Covering fridge inlet duct - dust.

Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 15:29
ThreadID: 71596 Views:6978 Replies:8 FollowUps:20
Is it a good idea to cover/tape up,the fridge inlet duct on the side of the caravan while travelling on a dirt road ?
I was under the impression if this was done, it would cause the fridge to over heat. Any comments would be appreciated.

Reply By: Ian & Sue - Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 15:48

Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 15:48
We have just returned from a trip which included around 400klms of dirt road travel around the Pilbara. We didnt cover or tape over the fridge inlet or the aircon although had thought about it. When we returned home my husband unscrewed all the "bits" - see how technical I can be, LOL - there was only light dust which could even have been there from previous adventures away. I must admit we where surprised since there had been heaps of dust thrown up and at us from passing stock trucks! We did leave the pressure vent on the roof up as that always seems to keep the inside almost dust free.

Sue
Jeep Rubicon Wrangler & Coromal Pioneer 541
AnswerID: 379461

Follow Up By: jeep cherokee - Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 16:29

Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 16:29
Thanks Sue, we have a new Coromal F 400 camper but have not yet given it a run over dirt.
FollowupID: 646829

Reply By: Tenpounder (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 17:07

Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 17:07
I know that, on a really hot day, and if the van side panel is in direct sun, the fridge does not work properly, precisely because the air flow past the vanes etc. is not strong enough. (Incidentally, that's why quite a few people construct sun shades to cover that part of the van).
So, if you are going to stop the air flow altogether by blocking the inlet, you may as well turn the fridge off anyway! At least that would solve the over-heating problem!! Either way, your food ain't going to keep cold without an adequate air flow.
AnswerID: 379472

Follow Up By: Tenpounder (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 17:17

Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 17:17
PS I beleive it is quite common for people to add a 12v computer-type fan behind their fridges to assist circulation, and keep the fridge working. So this seems to support the idea that good circulation is essential if you don't wish the risk a fridge full of food!
FollowupID: 646834

Reply By: Member - Vic S (VIC) - Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 17:25

Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 17:25
we sealed around the fridge with foam rubber as dust did come in,this stopped it getting into the van in general and then fitted a 12 volt fan to the rear which was a great help to the fridge ,the fan was used mainly when stopped or on very hot days.
Vic
AnswerID: 379475

Reply By: Member - Johny boy (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 18:20

Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 18:20
All that comes to mind when I hear or read about covering up the fridge vent is to remember to uncover it especially if you are free camping and intend to use the fridge on gas as you may go to bed forgetting it and not ever wake up,I don't mean to scare you its just what stuck in my mind when I red it once before ,and yes a pressure vent works well in my van as well .

AnswerID: 379487

Reply By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 18:37

Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 18:37
We just recently bought a Jayco swan(about a 85-87 model that's been Modified) and it has been around the Block twice, and a lot of gravel roads. I've had the vent covers off to sus out what was behind them, to my surprise there was not a lot of built up dust. The previous owner had, however put a plastic sheet, duct taped to the inside of the door vents. He said that caused a problem with dust coming into the camper.
I wouldn't cover up the outside vents at all around the fridge area.
If you're worried about dust, I would suggest that you vacuum out that area if you believe it's warranted after you've been down dusty roads.

AnswerID: 379493

Follow Up By: Tenpounder (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 18:50

Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 18:50
Hi Jon. I was told the vents in the door are a legal requirement to allow unburnt gas to escape, in the event of a leak or (say) the stove blowing out. I wouldn't have a clue if this is a myth or reality!!
FollowupID: 646838

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 19:19

Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 19:19
Hi Chris,
I have a gas fuse between the bottle and regulator.
About 40 odd bucks I think.

FollowupID: 646848

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 19:33

Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 19:33
The reason for the vents in the bottom of van doors is that it is the lowest part of the van and as LPG is heavier than air it vents down to the lowest point.

It is absolutely illegal to block them.

However along with others I tape mine up on dusty roads but remove the tape in camp.
Also always turn gas off when travelling.

FollowupID: 646853

Follow Up By: oldtrack123 - Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 21:38

Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 21:38
Hi Jon

I hope you do not put too much faith into your gas fuse.
It only detects major leaks such as a burst hose.
Suggest you very CAREFULLY test yourself IF YOU WISH, turn your gas stove on &see if gas fuse turns gas off .!!Ie a simulated leak.
Just make absolutely sure no power 240 or 12v is on & fridge is not on gas Or ANY flame nearby .Throughly air van after.

BUT BEST DO NOT EVEN TRY THIS IT IS TOO DANGEROUS.
FollowupID: 646877

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 22:30

Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 22:30
Hi oldtrack123,
I understand your concerns and others at this, Previous owner traveled around the block twice without a problem, Maybe He was lucky, I don't know.

I have tested your theory, and yes it will cut out if I turn the gas stove on and it's not lit straight away. or I crack another line open.

Can I note?, that some servo's on their bowers ask for pilot lights be put out before filling.

Hmm

FollowupID: 646887

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 22:35

Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 22:35
Can I respectfully ask how the gas fuse can tell whether you have lit the gas or not.
Surely the same rate of flow would be present either way.
Whereas a burst line would let a large flow all of a sudden and trip the fuse.
Seems strange to me.

FollowupID: 646889

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 22:54

Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 22:54
Hi Graham,
I don't understand how it works, maybe it's a flow rate thing.
But this is what happens.
I turn the gas on, I push down on the plunger on the Fuse, The needle moves to show how much gas is in the bottle?
I go inside the camper and go through the steps to lite the fridge up.
99% of the time it will start, within a couple or tries. If it doesn't I check the fuse and sometimes it will need resetting.
When I first got the camper I checked to see if the oven worked, I could get it lite, I checked the fuse and it had cut supply, Cut supply to the fridge as well. Cleaned the jet and all was good. Started first time.
I don't pretend to understand how it works, I just know it cuts out.

FollowupID: 646892

Follow Up By: oldtrack123 - Wednesday, Aug 19, 2009 at 20:39

Wednesday, Aug 19, 2009 at 20:39
Hi Jon

What you did is normal operation ,note you had to reset the fuse to get gas flow,that does not simulate a leak or flame out.
It does monitor gas flow pressure so cannot tell the difference between a lit burner or one that is not lit.
It can/ should only operate on gas flows above normal
Or when appliances shut off, loss of pressure in lines
. Suggest you do test different just do not light gas & you will find it does not know gas is not lit & will not trip.
JUST BE VERY CAREFULL

FollowupID: 646989

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 23, 2009 at 21:01

Sunday, Aug 23, 2009 at 21:01
Hi oldtrack123,
What would be the way to travel?
We have a RM360 2 way in our Jayco Swan, and a 30 lt 3way which we can sit in the camper or the back of the cruiser.Wwhen traveling, run the 3 way on 12v with just the essentials in it. Either in the camper or back of the Cruiser.
Then when camped run the 2way, and transfer over to the 2way.
I just want to get this right.
In an early post I said that the previous owner had traveled around the block twice with out a drama, and my be he was lucky.
I would not, how ever contemplate pulling into a servo with the flame going.

FollowupID: 647495

Follow Up By: oldtrack123 - Sunday, Aug 23, 2009 at 22:11

Sunday, Aug 23, 2009 at 22:11
Hi Jon
The 2way ,I believe is 240v & gas & has very poor ventilation with the roof down.
I, personally would not run it on gas with the roof down.
I know some do.
I would run the 3way[ Is it a chest type?} in the criuser when travelling, on 12v, just make sure you have heavy wiring from batts , do not try to use off standard cig lighter socket [wiring is not heavy enough]
Also remember it will flatten bats very quickly if left "ON" with engine not running.
To avoid this just get a 12v relay[JayCar SY-4068]
Wire coil to ignition circuit & contacts in pos line from batt, also advisable to have a heavy duty 20amp fuse[JayCar #SZ-2065 ]@ battery, in pos line to fridge.
Make sure you do not block its ventilation in cruiser[leave air space around it ]

Get the van fridge as cold as possible [without freezing the vegis etc] when camped . so it will last longer while travelling.but put important stuff in 3way while travelling.
FollowupID: 647505

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 14:20

Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 14:20
Yeah, it's a Chescold 30 ltr, I already have a heavier wire, fuse & socket in the back for running other12V gear off. The camper also has a heavier Aux socket and dual battery & Anderson plug set up.
I'm always at the crew not to put pillows or toys over the Fridge when it travels in the back. I have a 50ltr Chescold as well, but I've found the 30 ltr to work better that the bigger one on 12 volt. And the 50ltr works better on gas than the smaller one. They both seem to work the same on 240V.

Thanks for all your advice,

FollowupID: 647574

Reply By: oldtrack123 - Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 21:43

Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 21:43
jeep cherokee
Is it a good idea to cover/tape up,the fridge inlet duct on the side of the caravan while travelling on a dirt road ?
I was under the impression if this was done, it would cause the fridge to over heat. Any comments would be appreciated.'
IF you are referring to a 3way fridge.
I would not under any circumstance run fridge with rear air vents blocked . Overheating can do serious & permanent damage to the fridge system As can running out of level
AnswerID: 379523

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Sunday, Aug 23, 2009 at 23:15

Sunday, Aug 23, 2009 at 23:15
Gas fuse

how it works

Sorry could not reply in outher thread

FollowupID: 647510

Follow Up By: oldtrack123 - Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 12:00

Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 12:00
Hi Richard

Yes that IS how it works.

Note It only turns gas "OFF' with a major leak.

It does not turn gas 'OFF"with a minor leak, such as a burner with flame out but still passing gas ,[for stoves that do not have flame failure protection,]
Or a small leak any where else.

IF you have to reset it or it shows low pressure after gas bottle has been turned "OFF" for a 1<2 hrs then it does indicate a leak somewhere ,which should be found & repaired
FollowupID: 647549

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 23:50

Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 23:50
Thats right

They work as a velocity fuse,
the speed of the gas not the flow of the gas.

FollowupID: 647698

Reply By: mazcan barry - Friday, Aug 21, 2009 at 14:25

Friday, Aug 21, 2009 at 14:25
hi
i have just read all these forums on the the dust and fridge vents and shuddered at some of the advice given
it is absolutely essential that the fridge vents be left open at all times when the fridge is on, travelling or stationary as the fridge will struggle to stay cold especially up north, whether it be gas or electric powered as it will overheat and cause permanent damage and or a fire and a gas burning fridge should be turned off at all times when refueling at the bowser unless you intend to be the next suicide bomber because petrol fume will ignite some distance from where it sourced from especialy on a hot day kaar-booom!!!
the gas flame needs air to allow it to burn properly in the restricted cavity behind it
there are small solar powered fans on the market and are availuble from solar shops and some caravan outlet that do an excellent job keeping the fridge area cavity cool.
i have used one for many years on a viscount 1969 model and never had any more fridge overheating problems from there on in i have travelled 75000km including around oz with vans so do have a good base of knowledge
the fans cost about $6o and come complete and anyone with at least half a brain should be able to fit it
pressure vents work well and work the same as the vents in your vehicle
hope this clears up the confusion happy frudges
mazcan barry
AnswerID: 379870

Follow Up By: jeep cherokee - Friday, Aug 21, 2009 at 14:57

Friday, Aug 21, 2009 at 14:57
Thanks mazcan barry, i will try to hunt down a solar powered fan.I have already installed a 12v computer fan but over time that will draw on the battery so solar would be a better way to go. Cheers
FollowupID: 647217

Follow Up By: mazcan barry - Friday, Aug 21, 2009 at 16:53

Friday, Aug 21, 2009 at 16:53
hi just a note
when you install it you can also include a simple 12v on/offswitch on the pos lead (red trace) so that when the van fridge is'nt in use you can stop the solar fan or climb up and down to cover/uncover solar panel i prefer an inline switch in a convenient place
cheers mazcan barry
FollowupID: 647229

Follow Up By: jeep cherokee - Friday, Aug 21, 2009 at 22:25

Friday, Aug 21, 2009 at 22:25
Many thanks, will do.Safe travels
FollowupID: 647285

Reply By: Member - Hughesy (NSW) - Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 23:45

Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 23:45
G'Day,

Not sure what van your fridge is in but mine (Jayco) is sealed from the front of the fridge to the back except for the vent inside above the fridge. I have made a cover that goes over this while travelling but the 2 external vents are left open. What dust gets in behind the fridge shouldn't get into the van if the internal vent is covered. Every 6-12 months I pull the bottom external cover off and vacuum/wipe up the dust (maybe 1-2 mm) off the floor and it takes no more than 5 minutes.

No need for the fans running while driving either (I have 4 fitted) as the 80km/h+ wind going past the vents is moving more air then any fan setup will do. The heat while runing off 12v (or 240v for that mater) is minor compared with running off gas. I only use fans in very hot weather (35+).
AnswerID: 380364

Follow Up By: jeep cherokee - Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 13:55

Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 13:55
Appreciate your reply.That seems the way to go judging by the posts.
FollowupID: 647759