Those truly ignorant Seppos and the proposed Outback Camel Cull.

Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 22:02
ThreadID: 71247 Views:5877 Replies:19 FollowUps:19
Can you believe the plain ignorance of some (& I stress SOME) septic tanks, sorry I mean yanks, no I mean those paternalistic Americans. Just saw a news anchor Erin Burnett of CNBC cristicising KRudd for his proposed camel cull in outback Australia (she called him a “Mass Murderer” I kid you not!). Does this primped and puffed seppo have any idea of the true damage that the Camel is causing in the outback? Does she know that they are causing regional extinction of many native flora and fauna species in areas of WA, NT and SA? Does she realise that they are in fact a FERAL species introduced to this country that have usurped the natural order of the desert ecosystem? Does she realise that the camel population doubles every ten years? I think not. I’m no KRudd fan but he has made the right decision here. Jeez next she’ll try and have us believing that they invaded Iraq on the basis of defending freedom.

Totally shocked.......Mick

P.S. And I don't include those people of US decent who have seen the light and migrated to Australia and are members of EO and that I may or may not have met in Port Hedland in my criticism. Hope the HF is working well! M.

Reply By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 22:05

Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 22:05
I turn off rapidly when someone calls someone killing an animal a "murderer" , you can only murder something of your own species by definition,
AnswerID: 377723

Follow Up By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 22:09

Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 22:09
Hmmmm without getting into politics and the semantics of foreign policy, I wonder what that makes George W for 4K young Americans and how many Iraqi civilians?

Aussie PM is a serial killer.

FollowupID: 645120

Follow Up By: pop2jocem - Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 22:13

Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 22:13
How does Osama bin liner rate?
FollowupID: 645121

Follow Up By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 22:22

Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 22:22
Errr wasn't that the excuse for the UN sanctioned eviction of the Taliban and that bloke Bin Liner from Afghanistan? Saddam who sucked and those Weapons of Massive Consumption for Iraq I think...or perhaps Haliburton. Ironic when the first camels to be imported to Australia came from Afghanistan in the early to mid 1800's.

FollowupID: 645124

Follow Up By: pop2jocem - Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 22:32

Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 22:32
I think the first camels that were indeed brought in from the Afghan region were accompanied by drivers from that same region. From what I can determine from history books they left there home town problems at home and assimilated into the existing society.
FollowupID: 645126

Follow Up By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 22:43

Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 22:43
Yes the Afghans that came to Australia in the 1800's were responsible for opening this country up. Their contribution to the development of early Australia can not be underestimated. Even as late as the 1920's, the camel was still a principal mode of transport and freight in the Outback.

FollowupID: 645129

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Thursday, Aug 06, 2009 at 07:47

Thursday, Aug 06, 2009 at 07:47
George is also innocent by definition.
FollowupID: 645148

Follow Up By: Pete Jackman (SA) - Thursday, Aug 06, 2009 at 13:06

Thursday, Aug 06, 2009 at 13:06
"George is also innocent by definition." Probably because of an insanity plea?
FollowupID: 645181

Reply By: pop2jocem - Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 22:10

Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 22:10
Mick

Why would she try to ascertain the real situation when words like "mass murderer" are far more emotive and in her mind maybe induce more viewers to tune in.
Why let a triffling thing like truth stand in the way of a good story.

Cheers Pop
AnswerID: 377725

Follow Up By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 22:14

Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 22:14
Surprisingly she is a "Financial" anchor on CNBC so would more than likely be ignorant of the true lay of the land outside the boundries of the greater state of New York. I believe we are close cousins to Germany, speak German and they beat us in WWII!

FollowupID: 645122

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 22:15

Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 22:15
This photo was last weekend around 100km from Alice
There are $hit loads of them and we need to do something fast........
AnswerID: 377729

Reply By: equinox - Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 22:17

Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 22:17
lol don't hold back now Mick...

You're right though of course. The damage the camels are are doing is untold; all the waterholes are getting ruined as well - something must be done about it.

AnswerID: 377732

Follow Up By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 22:28

Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 22:28
Yeah sorry about that Alan. The funny thing is that it has always been my experience that most Americans are some of the kindest and friendliest people on the planet and yet at times their ignorance just exasperates me. We've seen the damage first hand. What is now the rarest animal in the desert country of WA? The kangaroo! They are largely confined to the rocky areas and hills into which the camel will not easily move. Emu's and Dingoes are also getting harder to find. Sheesh!

FollowupID: 645125

Follow Up By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 22:36

Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 22:36
As an aside, I finally have gotten around to loading a few video clips to VIMEO. Have started to embed them in the blogs. Couple in the 9th July, 09 blog when the sub-tank dropped out lol. No where near as good as yours but it's a start.

FollowupID: 645127

Follow Up By: get outmore - Thursday, Aug 06, 2009 at 02:44

Thursday, Aug 06, 2009 at 02:44
dont kid yourself
Mick O (VIC) roos are actually and always have been not common out bush

i rarely see them when out true bush i only see them in farmland and pastrol properys

there are more of them than ever due to better access to pasture created by white man and watering points (same)

roos arnt actually common out bush, same gos for glahs and crows
FollowupID: 645142

Reply By: Member - Scoof (SA) - Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 22:30

Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 22:30
Could always round up a couple thousand humpy's and chuck'em in Erin Burnett's back yard. She if she likes them nibbling on her plants and drinking all her pool water.

Scoof
AnswerID: 377736

Reply By: ben_gv3 - Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 23:18

Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 23:18
You forgot also that we are using "air strikes", according to her, to murder these poor defenceless camels.
AnswerID: 377744

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Aug 06, 2009 at 02:08

Thursday, Aug 06, 2009 at 02:08
Now thats funny, did she elaborate as to whether we used FA18's or Tiger Gunships to knock em off??

FollowupID: 645141

Reply By: get outmore - Thursday, Aug 06, 2009 at 02:46

Thursday, Aug 06, 2009 at 02:46
lets not forget that virtually every australian native is protected but most of the animals in the US are not
AnswerID: 377752

Reply By: Dion - Thursday, Aug 06, 2009 at 07:45

Thursday, Aug 06, 2009 at 07:45
Whilst I agree with K.Rudd and support the cull and control, the animals should not be left to rot like was shown on the TV, they should be slaughtered for their meat, which is great.

Dion.
AnswerID: 377758

Follow Up By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Thursday, Aug 06, 2009 at 08:10

Thursday, Aug 06, 2009 at 08:10
Not a bad concept but the reality on the ground is far different. Most of these animals are in areas that are remote and have no access other than by air. The logistics in doing so would be mind boggling and so expensive as to defy comprehension. The current market for camel meat is very small and I don't see the Australian people changing their preference for bovine. Camel will never be more than a boutique market.

FollowupID: 645152

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Thursday, Aug 06, 2009 at 10:28

Thursday, Aug 06, 2009 at 10:28
Camel is already slaughtered for its meat and is getting more popular. Its also expensive to process and the abattoirs need to be set up differently.
Problem at the moment is there are just too many of them and the herds are getting bigger at a fast rate ( quicker than we can eat them)

You might find these links interesting

Gary Dann, Aileron Stn.

Territory Camel
FollowupID: 645169

Follow Up By: Pete Jackman (SA) - Thursday, Aug 06, 2009 at 13:11

Thursday, Aug 06, 2009 at 13:11
Is Gary related to Troy Dann?
FollowupID: 645182

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Thursday, Aug 06, 2009 at 13:25

Thursday, Aug 06, 2009 at 13:25
Yeah.
Troy is Garys son.
FollowupID: 645183

Reply By: Ozboc - Thursday, Aug 06, 2009 at 08:22

Thursday, Aug 06, 2009 at 08:22
i was good for a giggle --- i jumped on the skype phone and spoke to my friend in the states - they thought it was all bullcrap also

Boc

AnswerID: 377765

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Thursday, Aug 06, 2009 at 08:31

Thursday, Aug 06, 2009 at 08:31
Tell them what you really think Mick!! LOL!! Michael
AnswerID: 377767

Follow Up By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Thursday, Aug 06, 2009 at 09:35

Thursday, Aug 06, 2009 at 09:35
Perhaps she should stick to riske photo shoots for mens' mags. She doesn't seem to be capable of making informed comments. No doubt she wasn't hired for her brain!

FollowupID: 645159

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Thursday, Aug 06, 2009 at 15:16

Thursday, Aug 06, 2009 at 15:16
Ohhh mate calm down, I agree with everything you say but is it worth blowing a "Head Gasket" over it when MAGIC is so far away ??? Hahaha
Good post

Pesty
FollowupID: 645191

Reply By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Thursday, Aug 06, 2009 at 08:34

Thursday, Aug 06, 2009 at 08:34
Gday Mick
And that from a race of people who have killed 4 million or so Bison .
Murray

AnswerID: 377768

Reply By: Dave B ( BHQ NSW) - Thursday, Aug 06, 2009 at 09:30

Thursday, Aug 06, 2009 at 09:30
What about posting this article back to the States.
It is about the same woman that some Americans wanted as Vice President.

Sept. 8, 2008 Wildlife activists thought they had seen the worst in 2003 when Frank Murkowski, then the Republican governor of Alaska, signed a bill ramping up state programs to gun down wild wolves from airplanes, inviting average citizens to participate. Wolves, Murkowski believed, were clearly better than humans at killing elk and moose, and humans needed to even the playing field.

But that was before Sarah Palin took Murkowski's job at the end of 2006. She went one step, or paw, further. Palin didn't think Alaskans should be allowed to chase wolves from aircraft and shoot them -- they should be encouraged to do so. Palin's administration put a bounty on wolves' heads, or to be more precise, on their mitts.

In early 2007, Palin's administration approved an initiative to pay a $150 bounty to hunters who killed a wolf from an airplane in certain areas, hacked off the left foreleg, and brought in the appendage. Ruling that the Palin administration didn't have the authority to offer payments, a state judge quickly put a halt to them but not to the shooting of wolves from aircraft.

'Wouldn't be dead for quids'

AnswerID: 377773

Reply By: brushmarx - Thursday, Aug 06, 2009 at 09:41

Thursday, Aug 06, 2009 at 09:41
Did this seppo cow jump up and down on her soapbox when our State Governments authorised indiscriminate killing of our Brumbies during foaling time in the NSW high regions and the Vic Alps, by using "gunmen" shooting out of helicopters resulting in horses dying days later from broken bones caused by panic stricken charges, and poorly aimed rifle fire from unstable shooting positions?
Or was it just a slow news day without Barak patting a stupid dog somewhere?
AnswerID: 377775

Reply By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 06, 2009 at 11:32

Thursday, Aug 06, 2009 at 11:32
First thing i thought of was i bet she helped the American economy crash over there with credit card debt. Stupid woman. I reckon the average travelled American would be embarrassed by her.
AnswerID: 377785

Reply By: Member - Timbo - Thursday, Aug 06, 2009 at 11:36

Thursday, Aug 06, 2009 at 11:36
And yet, the strongest opponents of animal culling are so often the strongest proponents for large scale culling of children that haven't yet had the chance to see the light of day. It is estimated that as many as 1 in 4 Australian children are cruelly slaughtered in the name of 'convenience' (the number is thought to be similar in the U.S.) - where is the concern of people like Erin Burnett then?
AnswerID: 377786

Reply By: The Landy - Thursday, Aug 06, 2009 at 12:09

Thursday, Aug 06, 2009 at 12:09
Why give her air-time she doesn't deserve....
AnswerID: 377788

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Thursday, Aug 06, 2009 at 12:15

Thursday, Aug 06, 2009 at 12:15
I can see a business opportunity here:

All I need is a second hand Huey gunship. Two machine guns either side.

Charge four punters an absolute bucketload for a brief flight shooting the cr@p out of a herd of camels.

Should boost my retirement fund.

I'd be Kev's new best friend.

AnswerID: 377789

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Thursday, Aug 06, 2009 at 12:18

Thursday, Aug 06, 2009 at 12:18
As an aside....

You can now book onto "cruise" ships that meander up and down the Somali coast until a boatload of pirates come out and then you can choose your weapon.

Machine guns, RPGs, anything your wallet can afford.

FollowupID: 645179

Reply By: warfer69 - Thursday, Aug 06, 2009 at 18:37

Thursday, Aug 06, 2009 at 18:37
Bloody Yanks,They have one of the worst environmental records on Earth..You can see why,I bet she had to Google Earth Australia to find out where we are...
AnswerID: 377831

Reply By: Member - Gary W (NSW) - Thursday, Aug 06, 2009 at 20:08

Thursday, Aug 06, 2009 at 20:08
Apparently the "news" item was done "tongue-in-cheek", but the American sense of humour lost something in translation when it came down-under. I believe that she made an apology the next day to explain that it wasn't meant to be taken too seriously.
Gary.
AnswerID: 377845