Submitted: Friday, Aug 21, 2009 at 20:33
Kim and Damn Dog
Gidday
By cripes we’ve had some howling weather down here in the last couple of months. Not much rain but the winds are a buggar at the moment. Normally they build up in the early spring and start to ease off in mid to late November (must be global warming LOL).
Damn dog and I are champing at the bit to get away to the high country at the moment, but the conditions aren’t looking too good at the moment.
Continuous high wind warnings leave little doubt that a weekend in the bush would be a bit uncomfortable at the moment if you were camped in the wrong area.
Can I advise you to select your
camping site
well away from trees, and be reasonably confident that you’re able to return to a main road with the necessary
tools to clear fallen branches and trees.
Kim
Reply By: Member - Axle - Friday, Aug 21, 2009 at 20:47
Friday, Aug 21, 2009 at 20:47
G/Day Kim, Good advice as usual !, But Gee i haven't heard that expression for a while"... By Cripes". Now wouldn't that make a good post !!, Aussie slang and exclamations!!...lol. Away you go Kim!!.
Follow Up By: Ray - Saturday, Aug 22, 2009 at 09:34
Saturday, Aug 22, 2009 at 09:34
Hi Axle, most Aussie slang is a derivative of Cockney slang. I am a Cockney and used that type of slang long before I came to Australia (1962)
Reply By: Member - Paul Mac (VIC) - Friday, Aug 21, 2009 at 21:24
Friday, Aug 21, 2009 at 21:24
G'day Kim,
You mean there are still some trees standing???????
I have to agree, those north winds have been howling lately and today, decided to swing around from the west and bring down some more limbs. Been a long time since I've seen this much tree rubbish laying on the roadsides.
If you were to put your camper up at the moment you just might wake up in another state,,,,,LOL
Follow Up By: Kim and Damn Dog - Friday, Aug 21, 2009 at 21:54
Friday, Aug 21, 2009 at 21:54
Well after last Saturday, I reckon the house has moved 2 Kilometres north.
I dug Damn Dog into the ground and attached a 12mm cable to her collar. did'nt make any difference.
Can't understand why she's not talking to me at the moment!
Kim
Follow Up By: Member - Paul Mac (VIC) - Friday, Aug 21, 2009 at 22:43
Friday, Aug 21, 2009 at 22:43
Mate, you should have tied her to the house......that way at least she would still be around home the next morning.....LOL