Submitted: Sunday, Aug 23, 2009 at 22:56
Member - Murray R (VIC)
I was looking at the
members list and noticed that Toyota and Nissan are the main means of transport. How many members and non members drive Mazdas fords or tritons etc, if so what sort and what modifications have you done.
I have owned a Mitsubishi L200 4wd [want talk about that one ] Mazda B2600 4wd on gas and 380,000 km with only problem an engine ECU. Now drive Mazda Bravo diesel 4wd with 270,000 km with only problem being a clutch replacement due to noisey thrust bearing. All my cars are serviced at 5,000 km intervals and I think this helps with wear and tear and gives longer working life. I have had a good run out of both Mazdas equaling some Hi Luxs my mates have had.
So what do you drive.
Murray
Reply By: Ian & Sue - Sunday, Aug 23, 2009 at 23:26
Sunday, Aug 23, 2009 at 23:26
We have a Jeep Wrangler Rubicon Unlimited (4 door) - 18 months old now and done 55K. Hasnt put a foot wrong as has been some really tough
places. Probably not most peoples choice as a tow vehicle but ours because we spend a lot of time seriously off road and wanted a vehicle up to the challenge. It has
suspension modifications - raised 2" amongst other stuff. :-) Tows our Coromal PC541 just fine.
Sue
Follow Up By: Ian & Sue - Sunday, Aug 23, 2009 at 23:28
Sunday, Aug 23, 2009 at 23:28
A quick piccy!!
Follow Up By: Member - Stuart K (WA) - Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 20:31
Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 20:31
Hi Ian and Sue
past you a couple of times a few weeks ago on the way home north of
Carnarvon I think in our nissan patrol TD6 and camprite camper trailer .
You're rig looks good and stands out as you just don't see many jeeps.
Stuart.
Follow Up By: Ian & Sue - Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 20:38
Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 20:38
Hi Stuart
Yes I remember your Nissan and Camprite! We do rather standout in the crowd with the Jeep - definately no going incognito for us.
I wasnt rushing to get back down to
Geraldton - more wondering why we ever moved away from the
Pilbara. LOL.
Planning for the big trip next year right now.
Sue
Follow Up By: Member - Murray R (VIC) - Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 22:00
Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 22:00
Ian & Sue
Son inlaw had a wrangler, he loved it but unfortunatly he had to sell it.
Murray
Reply By: Madfisher - Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 06:40
Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 06:40
My wife and I both have Jacks. Every happy with them. In reality most Jap vehicles are very Reliable.
Follow Up By: Member - Murray R (VIC) - Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 22:15
Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 22:15
Madfisher
A mates got a Jack, Mazda to the rescue a couple of times as your profile photo haha.
Murray
Follow Up By: Madfisher - Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 18:15
Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 18:15
No mate thats a Jack doing the rescue. She has since seen the light a got a Jack to.
Reply By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 11:10
Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 11:10
G'day Murray, you have had a good run with your non mainstream 4bys. No
doubt your service strategy has been a contributing factor. I run a 96 Hilux
with a 10m sprayrig & it is unbreakable, nearly, had to replace tailshaft centre
bearing this week. Last of the leaf sprung front end models. Later ones dont
stand up to this type of work. Too easily damaged with subsequent problems
with alignment & tyres. I too have a Jack for holiday trips, fabulous vehicle,
big, strong, & trouble free so far. Only has 114k on it, 2000 auto. Best value
used 4by wagon IMHO...cheers...oldbaz.
Follow Up By: Member - Murray R (VIC) - Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 22:10
Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 22:10
Oldbaz
Mines a 2001 and 270000 , wish I only used it for holiday turing
Murray
Reply By: Pebble - Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 18:39
Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 18:39
Turbo Diesel Hilux Dualcab for me at the moment and Hubby has a 79 Series Cruiser, Ute but the Lux being an IFS model (2004) to me it doesn't feel that much better off road than the Subaru Forrester we had did . . .
suspension travel up front just feels limited compared to the Cruiser.
So yeah unfortunately for my purposes I reckon I'd rather drive an ordinary car, sell the Lux and use any extra money to convert his Cruiser into a dual cab so that we can use it for family trips (fourwheel driving and
camping etc with our 2 kids).
Follow Up By: Member - Murray R (VIC) - Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 22:17
Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 22:17
Pebbles
Twin cab 79 series that would be nice
Murray
Reply By: Member - Axle - Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 19:56
Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 19:56
G/Day Murray.
Its funny how things work out with vehicles, My Mits L200 4wd ute with the 4d55 diesel was the most reliable vehicle i have ever owned, Cost me ziltch over a ten yr period!.
Mine : Landrover 130 trayback
Hers: LC 100 cruiser.
Both good vehicles , especially the 130...)))))).
Follow Up By: Member - Murray R (VIC) - Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 22:27
Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 22:27
Axle
My L200 was petrol had gear box hassles, clutch,
water in diff [new diff] but worst thing was the brakes, point it down
hill and 500 mts later what brakes. the front discs seemed to be to small, I tried everything pads fluid etc but still could not stop it. The best thing I did was sell it and brought the Mazdas and have not looked back
Murray