Submitted: Friday, Aug 07, 2009 at 22:11
The Geriatric Gypsies
goodday all
filled up the 4b today at a woolworths servo and by my reckoning put in about 10 / 12 litres more than i figured it should take
my question is am i allowed / entitled to ask the operator when the pump was last tested and what the results were ???
at a $125.9 thats about $12 clear profit out of my pocket will not buy there again for 2 reasons 1 is the above 2 is we move on again monday
Reply By: equinox - Friday, Aug 07, 2009 at 22:14
Friday, Aug 07, 2009 at 22:14
Yes you are but the calibration sticker is usually on the bowser with the date marked with ball point pen.
I believe the servos have to calibrate regularly.
Reply By: ABR - SIDEWINDER - Friday, Aug 07, 2009 at 22:26
Friday, Aug 07, 2009 at 22:26
One day I filled up the LC100 and it took 168L. Most I have ever put in was 152L.
Reserve light had just come on on
tank #2.
Had a word with the owners who simply gave me a card of the company who does the calibration.
Tried to enquire with them but it seemed to be a huge waste of time, they wanted pump serial numbers, dates, times, etc.
I still have a photo some where that I took of the pump showing 168L.
Reply By: Member - DOZER- Friday, Aug 07, 2009 at 22:29
Friday, Aug 07, 2009 at 22:29
IF you own a dual
tank cruiser, filling the sub, some goes into the main
tank...just incase thats what happened.......having said that, i once filled my skyline with 70 litres at the shell Guandagai and the
tank is a 65 litre
tank....
Reply By: OzTroopy - Friday, Aug 07, 2009 at 22:44
Friday, Aug 07, 2009 at 22:44
Personally I dont trust them at all ..... fixed one mob years ago by only filling 20l jerrycans for a week - and showing other customers the pump readout compared to the number of jerrycans in the trailer ... LOL
Wont always be the stations fault tho.
Easiest way to check consistency when filling your fuel
tank is to pump in slow and stop aeration and also to fill at the same time daily ... bit hard if travelling on a daily basis of course.
Follow Up By: Dave(NSW) - Friday, Aug 07, 2009 at 23:27
Friday, Aug 07, 2009 at 23:27
Those black 20lt jerry cans will hold nearly 21.5lts. I queried this at a Woolies Servo, next week went to the Shell and had same result.
Follow Up By: OzTroopy - Friday, Aug 07, 2009 at 23:45
Friday, Aug 07, 2009 at 23:45
True Dave ... in fact just about all jerrycans will hold over the 20l amount ... its just a matter of knowing where the 20l fill line is - from regular use.
Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Saturday, Aug 08, 2009 at 08:04
Saturday, Aug 08, 2009 at 08:04
Fuel Pumps are checked on a regular basis by the Service Provider, re: Gilbarcos or other Companies in the Fuel Pump industry, they are re Calibrated and Tagged and Sealed / Dated, this information is logged, also the Dept of Weights and Measures does random checks on Fuel Sites with out notice, if they find any Seals broken or Tampered with they come down heavy on the Site Owner or Manager, I used to work for Gilbarcos some time back and I know this procedure is the same today, I know things have improved with the latest Electronic Metering ect
if any thing it's in favour of the consumer by a minute degree.
Reply By: DIO - Saturday, Aug 08, 2009 at 10:57
Saturday, Aug 08, 2009 at 10:57
Service stations, like any industry that uses weights and measures as a part of their functioning are obliged by law to have their equipment regularly checked. If they fail to comply there are substantial fines etc. It's always a good idea to watch both litres and amount (cost). When litres reaches say 10 multiply that by the unit cost and it show exactly that on the pump. e.g. cost 1.25 therefore 1.25 x 10 = $12.50 easy peasy. Remember too that the volume of petrol can fluctuate according to outside temperatures.
Reply By: Richard Kovac - Saturday, Aug 08, 2009 at 18:40
Saturday, Aug 08, 2009 at 18:40
You need to check your fuel consumption figures as they will tell you if it is wrong.
I've been keeping track of
mine full time with the Troopy and all see legit.
But sometime I know what you mean, it looks way out, I have a Hilux work ute and there is many time I seem to get more than 60 l into a 60 l
tank, many because I foget to fill up and the
little red light keeps coming on.. :-)
Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 01:03
Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 01:03
Hay sorry Steve
I didn't realise you where Steven Dunn off facebook, I would not have wasted my time replying . think about it....
Richard Kovac
hshshshshsjhdsjkdkfkfjcnchhyhsnsjs.. LOL
Reply By: The Geriatric Gypsies - Saturday, Aug 08, 2009 at 19:39
Saturday, Aug 08, 2009 at 19:39
goodday guys
thanks for the replies my gauge was still showing 1/4
tank left and while we have been towing the van when the fuel light has been coming on it takes 75l but its never taken 75l at still 1/4
tank left
i still think its a bit dodgy
Follow Up By: Member - Josh (VIC) - Saturday, Aug 08, 2009 at 20:23
Saturday, Aug 08, 2009 at 20:23
The other ting I have had happen is when I hung up the hose it clicked up a couple of cents after I hung up ie. Filled up to $61.52. Paying cash would be $61.50. Went to pay and was charged $61.55. Went out and checked the pump and it showed $61.54. When I complained was told to prove it, so I went out and put $10.12. I refused to hang up until he came out and looked at it. Got a discount on top of the difference. Later on at same servo put 22lt in a 20lt jerry. Only paid for 20 lts. They asked that I not mention it and they would look into it. Yeah right.
Josh