Removing supa glue from glass??, I'm in the Poo!!.
Submitted: Saturday, Aug 08, 2009 at 18:56
Member - Axle
Messing around with a rubber on the LC this arvo and have managed to get supa glue on the windscreen. Have tried every god damn thing to make it disappear but its not happening!!. What i've used so far is.
Acetone
Metho
Turps
nail polish
petrol
Even paint stripper.
AND i can tell you she's not Happy!!........Heeeelp.
Reply By: Rockape - Saturday, Aug 08, 2009 at 19:05
Saturday, Aug 08, 2009 at 19:05
How about a
stanley knife blade. That should work
Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Saturday, Aug 08, 2009 at 19:11
Saturday, Aug 08, 2009 at 19:11
Mate i'm not sure!, it seems to have soaked in!,crazy i know!!, but maybe a fine knife blade will get under it?
Thanks Axle.
Reply By: Member - Kroozer (WA) - Saturday, Aug 08, 2009 at 19:05
Saturday, Aug 08, 2009 at 19:05
What about a small razor blade, and maybe some prepsol i think it is. This is how i was shown by a panel beater once for removing glue and stickers from windscreens. Im pretty sure it was prepsol, which if i remember correctly is just surface prep like Wax and Grease remover. Very carefully try and get under glue with razor.
Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Saturday, Aug 08, 2009 at 19:18
Saturday, Aug 08, 2009 at 19:18
Yep ! know the prepsol product, use it to clean the surface area when changing rego labels, Dunno with this bloody tarsan glue, will try though, Thanks.
Axle.
Reply By: Robert HL (SEQ)(aka zuksctr) - Saturday, Aug 08, 2009 at 19:15
Saturday, Aug 08, 2009 at 19:15
Axle,if & i presume it hse hardend,try using razor blade type scraper to scratch it off.
Good luck.
Reply By: Dirk T - Saturday, Aug 08, 2009 at 19:16
Saturday, Aug 08, 2009 at 19:16
Hi Axle,
As mentioned in the other replies, use a hard backed razor blade and scrape the glue off, it's probably the only way you will get it off.
A word of warning though, the LONGER you let the supa glue "cure" (stay on the glass) the harder it will be to get it off whatever you try! Like more than 8 - 12 hours and you will probably need a new windscreen.
Acrylic Laquer thinners (which you should be able to get a hardware store or an automotive paint supplier) is probably your better option to remove any residue.
Just as
well you didn't glue your fingers together otherwise you wouldn't be able to tell us all in Explor Oz what a "duffer" you are.
Good Luck,
Dirk T
Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Saturday, Aug 08, 2009 at 19:24
Saturday, Aug 08, 2009 at 19:24
Hmmmmm!, could elaborate on Duffer!!, but will see what happens tomorrow!
Reply By: DARRELL QLD - Saturday, Aug 08, 2009 at 19:43
Saturday, Aug 08, 2009 at 19:43
Anyone know WHY that stuff was made ///invented// in the first place??super glue..
I was told the answer to that question years ago..but i dont know if its true..
?????
Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Saturday, Aug 08, 2009 at 20:56
Saturday, Aug 08, 2009 at 20:56
From
Wikipedia entry - Cyanoacrylate
Discovery
Cyanoacrylates were invented in 1942 by Dr. Harry Coover and Fred Joyner of Kodak Laboratories during experiments to make a special extra-clear plastic suitable for gun sights. Although not appropriate for the gun sights, they did find that cyanoacrylates would quickly glue together many materials with great strength. Seeing possibilities for a new adhesive, Kodak developed "Eastman #910" (later "Eastman 910") a few years later as the first true "super glue."
Follow Up By: guzzi - Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 15:25
Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 15:25
It was invented so the less intelligent amongst us would provide entertainment to the rest of the
population, by sticking together various parts of their anatomy ie mouths,eyes,fingers, foreskins, hands to genitalia etc.
There was a huge increase glue accidents in the 70's when superglue was first released into the general
population, it used to make the 6 oclock news and the papers if the "victim" was particularly ingenious in the glues application.
In Axles case, as mentioned by others a 1 sided razor blade and my the prepsol should remove it.
Axle make sure you are wearing eye protection when you do this as the hardened glue can fly off at speed once the blade gets under it. You may not get it all off as glass is not as impervious and as smooth as it appears.
Reply By: disco driver - Saturday, Aug 08, 2009 at 19:53
Saturday, Aug 08, 2009 at 19:53
Axle,
One of the "B"ig hardware warehouses carries a product called 'Supaglue solvent' or something similar.......... and it works.
A couple of years ago I had a similar stuff up but
mine was on painted bonnet.
Just be careful with this stuff...it melts paint!!.............I now have a small mismatched spot (about 5 cent size)where I had to touch up the paint afterward.
Disco.
Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Saturday, Aug 08, 2009 at 19:59
Saturday, Aug 08, 2009 at 19:59
Thanks Disco. I was hoping someone would come up with a solvent type product that might help
Axle.
Follow Up By: Pete Jackman (SA) - Wednesday, Aug 12, 2009 at 14:01
Wednesday, Aug 12, 2009 at 14:01
Any model aircraft
shop will sell supaglue debonder which should do the job - it unsticks fingers anyway!
Reply By: Member - Au-2 - Saturday, Aug 08, 2009 at 20:07
Saturday, Aug 08, 2009 at 20:07
I bought a tube of Super-Glue remover recently, Axle. So far, I have had no reason to use it but at least it's there if I need it.
Wouldln't you Know, I went to look for it for brand name ref etc., and can't find it.
I only buy Loctite brand Super-glue Gel these days and haven't had any super-glue 'accidents' since I bought it. Boy, does that stuff do a good job, much better than the runny stuff. I used it on the fridge kick-plate years ago and it is still as good as new. Same with the clothes dryer door filter hub which split in two at the point where it grips onto the door. With all the moisture and heat that passes through that point it is still going strong 5yrs later.
Sheila.
Reply By:- Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 00:12
Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 00:12
Superglue doesn't live up to the urban legend it has been given.
A decent blade (
stanley knife - as mentioned) should scrape it off without damaging the glass and if that fails it will soften with
water. Just rest a damp sponge or paper towel on it for a while and then try the blade again.
Reply By: turbopete - Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 09:30
Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 09:30
Be Very careful,The rear view mirror on our Daewoo fell off the windscreen and took a lump of glass with it,, Peter
Reply By: zacc - Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 10:47
Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 10:47
paint stripper
Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 12:12
Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 12:12
Just a thought Superglue is fine where there is no movement likely as it has exceptional bonding properties but does not seem to like movement in the joint later.
For putting mirrors back on screens you can buy a special glue for that and for rubbers use a flexible type adhesive that will stick but move with the flexing of the vehicle.
Superglue also seems to let go sometimes if the joint is stressed as in if you break the end off a handle and then usage snaps it off again.
Reply By: Wherehegon - Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 12:57
Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 12:57
Use a one sided blade BUT spray the screen first with some detergent, (washing up detergent will do mixed with
water in a spray bottle), this will stop the blade scratching the screen, same done when removing old window tint film........... regards Steve
Reply By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 18:33
Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 18:33
Hi Axle, I am probably a bit late with my response, but my two bobs worth anyway.
Another response advised using some detergent as a lubricant to prevent scratching if you are going to use a blade or scraper on glass & that is very good advise.
I am not aware of the product that Disco Driver suggested, but I reckon I would go with that first. If it doesn't do the job it might be worth trying a Scotch 3M product called "700 adhesive Cleaner & solvent". It comes in a 350G pressure pak container & is not cheap at $20 a container.
I cannot vouch as to how it goes dissolving super glue, but it is magic on all other adhesives that I have used it on. Good luck & hope you get it off.
Reply By: Steve63 - Monday, Aug 10, 2009 at 12:35
Monday, Aug 10, 2009 at 12:35
Acetone (nail polish remover) used to work.