Damn That Exploroz Trader Section - Part 2

Submitted: Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 06:27
ThreadID: 71634 Views:3279 Replies:6 FollowUps:11
Well work has continued on albeit slowly, today we ran outta Mig Welder gas and grinding / cutting discs.

That said - we managed to get the bumper returns on each side mocked up with raised returns to mimic the original rubber bumpers in dimension of not exact shape.

Left Hand side Bumper return test fitted.

Next was the right hand side bump0er return test fit - also now raised about 40 mm to approximate the original rubber one.

Next was to fit the Rubber Mudflaps back on and scribe fit those to the new bumper returns.

While at it - might as well make sure the new high lift jack fits into the special lifting recesses we welded in!

Seems to clear the tail lights and everything else as well OK.

Should be able to operate it from behind the vehicle to hopefully not get hit by passing traffic.

The other task I managed to get done - was to remove shorten the LH Tire carrier arm from its bearings swivel block, by a total of 70 mm's to pull it back toward the LH tail lights, so that it clears the center line of the vehicle, leaving room for the RH carrier to do likewise and the two carriers can swing closed without the 2 spares impinging on each other.

Tomorrow (oops todays) tasks are to bend up a RH carrier to match the left out of 50 mm pipe and get mig gas and wire and fully weld & grind all the tacks holding things together.

Should keep us outta trouble......I hope.

Reply By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 07:11

Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 07:11
Hi Flywest,
It looks like it is coming up a treat,
I see you use some Precision tools, The micro knockometer, next to the rear wheel. LOL
It should look like a bought one when its painted up.
Nice Job.

AnswerID: 379644

Follow Up By: Flywest - Sunday, Aug 23, 2009 at 02:40

Sunday, Aug 23, 2009 at 02:40
Ahh yes - the precision knock'o'meter!

Whilst it rests against the wheel - thats just to throw people off and make em think I use it to adjust the bumper bar - in reality i use it as a attitudinal re-adjustment tool, when either of the 2 lads, gets their ambitions confused with their capabilities. LOL

No point getting old, if you don't get cunning! ;o)

FollowupID: 647403

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 23, 2009 at 17:16

Sunday, Aug 23, 2009 at 17:16
'No point getting old, if you don't get cunning! ;o) '

I like your thinking :))
FollowupID: 647458

Reply By: Member - Fred B (NT) - Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 08:47

Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 08:47
Gooday,
I am simply amazed at the work you have done, and the effort..... well that is something else...!
good job.
Fred B
VKS 737: Mobile/Selcall 1334

AnswerID: 379651

Reply By: Member - TonBon (NSW) - Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 08:57

Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 08:57
Well done flywest, great job, good post. Keep it coming.
AnswerID: 379653

Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 09:09

Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 09:09
hi Tony
will I still see you Sunday? I have the spare UHF charged up if need be. Colin.
FollowupID: 647046

Reply By: On Patrol & TONI - Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 09:08

Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 09:08
looking good, exellent work, your own "Bridge on the river Kwai" Dont forget the HF antenna bracket, LOL.
AnswerID: 379657

Follow Up By: Member -Signman - Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 10:11

Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 10:11
Speaking about that Colin- do you wanna 'borrow' a HF for your next trip??
It's an easy to use one- even your co-driver could use it !!

FollowupID: 647057

Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 15:54

Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 15:54
Yes please David, that would be great. Talk to you on Sunday, Colin.
FollowupID: 647098

Reply By: Member - John M (NSW) - Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 10:29

Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 10:29
You're doing a good job Flywest for an' old wood and nail butcher. When you are finished I might consider taking you on as an apprentice boilermaker.

Keep up the good work and progress reports. Oh! and how's the budget going for the project?

Life isn't about how to survive the storm, but how to dance in the rain!

AnswerID: 379666

Follow Up By: Flywest - Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 10:58

Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 10:58
Budget?

Good question, it remains at the original $350 carriers + $170 steel.

The extra steel bits I wanted for the bumper returns, I scavenged out of a skip bin in an industrial area.

Today's going to blow that budget away tho, new bottle of Mig Gas, & roll of wire, length of 50 mm pipe and so it goes. LED Lights, Piece of chequer plate for across the back.

Expecting today to hit hard on the budget.

Ohh - managed to get the high lift jack for $150 - isn't REALLY part of the project cost.....

FollowupID: 647061

Follow Up By: pop2jocem - Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 21:58

Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 21:58
Very impressed Flywest, as an old do-it-yourselfer from way back may I say top job.
The only concern may be the aspect of pedestrian safety if you happen to back over one. lol

Cheers Pop
FollowupID: 647151

Reply By: PradOz - Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 15:04

Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 15:04
Real interesting reading and great photos too. Thank you for taking the time to put them all on here for us all to see.

The amazing bit is I dont see a beer can or stubby anywhere in any of your pictures - I would have thought it must be thirsty work and worth a drink or two along the way ;)
AnswerID: 379692

Follow Up By: Flywest - Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 22:59

Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 22:59
No Beer, I've been called "Obe One Can Only"...

Some say, I wouldn't shout if a shark bit me.

Truthfully on a hot day i enjoy a ice cold cold cold beer.

But as a general rule I don't drink - at all. That's what happens when you grow up the child of an alcoholic parent.

I vowed i would never do to my kids - what My Father did to me, in terms of public humiliation and embarrassment and eventually a broken home.

Non of my kids drink - One is a barman and that made him give it away as a bad joke - he gets so sick of serving people not in control of their faculties - that drunks and being drunk really pee him off.

Second is a croupier at Burswood Casino - same deal trying to play cards etc as dealer against people who are too drunk to make even rational betting decisions. He too doesn't drink.

Daughter - much the same...can't see the point - she gets high on life and doesn't need drugs of any kind to do it. Too busy having a ball - to have time to waste on getting drunk / sick.

All my kids are pretty confident in themselves they don't need alcohol for courage or to overcome shyness etc.

Hence no beer cans in the pics or workshop etc.
I will have a beer at a BBQ to be sociable etc - on a real hot day 2 beers.
Mostly I drink Diet Coke, Pepsi Max, Coke Zero etc etc by the gallon.
Don't ask me why - but if you went by the size of my "beer gut" you'd think I own a brewery!

I can only conclude diet drinks make you fat!
Strangely enough there's mounting evidence that this is just the case.
So... maybe I should take up drinking beer more seriously!

My ol man gave up drinking.......yeah - when guzzling came into fashion!

As a kid growing up, it wasn't pretty.

FollowupID: 647162

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Aug 21, 2009 at 20:22

Friday, Aug 21, 2009 at 20:22
G'day again Flywest,
You're a "poster-boy" in my books (or at least you should be...!!!)
All too often you hear of people who commit various crimes or misdemeanors and blame their actions on the fact that they were from a broken home or had parent/s who were alcoholics etc etc....as if to say that their fate was sealed at an early age. What rubbish!!! .... and you are the living proof..

I too am a drinker of very moderate levels these days. I have had my time of being a boozy bloke; but I really hate waking up with a headache and haven't had a beer for several months. Even at my own farewell (from the NAB after 38.5 years) about 6 weeks ago, I didn't feel any inclination to have a beer. Once summer comes, I will probably have one or possibly 2 "brown lemonades" after a long hot day.

Anyway, I admire you for the way you have raised your kids; they sound like a great bunch and I trust you are very proud of them. I only hope that my 3 boys turn out similar to your 3 kids.

Cheers mate and keep the good work up on the rear bar....it's looking great

FollowupID: 647261

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thoughtfully- Friday, Aug 21, 2009 at 21:04

Friday, Aug 21, 2009 at 21:04
Sheesh, get a room you two!

FollowupID: 647269

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Aug 22, 2009 at 16:52

Saturday, Aug 22, 2009 at 16:52
Sorry if you're feeling left out Bonz....... hahahaha

If it makes you feel any better, I think you too should be a poster boy: for OH&S..... You could do a series of videos on HOW NOT TO DO THINGS THAT INVOLVE POWER TOOLS.... hehehehehe
FollowupID: 647349