GeroBoof
Hey All
have a question for the 12v crew
I think Ive cooked my Versa 12v light by plugging it into a truck cig lighter
went for a while the faded into the night
just wondering if I could repair the circuit board and which bit/bits I would need to replace or can I get a replacement board for it from somewhere
I just really hate to throw things away when they are repairable
hope someone can help
Cheers for your replies
Get Out and Get Dirty
Gero Boof
Reply By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Monday, Aug 10, 2009 at 22:43
Monday, Aug 10, 2009 at 22:43
On the back of the Versa light is the address and phone number for Burn Brite - the company that manufactures them. If you ring them, they will give you the contact details for the distributers in various cities (don't know where you're from). The distributer should be able to advise you. Usually very helpfull.
Follow Up By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Monday, Aug 10, 2009 at 22:44
Monday, Aug 10, 2009 at 22:44
p.s. was the plug 12 or 24 volts? I'd reckon she's pretty knackered if you've run 24 thru it.! Mick.
Follow Up By: GeroBoof - Tuesday, Aug 11, 2009 at 02:45
Tuesday, Aug 11, 2009 at 02:45
Thanks heaps Mick - will try this avenue
Reply By: Peterbilt - Tuesday, Aug 11, 2009 at 08:16
Tuesday, Aug 11, 2009 at 08:16
Geroboof,
Ampcontrol Burn Brite's phone number is: (03) 9751 8000. Ask to speak to their technical guy about your problem. He's very helpful and their support and service for their lights is fantastic. I've had a couple of problems with my Versalite and they've fixed it when I've posted the light to them. Great product and great support; no affiliation but a very satisfied customer.
Reply By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Tuesday, Aug 11, 2009 at 15:36
Tuesday, Aug 11, 2009 at 15:36
Had a mate who plugged not one but two Veraslights into a 24v bus and cooked both (when one wouldn't work he tried the other!). Basically, it blew the two transistors and burnt out a small bit of fusible circuit board track. The transistors were BUP41, but any pair of fast NPN 6A 60V 10W transistors should fix it, tho the correct ones would be best used.
From RS Components, their part no. is 655-874.
If the board is burnt, a very fine piece of copper wire soldered across the fused bit will make a new fuse.
I keep a couple of spares myself in my
camping repair kit, just in case.
Gerry
Follow Up By: GeroBoof - Wednesday, Aug 12, 2009 at 21:27
Wednesday, Aug 12, 2009 at 21:27
Thanks heaps Gerry
Just the info I was looking for
Dam this site is awsome