Buying my first 4wd

Submitted: Friday, Aug 21, 2009 at 22:29
ThreadID: 71699 Views:2729 Replies:7 FollowUps:8
Hi its been a while since my last post and have had 1 million thoughts a day about what to do.

Am seriously considering trading my Commodore in for a 2000 3.5 Jackaroo U8 SE, automatic with 133,000kms

Its located at a dealer and theyre happy just to swap for it? Does this sound ok?

Any advice would be cool, thanks Rick

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Friday, Aug 21, 2009 at 23:08

Friday, Aug 21, 2009 at 23:08
I sold my 2001 base model Jack with about same K's on it to a mate about 12mths ago for under 10G. Mine was very well cared for and in VGC to mint cond. so if the your Dunnydore is worth about that and the Jack is in GC then it sounds OK to me. This was about trade-in price for the Jack so was a good deal for my mate but the car was too good to let a dealer make heaps from it and I had bought another GU so it had to go.

Trevor.
AnswerID: 379975

Reply By: disco driver - Friday, Aug 21, 2009 at 23:09

Friday, Aug 21, 2009 at 23:09
Rick,
If they are talking of a straight swap, consider this.
They will have to mark up your Commodore to cover their statutory warranty claim possibility and to make a profit.
They have already marked up the Jackaroo to do the same thing and to factor in a profit margin as well.

If YOU are sure that the Jack is the car for you, put a deposit on it to hold it, then you sell your Commodore privately for about what the dealer will sell it for.
Then go and pay cash for the Jack. You keep the difference.

This will only work if your Commodore is unencumbered (has no money owing on it) otherwise it may be illegal.

Just my thoughts, hope they help.

Disco.

AnswerID: 379976

Follow Up By: jarz85 - Saturday, Aug 22, 2009 at 08:17

Saturday, Aug 22, 2009 at 08:17
Nah I own the Commodore outright, I'd sell it for about $14000ish I think as its a 2005 in VGC with very very low k's. Am just not sure if there is a market for it and dont want to be stuck trying to sell it for months, its got alot of extra eg tint, towbar, sports exhaust, 18" wheels so not sure if it would be a quick seller
FollowupID: 647307

Reply By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Saturday, Aug 22, 2009 at 09:52

Saturday, Aug 22, 2009 at 09:52
If you own a late model commodore, then i would sell it privately first or buy something and then sell it.
The 9 year old half worn out jackaroo is not worth 10k so you are looking at about 5k wasted.
I would be looking for something a bit newer and spend all 14k.

Cheers Pesty
AnswerID: 380010

Reply By: DIO - Saturday, Aug 22, 2009 at 10:11

Saturday, Aug 22, 2009 at 10:11
Ask yourself: Do you need a 4wd or do you just want one !!! The answer should help you decide how much to spend.
AnswerID: 380014

Follow Up By: disco driver - Saturday, Aug 22, 2009 at 18:10

Saturday, Aug 22, 2009 at 18:10
Does it matter????????????????

Freedom of choice hasn't been outlawed by the Anti everything brigade YET......................

OR HAS IT?????

Again Just my thoughts

Disco.
FollowupID: 647366

Reply By: Damian007 - Saturday, Aug 22, 2009 at 11:47

Saturday, Aug 22, 2009 at 11:47
I buy and sell cars all the time. I'm sort of in the trade. If I were you, take the deal. The Jackaroo will hold it's value more than the commodore. I just sold a VZ 2006 SV6 (Last Of 'Em) for $17,000. It had Paddle shift and 5speed auto etc. You can pick up a 2005-2006 Calais for about $14,000.
If you do the swap, ask the dealer to pay stamps and transfer. That'd make the deal a bit sweeter.
AnswerID: 380030

Follow Up By: jarz85 - Saturday, Aug 22, 2009 at 19:31

Saturday, Aug 22, 2009 at 19:31
You read my mind mate, checked the car out today and it is very nice, pretty stock but serviced at the dealer since new. Im going to push for the stamp and transfers and also push for the timing belt too :p Will let you guys know next week how it goes - thanks for helping
FollowupID: 647375

Reply By: Madfisher - Saturday, Aug 22, 2009 at 21:48

Saturday, Aug 22, 2009 at 21:48
Bear in mind the auto Jacks are slower and thirstier then the manuals. The arround town dif is 3l/100. We have both so first hand experience. If you do get it take the restrictors out of the y piece, makes 1l/100 diff and more grunt.
The auto is the weakest link, usually last aboutr 200000ks. The motors will do very big ks.
If I was in your shoes I would borrow the whole amount for the Jack(its worth $12000 tops) and then detail and sell the Commdore and pay back the bank, you should end up with $2000 in your pocket. I have done this stacks of times in the past. Comodores are very popular with young blokes especially if it is dressed up. Check to see what the dealers are selling your car for and reduce your price by $2000 and it will sell. Provided it is detailed. To many private sellers try to sell a half cleaned car and can not work out why it is not selling.
Good luck Pete
AnswerID: 380080

Follow Up By: jarz85 - Saturday, Aug 22, 2009 at 22:08

Saturday, Aug 22, 2009 at 22:08
Ok, so the auto is stuffed at 200k's? Geez it seems every type of jackaroo has a problem haha whats the best one to go for? I know to not look at the 3.0 diesels, but should I go for a manual over the auto??? Fuel consumption doesnt matter as it only will be driven on weekends and on trips as I have a company car. Ill become a member on here soon so I can send some messages to you because you seem like you know youre jacks well
FollowupID: 647391

Follow Up By: Madfisher - Sunday, Aug 23, 2009 at 21:00

Sunday, Aug 23, 2009 at 21:00
Their is no hard and fast rule with gearbox life depends on service history and towing etc. But the gm auto box used was at the limit of the power it could handle with the 3.5 v6. Mate take both for a drive. Apart from the 3lt diesel and the auto box Jacks are pretty trouble free and are very well built. I have owned one suzike lj80, fj40 swb cruiser, two rockies, a swb 2.6 Jack, a 22r 4 runner and my currant man 98 3.5 Jack. Wife has owned the 93 nh Paj and her currant 03 Nullarbor so have had a few and the Jack is the best road vehicle, most reliable and pretty handy off road That I have owned. Not quite as good as a Prado off road but a hell of a lot cheaper to buy for the same condition.
My man is about 10 to 15ks quicker up the same hill towing my boat then Sals auto, but I have the restrictors out and she does not.
But the auto is very quite and smooth, if you do buy an auto get it serviced straight away.
FollowupID: 647493

Follow Up By: jarz85 - Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 20:05

Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 20:05
Yep I've done some research and the auto gearbox can be a real hassle, I'm sure most of them are fine but I've always wanted a manual 4wd and am only jumping at this one as it is the only Jackaroo for around $14000 in SA that first what i want.

If you check my follow-up down below you can see whats gonna happen. I'm going to sell my car privately in a few weeks and then buy a manual 3.5 petrol jack. Even if i have to go interstate in the holidays I will, I'm not going to buy a car i wont be 100% happy with

Thanks fisher :)
FollowupID: 647640

Reply By: Member - Timbo - Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 12:18

Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 12:18
Rick, check the values of both vehicles on Redbook.com.au (take into account the Commodore is 'dealer trade in' value and the Jack is 'dealer sale price') and that should give you an idea whether it's a good deal or not.

Trading in your car is simpler/easier, but you'll almost certainly do better if you can put up with the hassles of selling privately.
AnswerID: 380259

Follow Up By: jarz85 - Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 20:02

Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 20:02
Yep got a phone call from the dealer today - 'We've worked out a deal where you can trade your car in and all you have to pay for the Jackaroo is on road costs (stamp duty, transfers and rego, so about $850) Told him I was still interested but tomorrow I'm going to ring up and tell him where to shove it (in a nice way) I'm fairly sure I can sell my car privately for $14500 no probs and that Jack would only be worth about $12.5 at the most imo. Once again this forum saves me from doing something stupid I would regret

Thanks guys :)
FollowupID: 647637

Follow Up By: Member - Timbo - Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 21:01

Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 21:01
Hey Rick,

Wish you all the best for your 4WD acquisition! But if you really want a quick, hassle free change over, it might be best not to be too specific about where he should put his offer. Rather, you might consider just telling him what you think each vehicle is worth and that you don't think his offer is really very attractive - this would give him room to come back with a better offer (you shouldn't take his first offer regardless of whether you think it's a good one or not!). If he insists it's as good as he can do, then you could consider suggesting he finds some other "home" for his offer...

As was said by someone else earlier, the dealer must trade in cars at a lower value than what he sells them for. He has to offer you a warranty (min 3 mth) on the Jack, and he will have to offer the same to the subsequent buyer of your Commodore - this is all risk that he has to cover. In addition, he has to make some gain on the process so he can pay staff and keep the dealership open (electricity/phones/stationary/blah blah) etc. It's not ALL rort! It's similar to servicing your car - I service my own because I can and it saves me money but many others can't be bothered with the hassle so they pay someone else to do it for them. You can sell your own car, or you can pay someone else to do it for you. Just depends what's more precious to you - your time or your money?
FollowupID: 647661