Some of the fun from Last year
Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 13:18
Member - Uncle (NSW)
Just a short clip from our trip last year while hunting nuggets in WA. Thought I
might post here for some newbie's to detecting to enjoy.
cheers unc.
Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 13:35
Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 13:35
Looks like you must have been short on things to do up there on holidays!! ;) Michael
Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 19:22
Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 19:22
Hey!! the video was missing earlier, just a blank space, hence my comment!! Michael
Follow Up By: Member - Uncle (NSW) - Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 19:31
Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 19:31
Lol, wondered what that comment was aimed at!. cheers unc
Reply By: Member - Kroozer (WA) - Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 14:40
Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 14:40
Fairly labour intensive hobby aint it. A friend of
mine recently stumbled across a 20 gram nugget, a 6 gram and a 4 gram all within 3 weeks. Plus numerous little specks.$30k for 3 weeks of doing what he loves, now taken a year of work and heading out for a real workout. Not bad going for a rookie i must admit. I know other mates who have been doing it for years, in the same area and are yet to strike more then 4/5 grams. Luck of the draw
Follow Up By: Member - Uncle (NSW) - Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 16:41
Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 16:41
That little labour intensive hobby paid our fuel bill for 10 mths.!! I'm not complaining......
Follow Up By: landseka - Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 11:20
Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 11:20
Must have been VEEEEERY numerous little specks. LOL
The 20g + 6g + 4g is around $1,000.oo, so $29,000.oo for the specks would have been lots of digging.
Hard work but lotsa fun.
Follow Up By: Member - Kroozer (WA) - Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 13:35
Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 13:35
HaHaHa sorry about that fellas, a major understatement. I meant ounces, a 20 ouncer, 6 ouncer and 4 ouncer. Have actually even seen them, but i still dont like to admit it to him thats its bloody unreal.
Follow Up By: landseka - Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 13:40
Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 13:40
Ahhhh yes, that sounds better.
I would love to have been part of that trip, 5 grammers are my PB swinging.
20 oz in your hand sure feels heavier than that doesn't it!
Follow Up By: Member - Kroozer (WA) - Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 13:44
Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 13:44
''20 oz in your hand sure feels heavier than that doesn't it!''
I dunno mate, you reckon he was given it to anyone to hold, haha. Was bloody huge though. I reckon its a great little hobby, and takes a bloody lot of knowledge to find the right areas, from what i have heard.
Reply By: Member - Alanc - Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 00:01
Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 00:01
Hi Unc
I hate seeing video clips like that.... (said tongue in cheek)
We are planning to get up north of Kalgoorlie for a few weeks the end of Sept., never prospected before so it will be a new experience . What sort of detector do you use ? , we will rent one to start with and if the bug bites will lash out buy one and give it a real nudge next winter
Regards Alanc
Follow Up By: Member - Uncle (NSW) - Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 06:27
Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 06:27
G'day Alan,
the detector in that vid is an SD2100, very simple to use , I had it for ages , but just recently sold it. If I were you and renting for 1st time, go for a GP3000 or 3500. Far too many switches and crap on the new machines for a 1st timer.
Good luck with it all , hope you have a good time.(you will)
cheers unc