Hyundai generators
Submitted: Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 12:53
Member - ross m (WA)
Ive seen some cool looking little 1000watt gennies under the Hyundai name for $999.
Anyone know what they are like and will they give the Yamahas and Hondas a run for their money?
I suspect that at that price they will be better than the appliance wreckers made in China
240 V/50 HZ
Max Output: 1000 w
Cont. Output: 900 w
DC Output:12 v./8.3A
Recoil start
Engine Max Output: 1.4 Kw
Fuel
Tank Cap. (L): 2.7
Cont. working time: 6,0 h.
Noise Level at 7m(db): 58
Dimension (mm): 490 x 275 x 415
Net Weight: 14 Kg
Reply By: Rut Tearer - Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 14:55
Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 14:55
Don't now anything about them in terms of reliability but I suspect they will be qood little unit if they are priced under Honda and Yamaha etc. Kipor seem to be doing
well now so they are another contender.
Reply By: dbish - Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 15:06
Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 15:06
Ross. Not much detail is it a digital sine wave geny that varys its speed with the load havent heard of these before. All i can give is advice on what i have which is 2600Watt Genco which is made in china by Kipor only cost 1200dollars. The 1000Watt is about 1000dollars. I have checked the wave form with an ocilloscope and the sine wave is as clean as the mains. I run a computer and switch mode charger @ powersuplies of this generator & in 12 months of use had no problems. Hope this is ofd some help.
Follow Up By: Member - ross m (WA) - Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 23:17
Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 23:17
I only know whats in the advert. Not buying one I already have a Yamaha.
I was just curious to know if I could have saved a few hundred.
Im guessing its a bit like an Engel,good but not as good as the other 2
Reply By: paulnsw - Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 15:33
Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 15:33
these Hyundai have no connection with the Hyumdai Motor Co.
these branded Hyundai generators are cheap Chinese crap like all the other Chinese crapiola generators on the market that fail
Yamaha is superior brand and features over Honda on 1kva
spend the money buy quality unit with Auswide warranty and something you know you can get spares and service
Follow Up By: Member - ross m (WA) - Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 16:09
Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 16:09
So how about the Robin brand,they claim to be a part of Subaru?
Follow Up By: Member - Tony & Julie (FNQ) - Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 17:24
Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 17:24
Yamaha 1000 Inverter Generator
For just a bit more get one of the above and you are buying one of the best with resale value. Cheers Tony
Follow Up By: paulnsw - Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 17:38
Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 17:38
Robin brand dont need to claim they are part of Subaru
Follow Up By: veight - Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 20:09
Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 20:09
"Yamaha is superior brand and features over Honda on 1kva"
What are the extra features over a honda 1kva eu10i?
Follow Up By: Member - Tony & Julie (FNQ) - Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 20:22
Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 20:22
All the specs are just about the same - price is the same as Yamaha - Yamaha has a run time of up to 12hrs on a
tank whereas Honda only state up to 8Hrs?
Much the same I would say. Cheers Tony
Follow Up By: Member - ross m (WA) - Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 23:15
Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 23:15
I have a yamaha 1000 blue whisper and I doubt it has a 12 hour run time on its
tank.
I would have thought more like 8 hrs with light load.
I should get a engine clock
Follow Up By: paulnsw - Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 06:00
Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 06:00
Tony & Julie (FNQ) posted: All the specs are just about the same NO LOL
Yamaha has large fuel filler cap makes easier to fill and not spill
Yamaha has larger oil capacity
Yamaha has cast iron
bore
Yamaha has fuel tap which is good enough reason alone to buy Yamaha
Yamaha has lower revs reduce wear and fuel consumption
Yamaha has centralised control panel
Yamaha has 50cc overhed valve motor increased reliability lower fuel consumption
Yamaha is quieter
Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Saturday, Aug 15, 2009 at 19:44
Saturday, Aug 15, 2009 at 19:44
Mate there is one thing you have stated that is for sure without a doubt!!,
Hard to believe,! But Yamaha is quieter.!
Reply By: Nargun51 - Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 16:51
Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 16:51
If you do a Google search they don't exist on the Australian Hyundai site, but appear on the UK Hyundai site
Imported from ??? to Australia, and may not be supported by Hyundai Australia?
Worthwhile checking out with Hyundai whether they do support them in Australia
Follow Up By: paulnsw - Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 17:43
Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 17:43
Hyundai Motor Co Australia have nothing to do with generators.
Hyundai generators are imported by many and Ghostbusters are the service, spares and warranty agents
Follow Up By: Member - ross m (WA) - Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 19:22
Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 19:22
It doesnt mean they arent a Hyundai product because you cant buy them at a car dealer.
You cant buy their forklifts or excavators at the dealer either or their fishing boats,but they still use the Hyundai name.
And chinese doesnt neccesarily mean rubbis,they are learning quick.
I bet most of the computers ,monitors and widesreen digital TVs we all own are largely chinese made these days
Reply By: garryk - Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 15:46
Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 15:46
G'day
We looked and listened to the Hyundai 1 kva set and I reckon it was a lot noisier than Honda or Yamaha.
That plus lack of service agents told us to spend a few extra $ and get it right first go , we got a Yamaha in the end
Garry
Follow Up By: Member - ross m (WA) - Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 19:56
Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 19:56
Good info .
I saw the 58 db rating,I think the Yammy is about 46 db.
The yammy also seems to have the sharp knocking sound muffled ,so the sound is a more continuos hum .