This machine sucks

Submitted: Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 13:37
ThreadID: 71498 Views:7514 Replies:14 FollowUps:17
It also seals too. "Er Indoors" has just gone and bought a cryovac device, and while it came with bags and plastic wrapping sheets supplied I was hoping to hear what others do to seal their meat because on pricing the bags and/or plastic wrap it's not cheap.

Has anyone found another way of using these devices with a more economical way of sealing the meat/food?

I would love to hear from you.
Colin.

Reply By: cruza25 - Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 13:44

Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 13:44
my butcher does it for free-well included in the price !!!! if i buy a decent amount of meat

mik
AnswerID: 378971

Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 13:45

Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 13:45
cruza25
so does ours!!!!!!!
But as you can see we now HAVE the machine mate.
Cheers Colin.
FollowupID: 646360

Reply By: On Patrol & TONI - Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 13:44

Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 13:44
After posting the above post I thought about useing Glad Bags with the zip look removed, could that work????????????????????????
AnswerID: 378972

Follow Up By: Member -Signman - Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 14:02

Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 14:02
hi Colin
You can just buy the 'tube' of plastic..cut off what you need...seal one end with the 'heat blade' in the machine...then do your thing and suck/seal ..
I'll let ya know where to get the stuff..
Try the GladBags..but the heat seal may melt it.

FollowupID: 646362

Follow Up By: Tenpounder (SA) - Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 15:20

Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 15:20
e have a Sunbeam brand, and I think the designs differ, which is why Sunbeam bags and tubes have a quilted side on one face, whereas the butchers machines are smooth both sides.
I have tried several smooth plastic options on the Sunbeam. One was a heavy tube of smooth plastic: this welded well, but didn't allow for proper suction, so the vacuum wasn't created. I think this was because the 'quilting' of the Sunbeam bags/tubes was missing. I have read that the strong suction not only removes the air around the food, but also pulls the air from within the food to a degree, helping with the preservation.
I have tried other, thinner, plastic and the heat from the welding bar was just too much.
So I suspect it is like someone said in an earlier thread this week, it is like ink jet printers - the manufacturers make their money from the sale of consumables, and guess what, you have to use their brand!!
Incidentally, I also had more welding failures using smooth plastic because of the capillary action as the vacuum pump draws the air (and the blood and juices) out of the bag.
I am pretty sure the brands differ enough in the technique, but I have not found a satisfactory cheap alternative for the Sunbeam - yet!!
But let's continue to look for answers!
FollowupID: 646370

Reply By: Mandrake - Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 14:35

Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 14:35
Try this for price !!

Cryovac rolls and bags

Mandrake
AnswerID: 378976

Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 18:59

Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 18:59
Thanks Mandrake, see you @ St George, cryovaced food and all.
Colin.
FollowupID: 646402

Reply By: Member -Dodger - Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 15:27

Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 15:27
Sunbeam have rolls that as said previously you cut off and seal at the required length.
Works a treat for us.
Get them from Big W or Hardly Normal.
I used to have a handle on life, but it broke.

Cheers Dodg.

AnswerID: 378983

Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 19:02

Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 19:02
Gday Dodg
we got the bags and rolls too, but I like to hear what others do, that ignites ideas for future use. Stealing others ideas beats having to think up all your own, Ha Ha Ha.
Cheers Colin.
FollowupID: 646403

Reply By: Stewy - Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 15:33

Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 15:33
Find your nearest Butcher supplier wholesaler they will have rolls of the stuff at a reasonable price , in SA it's the Master Butchers Coop, can pick up 2 x 30m rolls for about $35.
AnswerID: 378984

Follow Up By: Tenpounder (SA) - Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 15:48

Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 15:48
... as long as that material suits your machine. Otherwise its a total waste of your money, like offering a Fosters Light to a Coopers drinker.
FollowupID: 646374

Reply By: Tenpounder (SA) - Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 15:40

Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 15:40
Hi. Yoa are talking about sealing the bags, but, as your heading suggests, the machines also suck! According to the various websites (several brands) I explored before we bought our Sunbeam, the sealing is stage 2, and the vacuum is stage 1. If you don't get a good vacuum, you do not remove much air from within the food, and all you are doing is creating an airtight, leak-proof bag: which is good in itself, but only half the story.
See my comment below, but I can't get a vacuum without using the Sunbeam bags/tubes, now that we bought a Sunbeam machine. I don't know about other brands and their dependence of special materials.
But there's no doubt in my mind that the vacuum part of the equation is fundamental to the long term keeping advantages of the so-called cryovac concept.
And I bet you butcher won't offer to prepare a one pot casserole with meat and vegs, and then cryovac it for you take on your trips. Half a dozen prepared meals fit nicely in the bottom of the Engel, ready for quick reheating (drop the bag into a billy of boiling water) with no pots and pans.
Just say to er indoors that's her share of the bargain!!
AnswerID: 378986

Follow Up By: Tenpounder (SA) - Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 15:41

Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 15:41
Read "See my comment above ..."
FollowupID: 646373

Follow Up By: howie - Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 17:44

Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 17:44
i have the sunbeam machine and don't have a problem re-sealing other 'smooth' bags.
generally, i find that if the bag i buy an item in, is sealed, then i can reseal it.
i didn't think the machine will draw air 'out of the food'.
certainly, it will crush the likes of bread.
as for sealing stews etc, put the machine on a couple of phone directories, so it is higher.
it doesn't matter if a small amount of fluid is sucked in anyway, the 'vent' is not in the bottom of the vacuum channel.
my machine will NOT do the heat seal unless it senses the vacuum is sufficient.

FollowupID: 646390

Follow Up By: Tenpounder (SA) - Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 18:20

Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 18:20
Thanks, Howie.
Yes, I agree with your comments about sealing.
The Sunbeam will draw air out of the food, and yes, I have, quite successfully, reduced a loaf of bread to half its natural size on that basis, then frozen it (and yes, it did bounce back after thawing, so it was a way of having fresh bread a week or more down the track, but what's wrong with mountain bread anyway?). And, yes, sealing stews is OK if you get the relative levels right.
My experience has been that the small flow of fluid always trickles through to the weld area just when the pump is trying to finish its task, and it simply won't make the transition to the weld operation.
But when I try to use 'non-standard' plastic tube, I have to seal one end; fill the tube with food; turn it around and seal the other end WITHOUT trying to evacuate the bag> Is there an alternative?
FollowupID: 646391

Follow Up By: Tim - Stratford (VIC) - Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 18:25

Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 18:25
For stews or in particular apricot chicken and rice, I freeze the portions in 'chinese' containers. When frozen I tip the food out of the contained and place it in the bag. Suck 'n seal the frozen food and it doesn't 'inhale' any fluid.

When I'm away by myself I just throw the bag of apricot chicken in the billy and boil for a few minutes until thawed and heated through. Then eat with a hot cuppa!

Tim -Stratford.
FollowupID: 646393

Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 19:06

Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 19:06
Thanks: Tenpound, Tim & Howie, some good info for us keep up the good work guys.
Colin
FollowupID: 646404

Follow Up By: howie - Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 21:03

Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 21:03
tenpounder,
don't get me wrong, i very rarely get more than a couple of drips inside the vacuum channel and your problem seems to be attaining the correct level of vacuum.
i found that the opened edges of the bags have to be presented really flat, with no crinkles, for the machine to get the vacuum up to the correct level.
as well as the stew/directory method, i had problems sealing plain old steaks.
sometimes, especially if the bag is smallish.
in this case, i leave the machine on the flat and put the bag on a thick book to level the bag with the 'jaws' .
i can usually tell if the seal/vacuum process is going to work as it compresses really fast with well presented/square bag edges.
i don't think the weld operation is stopped or affected by the presence of a small amount of fluid. (in fact i know it isn't thru experience)
i use the continuous roll.
hope this helps

FollowupID: 646432

Follow Up By: Tenpounder (SA) - Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 23:14

Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 23:14
Thanks, Howie. I suspect your second para is the key: "really flat, with no crinkles". So, if I use a length of tube, I must really ensure I cut it straight, not jagged.
But I have found the bag needs to be fairly under-filled to avoid problems, or else I pre-freeze the contents. Perhaps I am too stingey when I cut the tube!!
It is still a great asset.
FollowupID: 646458

Reply By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 17:05

Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 17:05
G'day Colin. A great move in buying one. I've been using one for the past two years and find it invaluable. Even if it's packing 200 teabags, it reduces the amount of space needed for food packing in many ways.

Two pieces of advice for you.

1. Keep an eye on Aldi. I bought my cryovac machine there for $99 dollars and the boxes of plastic rolls were $14 as opposed to $30 elsewhere.Sign yourself up for their e-catalogue and watch it. Buy heaps when they are on special....they don't go off lol.

2. You can reuse the bags in many cases providing you wash them well. Suitable for freezing after cryovaccing in particular. Make the bag a little bigger and seal as close to the end as practicable. After use, turn the bag inside out and give it a good wash with hot soapy water or an antibacterial if you like, dry and reuse. (Not reccomended for chicken and fish - unless freezing as well but they have a much reduced cryovac life anyway compared to red meat.

AnswerID: 379001

Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 18:55

Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 18:55
Mick "Er Indoors" was at the local Aldi and the last one they had in stock was reduced to $59 for an immediate sale, talk about the right place at the right time!!!
Thanks Colin.
FollowupID: 646398

Reply By: Member - Allan B (QLD) - Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 18:25

Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 18:25
Just took delivery a couple of hours ago of a Eurolab Vacuum Food Sealer from Deals Direct.com.au.

Works a treat and at $79.95 it is half the price of Sunbeam.
Bags come at 60 cents each.

Hiho for the next trek!

AnswerID: 379004

Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 19:27

Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 19:27
Er indoors was standing in our local Aldi looking at the machine when the manager came over and put up a reduced for quick sale sign announcing $59 (was $99), It sold quickly.

There is some great replys on here, I hope you are taking notes too, Cheers Colin
FollowupID: 646406

Follow Up By: Member - Allan B (QLD) - Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 19:34

Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 19:34
Colin,

Sometimes you can be in the right place at the right time. ..... Wow!

Aldi often have good bargains on appliances. Wish there was a store near us.

FollowupID: 646408

Reply By: BubblesT - Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 18:53

Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 18:53
I have used both sunbeam and Orved semi professional for years. Hubby got impatient waiting to cryovac olives and didn't drain the juice and burnt out the sunbeam one when juice got into the motor. the Orved one is excellent. When cryovacing meat or any other product that has a lot of moisture in it put some paper towel at the top end to absord juices. As long as the bags have one flat side and one rippled side it doesn't mater which brand you use. Bags can be bought in bulk from any hospitality supplier, master butchers, Big Boys Toys Shop in Qld they can also be reused after washing thoroughly. Freeze food before baging. Great for buy nuts etc in bulk and cryovacing also good to cryocac spark plugs to keep dry in the dingy, wills and important papers, photo's etc. Have fun with it.
AnswerID: 379009

Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 18:57

Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 18:57
Bubbles
cool idea re using it to package items other than food, top reply.
Colin
FollowupID: 646400

Reply By: On Patrol & TONI - Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 19:32

Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 19:32
Thanks to all that replied, there was some great & interesting ideas mentioned, well done everyone, Colin & Renate (Er Indoors).
AnswerID: 379014

Reply By: Member - Bentaxle - Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 19:44

Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 19:44
Don't complain they are ideal for storing spare wheel bearings. Just pack bearings in grease place in bag and hit with cryovac as it sucks out the air it also packs the grease into the bearing.
May the fleas of a thousand afghan camels infect the crutch of your enemy and may their arms be too short to scratch.

AnswerID: 379016

Reply By: Serendipity of Mandurah (WA) - Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 19:45

Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 19:45
Hi Colin

My wife bought the Breville 'Vac2Pac' unit. This one is designed to use resealable bags. Each bag comes with 10 or 20 puncture points around the sides where the machine will puncture, suck the air out and heat seal the point. Works well.

Once we use the bag it is washed out and set aside for the next time. That way bags go a long way.

Also the unit is a lot smaller than the normal A4 size cryovac pac - measuring about 150*120*50deep. This one is small and round and can sit on the palm of my hand as it only needs to puncture one 10c size mark with its one fang.

AnswerID: 379017

Reply By: noelvac - Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 11:13

Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 11:13
Guys, Ive always bought all my vacuum sealer bags from www.thepackagingcentre.com.au , as far as I can find, cheapest prices and largest range. I have one of the DZ300a machines and the bags work out half the price of Sunbeam bags etc. Worth a look. Cheers.

AnswerID: 381074

Reply By: Member - Mike DID - Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 11:22

Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 11:22
I use the machine to really waterproof pack important things -

- matches

- batteries for phone or GPS

- Soluble Aspirin tablets for heart-attack First Aid - the Alfoil sachets will develop a hairline crack quickly and render the tablet useless.

- EPIRB if I lend it to someone, to discourage fidlling and so I can be sure it hasn't been fiddled with.
AnswerID: 381078