I’ve had enough. Big dummy spit.
Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 21:17
Kim and Damn Dog
A lot of people contact me asking for advice, particularly on matters relating to bush history and related matters.
Like a naive idiot I take them at face value, and put a lot of time into research or finding documents of my own.
Then await a promised response which is not
forth coming. So little old sensitive me, is now saying you can shove it!
The discourtesy show now a days is very disappointing.
I also know of other members who go out off their way to help other people with questions, which you don’t read about on this site.
Kim
Reply By: Member - Fred B (NT) - Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 21:23
Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 21:23
Gooday Kim,
know what you mean; has happened to me from time to time.... "I'll get back to you..." famous last words for some. Pity really, doesn't take much to call back and say thanks. Trouble is it starts to make an old bugger like me just a little cynical.
Hope you have a better day tomorrow....
Follow Up By: Kim and Damn Dog - Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 21:34
Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 21:34
Gidday Fred
Look don’t me too seriously, I’ll settle down tomorrow, but I’m damned if I’m going to put the work in again.
Kim
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 11:58
Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 11:58
Here's a depiction of Kim and Fred ...Haaaa
Reply By: Member - Matt (Perth-WA) - Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 21:24
Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 21:24
Kim...sadly a
sign of the times...but shouldnt put you off trying. There are still heaps of good people who appreciate those that do offer their info for nothing in return.
I for one enjoy your posts and hope to be able to seek your advice if I ever head your way in the near future!
Reply By: Gramps - Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 21:33
Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 21:33
Get over it. There are a lot of posters on this
forum who never bother to say thanks.
Follow Up By: Kim and Damn Dog - Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 21:43
Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 21:43
You seem to have a considerable ability to miss a point.
Kim
Follow Up By: Gramps - Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 21:47
Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 21:47
Just adding more fuel to one of your regular tantrums old feller.
Follow Up By: Kim and Damn Dog - Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 22:23
Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 22:23
Gramps
If we ever hear one positive note out of you, I'll call drinks for every member.
Kim
Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 00:32
Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 00:32
Kim
that will be the day
"Gramps
If we ever hear one positive note out of you"
We all get over it,,, Gramps.. that is. hahahahahahahaha
Follow Up By: Member No 1- Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 12:55
Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 12:55
Gramps is shouting of course
and thanks a million for any past and future help Kim...:)))
Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 15:15
Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 15:15
I'm sure he spells his name wrong it should be GRUMPS. LOL
Reply By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 21:41
Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 21:41
Gday Kim
How did you go with the storm?
Murray
Follow Up By: Kim and Damn Dog - Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 22:05
Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 22:05
Gidday Murray
Thus far it’s been a bit interesting. Around about 5.30pm the old fella up there decided to create a
water fall between the kitchen and the sun room. I now have an indoor swimming pool free of charge. Dog’s not too happy with the storm renovations. LOL
What about yourself, any damage?
Kim
Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 09:08
Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 09:08
No problems here. The street and yard were white with hail or hale . Darling drove home in the storm and she was ok...
Murray
Reply By: Russ n Sue - Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 22:07
Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 22:07
I know how you feel Kim.
I used to have an IT business. I would often get businesses ask me to design IT solutions for them and then quote for the implementation. Upon receipt of my hard work they would then go around to one of my competitors (usually someone who has been doing their IT work up until the time of my quote) and present them with the plan, the execution and the price it should be done for.
I would never hear from them and when I followed up the quote I would find out that the other mob implemented everything I had designed. So countless hours of hard work went down the crapper AND my competitor got the job. It made me so angry to think that I had been used like that.
Eventually I simply refused to quote for jobs from "prospective" customers unless they paid a refundable deposit - that is, they had to pay me to work up the quote and solution. If they got me to do the job the deposit was deducted from the quoted price, otherwise I kept the deposit. I didn't apply this rule to existing customers. That policy did have the desired affect, although I wasn't too sad to leave the IT industry behind me when something more lucrative came along.
Russ.
Follow Up By: qubert - Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 22:49
Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 22:49
musta been good if you now retired and seein oz
Follow Up By: Member - Malcolm (Townsville) - Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 23:16
Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 23:16
Russ
I know exactly where you are coming from with the IT industry. Having started one of the very first computer shops in
Townsville in 1982 with the Microbee computer. I moved on to software development and network support for small business. Twenty years later, completely burnt out !!
The main thing I learned is you can't be all things to all people. And, yes Kim & Russ, I too would do all the research and design solutions and still be left in the )(&*_. Some smooth talker got the sales and I was left to try to make their solution work.
Forcibly retired in 2000 but still did the odd free job for old clients and a LOT of work for NFP's. Did they appreciate it. NO. Not until I made the decision to no longer support them. Only then did they appreciate my efforts.
Kim, we all get disillusioned at times. Like you are at present. I know where you are coming from but we're still alive - and that beats the alternative ;-)
Malcolm
Follow Up By: Cruiser .- Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 08:22
Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 08:22
Russ &
Malcolm,
I will echo your thoughts and experience re the IT industry
My experience was similar to both of yours, hence my exit from the industry 4 yrs ago.
Cruiser
Follow Up By: Member - Brenton W (SA) - Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 10:10
Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 10:10
Hi Russ
What is that lucrative business you got into, i need it too, thought IT was lucrative.
Making money has never been a problem with me, keeping it is the trick i have never worked out lol
Follow Up By: Rut Tearer - Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 15:10
Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 15:10
Yes I have had 25 years in the IT Industry and not burnt out now because we only deal with businesses why pay for our
services, the trick was to learn as you went along and adapt your business to suit your lifestyle, rather than vice versa, or I work on the business rather than in it.
Business is fantastic but I would love to take a year off and travel Australia, saving my retirement months in the meantime.
Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 22:48
Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 22:48
I also often wonder about some posters.
They ask for advice, frequently without doing ANY research themselves.
Obviously cos a quick Google search often reveals the answers.
Why cant they do that themselves instead of asking someone to do it for them.
Most of us have only gained the knowledge by searching for it at some time or another.
Some replies have obviously required a fair bit of work on the reply.
The very least required is that a polite thank you after a few days would at
least let us know that the info has been read and PERHAPS appreciated.
Doesnt happen very often unfortunately so I sympathise with Kym and also the
dog if hes in that sort of a mood.
Reply By: Member - cuffs (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 23:46
Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 23:46
Kim
I have been on this site since 04' I don't say that much, but love to learn, enjoy your stories, and so much of your GPS advice.
Keep up the good posts for us who enjoy your posts & stories, if we loose those who have experience, who do we learn from.
Shucks!!!!!!!!!!!!
Follow Up By: Kim and Damn Dog - Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 17:18
Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 17:18
Gidday cuffs
You must be getting me mixed up with somebody else. I'd be the last person to come to for GPS advice.
Kim
Reply By: lbudgie - Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 23:54
Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 23:54
to everyone , for evrything...........thenkyou
Reply By: Wayne's 60 - Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 00:27
Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 00:27
Jeez Kim,
go sit in a corner and let the damn dog have a go on the
forum ......... lol
Sorry to say that this has been a thought of
mine for awhile ........... and commented on from time to time too.
A reflection on society .................. ask for everything and give nothing in return??
Wayne & Sally.
Reply By: Member - John & Sally W (NSW) - Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 05:43
Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 05:43
Hi Kim,
Know what you mean. Another thing is too, once you start to give, give, --- others wil take, take. They come to expect it then. Then when you have a dummy spit they wonder what the hell is up with you. Most times, a simple please and thankyou goes a long way.
Don't give up trying. I believe in karma. Thankyou for all past info. I always seem to learn something new each day off this great site. Sorry I have only replied to a couple of posts. Thankyou in advance for all future stories and advice. I always read all relevant info out loud to my family.
Sincerely,
Sally XX
Reply By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 07:07
Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 07:07
To some extent it's an internet phenomenon. Everything is free or expected to be for free.
Then there is the issue of depersonalization. Most people her do not know each other personally, everyone is just a name so not real people, therefore it's much easier to just take take take.
This applies espcially to the people who just drift in and out.
Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 07:21
Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 07:21
G/Day Kim
In this world there are Take'ers, Watchers, and Do'ers, us Do'ers carry the Take'ers and Watchers on our backs, at least we can sleep at night with a Conscience knowing we don't owe any favours to people.
Chapter 1, Verse 1, Daza's outlook on life.
Reply By: RV Powerstream P/L - Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 07:22
Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 07:22
Kim
Do not dispair there are lots of people that appreciate good advice and you may never hear from them but you can relax with the knowledge that you gave it unselfishly and with a dedication to help people with what you know.
In the last two days I have had two responses out of the blue from people one by phone and one by email and the email one asked about a post in March 2009 that I had made so some people do appreciate things.
I also in my spare time do family research and I have one of the largest private data bases in Australia with over 84000 individuals.
I readily gave out information from my research and then later found it up on someone elses tree or information.
I now restrict that information to only people that can be possitively linked by credible fact.
This does not stop me from helping someone to get ahead with there research but Im more selective than in the past.
Keep up the good work you are appreciated by people that care and enjoy what you produce.
Follow Up By: warfer69 - Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 21:04
Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 21:04
***Do not dispair there are lots of people that appreciate good advice and you may never hear from them but you can relax with the knowledge that you gave it unselfishly and with a dedication to help people with what you know. ***
Ive seen regularly people give expert advice only to see the poster ignore this advice and thank another person..I say get over it Kim (nicely lol),there are ignoramus's everywhere and i'm not excusing them,since its been illegal to smack a kid on the bum and teachers not being able to discipline school kids,they'll be adults soon enough you aint seen nothing yet buddy... lol
Cheers big ears
Follow Up By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 22:47
Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 22:47
Warfer69 your last sentence has been on my mind for a very long time. We use to get
the beach bat at school. I however learnt from others experience and still do. As a single mum travelling with the kids I read this
forum a fair bit and soak in most of the info from especially the oldies. Don't give up Kim.
Reply By: Member - Joe F (WA) - Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 15:11
Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 15:11
G'day Kim
We have never traded
forum responses ~ ever, but some how I feel compelled in a sense to express my thoughts on your very frustrations and seeing there are many other responses to your
forum post, there is a lot of disappointment out there.
Try running a tourism business from a town in the middle of some of the most precious and visually stunning country in Australia ~ perhaps the world.
Spend ten (10) years of time , energy and passion not to mention finances in growing and promoting your business and the region, to find the very people who ask for and receive information that is not generally available to the travelling public, from the internet or even from the local
visitor centre(s) then have these information thieves use the freely given info to conduct their very own 4wd tours, in what I like to call my back yard. It's a total p~ss off at the time but, just maybe the next information seeker will appreciate what you do for them ~ just maybe.
Now it's time for me to wander off into my wilderness ~ alone, maybe !!
Thanks to all the other disappointed people out there who have shared their experiences and thank you Kim for raising the post.
Regards :
Follow Up By: Member - Michael P (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 16:58
Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 16:58
Hi Joe,
What part of Queensland are you in?
Sorry just couldnt help myself.
Mike.
Reply By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 15:14
Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 15:14
Oh Kim while your there any chance you can help me out??
Sorry mate couldn't resist. Yep know what you mean happens all the time unfortunately. This
Forum isn't unique there.
Often you don't even get a thanks.
But on the upside this
forum also provides so much unsolicited advice and assistance, and people offering to send you stuff. So it ain't all that bad.
So thanks Kev.
Reply By: daisygirl - Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 19:44
Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 19:44
Try working as a travel agent where I have spent thousands and thousands of my own dollars on holidays doing research to use at my work. I work out very personalised quotes and give lots of details only for all my information and prices to be taken to usually a Flight Centre where they knock of $50 from the price and the client booked.
Then they even have the hide to email me back to tell me that is what they have done but "by the way my agent didnt know about ..... can you advise??" . Talk about the cheek of them.
You dont go and ask your doctor or hairdresser for ideas and a quote to then go shopping around for who can do the job the cheapest so why do some people insist on doing it for my service related industry??
Follow Up By: warfer69 - Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 20:58
Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 20:58
***Try working as a travel agent where I have spent thousands and thousands of my own dollars on holidays doing research to use at my work.***
Gee i really feel for ya Daisygirl...lmao
Follow Up By: Member - Amy G (SA) - Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 09:41
Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 09:41
As an ex-Flight Centre employee I can assure you that this happens to everyone out there in the travel industry- used to make me very cranky as well!
I can't say I miss anything about that job other than the agent rates!
Reply By: Flywest - Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 22:15
Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 22:15
Kim,
I prescribe a Bex and a good lie down.
Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 22:26
Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 22:26
Gday Kim,
I dont know how to break this to you, so Ill try to be gentle......
I wrote the question 18 years ago!!!!!!
Im sorry I didnt reply earlier but I actually forgot the question!.....but after waiting 17 years ,364 days I thought you werent going to answer?
And now you get the heebies cause I didnt say thanks because my puter was down yesterday...........bloody hell!!!!!
Sorry....what was the question again????...I mean the answer????
Ohhhh...that right.....I was going to tell you something!
Are you sure we havent got Altzei....................
What was I saying?
Anyway , the question and the answer isnt the issue...the issue is...I cant remember the bloody question?????
Hairy
Did I Say LOL?
Come for a drive ya grumpy ol bastard
Follow Up By: Kim and Damn Dog - Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 20:22
Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 20:22
Gidday Hairy
A petulance on you
young fella. May it rain forty days and nights.
I was going to say something else, but I can’t remember what it was!
Kim
Reply By: Maîneÿ . . .- Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 09:37
Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 09:37
Kim,
At the end of the day it's your choice
you say: "Then await a *promised response* which is not forth coming"
which I admit I don't understand the "promised response" part of your statement
obviously if the response is "promised" it isn't good enough?
You will now have more free time to do the things you really enjoy.
If you feel You've "had enough and want to spit the dummy" that's your choice, so I wish you well in the future :)
Maîneÿ . . .