Best Off Road
How much warmer is it with a woolen beanie on your
scone in the cold?
Recently I've been convinced to forego my "Afro" style of fuzzy, curly hair and go the number two cut. My Cruet is Fair Dinkhum freezing in the cold weather.
Whack on a a beanie (naturally in Black and Red) and the bonce is so warm that the rest of the body feels better.
I was once told (some years back) that one loses 10% of their body heat from the cranium. I reckon it is more.
Perhaps I'll grow my hair back, the GLW does like my curls LOL.
Reply By: Madfisher - Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 21:18
Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 21:18
Good day Jim,
I start work at 7.30 and clean the cars for early customers and I can tell you I need a beanie in -3c.
BUT you must have more hair them me lol, The beanie these days are much better then the ones I remember as a kid.
Reply By: Member - Uncle (NSW) - Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 21:28
Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 21:28
I always had a red/black beanie as a kid. Never wore it much cause my head used to itch like bloody crazy.
Went to a Mountain bike race in
Canberra a few years back and the temp was in the minus's and needed a beanie, bought a fleece made one, and no more itchy head!!! prob fixed.
cheers Unc
Reply By: Member - Josh (VIC) - Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 21:47
Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 21:47
The best Beanie you will ever buy is from Oringi. Don't itch and are super warm. I used to pick flowers in frosty mornings and was always warm. Wet weather gear is good to. Stay dry and don't sweat in them like some others.
http://www.oringi.com.au/product.pasp?categoryid=8&productid=13
Not connected to them just really happy with the product.
Josh
Reply By: Mandrake - Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 21:57
Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 21:57
I seem to remember my old man saying - If your feet and head are dry and warm you'll never suffer from a cold ..
I love my beanie !
Mandrake - 2 Long days to go ....
Reply By: Members Paul and Melissa (VIC) - Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 22:00
Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 22:00
I have a Microfibre Beanie, dont remember where i bought it but if it ever fell apart i am in trouble, absolutely brilliant beanie,keeps you warm but not sweaty warm. i also have a Bunnings one but it is crap but OK for backup when No1 is in the wash.
Reply By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 22:08
Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 22:08
I bought
mine at ElQuestro best thing I've bought in years. When
camping in cold weather I don't go to bed without wearing it. Other good thing is I can pull it down over my eyes and it keeps unwanted lights out.
Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 22:41
Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 22:41
If you pull it down at night it can also keep the mozzies away :-))
Follow Up By: PradOz - Friday, Aug 21, 2009 at 11:40
Friday, Aug 21, 2009 at 11:40
If SWMBO pulls it down at night it also tells me to keep away HAHAHA :-))
Reply By: TWCAmpbell - Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 22:16
Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 22:16
Hi Jim,
Well known hiking addage: if your feet are cold then put a beanie on! Works particularly
well when in a sleeping bag in a cold tent/hut/patch of ground.
Due to the supposedly 'important'
grey matter in the head, the body will work very hard to keep the head warm, diverting energy away from the rest of the body (particularly the extremities). While putting a beanie on will not actually raise your core body temperature, the decreased rate of heat loss from your head allows normal circulation to return, making everything feel warm again.
From personal experience, putting socks on in a sleeping bag while leaving your noggin out in the open doesn't warm the feet up!
Having had a number 2 haircut for the past 13 years, I always have a beanie with me when
camping - even just a cheap, acrylic one for the warmer months.
Keep warm!
Tristan
Follow Up By: Welldone WA - Friday, Aug 21, 2009 at 01:29
Friday, Aug 21, 2009 at 01:29
Tristan you are right on the money, a couple of winters back I went lure fishing on the Central Tasmanian Highland lakes for trout.
The altitude was 1100metres, it was snowing and with the windchill factor the temperature was at least [or is that "at most"] -15c.
Those that know me know that if I can avoid wearing footwear, I will.
I had two beanies on, one wool and the outer one acrylic, which kept me warm enough to go barefoot .
My feet did feel a bit colder than usual, but nothing got frost bitten so I can still count to 21!
Welldone
PS.I did catch a trout, it was delicious!!
Reply By: Member - Rob Mac (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 22:39
Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 22:39
Hi Jim, I have two beanies, a Polar-fleece POPS Aust one and a Detroit Wool/Acrylic? one but the best I have to keep my head and neck warm is a balaclava knitted for me by a cousin of my Grandmother (picture Mawson of the Antarctic) it has a flap front and rear to go under shirt and just leaves eyes and nose exposed, when the head gets too hot just push it back and still have a neck warmer.
Rob Mac
Reply By: Atta Boy Luther - Friday, Aug 21, 2009 at 06:55
Friday, Aug 21, 2009 at 06:55
Here is one product that outperforms all the rest .
Damart thermolactyl
Reply By: Fred G NSW - Friday, Aug 21, 2009 at 07:25
Friday, Aug 21, 2009 at 07:25
Image Could Not Be FoundGet one of these Bollard Covers, right here for only $8.96 on special :-))
Reply By: Robin Miller - Friday, Aug 21, 2009 at 07:41
Friday, Aug 21, 2009 at 07:41
30% is closer to the real figure Jim
Reply By: Fiona & Paul - Friday, Aug 21, 2009 at 08:36
Friday, Aug 21, 2009 at 08:36
Being a golfer I always wear a beanie when playing early golf during the winter months and the reason was that body warmth leaves through the top of your head, or something like that, so wearing a beanie keep it in.
Has always worked for me but I have never checked the truth or otherwise of the story that came with the advice.
Reply By: Wizard1 - Friday, Aug 21, 2009 at 09:44
Friday, Aug 21, 2009 at 09:44
Yep, the big issues are being discussed here..........
Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Friday, Aug 21, 2009 at 20:36
Friday, Aug 21, 2009 at 20:36
Thanks so much for your input, it was outstanding.
Reply By: gav99x - Friday, Aug 21, 2009 at 10:27
Friday, Aug 21, 2009 at 10:27
Excellent work Captain Obvious
Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Friday, Aug 21, 2009 at 20:38
Friday, Aug 21, 2009 at 20:38
Thanks so much. Your contribution to this
forum is something we could never do without.
Follow Up By: gav99x - Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 09:42
Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 09:42
Keep your beanie on, all in good humour.
Reply By: Member - Au-2 - Friday, Aug 21, 2009 at 20:16
Friday, Aug 21, 2009 at 20:16
Ditto to all of the above and, might I add, a 'hoody' is quite effective also. After suffering 0 deg in QLD a couple of years ago, I found a polar fleece beanie with a hoody over the top cut the chill factor down a lot. Never thought I would live to see the day when I joined 'the boys of the hood' brigade but I was damned glad to do it then. Mind you, my hoody was a pretty pink with glitter highlights but, after sundown, I couldn't have cared less what style it was, just pulled the drawstring around the face and was warm as toast.
Sheila.
Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Thoughtfully- Friday, Aug 21, 2009 at 21:55
Friday, Aug 21, 2009 at 21:55
yer I was told that between 7% and 55% of body heat can be lost through the
scone. It depends on the amount of work being done as the body circulates the heat thru the bloodstream and the more you're worked up the more you lose.
Always knew to wear a beanie in bed during winter when I was in scouts slept heaps better and much much warmer.