12 months on the road. Best power? Best size Fridge? Ideal Battery Setup? Tips?

Submitted: Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 17:12
ThreadID: 71352 Views:6578 Replies:14 FollowUps:33
Hi there.

Can anybody please offer me some advice regarding power setup with car batteries and running a fridge and some lights etc. for a few days when not at a powered site??

My partner and I are "doing the loop" around Aus, taking off shortly. We're the "young nomads" - living our dream before we have kids. We have a 4wd and camper trailer which already has dual deep cycle batteries geared up in the toolbox. We're now looking to get a second battery for the 4wd (i.e. 4 batteries in total) but are not sure which to get - deep cycle or regular?

To save on site fees, and see more of Aus, we will sometimes be camped at national parks and relying on battery power for 3-4 days. We'd need some sort of regrigeration, lights etc, and whatever else (? not sure yet!).

We plan to run a Waeco 80L. I understand the ampage draw is .89/hr (at optimum). We'll use an esky for those times when we're always "open and shutting" (i.e. drinking!) to save on power :P

Should we be going with batteries, if so, which ones,? OR..
Is solar better? OR..
Any other suggestions for a "self sufficient" setup?

Money is in the question.. we want to achieve a "reasonable" setup, but it doesn't have to be THE BEST. Just as long as it's the best decision for the smallish budget we have.

Also, any suggestions/tips on running fridges and how to optimise running time and lower battery draw are greatly appreciated.

Thankyou!!
Erin

Reply By: Mandrake - Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 17:33

Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 17:33
This piece of string ........
Questions -
Where will the fridge be mounted ? In 4by or in Camper ?
Will you be using the freezer ? If it has one ?
What lights are currently ( no pun intended ) in the camper ?
What size are the 2 batteries now in the camper ?

Most Waeco 80 Lt run av 2.9 Amps / hour ? you state 0.89 !

For a solar setup you will need enough amps coming into your setup in 6-8 hours as you draw out over 24 hours or some other way of filling the gap -

Does the vehicle have a dual battery setup to charge the camper batteries while you are driving ?

If you send me an email I can send you a spreadsheet which might help
with the Solar part of your question

AnswerID: 378268

Follow Up By:- Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 18:10

Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 18:10
Hi Steve,

Fridge will be in the 4by while driving/day touring, otherwise in the camper (which has 12 & 240v setup).

Anderson plug to charge the batteries while driving.

**Sorry - I stand corrected on the Waeco. It's actually 60L - not 80L. Hence - no freezer. Was unlikley to be used much anyhow**

not sure about the lights. 1 x 12-volt fluoro. Plus a few LED lights. (v. small).

Unsure on the camper size batteries. Sorry it's stored somewhere else so unfortunately I can't go and check. All I know is 2 x deep cycles.

Solar is probably the least preffered option for us. Mainly due to cost, and the charge hours/usage hours - as you mention. That is, unless it is undoubtedly the best option. Worth looking at.. Shall send through my email.

Thanks for your reply.

Erin (& partner :)
FollowupID: 645641

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 19:57

Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 19:57
"Most Waeco 80 Lt run av 2.9 Amps / hour ?"

Amps per hour is meaningless quantity - it's like "litres per hour per hour"

The instantaneous measure of current flow is amps.

Cumulative current flow is amphours.
FollowupID: 645666

Follow Up By: Mandrake - Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 20:34

Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 20:34
Such a "meaningless quantity " that even the manufacturer uses it !!!

Price $1499
Dimensions D500 x W790 x H455 mm (W940 including with handles)
Weight 29 kg
Capacity 80 Litres, holds 103 cans
Power Av. Power Consumption: 2.9 amps/hr (@ 12V, 5°C fridge, -15°C (approx.) freezer, 32°C ambient temperature)
Voltage 12/24V DC + 240V AC

Obviously meaningless !!

Rgds

FollowupID: 645678

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 20:41

Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 20:41
No wonder there is so much confusion over electrical units, when even manufacturers can't get it right.
FollowupID: 645681

Follow Up By: mowing - Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 21:07

Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 21:07
Sorry Steve, got to agree with Mike, amps per hour don't tell you a great deal when it comes to fridges. What you really want to know is power use over a 24 hour period.

rgds

FollowupID: 645683

Follow Up By: Lex M (Brisbane) - Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 21:12

Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 21:12
Give up Mike. It's a loosing battle.

FollowupID: 645684

Follow Up By: Mandrake - Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 21:16

Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 21:16
Geez fellas !!

Does it really matter !!

The fridge is rated by its "MANUFACTURER" not me !! and they clearly
state it uses 2.9 Amps per hour ...

Yibbabada yibbada thats all folks -- LOL

FollowupID: 645685

Follow Up By: Lex M (Brisbane) - Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 21:30

Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 21:30
And what the manufacturer means is 2.9 amp-hours per hour or 69.6 amp-hours per day, which is probably a little optimistic for an 80L waeco.

For the 60L waeco a good figure is 24 amp-hours per hour.

That's what mine does on a typical Queensland day, typical load of food contents, set to 2 degrees on the digital control, in a bag, in the back of my closed trayback with black cloth canopy with aluminium roof, parked in the sun, opened once per hour during daylight for 30 seconds and monitored by digital logging equipment.
FollowupID: 645687

Follow Up By: Maîneÿ . . .- Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 21:36

Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 21:36
In a absolutely perfect, politically correct world
the term: " 2.9 amps/hr " is the short written form of: 2.9 Amps 'divided by' Hour

the / sign is the 'divide by' sign
the * is multiply sign
+ is plus
- is minus

Maîneÿ . . .

FollowupID: 645688

Follow Up By: Lex M (Brisbane) - Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 21:41

Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 21:41
Correction.
"For the 60L waeco a good figure is 24 amp-hours per hour."

should have been
"For the 60L waeco a good figure is 24 amp-hours per day."

I don't need a spellchecker, I need a proof-reader. :-)
FollowupID: 645689

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 21:41

Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 21:41
Amp is the instantaneous flow equivalent of "litres per hour".

So explain to us where it would be useful to describe the fuel consumption of an engine in "litres per hour per hour" ????
FollowupID: 645690

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 21:45

Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 21:45
" they clearly state it uses 2.9 Amps per hour ... "

. . ah, you read it on a website, so it MUST be true.

An "amps per hour " value doesn't help you work out how much the fridge uses.
FollowupID: 645691

Follow Up By: Mandrake - Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 21:51

Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 21:51
Give it a rest buddy !!

If the blokes that built the damn thing say it uses 2.9 Amps per hour - They ought to know !! They are way cleverer than me - they can actually build the thing !!
Take it up with Waeco and get these poor folks some help on their 4th Battery and what is required to keep their 60 Lt fridge working for several days without mains power !!

Can you manage that ??

Cheers Steve - LOL
FollowupID: 645694

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 21:55

Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 21:55
Why is it so hard to understand that using the CORRECT units for electrical consumption will actually help to work out how much power is needed.

Incorrect or ambiguously stated units lead to misinterpretation and possibly expensive mistakes.
FollowupID: 645695

Follow Up By: Boobook2 - Monday, Aug 10, 2009 at 08:41

Monday, Aug 10, 2009 at 08:41
If you have a fridge that uses 2.9Amps per hour, I guess you would need a 140Amp fuse if you left the fridge on for 2 days.

2.9A/hr x 48 hr = 139.2A

Yeah?

;-)

FollowupID: 645726

Follow Up By: Boobook2 - Monday, Aug 10, 2009 at 08:42

Monday, Aug 10, 2009 at 08:42
Ay ahhh.

I just realised I am going away for a week.

Anyone got a 1/2 inch bolt I can use as a fuse.
FollowupID: 645727

Follow Up By: RV Powerstream P/L - Monday, Aug 10, 2009 at 08:46

Monday, Aug 10, 2009 at 08:46
It may have been easier to agree with 2.9A but say be careful due to poor insulation and an increasing ambient it may run 24/7 thus using 69.6AH per day.

So cover that potential with correct battery capacity.

We know it is marketing hype that sells things not correct information.
FollowupID: 645731

Follow Up By: Lex M (Brisbane) - Monday, Aug 10, 2009 at 10:28

Monday, Aug 10, 2009 at 10:28
For a Waeco 80L 3.5 amp-hours per hour average is the rating shown in the chart referenced and 84 amp-hours per day. 69.6 per day would be in ideal conditions.

However the fridge in question is a 60L Waeco. 25 amp-hours per day is a good estimate for that unit as a fridge. Obviously more if used as a freezer.

FollowupID: 645740

Follow Up By: RV Powerstream P/L - Monday, Aug 10, 2009 at 11:29

Monday, Aug 10, 2009 at 11:29
lex
I think you have missed my point I was not being generous as fridges are not supposed to run 24/7 and are built to operate at ambient 25oC so if a fridge using 2.9A ran 24/7it would use 69+per day.

If as you say the unit runs 80AH per day that would be at ambient 25oC and if it ran according to plan which they will not as the ambient increases than I would say that fridge could end up using in excess of 150AH per day.

ian
FollowupID: 645747

Follow Up By: Lex M (Brisbane) - Monday, Aug 10, 2009 at 11:43

Monday, Aug 10, 2009 at 11:43
You've missed the point that 2.9 is an AVERAGE for a 80L and it will run 24 hrs a day at that average and you should count on a minimum of 69+ a day(at 25 degrees).
The running current is shown as 5.5 amps.

Sure if your in conditions where the temperature is over 25 degrees for 24 hours it will use more. Similarly if the temperature stays below 25 degrees it will use less.

As I mentioned a data logger on my fridge for several days in Brisbane summer conditions showed the Waeco specification to be a reasonable figure.
FollowupID: 645749

Follow Up By: RV Powerstream P/L - Monday, Aug 10, 2009 at 14:36

Monday, Aug 10, 2009 at 14:36
Lex
I agree in princple but I would be more concerned with a higher ambient than a lower ambient and I think cold beer is need ed more in summer than in winter but I say that with tongue in cheek.
FollowupID: 645771

Reply By: olcoolone - Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 17:41

Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 17:41
How much do you want to spend?

$1000.00 or $40000.00?

My smallish budget is properly a lot different to your smallish budget.

This is going to have interesting replys.
AnswerID: 378269

Follow Up By:- Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 17:58

Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 17:58
Hi olcoolone

Interesting indeed.. !

Definetely the lower end of your scale! $500-ish? :o) The 4th battery would be achievable at that price range, taking into consideration that we have an auto-elec in the family (so i can save on labour and small stuff). I'm sure you're thinking by now "why don't you ask him". But I prefer the opinion of experienced campers (he doesn't camp).

Thanks in advance!

FollowupID: 645638

Follow Up By: olcoolone - Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 20:11

Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 20:11
I would just grab what ever you can for that money as there is not going to be any successful way of doing it.

I take it you have at present 1 X Starter battery and 2 X Auxiliary battery's and you want to add another one to bring the total of Auxiliary battery's to 3.

What size are you current Auxiliary battery's?

What type of vehicle do you have?

Where are you going to put this extra battery?
FollowupID: 645672

Reply By: Neil & Pauline - Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 17:44

Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 17:44
Hi Erin
Solar is the best long term option in my opinion but in your case I reckon that a, say 1kva inverter generator and a good charger instead of the 4th battery. In some national parks generators are restricted or banned. It will take more than 12 months to get value with solar but you will always use a generator. With 4 batteries you would need to work out if your tow vehicle alternator will produce enough power to charge efficiently. That is my 2 bobs worth for you to think about.

Neil
AnswerID: 378272

Reply By: Boobook2 - Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 17:47

Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 17:47
Erin, stand back from your computer screen as it will be bombarded over the next few days.

My advice is mostly limited to the fridge and the Waeco 80l. Avoid it like the plague if battery consumption is an issue. It is arguably marginal as a freezer and _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx current like it is going out of fashion. An average of 3.5A!!! This compares to about 1A for most other fridges ( Waeco 50 or 60l), Engel etc.

From Waeco's website in the UK.

Waeco power use chart

( no reference to this in the Aust web site)

A big part of the problem is freezing. You really, really, really don't want a freezer unless you specifically want ice cream in the middle of a desert, or scotch on the rocks. Freezing uses *a lot* more energy than cooling. Cryovac'd food will last 4 weeks at least and months in many cases in the fridge. Even fish lasts 3 weeks. It is easier to handle, store and use at the last minute. Research this, and better still go get some meat from your butcher cryovac'd and leave it in the fridge for 2 months. You will be surprised, it tases better than new, especially marinated. Unlike frozen stuff you can even tell what's in the bag.

Other than that, to make it simple get as thick a cable from your vehicle to the trailer as possible ( AWG 8 or bigger), 100 to 160W of solar panels with a good regulator to last you a few days, and all LED / flouro lighting. You will be laughing.
AnswerID: 378273

Follow Up By:- Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 18:21

Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 18:21
Haha. I had to laugh! Did I open a can of worms?? :P

I must apologise, but I stand corrected on the Waeco. It's actually 60L - not 80L. Hence no freezer. Sorry! We spent AGES looking at them at the shop - I got confused which one we had!

Which is good news!!

Cryo-vaccing was something I was looking at. Do butchers offer this? Or do I need to buy some sort of machine to do this?

Will certainly get some meat and test it out in the fridge before we go. Thanks for the tip - Great idea.

A question slightly off to the side.. is 60L enough for 2 ppl? (coupled with an esky for booze/milk etc. when needed)

Thanks everyone.
FollowupID: 645642

Follow Up By: Boobook2 - Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 19:08

Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 19:08
Most butchers will cryovac, especially ones in the country. Also you can get ones to do it yourself. Freshseal is one form memory. Marvelous invention. Wife will love it. Go see it demo'd if there is a caravan show in your area soon. 60L should be more than fine for 2 people - good size.
FollowupID: 645650

Follow Up By: Gronk - Monday, Aug 10, 2009 at 10:20

Monday, Aug 10, 2009 at 10:20
Is a 60ltr big enough ???

For us it is......cryovacced meat in the small cage area.....beer and wine in the big area ( 1 doz beers and one cask of wine ), plus a couple of bottles of water and soft drink......milk,marg, cheese and a couple of dips in the dairy compartment ......and still room to cram more on top if needed..
FollowupID: 645739

Follow Up By: Member - ross m (WA) - Tuesday, Aug 11, 2009 at 01:50

Tuesday, Aug 11, 2009 at 01:50
The small vac pack machines are under a $100 now and dont take up much room.
With your own machine you could vac pack quantities of meat to suit your meal sizes.
I dont know if you could run one off an inverter,but you could pull into caravan parks and use their 240v power.
FollowupID: 645844

Reply By: Kim and Damn Dog - Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 18:23

Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 18:23
Gidday Erin

Get a good quality generator if your planning to spend a bit of time in the bush.

Kim
AnswerID: 378278

Reply By: Member - Mark (Tamworth NSW) - Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 18:47

Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 18:47
BUY the Camper Trailer Book by Collyn Rivers (note spelling) who is based at Broome, it will prove invaluable. May also pay to Google him to see his resume.

His book provides a lot of background information, advice and theory behind camper trailer electrics. This will enable you means to calculate what you require for your situation.
It has chapters on solar, batteries, cable wire, etc.
AnswerID: 378281

Reply By: Member - AJB (VIC) - Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 18:56

Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 18:56
I'd just put a "regular" 2nd battery in the vehicle and get a 2kva honda and a good charger. Well thats actually what I have! 2 exide crankers with one dedicated to accessories and a deep cycle in the van. I used to have a deep cycle as the second in the vehicle but it died after about 4 years and decided to replace both in vehicle batteries with the same ones at the same time. So far the set up has been as good as with the deep cycle and I have the available cranking amps sitting there for winch, jump starting (mainly my ride on mower) etc. Also the batteries were cheap, like $108 each from battery world when I got them not quite 2 years ago.
Going a 2 KVA may be too large but they are the best of the lot and not a great deal more weight or size difference. Your young so you'll carry it easy and it'll run tools easier some time in the future. Put an hour meter on it as that makes maintenance easier.
AnswerID: 378284

Reply By: Member - Amy G (SA) - Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 19:17

Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 19:17
Hi Erin,

As a fellow youngin on a budget I hope I can offer some useful advice.

I have an Engel 40L fridge in my Landcruiser (I highly recommend the Engel, they are very reliable!). What we have done so we don't zap the power is to install a battery isolator under the bonnet. When we are driving along, or stopping for only one night, we use the 'joined' setting which means that the batteries run together and crank the engine together when you start the car. When stopped for a few days, we switch to 'isolated'. This separates the connection between the cranking battery and the auxiliary battery. The fridge runs from the auxiliary battery while the cranking battery can never go flat :) After you have started the car again, you can switch the switch back to 'joined' to charge up the auxiliary battery for your next stay. I haven't stopped for more than 3 days with the fridge running & batteries isolated, but there is still enough voltage in the auxiliary battery after this time to start the car if need be which may give you some indication of how long you can stay with your batteries still joined. I also have a battery voltmeter installed in the cabin so I can check the battery voltage on either battery at any time. My dad installed these two bits for me (I think he got them from Jaycar)- you might have someone similarly handy with the electrical bits to save on the installation cost.

For lights, I have a LED tradies worklight which I got from SuperCheap for about $60. It has a lot of LEDs! I have some 12V sockets installed in the back of the car (depending on your car it might come with one standard) to plug in the light. I also have a lightpole which is attached to the rear wheel carrier, made out of an extendable tent pole. I extend the tent pole and put the light in the top (it has a bit of 90 degree angle metal attached to it (sticky velcro! works a treat)) so the light sits horizontally and throws light over the camp in whichever direction I care to aim it.

As for the cryovac, great idea for keeping things fresh. We really only use ours for meat. We got the unit from the master butchers, but I have seen them at oo.com.au under vacuum sealer- not sure what the quality is like but the price isn't bad at all. For veggies etc you are better off keeping them in the fridge, or wrapping them up separately in newspaper and putting them in a calico bag- this works especially well for root vegetables and apples. It's probably likely you'll have access to shops fairly regularly on your travels so the cryovac idea might not even be necessary, but it's definitely great to have for trips up to a month.

We have tried the esky thing and personally think they are a pain in the butt... you have to buy ice all the time, no good!

For my batteries I have two Exide Extreme N70. They cost a couple of hundred dollars each but they are really nice batteries!

No idea about the solar, sorry. Probably only worthwhile if you are going to be stopped for a while or running a lot of things.

Hope this helps and happy trip planning :)
AnswerID: 378288

Follow Up By:- Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 22:20

Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 22:20
Hi Amy,
Thanks for your post. Some very good and useful advice. I could get my auto-elec to do a similar setup - with an isolator.

The plan is to get the fridge running to a cold tempertaure while driving so that when we stop it it should just need to cycle on and off rather than work 100% of the time (obviousley depending on how hot it is). Sounds like, with a setup like yours, we should get at least a few days out of it.

I agree - eskys are a pain in the butt. But I figure it will help us save power when camped without mains. I.e. to not be opening and shutting the waeco (and drawing more power). Occassional use hopefully.

I like the idea of the LED on the rear wheel carrier. We were thinking of something similar. The landy will have 12v sockets at the rear (soon). SO should be able to set that up pretty easily.

Thanks heaps for your input.

Thanks to everyone actually :)

Erin
FollowupID: 645696

Reply By: Member - Mike DID - Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 20:02

Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 20:02
If you want an extra battery that won't be damaged by occasional deep discharging, works well for starting and charges in less than a day, then make sure you get an AGM - Absorbed Glass Mat battery.

Don't be fooled by batteries having glass mat separators !
AnswerID: 378296

Reply By: Maîneÿ . . .- Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 21:46

Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 21:46
Erin,
as you can see, different people have so many different thoughts on the same subject, does not mean they are wrong, it suits them, so it IS *perfect* for them.

Maîneÿ . . .
AnswerID: 378313

Reply By: Lex M (Brisbane) - Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 22:47

Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 22:47
Erin said
"Also, any suggestions/tips on running fridges and how to optimise running time and lower battery draw are greatly appreciated."

Fridge efficiency.
Opening and closing a chest type fridge does not loose a lot of cold if done slowly. Opening it quickly will disturb the air and suck cold air out. (minimal saving but it all counts.)

Load warm things into the fridge to cool only when your driving and use turbo mode if available to cool it quickly before you stop so that your using alternator power not battery power. eg Only load the hot booze when you'll be driving for a while, do any shopping as soon as possible when driving and get it in the fridge.

Keep the fridge in as cool a spot as possible.

Set the fridge temperature lower when driving and turn it up a bit when stopped. Easy if your fridge has digital control. Just be careful not to freeze things unintentionally or go above a safe temperature. A fridge thermometer can help here.

Saving lighting power.
Go to bed when the sun goes down and get up when it comes up. Saves lighting power, obvious really.

Use a led headlamp each, we rarely need other lights.

Use a gas light if you need more light. We don't.

General.
Carry a good quality smart charger and charge all your batteries fully whenever you get the chance, caravan park etc.

Get some battery monitoring equipment, a cheap $10-15 multimeter is good enough ,and learn how to use it. Better is a DC clamp meter $100-120 which lets you check charging currents without disconnecting anything.

And we find a 60L fridge is easily sufficient for two people for a week with a little menu planning.

AnswerID: 378319

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Monday, Aug 10, 2009 at 13:01

Monday, Aug 10, 2009 at 13:01
. . . also add things (e.g. more beer) to the Fridge early in the morning, where they've been cooled by the overnight drop in air temperature.
FollowupID: 645757

Follow Up By: Lex M (Brisbane) - Monday, Aug 10, 2009 at 13:07

Monday, Aug 10, 2009 at 13:07
You have beer left in the morning......... :-)
FollowupID: 645758

Reply By: robertbruce - Monday, Aug 10, 2009 at 10:25

Monday, Aug 10, 2009 at 10:25
There are some really big con's with 12v fridges including...

1.) Once food is frozen it works just as hard as the power-supplys supplying power to the unit to keep everything frozen.
2.) You yourself will work hard "managing" the power-supplys to keep the food frozen
3.) Frozen food is unsafe if kept in varying tempretures
4.) The real cost of a self-managing 12v system is incredably expensive...

The cost of managing a gas system is a gas bottle and the fridge's "switch-over" when camped or touring...

the alternative is provisioning for 12v, ie... solar panels, batteries, regulators, wiring, switch;s, shunts, multiple "switch-over" systems, cost, suspension upgrades and the list goes on and on...

IMHO... for camping in the same area for more than four days, the best gas fridge in the market is the Electrolux RC1180 or F400... properly mounted and vented and managed they are a much less expensive solution to food safety...

If your touring a 12v is an good alternative to a quality 40litre esky.... it saves you bothering with ice from the servos your filling up in along the way...
AnswerID: 378346

Follow Up By: Maîneÿ . . .- Tuesday, Aug 11, 2009 at 01:15

Tuesday, Aug 11, 2009 at 01:15
The problem with running a gas fridge in a remote area is the refilling of the gas bottles, would be a bugga to have to drive hundreds km just to refill gas, adds to the expense.

Solar is installed & forgotten
# no noise
# no pollution
# no ongoing costs
# no extra fuel to be carried
# compressor FRIDGE/FREEZER is efficient

Maîneÿ . . .
FollowupID: 645841

Reply By: Member - Timbo - Monday, Aug 10, 2009 at 15:51

Monday, Aug 10, 2009 at 15:51
Erin,

If I've read your situation correctly, I'd suggest you don't even really need an extra battery.

You said that you'll be running the fridge from the batteries in the camper most of the time and only from the car while day-touring/driving. If the fridge will only be powered by the car when you're driving, why would you need an extra battery? Assuming the fitted/cranking battery is healthy, it would run your fridge even for a couple of hours if you stopped the car to go for a short walk (and you'd still be able to start the car afterwards!). Obviously if you're planning longer hikes in the heat of the day you'll need more (& isolated) battery power so that your starting battery isn't drained.

If I've understood your situation correctly you should be able to run the fridge for a day or two from the two camper batteries (depending on their size, health etc. and assuming they get a good/full charge between stops). So, if I personally were in your situation, I'd look at buying a small/simple solar panel system (ie. panel and controller) to 'top-up' the camper batteries while stopped for extended periods. A solar salesman will probably try to sell you a huge expensive system that will keep everything fully charged so you can sit still indefinitely but I would argue that's not always necessary ie. assuming you could sit still for two days with the current set-up before your camper batteries need charging, perhaps a smallish solar system could give enough 'assistance' to get you a third day in the same spot before your camper batteries require a long drive to charge them up again.
AnswerID: 378374

Follow Up By:- Monday, Aug 10, 2009 at 18:47

Monday, Aug 10, 2009 at 18:47
Thanks Timbo. Your advice makes clear sense. I have a few questions, if you can help me further: ?
- how small solar system do you suggest?
- what do you think of buying a second hand one - should I be cautious?
- How long would such a solar panel take to charge - with enough power to top-up the batteries / run the waeco 60l..?

Erin
FollowupID: 645794

Follow Up By: Member - Timbo - Monday, Aug 10, 2009 at 20:26

Monday, Aug 10, 2009 at 20:26
Hi Erin, I don't have numbers for you unfortunately - you would need to know how big your camper batteries are to know how long it would take to charge them etc.. Solar panels also come in different sizes and obviously larger one generally give more power (and cost more!). If you want to fully charge your batteries plus power fridge & lights, you would need a fairly substantial (& expenseive!) system.

I haven't actually tested my logic (and possibly all the solar guys out there are shaking their heads) so don't disregard the advice of Solar Steve and/or Mainey (above) just on account of what I've suggested - the last thing you want is to be driving off from a great spot just for the sake of charging your batteries or spending your whole trip worrying about your batteries/fridge running out of power and wishing you'd spent a bit extra on a bigger/better system. However, everyone's needs are different, and you might even decide that a generator will allow you to top up your batteries as/when required (as has also been suggested).

Personally, we don't have a camper trailer (use a roof-top tent) so the fridge (ours is only 35L) is always in the car and runs off a portable aux battery. On long trips (even driving every day) we found the battery was gradually falling behind (ie. not getting a full charge each time we drove). I could put bigger wires to charge the battery quicker (which I might do anyway) but I'm currently thinking of getting a small solar system just to 'help' because the problem is worse when we park the car eg. for a day hike, or there are a couple of days in a row when we don't drive much. The car sits during the day, often in the hot sun (which makes the fridge work harder!) when I think a solar system could help - ie. the time when the fridge works hardest is the time when the solar panel would contribute the most. I was thinking something like an 80W panel with a controller which, with full sun, should provide enough power to run the fridge. I don't need the battery to be charged by the solar each day, but just slow the rate of discharge until we next drove long enough to charge it from the car. Most solar systems seem to be designed so you can sit indefinitely without starting the car (which is what some people want) but I just want a system that will give us an extra day or two in the same spot. Solar is expensive though - even a system like that would set you back around $600.

I don't know about buying second hand but I doubt there would be many around second hand, and probably not much cheaper than a new set-up.
FollowupID: 645808

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Monday, Aug 10, 2009 at 23:08

Monday, Aug 10, 2009 at 23:08
We are halfway through a 12 month trip with a Cruiser and a van.

We use the fridge in the van as both a fridge and a small freezer and have a 60ltr Waeco as a freezer only. It runs 24/7 at -10deg

It usually runs off the 240 on the van but quite often is in the car on 12 volt overnight It also travels in the car and is connected to the auxilary battery.

We use it to allow us to buy bulk supplies and freeze them to get us from place to place.

I have two N70ZZZ Hybrid batteries and so far they have managed OK.

The van has two Ultimate semi sealed 100amphr charged by 140w solar panels

The car has 8 auxilary sockets in it as well for all the toys .

Some are connected to permanent power and some to switched power.

AnswerID: 378458