Anyone towed with a Toyota Aurion

Submitted: Monday, Aug 03, 2009 at 15:13
ThreadID: 71182 Views:14410 Replies:7 FollowUps:2
The wife has told me that she will not under any circumstances take any more trips with the caravan when it is being towed with my faithful 90 forerunner,

The old girl has 400,00kms on it but runs as if it is new (Car not the wife)

The question is, she has newish aurion which I can spend about $1200 on to get fitted a towbar and brake controller, has anyone towed with this vehicle,

Would be pulling a Goldstream camper all up weight about 1400kgs.

Costs so much for the towbar because I need the 50mm hitch for the weight distrubition kit that I already have.

Cannot and would not trade up from the old forerunner, part of the family and gets me to places without the fear of some electro gizmo breaking down

Anyhelp out there

Reply By: WYSIWYG (Bundaberg Qld) - Monday, Aug 03, 2009 at 15:27

Monday, Aug 03, 2009 at 15:27
Hi Ranger1,
we had a 4 Runner for about 6 years, and miss it terribly. I hope your wife is not reading this but perhaps trade the wife and keep the 4 Runner for the trips...LOL...but seriously I can understand the attachment to the 4 Runner.

AnswerID: 377380

Follow Up By: pop2jocem - Monday, Aug 03, 2009 at 21:30

Monday, Aug 03, 2009 at 21:30
Yep, trade her in mate, the 4 Runner would have tooooo much sentimental value and I bet it doesn't get jealous either. lol (;-))))))))

Cheers Pop
FollowupID: 644777

Reply By: Best Off Road - Monday, Aug 03, 2009 at 15:37

Monday, Aug 03, 2009 at 15:37
I can't comment on the Aurion but can offer this.

I used to tow a 16 foot fiberglass boat with a 90 HP outboard behind 2.6 L Magna (front wheel drive like the Aurion). It had the mighty output of 93 kW and did quite a good job.

The Aurion with 200 kW should eat it for breakfast assuming it is rated to tow that weight.

AnswerID: 377386

Reply By: brushmarx - Monday, Aug 03, 2009 at 15:37

Monday, Aug 03, 2009 at 15:37
Sorry, can't help with the Aurion, but have dragged a double horse float with 2 big lumps of dogmeat grossing around 1700kg with an auto Avalon 3 litre V6 with no dramas, and no unexpected loss in economy.
With the Aurion being larger engine size, and more killer wasps, I can't see a problem as far as weight and stability goes, but it probably relates to driving style, loading and road quality.
AnswerID: 377387

Reply By: landed eagle - Monday, Aug 03, 2009 at 15:39

Monday, Aug 03, 2009 at 15:39
G'day Ranger1,

A friend of mine tows a Cavalier C/T with an Aurion. Obviously not as large or heavy as your Goldstream but it does it no worries at all.Heaps of grunt ,just lacks ground clearance,so that does limit her a bit in where she goes.
It does look a bit strange too!

cheers.
AnswerID: 377388

Reply By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Monday, Aug 03, 2009 at 17:36

Monday, Aug 03, 2009 at 17:36
Hi Ranger1, I cant comment on the Aurion, but we have a 2003 Camry Altise V6 & used to tow a 16 foot pop top with it. The loaded weight of the van was in the vicinity of 1450 Kg.
We did not experience any problems. A lot of people will tell you that you can't tow with a front wheel drive vehicle, but to my knowledge that view is just an opinion & I have never seen it supported by facts.
You do need to use the weight distribution gear & you already have that. So I would say go for it. Cheers
AnswerID: 377401

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Monday, Aug 03, 2009 at 21:41

Monday, Aug 03, 2009 at 21:41
Good ponits re front wheel drive Barry. The knocking is largely myth.

FollowupID: 644780

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Monday, Aug 03, 2009 at 19:50

Monday, Aug 03, 2009 at 19:50
What does the handbook say the heaviest trailer the car can tow.

If its not there perhaps a ring to Toyota will give you the correct answer which is better than people making assumptions which may or may not be correct.
AnswerID: 377416

Reply By: Muddy doe (SA) - Monday, Aug 03, 2009 at 22:19

Monday, Aug 03, 2009 at 22:19
Aurion Spec sheet shows a towing capacity of 500kg unbraked and 1600kg for a trailer with brakes.

Reckon it would do it pretty easy.

Muddy
AnswerID: 377444