Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 17:32
Member - Daniel M (QLD)
This is a pretty straight forward question for all travellers. We are heading off on our first long
camp in a few weeks,
well for a week on Fraser anyway... I'm currently raiding my various toolboxes scattered across my shed to form a kit to take with us. Problem is, where do i stop? What's everyones opinion on an ideal toolbag/box to get things rolling again if need be? Bearing in mind that i don't want to take the whole shed just a small kit. I'm just curious to see what problems others have encountered where that spanner left behind may have been the one that saved the day........
Dan
Reply By: Tenpounder (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 18:08
Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 18:08
Bad news, Dan. The
tools you take are ALWAYS the ones you don't need. I seem to pack the kitchen sink and use very little. But After all that, I find it really useful to have a reasonable set of electrical
tools and supplies (12v) including a multimeter. soldering iron, connector crimping pliers etc. and a selection of connectors, fuses, wire and solder. I have used these more than anything else, over the years. At the other end of the scale, bolt cutters, riveting
tools and tinsnips are almost useless, until you need them!. In between are pliers, spanners (at least two of each of the commonest size for your rig) screwdrivers, socket set, hammer, vise grips, centre punch, cold chisel.
I don't leave home without Araldite, duct tape, cable ties etc.
Does this help?
Reply By: Member - Johny boy (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 18:12
Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 18:12
Hi Daniel,
We could give you a thousand things to take along and I bet you will need the one thousand and one tool that you left behind LOL!!, all I can say is that when we went onto Fraser a couple of times we went in a group of about 4 to 6 cars and if you are all mates I would suggest you do as we did and get the boys together for a beer or two ?? and don't double up on too much except your recovery gear its sort of a un written rule that you take your own IE: Snatch strap, we even decided that I would bring my big BBQ and all will
cook on it and a few extra bottles were brought along ,you can do a search on this topic and you will see post very much the same as yours one will even have my name on it asking this ,I took my socket set a Bashometer and a few different length screw drivers in flat blade and Philips head ,100 MPH tape,Gaff tape,electrical tape a roll of fencing wire,cable ties,open and ring spanners,center punch ,cold chisel,impact driver,a drift,a soldering kit 12 volt or gas with heat shrinks and I made up an emergency electrical kit,a 12 V compressor,and I found out what bearings my car took and bought them and always leave them in the land cruiser,I also took Tyre levers and my mate took his bead breaker,jumper leads or a power pack,torch.
Now that I have told you this you probly wont even need to use them but hey you did ask the question LOL!! Have a great trip and enjoy yourself.
Follow Up By: Member - Daniel M (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 19:08
Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 19:08
Hi Johny
Well i'm not to far off the mark then. With the exceptions of the wire, tyre repair kit and soldering kit i've got pretty much all the rest in one form or another. A couple of people have mentioned the soldering kit, i like the idea and reckon i'll look into that one.
Dan
Reply By: Atta Boy Luther - Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 18:20
Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 18:20
I just take my normal tool box with
tools that i actually need to service the troopy and spare old radiator hoses and some heater hose .
Reply By: Member - Keith C (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 18:48
Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 18:48
Daniel,The kit you normally have with you should be ok+fan belts and hoses.Don't forget to take your recovery tackle,Fraser is all sand.Hope you enjoy it. Keith C
Reply By: philip t jones - Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 18:54
Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 18:54
I allways take kneedit for al sorts of repairs
Follow Up By: Member - Daniel M (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 19:14
Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 19:14
Philip
Kneedit was one of the very first things to go in. Has been in all my cars since i used it to patch half the cores in my radiator caused by the fan hitting it after cleaning up two roos. Beautiful stuff, that radiator is still going strong 5 years later :)
Dan
Reply By: Member - Duncs - Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 19:04
Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 19:04
I went through this dilemma many years ago.
After a lot of confusion I managed to get it down to 2 boxes.
The first is the socket set. This has a full range of sockets from 10mm to huge. It also has 2 ratchets and I carry my torque wrench in that box.
The second is a simple box about 150 x 175 x 400 with a removable top tray. It is packed full. I carry an odd collection of ring spanners and combination spanners. I have 3 shifters 300mm, 200mm and 125mm and a couple of different pairs of pliers, vice grips and multi grips. I also have a couple of files and a tobacco tin which has a few small plastic packs of grease of various kinds. The other thing I carry is a hack saw, this has proved very handy on a number of occasions.
The most useful things in any of the boxes, and there are bits and pieces in both, are the array of odd nuts, bolts, pins, clips bits of wire and other odds and sods.
I once repaired my steering using a piece of 3/4" copper pipe and a 3" nail. Never clean out the junk.
Follow Up By: Member - Johny boy (NSW) - Wednesday, Aug 19, 2009 at 19:23
Wednesday, Aug 19, 2009 at 19:23
Never clean out junk!
That's perfect I couldn't have said it any better myself ,because the second you do you will need it,I keep the bits people call junk and its helped me and others out on a few occasions.
Good one Dunc's!
Reply By: henpecked - Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 19:21
Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 19:21
G'Day Daniel,
Probably a set of fuses of the correct type, size and rating may be handy.
Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 23:21
Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 23:21
Gday Dan,
I reckon you can never carry too many
tools and spares.
If YOU dont need them, the next bloke will.......
Murphys laws says the one you dont carry will be the one you need! But the next bloke might have the bit you are looking for???
it all works out
Follow Up By: ben_gv3 - Wednesday, Aug 19, 2009 at 11:22
Wednesday, Aug 19, 2009 at 11:22
And with all that weight you'll be needing a trailer just for the tools. Either that or your vehicle will be so overweight you'll break something and hence need your tools.
I reckon just take what you need to fix common problems. As you say above Murphy will govern the rest.
My pet peeves are socket that include both imperial and metric. Now how many cars have both metric and imperial threads on them?
Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Wednesday, Aug 19, 2009 at 17:28
Wednesday, Aug 19, 2009 at 17:28
There is always one in the crowd...........
I would have thought "weight and room permitting" was fairly common sense.
And wouldnt you fix common problems before you leave rather than carry spares for them????
Follow Up By: The Landy - Wednesday, Aug 19, 2009 at 17:44
Wednesday, Aug 19, 2009 at 17:44
"My pet peeves are socket that include both imperial and metric. Now how many cars have both metric and imperial threads on them?"
You've never driven a Landy!
Reply By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 19, 2009 at 08:40
Wednesday, Aug 19, 2009 at 08:40
In all honesty, Fraser is a pretty civilized place these days so I wouldn't be too worried. Best tool you can have is an RACQ Ultra
membership ;-)
Oh, and don't forget your snatch strap and shovel.
Follow Up By: Member - Daniel M (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 19, 2009 at 10:05
Wednesday, Aug 19, 2009 at 10:05
Hi Mrbitchi
Yep i agree that Fraser is becoming more civilised with more
services available. I guess i'm just useing this trip as a test flight as we are planning on a simpson trip next year and i'm just trying to fine tune the set up to cope with as many situations as possible. Of course, knowing my luck that spanner i need will be the one i have to borrow off a mate, but i gotta try aye...:) Interesting thing about the shovel is my wife asked me to pack one for her to so she could help. Of course i'm planning to do the gentelmanly thing and offer to let her use
mine :) LOL
Dan
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Wednesday, Aug 19, 2009 at 22:05
Wednesday, Aug 19, 2009 at 22:05
Mr Bitchi, good to have the high level of
membership. In Victoria, that may mean the RACV Club too, for your city visits. Home away from home.