Yep !! its a car!!! Michael
AnswerID: 376722

Follow Up By: Member - Johny boy (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 19:36

Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 19:36
Um ...YEEESSSSS!!!
FollowupID: 644114

Follow Up By: viz - Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 19:41

Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 19:41
Mine does and will - one of the most knowledgeable mechanics I have ever met. If he doesn't he will find out, and in his 60's he still attends courses and conferences to keep himself up to speed.

Wish I had met him years ago - he has only been looking after the Bruiser for the last 5 years...

viz
FollowupID: 644115

Follow Up By: OzTroopy - Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 20:33

Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 20:33
Maybe not the pink slip workshop ...

...... but as per the VSI .. the blue slip workshop would have done more than tap the vehicle with a stick.

FollowupID: 644127

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 19:48

Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 19:48
Howard, do you have raised suspension? Michael.
AnswerID: 376731

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 19:53

Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 19:53
Ok , I see you have 3 inch raised, you will probably be ok, it possibly has settled at 2 inches anyway.. Michael
FollowupID: 644117

Follow Up By: Member - Johny boy (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 19:53

Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 19:53
Michael,have a look at Howard s profile ,he has a very nice truck with I think a 3'' lift.

FollowupID: 644119

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 19:57

Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 19:57
Thanks, i just checked his profile.. Michael
FollowupID: 644120

Follow Up By: Member - Howard (ACT) - Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 21:17

Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 21:17
Michael,
yes I run 285/75/16 tyres and have 3"' lift springs but those now sagged a bit.
measured this afternoon and vehicles comes at trim heights of
571mm front v 525(as per rta advice)
and 590mm rear v 550
add the 21 mm tyre increase ie half of 42mm being diff in diameter between 275/70/16 and 285/7516 tyres
and overall increase is +66mm front and + 61mm rear
I will most likely change rego over to ACT.
Howard
Resigned to Retirement

FollowupID: 644139

Follow Up By: Steve L - Thursday, Jul 30, 2009 at 08:34

Thursday, Jul 30, 2009 at 08:34
Howard,

Your calculations may be well out re the tyre size impact. The RTA allows a 15mm diameter increase "above the largest available legal size tyre going by the tyre placard". The lift offered by a tyre can therefore only be measured against that largest tyre, not just against the tyre that was on the vehicle when new.

On my 80 the placard says I can fit 275/70R16s or 7.50R16s, and doing a search I found the largest of either of these was a 7.50R16 Simex M/P Trekker at 817.1mm diameter. Adding 15mm to that gives me 832.1mm diameter to play with. I then found the Mickey Thompson site showed (at that time - they have since changed the figures but I have kept a hardcopy of the site as it was in case I get questioned about it) their MTZ in both 285/75R16 and 305/70R16 with a diameter of 833mm.

Obviously all manufacturers differ in their tyre sizes - not many of them seem to use the standard calculation of section/profile/rim diameter to make their tyres the size they 'should' be - but with the 833mm size my tyres are only 15.9mm in diameter increase, which gives me a tyre radius change of 7.95mm, not the 21mm you are quoting.

Have you confirmed both your tyre placard details and the actual tyres size on the manufacturers website?

How VSI 50 was expecting people to identify that the tyre size had increased by 15mm in order to have to add it to the suspension lift is beyond me though (short of sending every stopped vehicle to the pits/RTA for an inspection) is beyond me. Guess we'll see what comes of the review.......
FollowupID: 644188

Follow Up By: Member - Howard (ACT) - Thursday, Jul 30, 2009 at 09:13

Thursday, Jul 30, 2009 at 09:13
Steven,
I was only applying the mathematical eqation to the tyre sizes
275/70/16 = 275X70% x2=385+400 for wheel size=785
285/75/16 = 285x75%X2=427+400=827
a difference of 42mm /2=21mm height increase.
Howard
Resigned to Retirement

FollowupID: 644192

Reply By: OzTroopy - Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 20:35

Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 20:35
Good to see a bit of public outrage may have done some good.

Trick is now to maintain that and also to present a united approach.

Its not just a 4wd thing either ... anybody and everybody with legitimate suspension adjustment requirements needs toi be drawn into sorting this one out.
AnswerID: 376739

Reply By: On Patrol & TONI - Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 20:51

Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 20:51
Find A Club here

This is where to look for a club near you, 4WD NSW & ACT.
Cheers Colin.
AnswerID: 376745

Reply By: Member - Tony V (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 21:54

Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 21:54
Thank you and well done 4WD NSW & ACT.4WD Association
MINISTER AGREES TO FURTHER CONSULTATION ON CAR MODIFICATION LAWS
Wednesday 29 July 2009
Minister for Roads Michael Daley today met with representatives from the 4WD communityand car industry who asked for the introduction of proposed vehicle modification rules to be delayed and for more time to consult.
Mr Daley said he agreed to put the rule changes on hold and that more consultation was needed following the meeting.
“I’ve listened to feedback from the industry and the community, and have agreed to set up a working party to look more closely at how we are going to address this road safety issue,” he said.
“All of those who attended today’s meeting agreed that safety is paramount and that unsafe modifications of vehicles do need be stamped out.
“The working group will include representatives from the NSW Centre for Road Safety,
Four Wheel Drive NSW-ACT, Australian Automotive Aftermarket Association, the
Australian 4WD Industry Council as well as other agencies and experts,” Mr Daley said.
Executive Director of Australian Automotive Aftermarket Association Stuart Charity said this was a terrific outcome.
“We’re passionate about road safety and we understand the intent of the regulation is to make the roads safer,” he said.
We’re looking forward to working towards a practical solution that meets road safety objectives while also taking industry views into account,” Mr Charity said.
Greg Redfern from Four Wheel Drive NSW-ACT also welcomed the outcome and said the working group would have their full support.
“We want to eliminate unsafe practices in the driving community and we’ll work with the government to make sure these new regulations meet those objectives without any adverse consequences for the motoring community at large,” he said.
“We all agree that there is no place for extreme and illegal modifications, but the clubs in our association follow a strict code of conduct and ethics, and we want to make sure they’re not punished,” Mr Redfern said.
[quote/]
AnswerID: 376754

Reply By: Rolly - Thursday, Jul 30, 2009 at 11:57

Thursday, Jul 30, 2009 at 11:57
All this would make some kind of sense if the relevant authorities actually and effectively policed the existing rules and regulations.

Until governments, and the people who elect them, get over this preoccupation with window dressing and media sensationalism, nothing practical is likely to be achieved.

We desperately need a re-write of all State legislation, especially those relating to cross border matters, of which road regulation is one of the prime examples.

That would mean more effort on behalf of the pollies and public servants and an increase in government expenditure; which none of us care to fund.

You get what you elect and what you are prepared to pay for.

The ball is in your own court: Get politicised, get actively involved, or stop bleeding well whinging.

As they say: "When all's said and done, there's more said than done."

AnswerID: 376800