Four weeks in Qld and my Fuel pump seals are leaking.
Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 18:33
Member - Boo Boo (NSW)
Walking around the Troopy the other day and noticed a diesel smell and then a small puddle under the troopy.
I spoke to a diesel bloke in
Emerald and he said he has seen a few NSW diesels in the past few months that have come to Qld, put about three tanks of the ultra low sulpher fuel in their tanks and the seals start to leak.
I would have thought that the ultra low fuel was in NSW as
well.
Its a 1995 75 series.
Anyway it looks like it will cost me $750 for the injectors and between $800 and $1200 to rebuild the pump.
This is on top of a fuseable link dying between
Blackwater and Rocky.
It fell apart due to old age. Luckily I had mobile reception where I broke down.
However it took thre hours for help to arrive as the RACQ appear to have communicatrion problems, but thats another story.
Reply By: Tessysdad - Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 18:59
Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 18:59
G'day BooBoo,
A mate of
mine had some seeping seals sorted the other day on his Pajero. Mechanics said it was probably due his occasional used of a Biodiesel mix he had picked up. aparently bioacids in the fuel.
FWIW
Happy
camping,
Mike.
Reply By: Maîneÿ . . .- Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 19:20
Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 19:20
Bob,
Empty some diesel conditioner into the fuel
tank in a hurry, one that claims to *recondition* the "O" rings etc, it may work for you for a while anyway and get the repairs done when you get back home.
Had a similar problem when I was living in
Meekatharra, blamed the shell fuel at the time, had to go to
Geraldton to get pump serviced, don't remember the 'stuff' I put in but it worked for me.
Maîneÿ . . .
Reply By: Rockape - Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 19:28
Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 19:28
Have a think about this,
I thought a few years ago"about 5 yrs" Australia switched to low sulpher diesel, not just Qld.
Lots of problems and BP fixed most of them for free "QLD ANYWAY"
Seems a long time since this and your present problem.
Maybe someone in the fuel industry can help here.
Reply By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 20:47
Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 20:47
Hi BooBoo, Can you tell me why you have to change the injectors ?
KK
Follow Up By: Member - Stuart P (WA) - Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 21:49
Wednesday, Jul 29, 2009 at 21:49
low sulphur diesel is the cause of your pump leaking, unless there is excess fuel burning , the vehicle is sluggish or you have diesel in your fuel you should not have to replace your injectors . (only if you are using high sulphur fuel , this tends to erode the pintle face ) the other reason your pump may be leaking is the top seal is u/s and the bush that supports the throtlle shaft is now worn and fuel is exiting there , in which case the seal and shaft bush can be simply replaced
Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 30, 2009 at 12:21
Thursday, Jul 30, 2009 at 12:21
Kiwi Kai
My understanding is that injectors should be replaced around 100000k's.
Mine has done 200,000k's.
Having said that I am blowing a lot of black smoke. My wife and son have followed me a few times and comment on the amount of smoke comming out, and its not just on hills.
I was also talking to a bloke who said that he had not replaced his injectors and at 350,000 k's he blew his engine. It appears that one of the injectors was squirting rather than misting and eventually wore a hole in the top of the piston. Please note that I am not getting the injectors fixed based on his story.
The problem with the pump is the back seal. The deisel mechanic was hoping that it was only the top seal as it was easy to fix. Unfortunately it was not to be.
Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Thursday, Jul 30, 2009 at 15:28
Thursday, Jul 30, 2009 at 15:28
Hi BooBoo,
The way you had written your first post I thought you may have been inferring that the fuel leak was involved in your decision to change the injectors. My Troopy has just passed 300,000 km and the performance of the vehicle does not indicate any reason to touch the injectors. :-)
Do you have any idea of the cost for doing a pump O/H ?
KK
Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 30, 2009 at 17:37
Thursday, Jul 30, 2009 at 17:37
Kiwi
The estimate is between $800-$1200.
They will have the troopy for 2 days.
No the fuel leak was a pure fluke. I found the leak about 6 days after I had made the decision to do the injectors.
Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Thursday, Jul 30, 2009 at 18:08
Thursday, Jul 30, 2009 at 18:08
Thanks for the info BB, hope it cures the problem.
Reply By: Member - Tony & Julie (FNQ) - Thursday, Jul 30, 2009 at 17:53
Thursday, Jul 30, 2009 at 17:53
Is this just to have a go at Qlders? Or is it just needed work on a 14 year
old car? :-)
Maybe your still sore at us from the footy :-)
Cheers Tony