Toyota 80 Series Front Axles

Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 19, 2009 at 21:25
ThreadID: 71627 Views:6786 Replies:4 FollowUps:13
I am replacing my Constant Velocity Joints on my 1995 80 series LC both sides due to the seals have had it and oil has got into the joints.
I've got all the parts including SPEEDI SLEEVES for the axles just in case the seal faces are damaged.
I wont be able to get to any spare part outlets after i start the job which brings me to the part where hopefully someone out there can assist me.

The SPEEDI SLEEVES which have been sold to me are-- 35.00mm or 1.378".
which look a tat to big.

Has anyone out there got a front axle that they could Vernier or Micrometer the diameter of the axle across the polished seal surface so I can make sure the Speedi Sleeves are the correct diameter to knock on firmly??

Thanks to All
Blackie

Reply By: Malleerv - Wednesday, Aug 19, 2009 at 22:56

Wednesday, Aug 19, 2009 at 22:56
Check them with the new seals that you will be fitting when you remove the axles
The new seal should slide over them with some expansion of the lip.

Cheers Matt
AnswerID: 379628

Follow Up By: blackie0070 - Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 11:48

Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 11:48
Thanks Matt,
This is how the bearing place come up with the size but what im worried about is that they only have to be a few thou over the axle seal size and they wont lock onto the axle seal face.
Im still hoping someone will have a spare that they can measure for me.
Thanks, Blackie
FollowupID: 647069

Reply By: Member - DOZER- Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 09:23

Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 09:23
If your c/v's have been clicking, that will cause the oil/wash out the grease/make the c/v wear quicker. The axle should be fine, they only score bad if the diff is bent.
AnswerID: 379662

Follow Up By: blackie0070 - Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 11:51

Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 11:51
Thanks Andrew,
Yep thats what has happened to my CVs but i will replace them now. Im hoping that the seal seats are not damaged however i have the speedi sleeves just in case
Im hoping someone out there can give me an accurate size of the seal seat on the axle so i can double check that i have the correct size ones.
Thankyou, Blackie
FollowupID: 647070

Follow Up By: Travelin OZ - Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 12:09

Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 12:09
Jut replace the inner axle seals, there is no need to put a speedy sleeve on your axle, these seals are a one use only deal.
FollowupID: 647071

Reply By: Moose - Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 13:14

Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 13:14
Excuse my ignorance but what is a Speedi Sleeve?
AnswerID: 379682

Follow Up By: blackie0070 - Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 14:27

Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 14:27
Hi Moose,
For the ease of my explaination imagine a copper band that people wear around their wrists to assiost with arthritis etc.
Speedi Sleeve is a Stainless Steel Band approx 5 to 10 thous of an inch of material thickness.
You slide and gently knock (thats why i need the exact diameter) the band over the axle seal seat (if the old seat is scored) and this new band gives your new seal a nice non corrosive smooth seat to rotate and seal on. This saves the need to buy new or recoed axles and these Speedi Sleeves are excellent.
Speedi Sleeves are available for almost all sized seal seats, I have seen them work on Yokes (tail shafts) of various vehicles as well as in industrial applications.
Very similar principle to when you get a vehicles brake master cylinder rebored and fitted with a stainless steel sleeve however these are just the opposite and are bands.
Good Luck,
Blackie
FollowupID: 647081

Follow Up By: Moose - Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 14:32

Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 14:32
Thanks Blackie
Never too old to learn something!
Now one more - how would the axle seal seat have become scored?
Cheers from the Moose
FollowupID: 647082

Follow Up By: blackie0070 - Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 15:07

Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 15:07
Hi Moose,
Im not sure if mine are scored or not however when I start the repair I want to have the speedi sleeves ready to go if i require them which is why im seeking someone out there if they have an axle out of the vehicle if they could measure the diameter of the seat and let me know.
One reply post suggested that the only way he has heard of the axle scoring is if you bend the diff and axle housing which i have not done so hopefully when i do my job i hope that the seats are ok however it makes me wonder after 250,000klm why has the axle seal started to leak in the first place. It maybe that this is normal life span of the axle seals???

Thanks again,
Blackie
FollowupID: 647090

Follow Up By: Moose - Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 15:16

Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 15:16
Mate - if you're inner axle seal has lasted for 250,000 kms then you are doing bloody well. My 80 has done 300,000 kms and I've replaced them heaps of times. Sometimes because they had leaked and whenever I repack the CV joint I replace them just to be sure. Luckily they're bloody easy to do. For a couple of $s I'd rather not risk re-using old ones.Mine is a constant 4WD and perhaps yours isn't, which would make a difference.
Hope you get it fixed without any hassles.
Cheers from the Moose
FollowupID: 647091

Follow Up By: blackie0070 - Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 15:30

Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 15:30
Thanks Moose thats good advice, ive only had the vehicle for about 40,000klms and yes mine is constant 4 wheel drive. An interesting point you raise is that you pack your CVs obviously by taking them apart.
I had a HJ60 before this one and I did this once and found it took about 4 hours and was the dirtiest job ive ever done, so with this 80 series i just dipped a short scewdriver into the plug at the top of the CVs and then pumped grease (the correct type) into them to have them about 75% full.
How often do you do this procedure cause if they are easy to to do I will adopt you idea of maintenance and do your suggested schedule. Cheaper than replacing CV Joints!!!

Thankyou,
Blackie
FollowupID: 647094

Follow Up By: Moose - Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 15:48

Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 15:48
Blackie
Not sure what you mean by the "plug at the top of the CVs". If you mean that plug on the outside of the burfield joint (mine has a square raised bit which makes removal a spanner/socket job, not a screwdriver), I believe that pumping grease in there doesn't get it to where it's needed. When you pull the whole thing apart you'll see what I mean.
I don't actually pull the CV apart - I cheat. I do remove it from the vehicle of course. I've got myself a "needle" that goes on the end of the grease gun hose. Then I just push it in amongst the CV balls (if you rotate the CV a bit you can get right in there). By working my way around I force all the old stuff out and replace it with fresh grease.
Mind you I've only done that about twice, because it is rather messy, and does take a while. I don't normally go all the way in unless I see obvious signs of oil leaking out past the wiper seals. Then I repack the CVs because the grease will usually be a bit thin due to oil contamination.
If no leaking occurs I usually just repack the bearings after any long trip, especially if water crossings are involved, or once a year or so. Probably over doing it but I feel better heading off knowing I've done it.
Given your vehicle's history is unknown, if it was me, I'd be doing the lot, including the small top and bottom bearings in the joint. Once found a bit of rust on mine after a water crossing heavy trip. That part of the job takes ages as it's very fiddly. If you have a manual it's not hard - just fiddly.
Cheers from the Moose
FollowupID: 647097

Follow Up By: pop2jocem - Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 21:49

Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 21:49
Hi blackie & Moose

I'm not sure how this would affect a constant 4wd as all my Cruisers (5) have all been part time (selectable) 4wd but I have always removed the plugs as mentioned at the top of the housings that the cv's live in and fitted a grease nipple. When I service the car I give about 10 pumps of the grease gun to each side. After some time the grease starts to extrude from the large wiper seals that slide on the curved surface of the end of the front diff housing. I feel that this does two jobs, lubricates the cv's and the swivel bearings and forces out any water that may have entered this housing. With constant 4wd this may be just too much grease but it makes the job much faster and a lot less messy.
Interested to hear opinions for or against.

Cheers Pop
FollowupID: 647144

Follow Up By: blackie0070 - Friday, Aug 21, 2009 at 09:55

Friday, Aug 21, 2009 at 09:55
Hi Pop,
Yes this is the square plug ontop of the housings and i normally fill through here just with a grease gun as it fits snugly into the hole.
I have had a 55 series and a 60 series and i used to do exactly what you are describing until i was told by a mechanic friend of mine that the hubs were only suppost to be 2 thirds full and if i packed them to the point your describing them it would place pressure on the internal axle seal and also as you have described the wiper seals.
He went on to tell me that the large ball shaped part of the wheel assembly which the wiper seals operate on should NEVER have grease on them and that is the purpose of these wiper seals. WHY !!!
He explained that if your in dirty, dusty or sandy areas and it sticks onto these "greasy" balls then when you turn your steering wheel the wiper seals get damaged by the grit which they are trying to remove.
This is only a comment and im not saying your method is incorrect but it will be interesting to hear from others.
Thankyou,
Blackie
FollowupID: 647184

Follow Up By: Moose - Friday, Aug 21, 2009 at 10:17

Friday, Aug 21, 2009 at 10:17
Blackie
Those seals shouldn't get damaged by the dirt, dust, mud, sand etc. I don't recall ever replacing mine due to damage - I just wash them carefully and put them back on. Only when I have to go all the way in mind you - otherwise they just get some of the crusty stuff brushed off and that's all.
The manual says to only partly fill the cavity in there.
Pop if you're putting in enough to cause it to squeeze out I reckon you're overfilling it. But then again if you've had no hassles doing that then why worry!
I still doubt that pumping grease into that hole does much of a job of getting grease into bearings and into the CV joint. It may well migrate as it heats up and the bottom swivel bearing may get some but that top one??
Having said that, if I'm not replacing the inner oil seal, I do occassionally pump some in there.
Mate I'm in Brisbane.
Cheers from the Moose (the other one!)
FollowupID: 647187

Reply By: Paul G K (vic) - Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 18:41

Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 18:41
Hi blackie,
Do you live in Melbourne and are you a firey? I think I know you. You borrowed my 80 series workshop manual

AnswerID: 379718

Follow Up By: blackie0070 - Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 18:56

Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 18:56
I put it on your front veranda today.
I have had replys from a person who calls himself Moose and i was wondering for a while whether it was our firey friend moose but i can tell by his last reply that it is not our Moose.

CU Later and try to find out the info im after if youve got any contacts
FollowupID: 647116