Caught out when you least wanted to be? minds out of the gutter folks.
Submitted: Monday, Aug 03, 2009 at 20:36
Trevor R (QLD)
I must be one of those blokes you would hate to see at your weakest moment. In the smallest tiny village you can come across (Borooren QLD), I saw a white 80 series on the side of the road with the bonnet up....mmmmm nothing unusual I hear all the Nissan fans chuckling. This one was a little different to others I have seen, this one was sporting an EO wheel cover.........screeeeeech as I pulled in in front of them. G'day I says, this looks a little ominus. Yeah, nothing to worry about was the reply. About now i said...nice wheel cover, I got one just like it!! Your kidding Stef said, I have been all round this country and not seen a single wheel cover and the first time I break down.... in a one horse town....
well you turn up hehehe. After a quick reassurance that things would be fine I left them to it as I had a family to get home to that I have'nt seen for a week and my little girl has turned 2 in this time as
well.
Nice to meet you guys today (Stef and Sal if memory serves me right) hope things went smoothly for you once the ol girl cooled down. If you are reading this let me know so I can put your screen name to your face. Normally for me it is the other way round where I need to put faces to screen names. No Nissan owner will rib you... honest LOL!!
Other notable mentions for innopportune meetings I have come across include my good mate Bob when he had just been rescued by the police after bogging his F Truck up nth of
Cooktown and also his FTruck's trip home on the back of the Mack Tilt truck when it just needed the tray bolts tightened up...man that was funny Bob and one you will never live down ROFL!!
When have you been caught out when you least want to be?
Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Tuesday, Aug 04, 2009 at 07:01
Tuesday, Aug 04, 2009 at 07:01
You went past and didn't drop in???
Did you hear the Borgy's were in town did you LOL
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 09:43
Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 09:43
Sorry mate, I was in a hurry. I had already missed my daughter's second birthday and wanted to get home asap. As it was I have only just made it home last night.
The Borgy's in town would have made no difference, if anything, I may have slowed down to grab a coffee in a takeaway mug and said hello to them as I cruised through the drive thru at your place hehehe. My little girl means so much to me and the fact I missed her 2nd birthday has really peeved me right off. I worked like a dog over the last week and a bit, the trip I have just done normally takes 2-3 weeks. To say I am lacking in something (sleep) is an understatement....thank goodness for strong truckstop coffee is all I can say.
See you all on another trip for sure.
Cheers, Trevor.
Reply By: Member - Tour Boy ( Bundy QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 04, 2009 at 07:30
Tuesday, Aug 04, 2009 at 07:30
Yeah...what's the deal could have given you a coffee in
Miriam Vale on the way thru.
Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 09:49
Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 09:49
As above Dave, I was in a real hurry to get home. I did not know you were in
Miriam Vale I thought you were in Bundy for some reason??? don't know where I got that thought from.
I will drop you a line when I am coming through on another trip where time permits. I don't know if you remember but we met at the Shell servo down
Lithgow way a few years back. I will take you up on the coffee offer one day soon. Likewise if you are down my way (Virginia) feel free to drop in here for a refill of your coffee mug too.
Cheers, Trevor.
Reply By: Robert HL (SEQ)(aka zuksctr) - Tuesday, Aug 04, 2009 at 07:43
Tuesday, Aug 04, 2009 at 07:43
G'day Trev,
you will get yours King Tadpole.Lol
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 04, 2009 at 10:31
Tuesday, Aug 04, 2009 at 10:31
Don't worry Bob,
He's just jealous of all those ponies you got under ya bonnet mate.... hahaha
Follow Up By: Robert HL (SEQ)(aka zuksctr) - Tuesday, Aug 04, 2009 at 17:53
Tuesday, Aug 04, 2009 at 17:53
Bill, not worried,Trevor is like the Paparazzi,if any thing is going to happen or has alreadyTrevor is there to help you out if you need it,but has always got a camera on his body (just in case) of agood pic & story.
He is that good he dobs himself in when he was bogged on the side of the hwy near
Goondiwindi last yr. Lol
He is a good mate to have around for if & when.
Yes he would be jealous of all my (Draft) ponies as he was looking o get one a little whie back.Hahaha
Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 09:56
Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 09:56
Still looking Bob. I was drooling over the one I have had my eye on for a while up in Rocky just the other night. Hard to justify the 40 odd change over on the damn things though when I can chop and lengthen my (history known) GU with all it's ponies and put the body box of my choice on for around 20-25. As always, when in doubt, sit tight hang on to what you know and let time help make the decisions for you. I do like the Effies though just purely for sheer volume.
Cheers guys,
Trevor.
Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 04, 2009 at 10:29
Tuesday, Aug 04, 2009 at 10:29
G'day Trevor......
You musta been sucking the brown lemonade bottles a bit too hard (again) mate...... Don't ya know, Toymota Blandcruisers never (NEVER) break down!!!! C'mon mate, get it right!!!!!! hahahahahaha
Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 10:14
Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 10:14
Yeah I know I have been doing dizzy hours over the last week averaging a few hours sleep a day but honest, it was a landcruiser and it did have it's bonnet up. The wheel cover was what really made me stop to help. Would even do it for a particular Jeep owner that we both know if it had a wheel cover like ours ;-))
Cheers, Trevor.
Reply By: Rut Tearer - Tuesday, Aug 04, 2009 at 13:17
Tuesday, Aug 04, 2009 at 13:17
Nice story Trev and yes a Toyota on the side of the road is nothing to worry about!
Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 10:04
Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 10:04
It is when the thermo has stuck closed and you are a good 70 odd k's from home. Seems Stef had it all worked out in his head and I was of little value to him so I continued on my journey but had I have been needed I would most certainly have helped however I could. The Toyota Nissan thing is just a campfire beat up and only adds to the comradery shared between people with common interests if you ask me.
Cheers, Trevor.