breaking news for NSW re "Hoons"

Submitted: Thursday, Jul 30, 2009 at 12:51
ThreadID: 71081 Views:3999 Replies:7 FollowUps:4
NEWS RELEASE
MINISTER AGREES TO FURTHER CONSULTATION ON
CAR MODIFICATION LAWS
Wednesday 29 July 2009
Minister for Roads Michael Daley today met with representatives from the 4WD community and car industry who asked for the introduction of proposed vehicle modification rules to be delayed and for more time to consult.
Mr Daley said he agreed to put the rule changes on hold and that more consultation was needed following the meeting.
“I’ve listened to feedback from the industry and the community, and have agreed to set up a working party to look more closely at how we are going to address this road safety issue,” he said.
“All of those who attended today’s meeting agreed that safety is paramount and that unsafe modifications of vehicles do need be stamped out.
“The working group will include representatives from the NSW Centre for Road Safety, Four Wheel Drive NSW-ACT, Australian Automotive Aftermarket Association, the Australian 4WD Industry Council as well as other agencies and experts,” Mr Daley said.
Executive Director of Australian Automotive Aftermarket Association Stuart Charity said this was a terrific outcome.
“We’re passionate about road safety and we understand the intent of the regulation is to make the roads safer,” he said.
We’re looking forward to working towards a practical solution that meets road safety objectives while also taking industry views into account,” Mr Charity said.
Greg Redfern from Four Wheel Drive NSW-ACT also welcomed the outcome and said the working group would have their full support.
“We want to eliminate unsafe practices in the driving community and we’ll work with the government to make sure these new regulations meet those objectives without any adverse consequences for the motoring community at large,” he said.
“We all agree that there is no place for extreme and illegal modifications, but the clubs in our association follow a strict code of conduct and ethics, and we want to make sure they’re not punished,” Mr Redfern said.
Cheers Colin

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 30, 2009 at 13:02

Thursday, Jul 30, 2009 at 13:02

I am glad to see Commonsence Has Prevailed.

AnswerID: 376806

Reply By: timglobal - Thursday, Jul 30, 2009 at 13:05

Thursday, Jul 30, 2009 at 13:05
Great news.

Well done everyone who lobbied their local member, 4WD group and signed petitions.
AnswerID: 376807

Reply By: Member - Tony & Julie (FNQ) - Thursday, Jul 30, 2009 at 16:54

Thursday, Jul 30, 2009 at 16:54
Wow - A minister listened to reasoning! That has to be good :-) Cheers Tony
AnswerID: 376830

Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Thursday, Jul 30, 2009 at 17:10

Thursday, Jul 30, 2009 at 17:10
Yeah Tony, we have the best of evrything here in NSW, LOL.
FollowupID: 644239

Follow Up By: Member - Tony & Julie (FNQ) - Thursday, Jul 30, 2009 at 17:47

Thursday, Jul 30, 2009 at 17:47
Ill take your word for it but live in paradise :-) Press release below

Press Release re NSW Vehicle Modifications

Cheers Tony
FollowupID: 644253

Reply By: Member -Dodger - Thursday, Jul 30, 2009 at 17:21

Thursday, Jul 30, 2009 at 17:21
Colin
Thankyou very much for this info.
Phew at last someone has listened to reason.
I used to have a handle on life, but it broke.

Cheers Dodg.

AnswerID: 376837

Reply By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 30, 2009 at 19:33

Thursday, Jul 30, 2009 at 19:33
Hi Colin,
The news article I just watched was mainly about the Street Machine Light ute crowd (The Doush Doush lowered, belly scrapers, baseball caps on sideways mob) rejoicing about it and then It showed an 80 with about a 6" lift and 44" tyres on it with a voice over explaining this is what the changes were to stop. Bloody media. Wouldn't know chaff from chit.
But No, it is good news.
I still must be dreaming, a minister actually has listened to people. Somebody wake me up :)

AnswerID: 376855

Follow Up By: Brian (Montrose, Vic.) - Thursday, Jul 30, 2009 at 23:26

Thursday, Jul 30, 2009 at 23:26
Media will never show us moderates who only want 2inches of lift and slightly bigger tyres.... wheres the shock value in that?
FollowupID: 644316

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 05:48

Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 05:48
Your right Brian, the media is only after 'shock value'.
I'm surprised our good mate Harold Scruby hasn't got his mug on the telly condemning the government for a change of face.
Give it time I guess.

FollowupID: 644328

Reply By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 10:13

Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 10:13
Thats a good result, & a demonstration of what moderate,well researched &
directed lobbying can do to influence legislation. Have a rant on EO by all means, it gets the word around, but logical, calm, intoduction of facts is what
gets results.Well done to all that had their say in that way..it may have
worked....oldbaz.
AnswerID: 376945

Reply By: jeep cherokee - Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 10:20

Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 10:20
Great news, i wonder how long it will take before our transport minister acts in S.A. We also have too many idiots with 4x4's that need a step ladder to get into their vehicle.
AnswerID: 376949