Tyre choice

Submitted: Thursday, Sep 11, 2003 at 20:56
ThreadID: 7179 Views:2156 Replies:9 FollowUps:9
I know it has been done to death but...I'm about to buy some new tyres and have narrowed it down to BFGs or Coopers...I'm leaning towards the coopers 265/75/16 even though I only run 265/70/16. I understand for my car (Prado GXL) that it will only mean a 3% speedo differential but does it do any other damage to the car? I'm still not 100% decided on the Coopers, so any comments would be useful. Thanks!

Reply By: prospect - Thursday, Sep 11, 2003 at 21:00

Thursday, Sep 11, 2003 at 21:00
oh....and are there any insurance issues having a slightly bigger tyre?
AnswerID: 30817

Follow Up By: ray91 - Friday, Sep 12, 2003 at 13:37

Friday, Sep 12, 2003 at 13:37
Hi I have 267/75/16 cooper st 8ply tyres on my prado, awsum tyres no problems with insurance the tyres are better than the originals.The load rating on the tyres is a lot higher, the speed rating (n) is 140kph how many times would you want to go faster than this? The speedo is also right now.They are a little noisy at slow speeds not bad but you know they are there.Good on and off road ,some say they have chipping problem , depends how you drive,spinning wheels on loose gravel/rocks would do the same to any tyre.
FollowupID: 21872

Reply By: Prado Boy - Thursday, Sep 11, 2003 at 21:17

Thursday, Sep 11, 2003 at 21:17
Prospect - check with your insurer BEFORE you fit the new tyres. Can't hurt & will only sting you a phone call.

I've got Cooper ST's and they've done nearly 70000Km's just fine. I run the 225/75R16's on my Prado RV TD. Am thinking of going to the same size tyre as you in another 30000Km's or so (yes - the Coopers will make 100,000Km's for me no worries!). Just be careful EXACTLY which Cooper ST you get fitted at that size as I believe there are 3 different ones - each with slightly different load ratings avaialble at that size. Be careful which one your supplier orders for you.

Also - all the 265/75R16's are speed rated N from memory - means 140Km/h max.

Prado Boy
AnswerID: 30822

Follow Up By: Member - Peter [SA] - Friday, Sep 12, 2003 at 01:05

Friday, Sep 12, 2003 at 01:05
I would say that N rating would be enough to void your insurance. That is unless your Prado is N or lower rated.
Cheers Peter
FollowupID: 21844

Follow Up By: Prado Boy - Saturday, Sep 13, 2003 at 09:48

Saturday, Sep 13, 2003 at 09:48
G'day Peter,
Prado is S rated - and the OEM tyres that you buy with it (Dunlop Grandtreks) are S rated. N rating is 40km/h less top speed - and does not void your insurance (mine is with AAMI and I've had no problems). Also - going to the LT tyres means you get a higher load rating too.
Prado Boy
P.S. Whenever you are thinking of adding anything to your 4WD you should call your insurer and check with them first how it's going to affect your policy!
FollowupID: 21921

Follow Up By: Member - Peter [SA] - Saturday, Sep 13, 2003 at 14:38

Saturday, Sep 13, 2003 at 14:38
I think you will find in S.A. at least, that it is illegal to fit a lower rated tyre than what is on the placcard.
Cheers Peter
FollowupID: 21929

Follow Up By: Phil G - Saturday, Sep 13, 2003 at 15:42

Saturday, Sep 13, 2003 at 15:42
Peter,

Here's a snippet from the Toyo website re tyre regs in SA:

South Australia: The overall diameter of alternative tyres must be not more than 15mm larger than the largest O.E. size or 15mm smaller than the smallest O.E. size. Minimum speed rating is S (180 kph) for new tyres fitted to passenger cars or 140 kph (N) for retreads. Minimum speed rating for four wheel drives is 130 kph (M).
FollowupID: 21934

Follow Up By: Prado Boy - Saturday, Sep 13, 2003 at 16:14

Saturday, Sep 13, 2003 at 16:14
Peter,
Guess that's another reason why I live in Queensland! Beautiful one day - perfect the next... :-)
Prado Boy
FollowupID: 21937

Follow Up By: Phil G - Sunday, Sep 14, 2003 at 20:12

Sunday, Sep 14, 2003 at 20:12
Hi Pradoboy,

Hehe! Guess what the regs are for Qld???

Queensland: The overall diameter of alternative tyres must be not more than 15mm larger than the largest O.E. size or 26mm smaller than the smallest O.E. size. Minimum speed rating is N (140 kph).
FollowupID: 22002

Follow Up By: Prado Boy - Sunday, Sep 14, 2003 at 21:23

Sunday, Sep 14, 2003 at 21:23
Thanx Phil - guess that means I's still legal for the moment - and that I'll be getting an engineers cert when I get the 265/75R16's! :-) Not gunna stop me going to the larger size tyres though - the GXL's etc have em as standard - has always baffled me why Mr. Toyota didn't fit the same size to the base model as the rest of the range. I suppose after 100,000 Km's it doesn't matter much - but I'd like to get that extra 1" of clearance.
Thanx again,
Prado Boy
FollowupID: 22012

Reply By: Member - MightyQ - Thursday, Sep 11, 2003 at 22:03

Thursday, Sep 11, 2003 at 22:03
G'day, prospect,
Tyres and choice of tyres has become subjective throughout the 4WD community and really it's your choice whether it's the right one or not. I can only offer my personal observations in the tyres I use ( Hankook MT Radials) on my GQ LWB. I've previously used them on another 4x4 and found excelent wear 65,000, admittedly these were on a '82' Jackaroo but I'd been to the Cape, all around NSW, Victorian High Country(lived up there for 3 years), around WA for a year. I found this brand of tyre to be useful in all types of conditions and only bad in one application(sand) but if you let them down to 10psi no problem
Best of luck with your decision, don't get sucked in and pay to much
AnswerID: 30828

Reply By: Member - Andrew(WA) - Friday, Sep 12, 2003 at 00:47

Friday, Sep 12, 2003 at 00:47
prospect

I had 265/75/16 CooperA/T's fitted yesterday to my GU.

1st thing I noticed was how quiet they are. Other than that, it's too early to tell.

I asked my insurance Co about the tyre size change. I was told I can go taller but not wider. I told them exactly what tyre I wanted, they said OK and noted it on my policy.

Check with your mob. Different companies, different story.
AnswerID: 30843

Reply By: Jol from Direct Four WD Awareness - Friday, Sep 12, 2003 at 09:54

Friday, Sep 12, 2003 at 09:54
Coopers are good, i use them and really happy. I use a gps as speedo in my ute as it about 18% out, so check yr soeedo with a gps.
If travelling out bush always consider the availability of tyres in remote stores. The new ST is not a bad compromise between sealed and dirt road
jol
AnswerID: 30856

Reply By: Member - Rohan K - Friday, Sep 12, 2003 at 12:26

Friday, Sep 12, 2003 at 12:26
Prospect, what is the largest wheel/tyre combo stated on the Prado's tyre placard?Smile, you're on ExplorOz
Rohan (Sydney - on the QLD side of the Harbour Bridge)
AnswerID: 30863

Reply By: srowlandson - Friday, Sep 12, 2003 at 16:15

Friday, Sep 12, 2003 at 16:15
You can safely, and legally run up to a 285 on a Prado (in Vic & NSW)

You will need to get an engineers cert. ($3-400) and this will cover you for insurance etc.

with 285/75/16 on a KZJ120 Prado
AnswerID: 30878

Reply By: Murfa - Saturday, Sep 13, 2003 at 17:18

Saturday, Sep 13, 2003 at 17:18
Hey there, my mates and I run cooper S/T. I have a challeger and both of there's are patrols. These tyres are perfect for both on and off road conditions. My mates have managed to get 70,000 - 80,000km easily out of theres. They are also pretty quiet on the road, not like many other A/T tyres. But once again it's a personal choice, but I would highly recommend cooper S/T's or for heavy off road work all the time, Cooper STT.
AnswerID: 30957

Follow Up By: GoingUnder? - Saturday, Sep 20, 2003 at 11:00

Saturday, Sep 20, 2003 at 11:00
Hi all:
I need to replace the stock Bridgestone Dueler Hts which are pretty worn at 85,000 ks with something which will last a little longer on my GU 3.0 td (assuming its dosent blow up!), As i run on-road most of the time I was thinking of Coopers HTs. I have found very little about them amywhere. Can anyone help with info if they are suitable for my intended use i.e. 90% highway city and 10 % sand or gravel ?
GoingUnder?
FollowupID: 22488

Reply By: prospect - Saturday, Sep 13, 2003 at 19:44

Saturday, Sep 13, 2003 at 19:44
Thanks for all your advice...I'm now a bit worried as I ordered 5 new coopers 265/75/16s today...I was told by my insurance company that I could go up to an inch higher without any problems. I was told by the tyre company that going from 70 to 75 would mean an increase in height of 20 mm (under the inch). So I thought no problems until I started to read about the load index and speed ratings. Originally the LI on the Prado is 112 and SR is S (180km)...with the coopers this changes to a LI of 123 but a SR of N (140km)..now my question is does this matter? I think a quick check to my insurer on Monday is needed...but I'm assured by the tyre company that it wont be a problem, and that given taller tyres are being fitted, with a higher load index, it was all ok... Any thoughts? I'm in SA.
AnswerID: 30963