Spirit of Tasmania
Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 16:57
Jazzah
We are wanting to travel around Tasmania over Christmas School holidays, last year we did the trip from
Melbourne to Alice, so we thought we would go down south. But I have just rang for prices, for a family of 4 on day crossing we are looking at approx $2000 return. It is worth that much?
I must say I am wondering if we should to go New Zealand instead!!!!! It's our tenth wedding anniversary during this time I thought we should go somewhere we always wanted to go too.
Do others think it is worth the Tasmania trip with those costs just to get over the straight? Does anyone have any other ideas? we havea 16foot viscount we tow around. (
Gold Coast was done over
Easter)
Jazzah
Reply By: landed eagle - Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 17:48
Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 17:48
Hi Jazzah, being a Taswegian about to leave the cold behind for two months in Queensland with my family in our new van I reckon it's worth every cent!
If you do come over plan to spend as long as you can here. Plenty come over for a couple of weeks and hardly touch the surface. I was in
Port Arthur CP a few weeks ago talking to a couple
Grey Nomads who had come over for a few weeks and are still here 6 months later.
Book ahead if during the Christmas holiday season,all the van parks are busy in Tas.
Would recommend Wayatinah CP in the Central Highlands on the way to
Queenstown if you have kids. Huge swimming pool, tennis court,lake (if you have kayaks) trout fishing. Great spot for kids riding bikes too.Amenities are a bit stretched when the place is full but is great place away from the world....most mobiles dont work there(bliss) .
Also White Beach CP (Nubeena) is great for kids with a huge beach at the back of the
park. Owners can be a bit 'challenging' but just keep your head down and all is
well.I have stayed there every year for the last decade so know how to manipulate the owners now. :)
Safe Travels
Reply By: DIO - Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 17:48
Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 17:48
NZ. Bigger, better, cheaper (Australian dollar worth about 20% more than NZ) you will never regret the choice.
Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 17:59
Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 17:59
But it is NOT Australia, although some may argue that Tassie is NZ's third Island hehehehe
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: landed eagle - Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 22:48
Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 22:48
Looks like Sir Kev's fishing!
Follow Up By: Member - Nev (TAS) - Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 12:12
Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 12:12
Onya Kev. The reason they dug the trench between Tas and the other island was to keep you out....hahahaha
Reply By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 17:57
Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 17:57
Your problem is the van. They cost heaps.. I'm heading over on 27th Dec with just the car and 2pax and paying about $1100 return, 1 day trip 1 night.
That's the peak travel time so not much you can do about it I'm afraid.
As for weather it's worth it, how long are you planning on staying? The longer you stay the more it's worth it..
Follow Up By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 19:24
Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 19:24
That's pretty good these days; I took a Falcon over there about 22 yrs ago, and it cost me about $750 return with 2pax in a cabin around Xmas.
And the place was fantastic - We were there for about 3 weeks and didn't see enough. Come to think of it, it was the Tassie trip that made me decide I needed a 4wd!
Gerry
Follow Up By: Member - Timbo - Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 19:33
Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 19:33
Yes, agree - to put your car on the ferry is a reasonable price, but once you go over 6m total length, the price increases significantly. It's made worse since you're planning for the peak time of year. If you can wait until "off peak" or "shoulder season" it would be cheaper, or if you could use a tent or rooftop tent - I think you're allowed up to 4m height or something ridiculous like that (can you put the caravan on the roof-racks before boarding the ferry?!).
Depending on the length of your stay, and what sort of areas you intend to visit, you may find it cheaper to fly over and hire a car there, or just take your car on the ferry and motel it for a couple of weeks or so (if you're not happy in a tent).
I've been there a couple of times and it's
well worth a visit whether you like scenery or colonial history (or both) and you'll unlikely to encounter the 'rough' alcoholic types like you might at
Alice Springs,
Halls Creek,
Kununurra or
Wilcannia (unless you end up in
Coles Bay on New Years Eve as we mistakenly did a few years back!).
Reply By: Steve - Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 18:14
Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 18:14
hmmm.....we had the same shock a few years back and went elsewhere.
Robbery for a crossing that they make a meal of (not that you get a meal - even at that price) and should take far less time.
Follow Up By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 18:53
Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 18:53
And just how do you suggest they make the ferry go faster???
They tried a cat a few years back but it went bust..
Follow Up By: Member - Timbo - Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 19:42
Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 19:42
Oh, all the usual mods: Safari turbo, DPchip and LPG injection, mandrel bent exhaust etc. :)
Follow Up By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 20:01
Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 20:01
ROFLMAO...... ;-)
Follow Up By: Member - Toyocrusa (NSW) - Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 20:13
Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 20:13
Ditto. ROFLMAO. Timbo. That's the funniest reply i've seen for ages. Bob.
Follow Up By: Madfisher - Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 21:07
Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 21:07
Considering the ferry when cranked right up is as fast as the average family ski boat, I do not know how they could make it any quicker.
Follow Up By: landed eagle - Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 22:51
Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 22:51
They didn't call the catamaran the chunder cat for nothing!
Reply By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 18:34
Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 18:34
Now if you could only do some sort of vehicle swap .....
I am planning to visit Tasmania in Feb / Mar next year. Anyone from Tasie want to use a touring Troopy on the mainland ?
Or even come over to NZ and use a vehicle here ?
KK
Reply By: Jazzah - Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 18:49
Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 18:49
Ghee that is such a fabulous idea, anyone got an old van in NZ or Tassie? Swap for old van in Melb!
Reply By: Member - Josh (VIC) - Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 19:07
Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 19:07
Your going in the peak season and it is usually booked out so they charge what they want. Get there in off peak (cheaper) stay for the peak season and come back in the off peak. You need to be in tassie at least 3 months to really enjoy it. Did 3 months first up over there then 11 weeks this last christmas now going back for another go in 3 weeks.
Josh
Follow Up By: Steve - Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 19:54
Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 19:54
a lot cheaper in February
Follow Up By: landed eagle - Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 22:53
Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 22:53
Bring your gumboots Josh,there hasn't been this much
water in the ground for years.
Reply By: Jazzah - Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 19:12
Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 19:12
Hi Josh, that sounds great, but my husband is a teacher, we only get to travel at peak times! I knwo they get more holidays, but we end up paying more for them too!
Jazzah
Follow Up By: Member - Josh (VIC) - Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 18:37
Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 18:37
Hi Jazza, I understand what you mean. Sometimes it is just a case of wearing the cost (if you can afford to) and having a great holiday anyway. I wouldn't stop going to tassie just cause of the cost, there is so much to see over there.
Josh
Reply By: jdwynn (Adelaide) - Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 19:33
Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 19:33
Jazzah, they announced some ripper deals late in the year just prior to our trip in Jan 07. If you have time just wait a while and see what turns up. cheers
Reply By: Member - Kroozer (WA) - Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 20:16
Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 20:16
I would say its
well worth it, but i cant say i enjoyed the ferry trip. I went over about 2 months ago, night crossing and the waters were not that rough, but the ship handles like a stuffed pig. It is honestly the worst ship i have ever been on . Very top heavy and a nasty vibration runs through the ship when on auto pilot. It was pitching and rolling in a light swell. Because we had an inside cabin i thought it must of been rough outside, when i seen the size of the swell, i couldnt believe it. I have spoken to many other people, including my parents who have done it 5 times and they never had a problem though, barely feeling any movement. I think i just expected a nice ride for the money and size of the ship.
Tassie is incredible, truly awesome. But i will say, there are some strange people over there. No offence or anything, but in my travels there i encountered a heap of different folk. Nice people mainly though. I would dare say everywhere would be packed over there at that time, when we went everywhere was cheap and hardly anyone there. Coming from the
Kimberley it was good to freeze for a while. Loved being able to drink my grog straight from the box!!!!
Reply By: Member - Brenton W (SA) - Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 20:20
Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 20:20
Hi Jazzah
Put the kids and the domestic engineer in the van when you drive it on the boat lock it down and go and have a great night. drive off the boat in the morning and let them out up the road.
Seriously its worth the money, we flew over there 3 years ago for a wirl wind trip of 10 nights camped on the side of the road out the back of a corolla would love to go back.
New Zealand is fantastic as
well cheap flights there and back but you would have to hire a motor home. jucy rentals have some good rates we were there last october, loved the south island.
But i think tassie would still be cheaper take camps Australia book with you plenty of free spots to
camp in tassie,
Reply By: Member - Brenton W (SA) - Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 20:23
Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 20:23
Forgot to say in tasmania you are either going up a
hill down a
hill or around a corner, not many straight sections of road, lol.
Follow Up By: Member - Kroozer (WA) - Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 22:14
Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 22:14
I'll 2nd that.
Reply By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 20:25
Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 20:25
Hi Jazzah,
Look at this way. Treat the $2000.00 ( if you can afford it) as part of the experiences. So, for a boat ride & all the fun & memories you are likely to get out of the travel over & back, it will cost the four of you $125 each for the days outing & to get there & another $125 each to come back. You probably don't need to spend much on board, so if you treat it as a days outing, to me it's not bad value.
If the price includes your van & vehicle, then you have a real bargain in my opinion!!
You will Tassie & all it has to offer!! Best wishes & cheers
Follow Up By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 20:48
Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 20:48
Mmmmm!! so much for the mathematics! $250.00 each over & another $250.00 each to come home. I still reckon it's good value! Hoo Roo
Reply By: Holden4th - Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 20:49
Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 20:49
TOLL run their own ship from Port Philip to Devenport and do accommodate passengers and vehicles. It might be worth checking out.
Follow Up By: Holden4th - Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 19:53
Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 19:53
Sorry, they travel to Burnie.
Reply By: Volvo driver - Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 00:17
Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 00:17
we go over a fair bit, mostly fly and either hire a car or borrow one of our son's if they aren't used at the time, we looked at the boat a number of times and for two pass and a car plus a cabin it was something like $1200.. too much for two nights in a tiny little cabin.. until may this year when the winter 50% discount came in.. then it seemed worth it... like someone else said it's a rough ride even when it ain't rough outside LOL
that engine vibration kept me awake half the night, despite having worked nightshift the previous night.. and a gob full of seasickness 'drowsy' pills,
Reply By: Member - Mfewster(SA) - Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 07:54
Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 07:54
We were there a couple of weeks ago (thanks EO folks for some good ideas on spots to visit.) Just a short exploratory trip taking advantage of ultra cheap Tiger flights from
Adelaide to
Hobart. Hired a camper van. Only stayed 5 days but loved it . Not too
cold really. I wanted photos and the scenery/cloud effects were fantastic. Just looked at SE corner.Will take toyo next year for a 6 week stay.
Reply By: Member - John M (NSW) - Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 08:04
Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 08:04
Jazzah
We went over to Tassie last December and January for 5 weeks. Definately not enough time but went to a lot of
places and did most of the 4wd treks.
The ferry is expensive but one suggestion if you go overnight book a cabin, the ocean recliner seats are terrible to sleep in.
We free camped in the truck in most
places and some National Parks. We travelled and explored every day and camped at night and then on to the next place. Had a fantastic time, the
weather was great and you cannot beat the friendly local people who are just great.
Several nights we camped next to a stream or creek on private properties. Its marvelous how accomodating and cheap a 6 pack of
beer is to stay in pristine fabulous areas.
Most coastal
places are very packed during the Christmas Holidays and all Tasmanians have a caravan, boat and quad bike so the
places get very full.
Spend the money in
Australia and see the beautiful southern of
Tasmania.
We all talk about the
Top End and where it starts in
Australia.
I believe the
Top End of
Australia starts in Catamaran,
Tasmania and evering from north of here in
Australia is fantastic like no other place in the world.
Enjoy your trip.
| Life isn't about how to survive the storm, but how to dance in the rain! Lifetime Member My Profile Send Message |
Reply By: Inland Sailor - Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 09:43
Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 09:43
Jazza,
The cheapest way for a family to go over to Tassie is for the driver and vehicle/van to take the day crossing on the ferry alone and the rest of the family take the plane to Launceston. If you get the right flight and book online, they can cost less than $40.00 each one way!! Do yourselves a favor, and GO!!
Reply By: jeep cherokee - Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 13:55
Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 13:55
Jazzah, my wife and i were in Tassie over March this year and loved every bit of it.So much so that we are considering moving there after we have done the lap of Aussie.I would try and get the day crossing as it is a lot cheaper than having to get a cabin.If you dont have trouble sleeping in a lounge chair and putting up with people snooring and drunks comming back in the early hours then go for the ocean recliners.We hated them and got no sleep at all.
I have been to NZ 11 times now and treat is as a second home as my sister and Mum live there.It is a beaut country and well worth the visit but in doing the sums,dont forget to add in the cost of transport and accomodation to see the sights.The Aussie dollar is usually around $1.20 to the $N.Z but fuel is dearer and generally the cost of living is dearer than Aussie.
If you do go for N.Z option,feel free to get back to me and i will point out the must see attractions we found on our travels.
Other wise give me Tassie any day for scenery and great people.
Good luck.
Reply By: bks - Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 15:14
Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 15:14
Why not get cheap airfares across and hire a camper. Tiger has $48 airfares to Launceston and Brits bigest camper is only $138 a day.
Reply By: Member - Matt & Caz H (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 22:01
Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 22:01
Hi Jazzah,
We are currently travelling Oz as a family - we did Tassie May/June this year and LOVED it!!! its a great place and well worth the $$$$ to get there. Have a look and some of our blog/pics on
http://www.travelingoz.webs.com you will have to go back a few pages though as we are now in
Kununurra WA !! it is expensive travelling with the kids but worth it - Just the boat ride over is a great experience., we also found Tassie VERY accommodating in relation to free camping - heaps of spots that even have dumps points and drinking water.
Caz
Reply By: jtc.tlc - Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 09:26
Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 09:26
Hi Jazzah,
Our family took our camper trailer on the ferry in 2007 for 3 1/2 weeks. Like you we wanted to go during christmas holidays, however, based upon advice of others and peak season cost we chose to go a little bit earlier fom mid November to mid December.
The advantage was reasonably good
weather, minimal crowds etc and the fares for the ferry were cheaper. With two girls we went for the cabin option and our girls thought the trip was great. At the time Tassie Spirit were offering daytime crossings as well which were cheaper again, but did not suit what we wanted.
Otherwise a great place with lots to see and do for the whole family and would our family go back? Yes.
Otherwise hope your trip works out well.