Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 20:34
dazza62
Back from
the Desert and planning a trip to the Cape.
It has been suggested that this should not be considered without a
snorkel, so I started checking around today for a
snorkel.....
Sorry, we do not recommend putting a
snorkel on a NS Pajero Auto Diesel due to the noise experienced.
Given the many modifications we have already done to this vehicle, changeover is not a consideration.
So the question......(preferably with an answer from someone that has one!!!)
How noisy is the
snorkel going to make my NS get?
Reply By: Member - Bruce T (SA) - Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 20:38
Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 20:38
Daza62.
4X$4 has an article on this in their curent magazine. They said it was extremely noisy.
Bruce
Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 20:40
Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 20:40
Noise isnt worth while worrying about.
If I open my window in the Croozer I can here the
snorkel sucking a bit.
Solution close the window, no more problem.
A roof rack would make more noise I would think. Does on
mine.
Reply By: viz - Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 21:09
Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 21:09
Depends on vehicle I guess. My petrol Bruiser I can't hear the difference (roof rack is noisier). My brother's 3.0l diesel patrol makes a chuffing noise at idle that can be heard if the pax window is down; at speed a bit noisy but bearable.
Mate this is a piece-of-string question - depends on what you can put up with, taking into consideration the damage that can be done if the engine inhales some
water during the
river crossing.
Or then again what the missus can put up with ;)
viz
Reply By: Kim and Damn Dog - Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 21:32
Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 21:32
Gidday
I think snorkels are vastly misunderstood. Apart from
water protection they have another role.
Far more clean air is rammed into the primary filter in dust conditions than other whise.
I’ve been in situations without a
snorkel whereby fuel consumption has been used at an alarming rate. Removing the filter and blowing it out will attest to that.
As for noise I’ve noticed no difference. Sounds like a lot of tommy rot to me.
Kim
Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Thursday, Aug 06, 2009 at 10:09
Thursday, Aug 06, 2009 at 10:09
I agree Kim,
My current Patrol has done very little in deep
water but I would not be without my
snorkel.
I only noticed the noise from the
snorkel when my son started to learn to drive. Sitting in the passenger
seat with the window down I got to quite like the noise from the
snorkel. In fact now when the
young bloke is driving and especially when going through cuttings I often put the window down just to have a listen.
Each to his own I guess but as I said earlier I would not be without the
snorkel. When I did the Cape all those years ago I spent a lot less time cleaning the air filter than those without one.
Reply By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 22:08
Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 22:08
We like to hear the wildlife and its great to have a quiet car, so no
Snorkel here but we have a solution, on our patrol which is suitable for many vehicles.
That is that we can pull the intake duct section away from the rest of the assembly where it goes to the front guard and direct a seperate piece of duct as an air intake to just in front of the firewall up high.
This means that the air intake gets hot air but at a height of over a metre.
Our setup takes only about 15 secs , so its practical to change to at significant
water crossings.
At end of the day we never actually needed it doing the Cape , but rivers were not high in september.
Reply By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 22:33
Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 22:33
I have quiet snorkles on the Paj & Troopy but son inlaw has heaps of noise from his Hi-Lux snorkle. In fact it is so noisy I don't like riding in it, sounds like an engine exhaust brake is on all the time.
KK
Reply By: matske - Thursday, Aug 06, 2009 at 05:26
Thursday, Aug 06, 2009 at 05:26
i would still be stuck in
nolan brook cape york if i didnt have a
snorkel your mad to go with out one. you will want your window up on the dirt roads anyways
Reply By: timothy - Thursday, Aug 06, 2009 at 09:20
Thursday, Aug 06, 2009 at 09:20
When are you planning on going to the Cape? I went July this year and
water levels were very low, I fitted a
snorkel before going to avoid dust in the airbox and for the deep crossings but only really needed it for the dust. No
water came onto the bonnet of my Jeep unless I went looking for trouble.
Reply By: BenDiD - Thursday, Aug 06, 2009 at 10:12
Thursday, Aug 06, 2009 at 10:12
Dazza,
I am guessing this advice came from Safari? They don't make a
snorkel to suit the DiD NS. TJM has an Airtec
snorkel to suit. The only drawback is a smaller front washer bottle.
There is the issue of increased induction noise but this seems to be such a personal thing that there is no consensus about what is too loud and what isn't - the best thing you can do if noise is an issue is try and go for a drive with someone who has fitted one.
I also have a diesel NS and am not putting on a
snorkel. But I don't plan on doing any really deep crossings - if I do I will put a tarp over the bull bar and top of the bonnet. With that and the better airbox design in the NS (air comes from below the filter, not above) things should be OK.
Good Luck!
Ben
Reply By: Hanna1 - Thursday, Aug 06, 2009 at 12:31
Thursday, Aug 06, 2009 at 12:31
Dazza
A quick search on on
http://www.pajeroclub.com.au/home/publicforum/ will give you all the information you need.
Putting a
snorkel on a NS auto is not like putting one on a regular 4x4, there really is some serious noise issues.
Having been to the cape a month ago, the
water levels were definately at
snorkel depth then.
Reply By: dazza62 - Thursday, Aug 06, 2009 at 20:25
Thursday, Aug 06, 2009 at 20:25
Thank you for all the constructive feedback.
I have read the articles mentioned and visited the Pajero Owners Club website and am still unclear of the issues with putting a
snorkel on a Diesel Auto Pajero.
It seems that the major issue is induction noise on the auto as it can be done to a manual diesel.
Given that my background has been Holden V8's for the past 25 years, noise has never been a major concern. After all nothing sounds quite like a V8!!!
I certainly agree that a
snorkel aids more than just crossing
water, having cleaned the air filter everyday during our recent Outback trip I can appreciate the benefits in this regard.
My concern is how loud is it really. Noise is after all in the eye of the beholder or in this case the listener.
Has anyone actually fitted a
snorkel to an NS DID Auto?
Would like to hear from you if you have and appreciate your thoughts.
Reply By: Leroy - Thursday, Aug 06, 2009 at 22:40
Thursday, Aug 06, 2009 at 22:40
I did the cape in my Rodeo in '03 with no
snorkel but used a blind a few times. If such a low slug vehicle can get up there and back without one I reckon a Paj can.
Leroy