codan 8528 and auto tune

Submitted: Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 14:02
ThreadID: 71475 Views:8477 Replies:6 FollowUps:9
I've purchased a bargin (or so I thought) consisting of an 8528 + 8558 autotune antenna from ebay. How ever after installing everything I discovered the autotune would tune so I hunted around and relised that the tuner is currently unrepairable due to the crappy plastic tube breaking. Does anyone have a have any ideas hoe to repair this? Also I was thinking of buying a 9350, is that a simpe matter of plug and play or do I need to modify the transceiver?

any help would be sweet

Reply By: PandJ - Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 15:52

Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 15:52
Hi benny308,

You have quoted " How ever after installing everything I discovered the autotune would tune" so what's the problem ?

If I were you I would firstly contact Bushcomm in West Australia ( sorry I don't have number ) to see if antenna can be repaired.

Yes, the 9350 will marry to the 8528 without getting engaged and going through the hiccups! Cheers P&J
AnswerID: 378834

Follow Up By: benny308 - Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 15:58

Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 15:58
I forgot the most import letters "n't" unfortunately it doesn't tune
FollowupID: 646193

Follow Up By: PandJ - Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 16:12

Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 16:12
I was talking to the BOSS at bushcomm a few days ago and they repair/refurbish the Codan Antennas.
As you are in W.A. give them a ring on 9296 0496 or visit at: 80 Stock Road, Herne Hill. I am sure he will help you the best he can. Cheers P&J
FollowupID: 646196

Follow Up By: Member - Mark E (VIC) - Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 19:23

Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 19:23
These antennas were never great and are now very old. I wouldn't waste any money repairing it, but would look either at a 9350 or perhaps even a tapped whip, depending upon your intended use and how many channels you want to be able to access.

In relation to vacuum sealing, I believe this to be a furphy. Rather they are simply heated a little to create a small amount of vacuum when they cool (or something like that). They are also tested in a water tank for leaks.

I have repaired my 9350 antenna myself and have never bothered with this stuff and have never had any further trouble with it, though you need to remember that like anything with moving parts and subjected to the harsh treatment they are, they will at some stage require servicing, cleaning etc.

As others have stated, the 9350 will mate up directly to the 8528, but you may need to remove a small circuit board inside the set (called option AD - or antenna driver) as these electonics are contained withing the 9350, rather than the set.

The 8528 are a great set, but remember that they are getting a little old now and Codan do not support them for spare parts anymore. If the front subsrate on the main radio or control head dies it is very hard to find replacements, though there is one bloke doing an aftermarket version.

I have had a few of these sets over the years (now run a 9323) and more than willing to give you any further assistance I can with your setup.

One last thing. A recently departed EO member (Footloose) who knew just about everything there is to know about these Codans would have warned you to be very careful with these older sets if you intend to rely on them as your only form of emergency communications in remote areas. I certainly would not be relying on an old 8558 antenna, without some form of emergency backup.

FollowupID: 646229

Reply By: Stu & "Bob" - Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 16:31

Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 16:31
G'day Benny,

Have a look here for info on how to repair your 8558 antenna. Please bear in mind that they are getting quite old now, and spare parts are very hard (or nearly impossible) to get. Much better off to look at a 9350 if your budget can stretch that far.

Good second hand 9350's can be got here as well as any other bits that you might need. Usual disclaimers etc.

I have a like new 8558 fibreglass whip and spring that is of no use to me if you are looking for one.

The 9350 will plug and play to the 8528, but you will need to get a new control cable as the 9350 has a different plug.

AnswerID: 378842

Follow Up By: benny308 - Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 16:44

Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 16:44
I went to the ozwireless thing first and found that the plastic tube has broken so I'd like to find the replacement parts first, but like evyone is saying at the moment they're rare as hen's teeth.

in regards to the whip and spring I have both, but thanks for the offer.
FollowupID: 646201

Follow Up By: PandJ - Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 17:02

Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 17:02
Stu & bob,

Firstly re the repair site for these antennas is that who ever put them on these sites does not tell us that they are assembled under vacuum to prevent any moisture getting into them. One can repair by self but after a few times used they will pack up and need to be sent to somebody like Bushcomm to be repaired again and resealed under vacuum

Thanks for the spare parts site but they don't have what I want for my 9350 auto tune antenna, Bugger!!
FollowupID: 646204

Follow Up By: Stu & "Bob" - Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 18:47

Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 18:47
Benny,
You should be able to use any plastic tubing, but it must be non-conductive.

PandJ,
Just send them an email detailing the parts that you need, you just never know.

FollowupID: 646224

Reply By: benny308 - Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 17:08

Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 17:08
That's one thing I did notice is that there was a lost of dust inside the antenna, must have been a home job repair before
AnswerID: 378849

Follow Up By: Stu & "Bob" - Sunday, Aug 16, 2009 at 09:04

Sunday, Aug 16, 2009 at 09:04
Or the "O" ring is damaged, and not sealing properly.

FollowupID: 646553

Reply By: anglepole - Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 18:32

Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 18:32
Hi benny308

Some advice, if you choose to purchase a new antenna check around (including mail order sites) for the best price. I have seen up to $400 difference for the same Codan antenna.

You may wish to start with someone like this:

http://www.lakecomm.com.au/hfant&acc.html.

I understand that these antennas are not a good repair proposition.

The guy who designed this antenna owns Lencom. You may wish to email him to find out about repairs.

http://www.lencom.com.au/

Good luck and I hope they don't flush you wallet.
AnswerID: 378868

Follow Up By: anglepole - Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 18:37

Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 18:37
Site for lakecomm should be

http://www.lakecomm.com.au/hfant&acc.html

No full stop after html

FollowupID: 646221

Reply By: KiwiAngler - Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 19:44

Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 19:44
Not sure how 'good with your hands' you are but take a look at this website

If nothing else it is interesting to see just what lurks inside that 'black tube' :-)

8558 Autotune website
AnswerID: 378875

Reply By: Angler - Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 21:33

Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 21:33
One thing you should do if you ever get it to go again is to make it tune at least once a month or so to keep the tuning motor operational. I have two of these aerials and have repaired one of them in the past. I always carry a long wire tuning unit whenever I travel to remote places as the codan can run into a long wire once it is tuned.
I would love another stainless steel aerial as mine suffered a breakage in the bush once.

Question for the forum, what does CODAN stand for? No prizes just satisfaction knowing where they came from.

Pooley
www.bycompass.com
AnswerID: 378910

Follow Up By: Stu & "Bob" - Sunday, Aug 16, 2009 at 09:03

Sunday, Aug 16, 2009 at 09:03
Pooley,

I have broken mine a few times now, but always managed to find the broken bit and just weld it back together using S/steel rods.

FollowupID: 646552