Snakes through the Centre

Submitted: Saturday, Aug 08, 2009 at 21:23
ThreadID: 71339 Views:4202 Replies:14 FollowUps:13
Going up through the Centre from Port Augusta to Katherine ,then across to W.A .From May to September 2010 and was wondering what the venomous snake situation is like in these areas at that time of the year. As will be taking a small dog.silly question I know but here in Tassy we only have to worry from November till April
Thanks Terry

Reply By: Avan - Saturday, Aug 08, 2009 at 22:30

Saturday, Aug 08, 2009 at 22:30
Snakes, last year we had a 6 footer slither past (within 2ft) us at one of the caravan parks in Kunnunarra. The weather was about 28 degrees.
Down near Albany (temp was about 12 C) we found another coiled up, we didn't hang around.
Previous years have come across a tree snake in Katherine and another whip snake in Kakado
AnswerID: 378194

Reply By: Member - Josh (VIC) - Saturday, Aug 08, 2009 at 23:22

Saturday, Aug 08, 2009 at 23:22
My nephew said at that time of the year they are still poisonous LOL
AnswerID: 378203

Reply By:- Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 00:19

Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 00:19
I'm not sure why the dog's size is the issue?

Neither the dog nor the wildlife should be put in a position where they are at risk. If you can't keep both safe then perhaps you shouldn't take the dog.
AnswerID: 378206

Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 09:11

Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 09:11
And so endeth the first lesson. Obviously not a pet person!!!!!!
FollowupID: 645583

Follow Up By: turbopete - Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 09:27

Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 09:27
Amen to that O P @ T
FollowupID: 645586

Follow Up By: olcoolone - Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 09:59

Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 09:59
I have to agree about not taking dogs, when we go away on holidays or long trips our two Labs go into boarding.

Are Labs are part of the family and we do a lot of retrieving with them so they are very use to traveling, we go away with them retrieving about 10 times a year.

It's not fair on the dogs to be stuck in a vehicle for long periods.

A lot of places are not dog friendly.

If the dog becomes sick, you might not be able to find a vet quickly to save it.

You have to spend more time watching them or watching other people then looking at the country side.

Chances of picking up a bait or injured from other people.

Inconsiderate to other campers, not all people like dogs.

Dogs need a break form there guardians just as much as we need a break form them.

Don't get me wrong dogs have to be part of the family and spend a lot of time with there guardians but there are some times you have to say NO, plus it is good for the dog to be away from you.

Our Labs love boarding and get looked after very well in a secure environment with plenty of play time and interaction with other dogs.

Biggest problem dogs have are the people who are their guardians...end of the day they are still a dog and enjoy doggy things!

FollowupID: 645592

Follow Up By: Pomgonewalkabout - Monday, Aug 10, 2009 at 07:34

Monday, Aug 10, 2009 at 07:34
Banjo our Lab goes travelling with us. He's better behaved than many kids and Grey Nomads put together.
FollowupID: 645714

Reply By: Rockape - Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 07:40

Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 07:40
Good possibility they will be starting to move about around then, we tend to see them a bit before rain, from memory mating season will be starting as well around that time.

Snakes have never concerned me, as for your dog you will just have to watch him.

Also research vitamin C as this saved a mates dog. He is inviolved with cane and during harvest they lose a lot of dogs around here. You have to inject the vitamin C into the soft tissue.

AnswerID: 378209

Reply By: Member -Dodger - Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 08:00

Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 08:00
We have travelled the top end and the centre many times and have never had any trouble with snakes except for the odd 2 legged variety.
We travelled with a small dog for many years without problems.
We did see the odd snake but were cautious and kept the dog at bay.
So go for it and just be wary but not frightened.
Enjoy, Enjoy.

I used to have a handle on life, but it broke.

Cheers Dodg.

AnswerID: 378210

Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 08:15

Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 08:15
We have seen a few snakes out and about up around here already, Mostly Red belly Blacks.

AnswerID: 378211

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thoughtfully- Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 08:47

Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 08:47
and the venerable Oet snake

FollowupID: 645582

Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 09:15

Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 09:15
Could be a snake or two in the grass I reckon at St George this year !!!!
FollowupID: 645584

Follow Up By: turbopete - Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 09:26

Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 09:26
Good morn Bonz Pardon my stupidity (im middle aged so dont know as much as my kids yet) ,,what is an Oet snake
FollowupID: 645585

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thoughtfully- Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 09:30

Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 09:30
hmmm turbopete Oet snakes are very common, how can I say this.. Lets just say Oet is a acronym and e stands for eyed and O stands for One, you can probably work out the rest

FollowupID: 645588

Follow Up By: turbopete - Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 11:57

Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 11:57
ok
FollowupID: 645606

Reply By: On Patrol & TONI - Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 09:24

Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 09:24
Terry,
Just the latter part of your trip may be effected by them, but follow the same rules you do in Tassie re reptiles mate, common sense should prevail.

As for the anonymous suggestion above, he obviously does not travel with a loved pet, and has little understanding of the care owners try to take with them, in particular when travelling.

You, your dog & the Minister of war & finance enjoy your trip, Colin.
AnswerID: 378220

Reply By: olcoolone - Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 10:03

Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 10:03
I think in all our travels we have only seen a snake maybe 4 times, you never see them and they usually keep away from people.

Even when I have gone looking for them they are very hard to find.

Found evidence but no snakes.
AnswerID: 378225

Follow Up By: Russ n Sue - Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 19:26

Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 19:26
I'm with
Olcoolone....we've been travelling more than two years continuously, including 8 months in the Red Centre, and I reckon I could count the number of snakes we've seen on one hand. And at least two of them were harmless pythons.

Don't worry about snakes and DO leave the dog at home. During our two + years we have had more grief from yappy, uncontrolled, pooing, smelly and even aggressive dogs than we have from the snakes.

Ross
FollowupID: 645658

Reply By: DIO - Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 11:16

Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 11:16
Apart from the snakes you will also have to be very vigilant for 1080 Poison Baits, laid to control dingos, wild dogs etc. They are scattered throughout the pastoral areas. There are often NO warning signs and if your dog should ingest one, death is imminent. Slow and painful. Agonising to watch. Leave the dog at home where it will be safe.
AnswerID: 378232

Reply By: Member - Terry. G (TAS) - Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 17:42

Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 17:42
First up I thank you all for your replies, both positive and negative

AnswerID: 378206 Submitted: Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 00:19
replied:
I'm not sure why the dog's size is the issue?

Neither the dog nor the wildlife should be put in a position where they are at risk. If you can't keep both safe then perhaps you shouldn't take the dog.

We made the decision that this time we would take our pet with us rather than put her into a Boarding Kennel as we have done in previous cases.And as responsible Pet Owners we are aware that its going to put restrictions on us and create some small problems.And as such that is why we are aware of or finding out more on the possible risks or dangers that we are likely to encounter such as Snakes,Dingo's, wild dogs and poison baits

Hope this is the image I wanted for the Little Furry Person in our family

I do thank all those that answered the question that I asked and added the information that I needed to know in ref to snakes. However the Oet snake may be of more interest to the Manager-es of War and finance's, not really into those myself
So thanks to all for your wise words of wisdom it looks like at this stage it will still be me , Manager-es of War and Finance's and the Little Furry Person in our family doing the trip in 2010
Terry
AnswerID: 378270

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 20:45

Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 20:45
Terry

Take your dog, it;ll be ok, my old Dusty has travelled (and still) all over Australia for 13 years , you just treat them like you would a child,

Snake Eats Dog 1

Snake Eats Dog 2

Geez I'm sorry.

FollowupID: 645682

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 19:29

Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 19:29
You shouldnt have a drama around the centre that time of the year. Its only just strarting to warm up about then so they will be pretty slow if they are out.
I live in Alice and have always had a dog (usually two) and never had a problem.
Infact, In 20 years I know of one persons dog to have taken a bait and although Im sure it happens I dont know anyone whos dog has been biten by a snake.
I have staggerd around in the bush (usually bare foot) all hours of the day and night, any time of the year, and the only time I nearly got bitten, I was pi$$ed and trying to catch the bloody thing.
Also most people around here arent "dog haters" and will give you more up to date honest advice as you travel.
Basically.....dont let the wowsers spoil your trip.....just dont let your dog out of your sight, in long grass or pick anything up and you shouldnt have a trouble.

Hairy
AnswerID: 378290

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 19:34

Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 19:34
Second thoughts.....
after seeing the size of the beast in question....leave it at home!!!!
A big vicious creature like that could sure do some damage to the cattle industry if it got away and turned feral!!!
FollowupID: 645661

Reply By: Member - Terry. G (TAS) - Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 20:23

Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 20:23
Again thanks for comments and advice. I knew that there would be snakes of what ever type about but was not sure as to what time of the year they would be moving about.
Have travelled up through the Red Centre before but then the road was sand 30 years ago dragging a 30Ft Viscount behind an OLD F-100 ute on my way to work at Tennant Creek.
Hairy (NT)
I must admit I had not thought of the CATTLE as being a problem. Hope she doesn't drag to many back to the camp sight of a night other wise I will have to dig holes all over the place to bury them As I looked in your profile and seen the picture of the dog, at times she does think that she is the same size as the one you have pictured.
They are a good dog used to have one myself before we got the minature version
Hope your still there next year Hairy as by the time I reach Alice the Pub will be looking good

we have had more grief from yappy, uncontrolled, pooing, smelly and even aggressive dogs
As to the above some animals are just like some so called humans
Thanks Terry
AnswerID: 378302

Reply By: Flywest - Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 20:23

Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 20:23
Kill all snakes - by choking on little dogs! LOL

Seriously I just wanna see if I can post is all, this seemes like a good way to test it.

AnswerID: 378303

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 22:24

Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 22:24
Dogs are OK when the snakes gob is full of Goanna.

FollowupID: 645697

Reply By: Member - Terry. G (TAS) - Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 22:41

Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 22:41
What sort type of snake is that? apart from being a very full / fat one
Terry
AnswerID: 378318