Mobile Phone numbers go public

Submitted: Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 14:28
ThreadID: 71753 Views:7058 Replies:10 FollowUps:15
PASS THIS ON TO AS MANY PEOPLE AS YOU CAN...
This is for Australian phone numbers

REMEMBER: Mobile Phone Numbers Go Public next month.

REMINDER all mobile phone numbers are being released to telemarketing companies and you will start to receive sale calls.

YOU WILL BE CHARGED FOR THESE CALLS

Below is a link where you can enter your phone numbers online to put an end to telemarketing calls. Don't just delete those calls otherwise you will find that you have been signed up for all sorts of extra services that you didn't want or know about. Like special chimes, music etc.

https://www.donotcall.gov.au/

Reply By: vk1dx - Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 14:31

Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 14:31
Hey David

Thanks heavens I do not use my mobile. It's battery is as flat as a tack. What a shame. Its out of recharge anyway.

AnswerID: 380279

Reply By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 14:38

Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 14:38
Why will I be charged when some one is calling me ?

KK
AnswerID: 380281

Reply By: Rut Tearer - Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 14:40

Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 14:40
What a load of bleep , what I going to get charged for Telemarkers callling me..?? No way..
AnswerID: 380282

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 14:42

Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 14:42
NOT TRUE !!

Refer to:

Site Link

Surely after we've had the internet now for so long we should have become smarter when it comes to urban myths doing the email rounds.

While there certainly is an Australian "Do Not Call" website, this warning about mobile numbers has been doing the rounds for at least 4 years and kicked off in the US.

Snopes should be the first site referred to for these sorts of things.

AnswerID: 380283

Reply By: Kurd - Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 14:43

Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 14:43
Oh no! not this canard again!

Why don't people check with Snopes first?
http://www.snopes.com/politics/business/cell411.asp

I'm sure I've seen this on the forum previously.
Many of our mobile phone numbers are already public; just check the phone book. My mobile number is certainly in the phone book so my friends can find me - no landline phone.

The giveaway that this "warning" is American is the reference to being charged for the calls. In America it is standard that you pay to receive mobile calls as well as make them.
AnswerID: 380284

Reply By: Member -Signman - Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 14:51

Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 14:51
Ok OK OK...If it ain't fair dinkum then I retract it...
Just thought I was doin the right thing here...
Sorry if I ruffled someones feathers..
Anyway have a good day...

AnswerID: 380285

Follow Up By: Member - Allan B (QLD) - Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 15:09

Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 15:09
Not your fault David. As you say, you were just trying to do the right thing for others. How were you to know it was another false rumour raised by malicious persons. However, emailed messages of "The sky is falling" type are worth checking with the Snopes site before acting on them.

Anyway, your "donotcall" link is good info for those who have not already put themselves on the list.

FollowupID: 647582

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 15:10

Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 15:10
No harm done David.

FollowupID: 647583

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 15:12

Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 15:12
No feathers ruffled here Signman.

If we've brought your attention to Snopes, then it's a good thing.

FollowupID: 647584

Follow Up By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 15:38

Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 15:38
No feathers ruffled here either. In fact it served to remind me about the snopes site, so you did good. Cheers
FollowupID: 647586

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 15:39

Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 15:39
Still doesn't hurt to register with the do not call register.
Got nothing to loose, I registered our home phone when it first came online, and re-registered both the home phone and mobile about 4 months ago, and the only calls I get are from the likes of the Bush fire brigade, which doesn't bother me,
Some one told me that you have to keep registering every couple of years, don't know how true that it.
But anyway it can't hurt. The lest amount of times I've got to answer the phone at dinner time the better. :)

FollowupID: 647587

Follow Up By: warfer69 - Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 17:38

Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 17:38
***Still doesn't hurt to register with the do not call register. ***

Yep i agree but you have to have the facts right here (site) or you'll get crucified ! lol
FollowupID: 647607

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 20:25

Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 20:25
S,

Good effort Mate and well intentioned.

Thanks for sharing, and opened some eyes to what may, or may not, have been a scam.

FollowupID: 647646

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 09:26

Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 09:26
"PASS THIS ON TO AS MANY PEOPLE AS YOU CAN... "

- this is usually a pretty good indication that it's a furphy.
FollowupID: 647731

Reply By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 19:13

Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 19:13
The do not call number is only good for private phones.No good for a business phone.
Murray

AnswerID: 380311

Follow Up By: Oldsquizzy (Kununurra) - Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 19:52

Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 19:52
No it doesn't work on a business phone. but the 8 second delay is a sure fire give-away to whom is ringing, So we have learnt to hang up in that time..
Mind you there are some that ring you at work and take there time saying anything which means they get hung up on to...oops
FollowupID: 647634

Follow Up By: Member - Allan B (QLD) - Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 22:25

Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 22:25
We have a business phone.

We are registered with the Do-not-call service.

We do NOT receive telemarketing phone calls.

If you are registered as of Feb 08 you are registered permanently.

FollowupID: 647681

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 08:06

Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 08:06
what Allan said
the 1000words per min calls have stopped
what also appeared to work before i put the business line on the do not call register was to tell the Tellemarketers "this line has a trace on it"...they hung up very quick
FollowupID: 647716

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 19:59

Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 19:59
Well this will give you a laugh

I have been having calls from Telstra over several weeks that ring twice and stop.

Finally got p....d off and rang them and had a chew about it and had a DO NOT CALL EVER put on my account.

Next morning the phone rings "Good morning this is Telstra calling".

So had another chew about cant they read etc.

Was told that "oh that takes about 6 weeks to get through to this section"

I said I thought you were a communication company and perhaps they should feed the pigeons more so they could fly faster .

Any way I have been out of contract for a while and would I like a free phone to come back into the fold.

So I end up with the latest model Iphone absolutely free.

Worth about $1100 to buy so guess mistakes can come good after all.

AnswerID: 380326

Follow Up By: Muddy doe (SA) - Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 23:40

Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 23:40
There was an article during the week that Tel$tra was fined $110,000 for making marketing calls to people on the Do Not Call register.

Muddy
FollowupID: 647694

Reply By: Member - Royce- Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 23:30

Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 23:30
Interesting. I got kinda bored when 'off topic' posts were being removed willy-nilly.

Just popped in to see what sort of forum topics were being posted and found this one. I guess the 'off topic' police are finally taking it a bit more easy?

I'd prefer to leave things open slather so that characters and personalities can emerge a bit better... even wilh silly urban myths.
AnswerID: 380362

Follow Up By: Member - Allan B (QLD) - Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 23:35

Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 23:35
Yikes, I forgot about the "Off-topic" thing.

There won't be a knock at the door will there?

FollowupID: 647693

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 09:25

Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 09:25
Exploroz travellers use Mobiles - why is this off topic ?
FollowupID: 647730

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 09:30

Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 09:30
Exploroz travellers use ball point pens, thongs, read newspapers..... anything is okay by me!
FollowupID: 647732

Reply By: Brian (Montrose, Vic.) - Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 00:16

Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 00:16
SWMBO put us on the dont call register a couple of yrs ago, pity, I quite enjoyed the challenge of getting the caller to hang up in disgust or frustration. Whenever I had a telemarketer call I would sound like I was very interested but would continually ask them to repeat them selves as "this must be a very bad line" usually interrupting them mid sentance and as often as possible.
It was amazing how often they would persevere in the hope of getting their sales tally up, but usually because I held them up on the phone for so long they would hang up so as to not be penalised for taking too long over any given call.
I think SWMBO registered us to give the poor bu99ers a break.
AnswerID: 380367