Camping, 4wding, fishing around brissie

Submitted: Tuesday, Sep 09, 2003 at 11:46
ThreadID: 7128 Views:2358 Replies:3 FollowUps:10
I just bought a HJ61 Landcruiser and am busting to go 4wding and camping and fishing for a few days just to try her out see how it goes. Any ideas for some camp sites close to brisbane ie within 2hrs, relatively cheap and a lot of fun, i was thinking of maybe Double Island, any thoughts???

Regards Campbell
(18 and new to the world of 4wding but loving the advice people are giving) THanks oldies

Reply By: Member - Sparky (Brisvegas) - Tuesday, Sep 09, 2003 at 12:21

Tuesday, Sep 09, 2003 at 12:21
I am certainly not old...!

Great that you have bought a 4B! There are a gazzillion places you can go...National Parks put out a great booklet re camping spots in SE QLD...well worth the $7 - DI is a favourite of ours (when the surf's up...paradise!) - try Bribie Is - so close to Brissy! I know Oskar heads up there a lot. You must do Fraser and then there are all the State Forests and NP all within koo-ee of Brissy...AND Moreton/Staddie...the list goes on. Girraweens...Sundowners...Don't mean to brag to all the Southerners!

I am looking into 4WD clubs - they regularly do camping trips etc...

Enjoy your new found freedom!

SparkyLovin' life!
AnswerID: 30565

Follow Up By: Member - Sparky (Brisvegas) - Tuesday, Sep 09, 2003 at 12:28

Tuesday, Sep 09, 2003 at 12:28
I had a quick search and can be purchased from ExplorOz - buy it - well worth it!Lovin' life!
FollowupID: 21598

Follow Up By: cert - Tuesday, Sep 09, 2003 at 13:34

Tuesday, Sep 09, 2003 at 13:34
Tell me about bribie, how do i get onto the beach there, i know how to get to bribie, have taken the boat several times, but unsure of any camping spots/beach access onto bribies beaches.... Plus facilities is there much there??

Additionally, a 4wding club i am interested in but i do work most weekends and what not, so i think i would miss out....

Regards and thanks
campbell
FollowupID: 21602

Follow Up By: Member - Sparky (Brisvegas) - Tuesday, Sep 09, 2003 at 13:43

Tuesday, Sep 09, 2003 at 13:43
Head to surf side of BI. @ the T turn left and head north...eventually get to a dirt turnoff and is signed. Need a permit, but. Can get one on your way up from the caravan pk? - so I'm told - about $15/month or $60/year - try Caboolture Council...
It's pure beach camping - you and beach and surf and fish and whatever you take up :)

SparkyLovin' life!
FollowupID: 21605

Follow Up By: cert - Tuesday, Sep 09, 2003 at 14:09

Tuesday, Sep 09, 2003 at 14:09
Hey it says you had a snorkel fitted, how much, and do they do a lot in performance of the diesel?? mines a 1989 hj61 2h motor. Also do you know where i can get a paint job for these beasts??

Thanks, for all your help

regards campbell
FollowupID: 21608

Follow Up By: Member - Oskar(Bris) - Tuesday, Sep 09, 2003 at 14:15

Tuesday, Sep 09, 2003 at 14:15
Caboolture Shire Council don't make it easy for you to get permits for Bribie and there is a $370 fine for driving on the beach without one.
I was up at Bribie 2 weeks ago for the weekend and it was really disappointing to see a few young blokes out for the weekend and mess the campsite up with a dozen empty beer bottles half buried in the sand(some broken), coke cans and branches ripped off trees and burnt in the fire.
The rangers clean up these sites and it really ticks them off.
A few ratbags can spoil beautiful spots and then cause restrictions that affect the rest of us who do the right thing.
Any way it's a great spot
OskarMrs Oskar on Big Red
FollowupID: 21609

Follow Up By: Member - Sparky (Brisvegas) - Tuesday, Sep 09, 2003 at 14:53

Tuesday, Sep 09, 2003 at 14:53
Talk to any 4WD mechanic - mines great - David Jones - 4x4 Excellence (Brendale) - he can put you in touch with the right people!Lovin' life!
FollowupID: 21611

Follow Up By: Member - Sparky (Brisvegas) - Tuesday, Sep 09, 2003 at 14:56

Tuesday, Sep 09, 2003 at 14:56
Why worry about the paint unless its really rough - cost a bucket! Around $2k just for paint alone! - If you want to spend the money - have a mate who will do you a good job!
SparkyLovin' life!
FollowupID: 21612

Follow Up By: Member - Oskar(Bris) - Tuesday, Sep 09, 2003 at 15:48

Tuesday, Sep 09, 2003 at 15:48
Hey Cert
about my followup.......
I'm not really a grumpy old man I have a lot of younger guys I spend time with. As well as that I have 3 young adult sons.
Those blokes just got up my nose with the mess they left.
You're always welcome if you respect the areas that give us such a good time.
FollowupID: 21616

Follow Up By: Member - Oskar(Bris) - Tuesday, Sep 09, 2003 at 15:49

Tuesday, Sep 09, 2003 at 15:49
Hey Cert
about my followup.......
I'm not really a grumpy old man I have a lot of younger guys I spend time with. As well as that I have 3 young adult sons.
Those blokes just got up my nose with the mess they left.
You're always welcome if you respect the areas that give us such a good time.
FollowupID: 21617

Reply By: Red Rover - Tuesday, Sep 09, 2003 at 12:34

Tuesday, Sep 09, 2003 at 12:34
If u r interested check out the Qld 4Wd club. Has about 60 odd members that do a bit of everything. Has meetings every month at Bald Hills, assuming u r in Brisbane.
Let me know if u r interested
Cheers Red Rover
AnswerID: 30567

Reply By: tristjo - Tuesday, Sep 09, 2003 at 16:32

Tuesday, Sep 09, 2003 at 16:32
Hey Cert,

There are heaps of places to go. I would start by buying Brad Mcarthy's "Dirty Weekends" guide book. It's got heaps of good tours, many close to Brisvegas, bush and beach, easy to hard.

Failing that, head up to Landcruiser Mountain Park. Heaps of tracks, nice camping spots, and its only 2 hrs from the northside.

Also, try Mount Mee State Forest, just out of Dayboro. Have been going there for a couple of years now, and I reckon I have only seen a few percent of the park. You find something new every time you go.

Good on ya for getting ur fourby, but now, just make sure you use it!!

Tristjo.
AnswerID: 30586

Follow Up By: Red Rover - Tuesday, Sep 09, 2003 at 18:12

Tuesday, Sep 09, 2003 at 18:12
Mount Mee etc is great. Just make sure you get a permit from the forestry first. They will cover you for most places
Cheers Red Rover
FollowupID: 21641