off road/ on road GPS

G'day all whats the best on/off road GPS.
What do you have? What (if any ) problems have you had with it?

Reply By: On Patrol & TONI - Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 13:24

Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 13:24
Bendebarran
This is a very broad question that covers two (or more) types of solutions.

Off road, this is IMHO covered best by a PC with a GPS antenna and dedicated software such as OziExplorer or similar and detailed digital maps.

On road, is covered best with a whole array of devices from hand held units to fully intergrated units fitted into many new cars.

Both should be investigated through a dedicated supplier, such as Johnny Appleseed, or Ozmaps etc. There guys are very conversant with what they sell and can guide you in the right direction "for your needs".

You will get a whole range of answers here, telling you this and that, but unless you understand the basics it will all be Greek to you.
Colin
AnswerID: 378968

Reply By: Member - Fred B (NT) - Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 13:25

Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 13:25
Gooday,
how long is a piece of string? There are so many different ones, different $$$$ and different features. Suggest you do a thread search here and get some idea of what you want, then you can ask more specific questions. Also read the gps / navigation articles on this site as well; that should help you as well.
Fred B
VKS 737: Mobile/Selcall 1334

AnswerID: 378969

Reply By: Member - Jon W (Toowoomba QLD) - Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 13:49

Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 13:49
Bendebarran,
We have a Hema Navigator which suits our needs and with which we are very happy. My only gripe is that in 4WD mode, the nav data panels are not user defined and contain a lot of unnecessary detail for our needs. None of the screens has an ETA function which I find annoying.
The moving topo map display is a great confidence boost especially off the beaten track and it is reassuring when you see your next waypoint or destination appear on the edge of the screen.
Jon W
AnswerID: 378973

Follow Up By: bgreeni - Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 22:03

Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 22:03
My understanding is that Hema use OziCE. In that case the screens are completely configurable to show what you want, where you want. The software to do the configuring, which you run on a PC and download to the unit, is free on the OziExplorer web site.
FollowupID: 646449

Reply By: The Landy - Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 15:14

Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 15:14
Recently bought a VMS 500 Tourer, so far so good and it incorporates the reversing camera.
AnswerID: 378981

Reply By: Member - Tony V (NSW) - Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 15:16

Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 15:16
Bendebarran,

I have a Garmin Nuvi 760 with the Garmin TOPO maps and I am very happy with it.

I just did a 6856km trip from NSW to SA, NT and Qld and home and I couldn't fault it. However, I still use paper maps as my prime guide.

Laptop with GPS Mouse is a great way to navigate. The HEMA unit is very good as well.
AnswerID: 378982

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 20:02

Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 20:02
Tony, The Garmin Topo, some main track and roads are not marked. If you look at the Canning Stock route, nowhere along the route does it mention that it is, it simply calls it a track. Yet the Shonky and Tracks 4 both mark it clearly as the Canning. Also the contour lines are thick and overwhelming. I think for the money its not really good value. You still need the other cheaper digital maps in your Nuvi to get the most of of your GPS, when out of the country. Michael
FollowupID: 646414

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 21:10

Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 21:10
Michael
Before you make a statement you should be 100% sure your right, I just checked mine and it has the name in many places.

FollowupID: 646435

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 21:56

Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 21:56
Gee Doug!! I did check it from top to the bottom, i couldnt find that.. I stand corrected!! I will look again.. Michael
FollowupID: 646447

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 22:08

Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 22:08
Michael
If your looking on the PC set it too Highest, If your looking on the GPS set it to Most (760) High (765)

for the GPS setting touch screen buttons in this order,
Tools / Settings / Map / Most- High

FollowupID: 646451

Follow Up By: equinox - Saturday, Aug 15, 2009 at 00:24

Saturday, Aug 15, 2009 at 00:24
Yeah but where's all the sandridges Doug?

There's more to mapping than just tracks and a few contour lines?

Those maps may be OK fo the city and a few kms west of Merredin, not so sure they cut the mustard for the true outback??

What's your opinion?

Alan (who uses Natmaps with Ozi Ce on his PDA for outback stuff)

FollowupID: 646460

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Saturday, Aug 15, 2009 at 00:27

Saturday, Aug 15, 2009 at 00:27
equinox
Why in hell do I need to see Sand Ridges on the screen, when I have been to the SD i could bloody hundreds of them out the windscreen, ...lol

FollowupID: 646461

Follow Up By: equinox - Saturday, Aug 15, 2009 at 00:36

Saturday, Aug 15, 2009 at 00:36
Fair enough Doug, horses for courses as they say....

FollowupID: 646462

Reply By: Ozboc - Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 15:39

Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 15:39
laptop runs all software / maps - can store HEAPS of info - photos video - and have internet access ....

too easy

boc
AnswerID: 378985

Reply By: Member - DW (NSW) - Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 20:13

Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 20:13
I bought a Kogan branded GPS on eBay which only had a generic navigator program in it. It had an SD card and was Windows CE compatible. I have bought a 4gb card and loaded the necessary files from Oziexplorer CE and it works a treat. Total cost was $202 plus $9 freight. I already had the Oziexplorer program on my laptop.
After I purchased it I showed it to a friend that sells HEMA Navigators. He was stunned especially as it cost 1/4 of the price! It will do everything that Oziexplorer allows it to do.
We have found tracks and followed them off remote roads and still found our way.
Hope that helps.
DW
AnswerID: 379023

Reply By: Robin Miller - Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 21:47

Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 21:47
I think their is now only one serious GPS left that covers all bases.

I.E. it is marinized and is hence waterproof

It allows you the user to upload your own tracks and navigate them.

Can have lots of user set features like settable proximity alarms for sensitive locations.

Can accurately measure your cars voltage and warm you if low.

Has all the usual navigation abilites in addition to true off-road navigation modes.

Has 2 independant configurable modes of operation to say switch between your normal road maps and say a fixed north heading contour map.

All our team use them without issue.

However this GPS cannot store your baby photo's.

http://www.gpsoz.com.au/garmin/garmin_276c.htm
AnswerID: 379042

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 23:07

Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 23:07
"However this GPS cannot store your baby photo's. "

Think it can if you wanted to – you can’t view them though.

One potential disadvantage of choosing this unit is the requirement to use Garmin proprietary data cards which apart from costing nearly as much as a base model Nuvi have a maximum memory capacity of 512mb.

Theoretical problem - To load all of the latest Garmin Aus Topo requires close on 2GB. You obviously don’t need to load complete maps sets – but it’s one limitation the unit has that should be taken into consideration (some newer GPS units can take 32GB SD cards!!).

Very good unit none the less, just need to also note a GPS unit’s shortcomings when assessing its overall “seriousness”.

FollowupID: 646457

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Saturday, Aug 15, 2009 at 07:54

Saturday, Aug 15, 2009 at 07:54
Hi Greg

I agree its good to list all potential disadvantages , but I didn't think that is one of them in the context of the question.

Perhaps because with shonky and city navigator I don't even use my 512 card as the 256 is big enough.

The disaavantages I see of this unit don't relate the the question asked.

I think they are first it costs over $1000 with card unless you get it from USA and second I would like a unit that handles free form maps not just the commerial ones.

But , I would not sacrifice the other features for those.

I'm still waiting for the day they make a laptop with the screen brightness output of the 276c so you can read it in the daylight.

I also specify laptops for customer use on engineering projects and again the other day I was down checking out all the latst little toys and they all work well in the shop until I got a shop assistant to take one to a nearby bus-stop where apon he couldn't read the screen without holding his hand and squinting.

So dissapointing - but I hear OLE screens are on the way !

FollowupID: 646468

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 09:30

Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 09:30
No worries - as we know this same question pops up all the time. In my opinion there is no single right answer to the question (i.e. what’s the best on/off road GPS?). This is because (amongst other things) different people have different requirements and expectations (e.g. features, specifications, available map sets, cost, out of car use etc). Also in some cases, if you limit yourself to one GPS unit, you will ultimately find yourself in circumstances where another setup would be better (even if you don’t realise it)…so your final choice may end a being a compromise of sorts.

The 276c, as I said, is a good unit but I don’t think it covers “all bases” as you suggest, in fact I know it doesn’t (does any unit? - I think not). Could however be the unit Bendebarran is looking for – who knows? Probably need to obtain some more information about intended use etc before making that call. Without any other information from Bendebarran suspect a Nuvi of some sort would be better starting point, if only from a ease of use and cost perspective. If OziExplorer tickles his fancy then the Hema Navigator or the newer VMS units may be the go. Cheaper option along this line maybe an unlocked Mio/Navman or one of those cheap "Chinese" units which will do what the more expensive units do for less cost. Pros and cons for each choice.

Good range of suggestions so far - bet Bendebarran is as confused as he was prior to asking the question!

FollowupID: 647733

Reply By: bgreeni - Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 22:23

Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 22:23
My 2 bits worth. I have been using OziExplorer, both PC and PDA version almost since it first came on the market. I am thus very familiar with it. Prior to using Ozi I was very familiar with maps and charts for navigation, and still always want one in hard copy if going to far of the beaten track, along with compass, ruler and protractor

I know that it does not do automatic route calculation, but if I am travelling anywhere I like to sort out the route myself. Part of the trip planning to understand where I am going. Something I learnt from flying/navigating light aircraft around much of Oz.

I have a digatal map library of thousands of maps now, and thus have coverage of most areas at various scales, and now also download maps from satellite data and other sources (Not only goggle but a number of other sources) using SASGIS. The new ability to show Goggle on OziE is also great for route planning.

I normally use a blue tooth GPS connected to a GPS when I am travelling and use 1:250K maps for highway use. On tracks I will use either 1:100K or 1:50K where available, or maybe maps constructed using SASGIS. I have built a number of OziCE screens to show what I want and find useful.

I therefore find this combination suits my needs/abilities

No real problems with this combination. My number one rule however is to always be aware of my location and be able to switch to manual means when the technology all fails. Fortunately this is a rare event,
AnswerID: 379044

Follow Up By: bgreeni - Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 22:26

Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 22:26
That should read "GPS conected to a PDA"
FollowupID: 646454

Reply By: xxx - Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 23:52

Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 23:52
Cheapest- 5" GPS from China running OziCE- cost $108.

Best- 8.9" eeePC running Ozi- $430.

I've tried bigger screens and touch screens but the 8.9" is perfect.

The major problem with both is that they cause me to invest inordinate amounts in diesel fuel.
AnswerID: 379054

Reply By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Saturday, Aug 15, 2009 at 03:38

Saturday, Aug 15, 2009 at 03:38
equinox posted:
Yeah but where's all the sandridges Doug?

Right here , 3 dunes as shown on Garmin Topo and overlayed on Google Earth.
Horses for courses eh. How accurate do you need it,

AnswerID: 379060

Follow Up By: equinox - Saturday, Aug 15, 2009 at 10:01

Saturday, Aug 15, 2009 at 10:01
and there they are...

That's the Simpson, quite a popular place for our friends over east. I am assuming you can toggle contours on and off, though I'm guessing that area might be flat I'm not sure. (apart from the ridges)

What about your original map of that small section of the Canning? Can you show me sandridges in that section, or not? I'm only asking, I'm sure others are interested as well.

FollowupID: 646477

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Saturday, Aug 15, 2009 at 10:18

Saturday, Aug 15, 2009 at 10:18
CSR Dune

And why would one need to turn contours of, when zoomed into 200m they are not a problem, that can't be done with Raster maps,

FollowupID: 646480

Follow Up By: equinox - Saturday, Aug 15, 2009 at 10:56

Saturday, Aug 15, 2009 at 10:56
That area doesn't look anything like your first map area, but for arguments sake I will ignore that fact.

So the answer is no then, as that map still is only showing contours. That dune is visible but only because it has a contour around it. At least it shows the lakes.

I like the zooming contour feature by the way.

I think the technology is good Doug, but the data-set still needs some work.

Thanks for your reply

FollowupID: 646485

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Saturday, Aug 15, 2009 at 11:25

Saturday, Aug 15, 2009 at 11:25
Of course it's not the same area, I wasn't going looking for an area I just picked by random, anyhow I'm sure one is not going to get lost because the map don't show a few sand dunes , but on the other hand with a Nuvi 765 if one was really keen you could make a waypoint for every dune across the SD using GE and Mapsource, do a jpg screen shot of all the dunes off GE and match it to the waypoints on the nuvi then you could view the dunes on the screen , No I'm not that keen ....

FollowupID: 646487