WHAT IS" ICE "

Submitted: Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 19:26
ThreadID: 71761 Views:4706 Replies:12 FollowUps:17
I received an Email the other day from the Ambulance Service. Have you been involved or had someone involved in a life threatening situation, where a near family member has to be contacted in an emergency. Basicly everyone has a mobile phone. we all put phone numbers in our phone book. But who does the Ambo, Paramedic or Police call in an Emergency.

" In Case of Emergency " I.C.E

Answer: Simply put " I.C.E. into your Phone Book Memory. followed by the number of your Contact. Ambulance/Police can access the I.C.E. Number on you Mobile Phone. Call your contact for any information they need to know about Medication or any other Life threatening Problems. Also multiple contacts can be added by simply entering I.C.E. 1. - I.C.E 2. - I.C.E 3. for Mother, Father, Doctor and so on.

I hope this is of interest to Members...

Reply By: Flywest - Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 19:37

Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 19:37
Sure thing.
Round these parts - when the police see "ICE" in your phone they will assume it's your Crystal Meth Amphetamine dealers number and have you in the pokey with your DNA on record forever more, and likely have the swat squad jumping out of the black helicopter, to raid your elderly grandmothers house, tazering her for being the Mrs Big of the Drug underworld.

Please lets not encourage our constabulary any more then they already are!

It's not safe to walk our streets these nights, unless your wrapped under your clothes in 6 layers of allfoil to short out the tazers these over zealous police cadets think nothing of using on innocent citizens.

Sorry - there will be no ICE listing in my mobile phone! Not even if the Police recommend it!

There was a time about 2 generations ago when you could trust our constabulary - but those times are long since gone I'm afraid, - lets not get them any more easily excitable than they already are! ;o)

AnswerID: 380315

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 19:46

Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 19:46
ICE means

Initial Contact Emergency.

And is worth having I have it as do most of my friends so that anyone that picks up your phone if you are in an accident can quickly summon a friend for you if you are incapable.

FollowupID: 647630

Follow Up By: Wisey - Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 19:50

Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 19:50
Don't be so paranoid Flywest, just list your Mum or Dad as you normally list them, we all know M & D are getting the best deals for us, sheesh
FollowupID: 647633

Follow Up By: Dunco (NSW) - Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 20:01

Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 20:01
Flywest, I think you have serious issues mate !!!!
You have a paranoia problem and I suggest you seek professional help. The police could point you in the right direction.

Oh and BTW, you do not get a DNA test UNTIL you have been convicted.

Weird is all I can say ?????????????????

FollowupID: 647636

Follow Up By: Dunco (NSW) - Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 20:09

Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 20:09
ICE is...

In Case of Emergency.
FollowupID: 647644

Follow Up By: Flywest - Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 20:38

Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 20:38
Sigh,

Guess ya'll missed this bit!

;o)

Commonly called a wink! LOL.

Ziiiiing!

Easier than fishing, this place - you'd think emoticons might be in order!

FollowupID: 647651

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 21:20

Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 21:20
hahahahahaha.... Flywest: some good casting there champ!!!!! You reeled in some beauties!!!!! hahahahahahahaha
FollowupID: 647666

Follow Up By: Flywest - Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 22:53

Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 22:53
Yup Roachie - can I fillet and eat em, or is this a catch n release only zone? ;o)

FollowupID: 647685

Follow Up By: Member - Kroozer (WA) - Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 01:01

Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 01:01
Flywest, mate please explain im lost.
FollowupID: 647710

Follow Up By: Dunco (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 09:48

Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 09:48
It may be a wink...but very hard to see.

I still think you are paranoid and using this as an excuse to stop being criticised
And I don't like being called untrustworthy

;-)

FollowupID: 647734

Follow Up By: Flywest - Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 14:59

Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 14:59
Dunco,

If your a police man & trustworthy - your one of a rare remaining few - good for you!

These days IMHO - the public can no longer rely on that to be the case the way we might have a generation or two ago.

Things have changed - of course not every one of our police are corrupt, but it only takes a few bad apples at the top of the barrel to quickly turn a lot of the remainder of the barrel the same way quickly.

Something the various royal commissions into policing in each state have shown us is that - for the rare good guy left inside the force - the "pressure" to turn to the dark side, due to the existing internal culture of peer pressure, is immense.

That "public impression" must irk a lot of the good guys I am sure and you'll be no exception to the rule.

My own kids were taught (and have since learn't themselves anyway thru experience) to give the police the respect the uniform & warrant demands, and to be civil in dealing with the police etc - everything they should need for their day to day interactions with police on the roads and in civil matters etc.

They haven't however - been taught to "turn to the police for help" in times of trouble.

Those days have changed.

Maybe one day - the good guys like yourself - will turn the public perception around, and make it again what it once was.

I've worked quite closely with a lot of Police - in my various public service careers, & later in security industry, for a great many years, and met some truly nice guys who are dedicated to their job. Few of them are still in the force. It's an underpaid and thankless job, spent these days, looking after delinquent kids, whos parents don't give a damn mostly.

Few of the good guys stick it out as a career.

That's a sad thing but, its also the way things are, and it's no good pretending things are any different.

Best of luck to you.

FollowupID: 647770

Follow Up By: Dunco (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 15:46

Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 15:46
Flywest,

You are still paranoid my friend and the above posting cements the comments you made in your original posting...there was no fishing there.

Tell me, how many Corrupt cops did the NSW Police Royal Commission find ???
Out of 14,000 that is.... not many ...maybe .02 of the 14,000 and you are going off about how things have changed. I would suggest that your statement of a remaining few are trustworthy is completely turned around opposite to what you should think.

Maybe you are one of those that believe everything your hear from your mate, or neighbour. Learn to find your own facts and your story may change....and yes, I still expect my children to turn to the police in case of emergency as no one else will help. When will the man on the street assist your kids if they are being robbed or assaulted...very very few will step in to help, so your are very wrong on this thought. Oh well, after all, you will have to live with it if your kids ever get into trouble and because of your teachings, they fail to seek assistance from those that will help.

The Police do more than look after delinquent kids my friend...sheeish !! And you said you worked alongside them..oh that's right, as a public servant, or security guard. Now, there are two careers worthy of getting into ;-)
Perhaps your kids will seek assistance from them in the future.

That's a sad thing but, its also the way things are, and it's no good pretending things are any different.

And the best of luck to you and your false beliefs.... and again... ;-)

FollowupID: 647775

Reply By: Member - Mark E (VIC) - Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 20:00

Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 20:00
Been doing this for a long time now and I just look through the phone and most have "mum", "dad" etc......these always make for good contacts, but I usually leave it to the hospital to sort out. Last thing needed at a "scene" is panicking relatives.

AnswerID: 380327

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 20:01

Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 20:01
This has also been posted before on EO.

My understanding is that emergency services won't utilise a mobile phone in such a manner as they have no way of knowing if the phone is in so many circumstances actually owned by the individual in need.

One example is say a car accident with several individuals in the one car and establishing who may own what phone.
They will normally use other more reliable methods such as drivers licence and registration etc.

AnswerID: 380328

Follow Up By: Dunco (NSW) - Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 20:03

Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 20:03
You are SPOT on John.

I have never seen police or ambo's rat through someones phone looking for ICE numbers
FollowupID: 647638

Reply By: Member - DW (NSW) - Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 21:10

Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 21:10
I had a reply from a NSW Ambulance Region Manager and told me they do not use it. That is in line with several other posts.
DW
AnswerID: 380342

Reply By: Robin Miller - Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 21:41

Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 21:41
Hi Steve

I note different views , but I guess at some time or other all options have come into play and I have sadly had to go through that process and the owners mobile phone provided just such a timely reference.
AnswerID: 380348

Reply By: Member - Cozzie Toodyay (WA) - Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 22:10

Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 22:10
Thanks for the heads up on the I.C.E stuff will set that one up.
AnswerID: 380353

Reply By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 07:43

Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 07:43
Hi Steve,
I have used an 'ICE' number once and a 'Mum' number once - to return mobiles that I have found !

Amazing how many people put a mobile on the roof or boot lid of their vehicle while they load the kids into car seats and then drive off.

KK
AnswerID: 380385

Reply By: Member - steveinoz (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 14:14

Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 14:14
Some very interesting replies from around the Forum. Why does everyone assume that this only applies to people in cars. A few years ago, my Daughter was on her way to school and she had a seizure at the railway station.

I noted Flywest's post. We all live in the same situation ( Drugs ) In my home town, it is quite common to call the Ambo's to an overdose in a side lane. I myself would note discriminate against anyone that needs emergency help...

AnswerID: 380427

Reply By: Nargun51 - Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 14:53

Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 14:53
Having known people who have had the late night knock on the door by members of the police in respect of their kids and having seen the effect: I would hate to have some do-gooder rummaging through my kid’s phone to make “the call”

Whatever you may think of police, they have training and experience to approach this with some tact and understanding.

If someone fits, OD’s or collapses, surely the best people to get in contact with is the appropriate emergency service, so that a competent, trained person can make an assessment of the situation and take immediate action.

Probably what is more important that everybody carry with them at all times proper ID, and if there are medical issues that need to be taken into consideration, this information is readily available about the person
AnswerID: 380433

Reply By: Flywest - Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 15:18

Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 15:18
Why ICE and not NOK?

In Case of Emergency

or

Next Of Kin?

I always thought police and emergency workers were interested in your "next of kin" in an emergency situation?

These days Police line up with sniffer dogs outside concert venues etc & they do regularly search kids and their belongings without cause as a matter of course.

The kid who has ICE programed into his/her mobile phone will immediately conjure up an negative conotation in the law enforcers eyes.

Will this color the emergency treatment the police summon for him her? e.g. (He she's just a drug addict / pusher - no hurry to call for an ambulance then)????

You guys put what you want in your mobile phones, me, my family won't be putting a name for common illegal drugs anywhere in our mobile phones.

Whoever came up with this idea - it's a stupid one that wasn't thought thru properly.

I'm not against having emergency contact numbers in your mobile phone - however I think using an acronym like ICE - is plain dumb and just looking for trouble.

NOK (Next Of Kin) would be a far better heading for it.

AnswerID: 380438

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 17:01

Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 17:01
I guess we should be using "frozen water" in our eskies now because of the negative association with "illegal drugs". Some people are just paranoid....sheez.

FollowupID: 647788

Follow Up By: Canvas Charisma - Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 23:22

Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 23:22
Flywest,

I left emergency services a couple of years ago now but from my time when you were at an absolute emergency you did not have a hope in hell of checking into mobile phone records etc. In really traumatic cases the patient was the absolute focus and details like phone contents etc would be looked at by hospital staff or police once patients arrived at hospital. The only thing you would have been likely to notice was a medical alert bracelet or similar but that is it.

A lot of your comments about sniffer dogs etc are crap. Accident follow up etc is a difficult job and police do this and a lot of other things very well. Yes there are some crook ones like in all walks of life but get over it.

These jobs are full on and unless you have walked in those shoes don't begin to comment on something you know nothing about.

Just to give you a picture of something myself and a young constable saw about 24 years ago. We went to a house in Brisbane and found a lady lying on the floor bleeding profusely, so much so that the floor for a couple of square metres around her was thick with clotted blood. After some questions we found out she just had a baby at home. When we went looking for the child as they would not tell us where it was, I noticed the soles of the infants feet floating facing up towards me in the toilet bowl. The upshoot was they had delivered the child at home that they never wanted and murdered it as soon as it was born by forcing it head first down the S Trap of their toilet. We were only alerted to attend due to a report by a neighbour of screaming and other things happening at the house.

That is as clear to me now as if it happened yesterday. I suspect if ever you find yourself knee deep in it I think I know who you will be calling. They don't get paid the earth for what they do but when you put up with some of the stuff they do they deserve a fair go at least.

FollowupID: 647854

Reply By: giffo - Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 21:47

Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 21:47
My kids asked for an "iceblock" today ,should I be worried . ; ) (one of those wink things).
AnswerID: 380488

Follow Up By: Member - Scoof (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 22:01

Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 22:01
giffo you should be crapping your pants.
FollowupID: 647840

Reply By: giffo - Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 21:57

Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 21:57
Flywest

Maybe the paranoid voices in your head are running the show ! Who are you going to call when the offal hits the oscillator ?
AnswerID: 380490

Follow Up By: Flywest - Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 01:46

Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 01:46
I should call the police?
Puhleese!

They are just the cleanup crew - they never arrive when the actions happening, only after wards when the scene is clear n safe they arrive with lights flashing and guns drawn!

Ring the police and tell em someones breaking into your home and they appear to be armed - and wait n see how long they take to get there.

An hour later when they haven't arrived - ring em back and tell em not to hurry coz you shot the guy, and they will be there inside 5 mins to arrest you and take you away!

I've been round long enough to see it all.

I've sat in court and seen a policeman perjure himself.
The clever lawyer called his partner next and proved the first constable had perjured himself!

I looked at the judge - he looked at me - coz he knew I realized what had just happened (I had been a witness earlier in the trial & stayed after my testimony in the gallery) - I raised my eyebrows in a quizzical fashion as much to say "well - what are you going to do?"...he looks back at me - rolls his eyes as much to say "what can I do?", and remained silent.

I lifetimes experience with police has taught me what I know, and I'm not so naive as to believe they are all good guys. I know that not to be the case.

As for the sniffer dogs at concerts & rave party's obviously the respondent doesn't live in WA where the issues recently been in the news, and they photograph the sniffer dogs checking everyone for drugs before allowing them into the venue - they now even have special "drug refuse bins" labeled as such outside the venues where the kids can dispose of their drugs before entering without fear of prosecution.

Why?

Coz a teen girl in line to enter a concert recently - saw the police and sniffer dogs checking everyone in line for drugs, so rather than get caught with 3 pills in her pocket - swallowed all 3 and died as a result.

Now they have the special drug bins to try n stop kids from doing that!

Petrelis, in police protection as a drugs witness...hidden away in Qld to keep him safe till trial time in WA - turns up dead with an overdose of drugs administered into his left arm - except - he;s left handed and when found dead had both hands tied behind his back - i.e. murdered with a hot shot while in police custody.

Then there was the Mickelberg stitch - the Len Button affair, more recently the guy fitted up for the lady jeweler murder who's since had his sentence quashed and is now suing for wrongful imprisonment.

Goodness me - the fact our police can't be trusted is a matter of the public record - I don't have to make my case, police corruption has done that nicely for me - all one needs to do is read the paper, no need to be paranoid, if you aren't already the published misdeeds of our crew here in WA will soon make you that way - just from the public record - you don't need personal experience into the mix as well.

I could go on - but whats the point.

FollowupID: 647858

Follow Up By: Nargun51 - Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 11:15

Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 11:15
Exactly, what is your point?

Your understanding of the criminal justice system is based on your experience working in the “security industry” and (from previous posts) watching CSI

I once heard a Supreme Court Judge describe security officers as persons who wanted the power of police, but who were unable to pass the IQ or ethical testing required

As Sworn Officers, the police are under more scrutiny than private security agents will ever be. Are you subject to financial probity checks? Can your posts on a forum such as this be used to determine your capacity to continue work in the industry?

Anybody with a peripheral involvement with the criminal justice system or even a cursory reading of the newspapers will have an understanding that the private security industry is rife with dubious characters. As you seem to think that all police should be tarred with the same brush as the worst, you must be willing to assume the mantle of the contempt of the community shown towards the worst of security operators

I’m guessing your point is an attempt to defend and provide justification of the vigilante action that you have previously indicated you will undertake
FollowupID: 647884