Toyo m/t versus BFG m/t tyres

Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 22:13
ThreadID: 71811 Views:6496 Replies:7 FollowUps:12
Has anyone had much to do with Toyo mud terrains ,they seem to tick most of the boxes but have had not much to do with Toyo ,have had BFG mud terrains ordered for 8 weeks [delivery was 6-8weeks ] and have been told they still are 4 weeks away.Have run BFG all terrains on 60 and 80 series Cruisers with very good results[65000 to 99000 kms] but just want more grip than the Pirelli all terrains that were on the 100 series Cruiser when it was bought a few months ago ,have Bfg m/t on Triton work ute , no problems , but I am having issues with shifting delivery times.
Thanks Mick

Poppa Bear

Reply By: Krakka - Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 06:14

Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 06:14
Have heard first hand they are very tough for cross country work, only downside is in 285/75/16 they are nearly 500 bucks each, I too have some BFG MT on order and also looked at that option.

Krakka
AnswerID: 380651

Reply By: Anthony - Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 09:16

Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 09:16
Another possible alternative, if your looking for mud terrain tread pattern and a tyre that grips well also on wet roads, llok at the Cooper STT. I will get over 50,000kms out of mine (on an 2003 Prado).

I last time I checked thay were about $350 in 245/70-17 size. Don't know if there any supply issues?
AnswerID: 380665

Follow Up By: Member - Tour Boy ( Bundy QLD) - Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 09:49

Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 09:49
I would hope that you get more than 50k out of them.

I have never had less than 100,000km from a set of BFG muds when the pressures are monitored every month and rotated every 10,000km 80-90% bitumen driving.

75, 80 and 105 series cruisers

2010 Isuzu FTS800 Expedition camper
2015 Fortuner
Had 72 cruisers in my time

FollowupID: 648052

Follow Up By: Anthony - Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 10:04

Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 10:04
Hi TB,

I had used BFG AT's for over 10 years. They are a great tyre, and like you say, you get high km's around 90,000kms out of them ... but the BFG AT's were always really bad for stopping quickly on wet roads.

I would rather only get 50,000 to 60,000 out of the Cooper STT's and have a tyre that actually grips well on wet tar, then go with a tyre that lasts for 100,000km and is very poor in the wet.
FollowupID: 648057

Follow Up By: Member - Tour Boy ( Bundy QLD) - Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 10:09

Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 10:09
Grip is directly related to pressure on road as it is off road.

I run 32psi all round generally and with the camper on and loaded up to the hilt 35psi in the front and 38psi in the rear. I don't remember ever having a heart stopping moment in the wet.

Are your pressures over 40psi by any chance?
2015 Fortuner

FollowupID: 648059

Follow Up By: ben_gv3 - Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 11:29

Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 11:29
Not necessarily.

Grip is related to the age of the tyre as well. Rubber tends to harden over time as the oils leach out. Hence tyres get harder as they age. Harder tyres results in less grip.
FollowupID: 648071

Follow Up By: Member - Tour Boy ( Bundy QLD) - Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 11:51

Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 11:51
Sorry I should have been clearer, pressure is one factor not the only factor.
Yes age can be a factor and different tyres have different compounds as so different grip characteristics as well.

My tyres are usually replaced between two and three years, so the age thing doesn't usuall affect mine.
2015 Fortuner

FollowupID: 648076

Reply By: Anthony - Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 12:31

Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 12:31
Hi Mick ...

Separate to the side discussion above on tyre grip affected by tyre age and pressure.

If you’re looking for a tyre that grips well in the wet, then it could be worth your while to look at silica compound tyre, instead of a rubber compound.

I expect that the Cooper STT is not the only brand silica compound tyre out there. You final choice will be influenced by your requirements, … in my case, … not many bands were made in a 245/70-17 tyre, so I went with the STT’s and now I like them … more than the BFG.

Btw, IMHO, STT’s grip better in the wet than BFG’s, … put the same pressure (yes I run 40psi on the tar) and get tyres of the same age … and STT will grip on the wet tar better than BFG’s.

cheers ... Anthony
AnswerID: 380694

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 13:57

Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 13:57
Are you sure STT's are a silica compound? No mention of it on their website.
FollowupID: 648102

Follow Up By: Anthony - Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 15:04

Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 15:04
Hi PG,

The silica compound advice was straight from the man who sold them to me, ... the man at Tyrepower. Tyrepower is a Cooper dealer ... I hope that they are acoss their products.

Also, I believe the STT's and the ST-C tyres use the same compound ... but ... as you say it's not detailed on their website.

I have found a lot of tyre websites a bit limited on the information they provide.
FollowupID: 648113

Follow Up By: Krakka - Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 06:11

Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 06:11
Some of the Bridgestones are silica compound.
Krakka
FollowupID: 648209

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 07:39

Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 07:39
Gday Krakka, theres some very good tyres out there with silica compounds - like Goodyear Silent Armours and MTRs and the Toyos I use on our other cars, but I think Anthony has been told a Porky by the Tyrepower man. I'm not knocking STT (they are certainly better than other Cooper offerings) but I'd be surprised if Cooper's most advertised tyre would have missed pointing out a desirable feature like silica compound.
FollowupID: 648218

Reply By: Bryan (WA) - Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 15:23

Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 15:23
Hi Mick and everyone,
Have you thought about Goodyear Wrangler MTR's?
I have them on my GQ patrol, Ive now done just 70,000 kms on them and they still have plenty of tread left.
They are fantsic in the mud and offraod and are good on wet Bitumen.
I was on their website last week and the new ones just released now have kevlar in them making them stronger and more resistant to punctuing (at least they say it does) :-)
I will be putting these new ones on march/april next year before we go up north in the middle of the year. I will be close to 80,000KM by then on the tyres.

Bryan
AnswerID: 380714

Reply By: StormyKnight - Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 18:56

Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 18:56
Are we talking BFG MTs or BFG MT2's here.....

I thought the latter has now replaced the former?

My MT's have now done 85,000km & still have a bit to go - very happy with them, just hoping the MT2's last as long & do a little better in the wet.

90 series Prado - 265/75R16s (99% bitumen - unfortunately...)
AnswerID: 380734

Reply By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 19:02

Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 19:02
Mick,

I have used both Coopers and BFG's for years. Have currently been running a mixture of Cooper ST's and Dick Cepek FC2's. I have just done a couple of months through some of the roughest off road desert terrain you could imagine in my heavily loaded Pootrol. Couple I was travelling with had the 80 towing an Ultimate running the Toyo Open Country M/T (33"). They are a magnificent tyre. He got one bad stake to my 12 travelling in the same country. (All covered in my blog entries from June this year) The construction of the M/T IMHO is far superior to BFG or Cooper. You can pick it up in the sidewall toughness and shape. The guy is a member on this site (currently travelling though - Lucky B!) so should be able to give you a better wrap than I. I was going for the STT on the new Toyota when it arrives. I'll now be going to the Toyo. Hang the expense, they're worth it.

AnswerID: 380736

Reply By: Member - mick C (NSW) - Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 21:24

Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 21:24
Tyre Size 265/75R16 ,also have spare set of rims for the new tyres
StormyKnight BFG'S are MT2 are the go now Cost $345
Antyony re STT'S No warranty my Cooper dealer claims Cost $335
Bryan how noisy are MTR'S
Mick Toyo's seem pretty tough Cost $390
Tyre use will be mainly on dirt /mud/gravel during winter and on trips with or without the caravan , and put Pirelli Scorpion's AT'S back on over summer[quiet tyre but no good in mud ]
Thanks to all and sundry for your opinions
Mick
Poppa Bear

AnswerID: 380762

Follow Up By: Bryan (WA) - Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 22:22

Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 22:22
Hi Mick,
the MTRs when new and for the first 50% of wear are dead quite, I was very impressed. i found form 50% wear they slowly get noisier. Im at approx 25-30% tread left and they are typical MT noise levels. I also now get the vibration of the lugs at low speeds (sub 50kmh), to overcome this I rotate them sideways so they wear the lugs/tyre the opposite direction - lug feeling disappears again untill it wears in that direction.. not sure if this is normal with MT's or not.
I run the tyres at approx 37psi around town front and rear.
When i bought the MTR's the goodyear tyre place had one cut open so you could see the side wall - they are very impressively thick but flexible. and the main thing is the bottom ply come up the side wall a where the tyre typically bulges to help protect from stakes.
Bryan
FollowupID: 648176

Follow Up By: StormyKnight - Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 19:37

Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 19:37
Do you mind Mick if I ask where you can get the MT2's for that price, I was quoted $405 each for 265/75R16s....
FollowupID: 648295

Follow Up By: Member - mick C (NSW) - Saturday, Aug 29, 2009 at 10:29

Saturday, Aug 29, 2009 at 10:29
Hi StormyKnight
Prices are from two dealers in my hometown for all brands , Maybe they are looking after me because I purchase a number of tyres each year , but over $400 I reckon you should shop around a bit
Mick
Poppa Bear

FollowupID: 648346