Bad habit

Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 12:31
ThreadID: 71778 Views:3736 Replies:9 FollowUps:9
I have seen on TV you can get tablets and patches to stop the smoking habit.
Is there any medication for my 4WD habit?
Just putting together a list of extras to be covered in my vehicles insurance policy.
"OH MY LORD" when did all this happen. My "stuff" is worth more than my vehicle.
Please help me, where will this all end.
Is there any focus groups or meeting I can attend? Certainly not a 4WD club, that would just make it worse.
Maybe I should look back to the time when I was a young bloke. I do have past history, my stereo was worth more than my car at one time.
Maybe there is just no hope for me and I should resign myself to the fact I will be afflicted with this until the day I die.
Any of those who have been cured are welcome to pass on advice.

Now I feel better having confess my sins.

regards all.
Camper setup
July 2012 - Hay River & Binns track
VKS 737 Mobile 0091
Selcall 0091

Reply By: JimDi - Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 12:49

Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 12:49
Go along to a Financial Adviser..tell him what you have done and how much you have spent and watch the look of horror spread across his/her face as they realise the dire financial implications of not putting your money in the right place.
Then they will try to correct your bad habits..or so they think. But in effect you are transferring your guilt to them and then they will have sleepless nights knowing that the world is seemingley full of people like you and we are all doomed.
Hmmm...my caravan insurance is due next week, better make my own appointment.
Jim
AnswerID: 380415

Reply By: landed eagle - Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 12:58

Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 12:58
Whenever I feel the need to justify my 4wd and caravan to myself I just take a look in the wife's shoe and clothes cupboard. :)
AnswerID: 380416

Reply By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 12:58

Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 12:58
It can be a harsh Mistress, this four wheel driving Wim. At least you're not wasting your hard earned dollars it on wine, women and song.

That's the way we roll...lol.

AnswerID: 380417

Follow Up By: Member - Wim (Qld) - Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 13:02

Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 13:02
Mick O.

Spending your hard earned on a "good" bottle of wine is no waste.
Thanks for the moral support.

Camper setup
July 2012 - Hay River & Binns track
VKS 737 Mobile 0091
Selcall 0091

FollowupID: 647756

Reply By: Member - Tour Boy ( Bundy QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 13:03

Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 13:03
If it is too hard for you to handle, you can donate it to a worthwile charity....like me for instance..lol.

Seriously the accessories on my vehicle have topped $30K much more than the vehicle is worth.

2010 Isuzu FTS800 Expedition camper
2015 Fortuner
Had 72 cruisers in my time

AnswerID: 380419

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 14:51

Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 14:51
What on earth!!!

We have;

rear wheel carrier LHS 1 $ 1,188.45
jack holder from spare wheel 0 $ 166.25
snorkel 1 $ 407.70
Compressor mounted in vehicle 1 $ 305.10
Outback roof console 0 $ 382.50
UHF Radio GME 1 $ 331.55
Aerial 4.5 db gain GME 1 $ 113.05
76mm bull bar bracket 1 $ 46.55
roller _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx with bed extension 1 $ 2,119.80
155ltr water tank 0 $ 179.96
Power socket in rear to run fridge 1 $ 33.25
HF aerial fit only 0 $ 45.00
ARB 8000kg snatch strap 1 $ 81.00
Speedy seal repair kit 1 $ 53.96
Bow shackle 3.25tn 1 $ 9.00
Bow Shackle 4.75 tn 2 $ 13.50
47 litre ARB fridge New style 1 $ 1,079.10
Transit bag to suit new fridge 1 $ 149.40
Suspension mods (Hume) 1 $ 4,000.00
Camping kit (estimate, tent etc) 1 $ 1,000.00

That comes to just over $11700.

What on earth have you got in there?

FollowupID: 647768

Follow Up By: Member - Tour Boy ( Bundy QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 15:04

Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 15:04
Ummm can't say too much as someone else may decide they like it more than me and we all know what a hassle is to re-fit a new truck, not to mention the insurance never pays up the full anount even if they say they will.

Oh and a bit more stuff than most have got.

2015 Fortuner

FollowupID: 647771

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 15:22

Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 15:22
Not terribly worried there. Big dogs help. And it is always garaged when not in the bush. We only use it for bush so it is quite secure. The alarm and immobiliser came with it. There are a lot of Philips in the ACT.

I also challenge anyone to find our address. I have only come across one person on exploreoz who would know how to find me. I do not have our car rego on the internet. No home site and the email address belongs to a different residence. We moved.

FollowupID: 647774

Follow Up By: Member - Tour Boy ( Bundy QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 16:05

Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 16:05
I'm the same, any plates in my picss are from 3 moves ago and the one I have now is an interstate plate in somone elses name as I haven't transferred it yet.
and I have a security device tooImage Could Not Be Found

But he will lick the hair of you...but at least he barks and charges you first....lol
2015 Fortuner

FollowupID: 647776

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 16:59

Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 16:59
Ha Ha One pup power. Is that your recovery kit?? Nice car too.

At least they make a lot of noise. There is one of those little things in the house in front and all it does is bark when the owners are not home. And thats most of the day when they are at work. It needs to be quitened down and they don't give a dam. GGGRRRRRRR

We never take the dogs out. The car is always set up for camping and they won't fit. Besides I hate going camping with them. So many places don't allow pets and we do not want restrictions.

No dogs in the car thanks. They are purely to look after the house when we are away and when I was away with work. Even the alarm people won't come in. We have a battle axe block and the front gate is their boundary. No adhock visitors Ha. If we know visitors are coming the dogs go in the garage. Otherwise they call us on the intercom and we put the dogs away. We have been burgled once, before we had "secured" the house and got the dogs. Not now though.

You know what they say. Once bitten etc etc. Good word that "bitten".

We are left in peace. Ain't it great.
FollowupID: 647787

Reply By: xxx - Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 15:24

Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 15:24
To paraphrase George Best " I spent a lot of money on booze, birds and 4WDs. The rest I just squandered."
AnswerID: 380440

Reply By: Member - Lotzi (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 15:55

Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 15:55
Hi Wim

Yes there is an organisation, you can find the details down at your swambo's hair dressers, look for the brochure titled 4b-anon, your wife is most probably a support member and they have loaned her the support kit with subliminal guilt tape, check for a small speaker under your pillow.

I found the brochure and tape cover for the above organisation in my wife's knicker draw by mistake.

I contacted a mate over at the local 4wd drive accessory shop, he was able to put me in touch with the anti-4b-anon association. They were very supportive and loaned me the anti-4b-anon cure tape for use under my swambo's pillow.

This tape has worked a treat, we are now talking about what else we need for the big trip, she has cut back on her weekly hair dressing appointments, no new clothes and is even talking about Ebaying her Marcos collection of shoes to raise funds for further accessories.

I must confess Wim, I now feel like a sinner, but the local 4wd driving Chaplin has assured me that I will get over it, you just have to go and sit in the shed with a good red and think about all the people you can now help with this information.

Have a red for me . . . . )

AnswerID: 380444

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 16:42

Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 16:42
You could always try what I did, many years ago I bought a nagfacta10. They wash iron and feed you but in return it will nag the cr@p out of you whenever there is fun to be had. After all that is what a "Bad habit" is isn't it? (Something that is too good to stop?)

But be warned, over time the washing, ironing and feeding cycles get shorter whilst the nag cycles get longer.

Enjoy your bad habit as much as the rest of us do. Bugger what the fun police say.

Cheers, Trevor.
AnswerID: 380452

Follow Up By: Member - John T (Tamworth NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 16:47

Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 16:47
G'day Trevor

After a post like that mate, when do you get out of hospital. Will it be in time to come to the gathering at St George???

John T (Lifetime Member)
VKS-737 Mobile 2619
Selcall 2619
"Argue for your limitations and sure enough they're yours" - Richard Bach in "Illusions"

FollowupID: 647786

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 18:55

Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 18:55
I won't mention too much about the "upgrade" that was available shortly after my nagfacta10 purchase then. It was referred to as the nagfacta11 but upon research most people referred to it as W.I.F.E as not only did you get the Washing, Ironing and Food but also Entertainment was added. My research showed the Entertainment was short lived and the nagging amplified as time went by. Fortunately for me I opted not to take the "upgrade" but even so, the nagging from nagfacta10 has seriously impacted on my "Bad Habit" purchases.

I will forward my absentee vote for this years gathering to you about now as I know I won't be there after this LOL!!!!!!!

See you soon mate ;-)
Trevor.
FollowupID: 647801

Follow Up By: landed eagle - Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 18:58

Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 18:58
Phhhhhoooooaaaaarrrrrrrrrrrr Trevor, goolies the size of footballs!!
Is that an ambulance outside your house?
FollowupID: 647802

Reply By: Flywest - Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 03:47

Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 03:47
4wding fairy tale!

One day, a really really long long time ago,

There was a wife,

who loved 4wding

and

didn't nag the heck out of you.

But,

It WAS a really really long long time ago,

and

It was ONLY for the one day.

The be-leagured 4wding husband, then one day summonsed his naggig wife to him and said;

"You know what?'

to which the nagging wife said;

"No - what?"

To which he replied;

"If I'm going to be nagged to death - its gonna be bye a much younger & prettier looking woman than you"

with which, he handed her the divorce papers and left, to travel off road & fish all around Australia, with his new, younger, prettier, woman, and lives happily ever after, at least to this day.

The end.

;o)

Moral of the story?

Life's too short to live with a nagging wife!

Cheers!
AnswerID: 380511

Reply By: Member - Brian R (WA) - Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 23:16

Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 23:16
Hi Wim
What a great post to read in the middle of the week and such alot of great replies and follow ups.....now this is one good reason for me paying a membership this year. I don't think....NO ...I know I don't spend alot on my Forester cause I told my darling that it was more an alll purpase vehicle than a 4x4...but I have just fitted a nice little CB ( with a litle help and advice from the FORUM) and I love it...and better still it has recieved THE NOD as a BIG BOYs TOY Don't worry about the expense just enjoy
AnswerID: 380643