Reply By: Member - Axle - Monday, Aug 10, 2009 at 20:29

Monday, Aug 10, 2009 at 20:29
Two blinds you!let alone four. ..lol.

AnswerID: 378424

Follow Up By: sweetwill - Tuesday, Aug 11, 2009 at 17:07

Tuesday, Aug 11, 2009 at 17:07
hi all.
my ute has two lightforse on the five poster, three big narvers on the sports bar, yes they light up the night but I still hit two roos on my last trip to cook town and back from wollongong, also I have four shoo roos fitted, oh yes I get called a wanker all the time and yes I go to as many ute shows as possible, but its like water of a ducks back different strokes for different folks cheers bill.
FollowupID: 645908

Reply By: Member - Fred B (NT) - Monday, Aug 10, 2009 at 20:41

Monday, Aug 10, 2009 at 20:41
They are baby size compared to some I have seen... mind you, probably need an extra alternator to run them... lol..
Fred B
VKS 737: Mobile/Selcall 1334

AnswerID: 378429

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Monday, Aug 10, 2009 at 20:50

Monday, Aug 10, 2009 at 20:50
How dumb is that, looking at them all day whilst driving!! Michael
AnswerID: 378431

Reply By: Crackles - Monday, Aug 10, 2009 at 21:08

Monday, Aug 10, 2009 at 21:08
With the invent of HID the need to mount large numbers of big driving lights on bull bars has long gone as they only use 1/3 the power for up to double the light. As installations like this are both illegal & obscure the road one wonders if they are actually after better night vision or looking for the "Wank factor".
Cheers Craig...........
AnswerID: 378434

Follow Up By: Member - BUNDY BOY (WA) - Monday, Aug 10, 2009 at 21:17

Monday, Aug 10, 2009 at 21:17
Crackles
be nice.ive two sets of lights on bull bar.for highways night driving....have them set up....so there's little i cant see.....and some of the lonely roads.i get on at night ....prefer to have "Wank factor". and see as much.and not hit anything big ...(touch wood.)..........for the next Q...the lights on roof are only for bush driving

Bundy
FollowupID: 645820

Follow Up By: Crackles - Monday, Aug 10, 2009 at 21:54

Monday, Aug 10, 2009 at 21:54
The point I was hoping to make is that mounting lots of lights that can be vunerable to damage, obscure vision, block air flow to the engine & reflect light back into the cab/onto the bonnat is not necesary. Upgraded original globes & HID driving lights using as little as 15 amps can put out the same amount of light as a row of 100W halogen lamps pulling 50 amps.
For examples of Wank Factor in lighting one needs look no further than a ute muster ;-)
Cheers Craig............
FollowupID: 645829

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Aug 10, 2009 at 22:03

Monday, Aug 10, 2009 at 22:03
I have 4 Lightforce 170's mounted at the back of the cab section of my dual cab patrol. They are only used on really remote stretches of highway or doing dirt tracks (like when we had to go between venues at the OBC last year for example). The roof lights project light at a much different angle to the 2 x 240 XGT/HIDs I have on the bullbar......

When I had my last Patrol (the 4.2TD with the well-documented "over-warming" issues), I tried mounting the 2 big Lightforce 240s on the TOP of the bullbar for a while to try to keep the radiator as unobstructed as possible. Having the lights up there did take a bit of getting used to plus I did have to put black leccy tape around the outer edge of the lense to stop the reflection being a nuisance. But overall, the light was better angled and I got used to having them in front of me all the time. It didn't seem to help the cooling system at all, so they were put back down where they were intended to live, so that people wouldn't call me a waannker all the time.

I'm not sure what people think now when they see the 4 lights up at the back of the roof..... but so far nobody has called me a wannker, so either they don't care or whatever..... hahahahaha

FollowupID: 645830

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 11, 2009 at 08:30

Tuesday, Aug 11, 2009 at 08:30
I must be one of the w....rs? If I had the money, I would go and shell out 2 grand on a nice set of HID spots and have them mounted to the bullbar. But because I am not made of money and I have had these lights sitting in the shed from cars gone by, I have mounted them all over the place (as in my rig pic) and when I am out in roo country they do make a big difference. I am out in roo country a lot by the way.

I would consider pretty much the whole of the NT to be "roo country" and as Doug is up that way, I presume the photo is from up there too and fairly par for the course????

Just my thoughts.
Cheers, Trevor.
FollowupID: 645855

Follow Up By: olcoolone - Tuesday, Aug 11, 2009 at 09:25

Tuesday, Aug 11, 2009 at 09:25
I'm with you on this one Craig.

I can see more then enough with the Hella HID's and have never had a problem of too little light.

Sure do it if you have a purpose for them..like long distance drivers but please don't do it for the COOL factor or because the racing guys do it.

Think I might fit 12 lights on my 4X4 because one day I might need them. LOL

People say they can's afford HID's.....RUBBISH......can't see how two lightforces with a HID kits can be dearer then 6 standard Lightforces (Not having a go at you Bill).

Years ago when we were rallying people would bolt there lights on for daylight stages, we kept on asking then WHY...hit something and you have lost them, we only bolted ours on for night stages.

Nothing worse then seeing a 4wd with all the bells and whistles getting around the city when the only off roading it's done is in their driveway at home.

You have to laugh at them!

FollowupID: 645864

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 11, 2009 at 18:31

Tuesday, Aug 11, 2009 at 18:31
I do tend to agree with Craig and Richard..... and I must admit I was prompted to fit my roof lights after seeing how much difference they make on the comp trucks.

I have the outer 2 roof lights angled to their respective side slightly so that I get good forewarning of impending roo incursions from the side of the road.

It is also true (although not many of us 4 wd'ers will admit it), that we don't really need to see 3 klicks down the road at night. If we were driving at 200k/h this might be a different story, but in reality we only need to see forward by about 500 to 800 meters. IMHO the side-lighting is probably much more important than overall distance of the lights.

For this reason I am considering selling my XGT HIDs and placing 2 of the 170s on the bullbar, leaving the 2 outer roof lights in place to do the business of lighting up the sides of the road. Note these are only slightly angled, not 45 degrees or anywhere near it.

FollowupID: 645917

Follow Up By: Member - Brenton W (SA) - Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 17:29

Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 17:29
I gave up with driving lights years ago, that many people on the road these days you only get to use high beem for a few seconds before you have to dip them, may as well drive around on low beem all the time, even driving at night too much of a worry with roos on the road have to drive that slow so you dont hit them may as weel be on low beem.
FollowupID: 646209

Reply By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Monday, Aug 10, 2009 at 22:41

Monday, Aug 10, 2009 at 22:41
Just what you need for moving around the 'Top End' at night.. young Doug..

Michael

xx to Dusty
AnswerID: 378455

Follow Up By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Monday, Aug 10, 2009 at 22:49

Monday, Aug 10, 2009 at 22:49
Driving around at Night....what are you mad Michael? One should be sitting in front of the fire clutching a refreshing beverage and spinning travel stories lol!

Saw a rig at Brown Davis where the guy had the four roof top lights mounted on a bar that swivelled hydraulicly to a position above the roof. When in the city, they simply swung down to be below the cab roof again. Very custom and very expensive I'd imagine.

FollowupID: 645836

Reply By: Member - Kroozer (WA) - Tuesday, Aug 11, 2009 at 00:24

Tuesday, Aug 11, 2009 at 00:24
Each to their own. Excellent i say, and they probably are HIDs. Come spend some time up north and do some driving at night, you will realise that you can never have enough light. Obviously a tradie who does some miles out to communties and remote places. Top stuff
AnswerID: 378463

Reply By: _gmd_pps - Tuesday, Aug 11, 2009 at 12:31

Tuesday, Aug 11, 2009 at 12:31
A bit awkward to look over and not my style to advertise for a company by wearing their name in front of my truck. Not sure but it looks like two wide beam and 2 spot beams. I am not familiar enough with that brand and don't even know if they have a wide beam.
4 lights is the optimum for me. with 2 lights (1 wide one spot ) you never get
the full width of a track close and in the distance. I have two 7" HID's wide beam for normal road driving and 2 9" HID spot beam for the left and the right far corners.
You can see wildlife much better when you have both sides of the track/road covered evenly in both short and long distance. With a combo of one wide and one spot I always was lacking sight on one side and did not like the imbalance.
Nevertheless I hate lights above the bonnet and mine are tucked away below
the bonnet, so no glare or lit up bonnets from roof lights.

have fun
gmd
AnswerID: 378504

Reply By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Wednesday, Aug 12, 2009 at 00:19

Wednesday, Aug 12, 2009 at 00:19
Lost both my spotties on Saturday night returning to Kal. Lost the first in a damn big puddle that I couldn't avoid right on sunset and then about an hour later lost the other when I wrote off a roo that tried to right me off.

Had to laugh later though visibility with just my high beam was like tits on a bull. Wasn't until we stopped in Kal that I realised that the mud over the headlight lense was like a tinted glass. Thus the thought that I was driving through fog. Derrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr

AnswerID: 378603