80 series vs 100 series

Submitted: Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 21:20
ThreadID: 71832 Views:20006 Replies:7 FollowUps:26
Hi all, Am looking for an 80 series turbo diesel, auto, at the moment but alot of people i speak to are telling me to buy a 100 series because of the value for money. I prefer the look of the 80 series but other than that i dont really mind either way. Any info or input is greatly appreciated.
Lyndsey

Reply By: Wayne's 60 - Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 22:09

Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 22:09
Nath'n'Lynz,

The late model 80 TDs hold their value VERY well ............ getting a manual is like finding chook teeth in rocking hourse droppings .. lol..........
Would depend on the drive train of the 100 ....... front beam or IFS??

IMO ............... take the 80 over the 100 ............... and I like the look of my 80 ........... yep .............. an up grade from our 60.

Wayne & Sally.
AnswerID: 380769

Follow Up By: Nath'n'Lynz - Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 22:19

Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 22:19
Yes they are very hard to find! We Have been looking for around three months, plenty over east but not to many here in the west.
Thanks for the reply. Lyndsey
FollowupID: 648174

Follow Up By: Wayne's 60 - Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 22:34

Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 22:34
Hi Lyndsey,

the best advice I can offer ................... is to take the time and keep looking ......... sorry that it is no more constructive than that presented.

You will find the vehicle you want in time ....................

All the best with your search.

Wayne & Sally.

PS .................. I'd still take a late 80 over a early 100.

W&S.

FollowupID: 648178

Follow Up By: Nath'n'Lynz - Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 22:51

Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 22:51
Hmmnn, you wouldn't read about it!!! Just found two turbo D, Auto, in QLD, on tradingpost.com Both want around 20k mark!
FollowupID: 648184

Reply By: The Lobster - Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 22:30

Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 22:30
There are some pretty major differences. Probably most importantly for 4x4ing is that all 100 series factory TDs have IFS front ends. All 80s are live axles which allow more articulation, lift kits are more common and simpler, and tend to be stronger off road. The IFS setups have been known to crack from stress in 4x4ing situations, but this can be rectified by strengthening the lower arms.

Whichever way you go you will be paying top dollar for a factory TD. A decent TD 80 (I would stick to the updated post '95 multivalve models) will probably start at around $20k. I doubt you'll get a TD 100 for less than $35k. Also be aware that good multivalve 80s are often hard to come by. There only ever seem to be a handful for sale around the country at any given time.

The engines are also slightly different. The 1991-1994 80s had the 1HD-T engine which is a single valve turbo. From '95 to the last of the 80s in '98 they had the 1HD-FT multivalve engine. The 100s got the 1HD-FTE which included electronic injection. The EFI has it benefits but it also makes the engine more complex. More that can go wrong? Dunno.

At the end of the day it probably comes down to your budget, and what you will mostly be using the vehicle for. If you're going to be doing a lot of highway driving or towing then the 100 will probably give you a nicer ride. But if you're planning on doing some off-roading or customising the suspension then the live axle 80 is probably a better choice.

One last thing and I'll stop rambling. Make sure you check the engine code on the compliance plate of any TD that you look at. Quite a few people put aftermarket turbos on the naturally aspirated 1HZ diesels. These are inferior to the factory TDs for a few reasons and are definitely not worth anywhere near the money. I would avoid the aftermarket turbo 1HZs as you don't know how much boost the previous owner(s) have been jamming through it, you don't know the quality of the turbo itself, or the install job, and 1HZs were never designed to run with turbos (indirect injection). Many people run them without problems, but I would avoid them.

Hope that helps.

matt
AnswerID: 380771

Follow Up By: Nath'n'Lynz - Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 22:47

Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 22:47
Thanks for that matt, didnt know about the after market turbo's, we were thinking of putting one on if we couldnt find one with one already fitted. So thats really good to know. Were hoping to find a 96 or 97 model, as for on and off road, will be bit of both. Hopefully if we find one good enough will be heading to cape york in it next year, instead of the Mazda bravo. I know there rare but i guess it will be worth the wait.
Lyndsey
FollowupID: 648182

Follow Up By: kevanancy - Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 23:05

Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 23:05
I have a 93 model with the 1hz , also aftermarket turbo and intercooler , had 170k on it when I got it and went like the clappers . At 224k it cracked a piston . Turbo boost had been set too high . $9700 for rebuild including new head and I think $1400 for new turbo core (fitted) . Now it doesn't go quite as hard but it hopefully will last this time . It is a very capable 4x4 which quite often drives through places where my friends with later model 4x4s cannot . If I had my time over I would take it to a turbo specialist straight from the caryard . Might of saved a lot of money if I had done that .
FollowupID: 648189

Follow Up By: Big Woody - Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 23:46

Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 23:46
Yeh my 1HZ melted pistons at 300K. I replaced the motor but did not refit the turbo. My brother's 1HZ without a turbo had clocked 700K when he sold it and it was still going strong after years of abuse. He is not easy on his cars.

No more aftermarket turbo's for me but I would look at a factory turbo's. These motors have been designed with the turbo in mind and is less likely to fail prematurely.

Good luck with finding the right vehicle.

BW
FollowupID: 648203

Follow Up By: Nath'n'Lynz - Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 23:52

Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 23:52
Sounds like i have to find a factory fitted turbo, glad i asked!!!
Thanks for all the info!
Lyndsey
FollowupID: 648205

Follow Up By: Benno77 - Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 20:11

Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 20:11
My work vehicle is a base model 100 series with live axles and a N/A diesle. It has a 2 inch upgrade and I travel some pretty nasty powerline easments in it and can tell you that the axle articulation is pretty good but the power isn't its best point nor is the fuel econemy. Its a comfy ride even with the lift and it still handles pretty good on road. I also know that there are a heap of these things going through government auctions at the moment because most of them are reaching aroun the 100,000 to 130,000 killomenter mark which is when they tend to get rid of them. Youl get them dirt cheap most of the time and most of them will be well serviced. It would be good if you can get the history because they don't always have the easiest of lives but some of them never even see a dirt road. If you want a turbo fitted take it to a reputible specialist and get them to set one up properly.
FollowupID: 648299

Reply By: Member - Stuart P (WA) - Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 23:10

Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 23:10
mine at 330000k's is for sale ay 16000 i live in the west near perth
AnswerID: 380775

Follow Up By: Nath'n'Lynz - Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 23:16

Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 23:16
Hey there, what sort if nic is it in??? Is it Auto and turbo diesel???
Lyndsey
FollowupID: 648190

Follow Up By: Member - Stuart P (WA) - Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 08:20

Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 08:20
if i were not so technically challenged with getting photos from camera to computer it would be in the trader its in good nick and is auto and t/d (factory)
FollowupID: 648230

Follow Up By: Nath'n'Lynz - Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 14:42

Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 14:42
Hi there Auto Sparky, dont worry about being technically challenged! we all have our vices, can you email me your phone number and i will give you a call?
Lyndsey lynz05@bigpond.com
FollowupID: 648264

Reply By: drs@omninet - Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 23:39

Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 23:39
Hi, I purchased (3 years ago) a 105 series GLX, live axle and 1HZ non turbo engine with 80,000k on the clock. Fitted a Turbotec turbo along with a EGT gauge, mandrel bent exhaust and have had a excellent run.
Pulls like a bull in spring time. Has travelled all around Australia's outback pulling a loaded 1.5 tonne off-road trailer. Travelled the NW, Great Central Road, Tanami, Gibb River, Talawana Track plus many other rough tracks. Its a cheaper option than a factory turbo, performs just as well and gives you the live axle. Only essential tip; Keep the EGT below 550 Deg C max and if possible
for economy below 500 deg c.
Doug.
AnswerID: 380779

Follow Up By: The Lobster - Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 08:37

Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 08:37
Yes, a lot of people do have good experiences with 1HZ turbos, but as has been outlined above, others don't have such good experiences. If you are hell-bent on turboing a 1HZ I believe you need to spend the money for a good quality turbo kit, an experienced person to fit it, keep the boost low, and fit an intercooler. I think if you do it right and don't try to skimp on $ you'll have a better chance of minimising problems down the track. But, if you're going to spend the money to properly turbo a 1HZ, you're probably going to be pretty close to the cost of a factory TD anyway.

Like I said earlier, I would never consider buying a 1HZ that already had a turbo fitted. You just don't know the quality of the work or the components, or how high the boost has been. For that reason you'll find that turbo 1HZs don't hold their value like stock landcruisers, whether they be stock 1HZs or factory TDs. At the end of the day the big (and only) draw card of the 1HZ engine s it's reliability. If you compromise that by bolting on a turbo, their value drops.

Anyway, that's my opinion. I'll stop banging on about it.

Good luck in your search.

matt
FollowupID: 648233

Reply By: Flywest - Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 03:26

Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 03:26
Eldest son now has my 1992 80 series Manual Turbo Diesel - with about 330,000 km's.

He won't sell it - loves it too much!

Even if he did - no one would pay what its worth.

People mention prices for them of around, 15 or 20K...and you can buy early 80 series for low $

BUT

They are never low KM Factory Turbo Manuals, because as others have said, they are rare as hens teeth.

I remember paying 26k for mine in about 2005.
I know we have spent probably another $20K on it since then.
We would NOT sell it for less than $40K if he was planning to upgrade.
Thats what it would cost anyone else to spec it up to the same condition.

People just laugh and say "I can buy a 100 series TD cruiser" for that kinda money!

Yes you can and I would encourage you to do so,

Still won't be half the vehicle the ol 80 series is.

He has a huge list of the accessories etc fitted to it and none of them are cheap to go buy to make the vehicle into what you want it to be.

Some idea

Long Ranger 175 diesel sub tank at the rear. ~$1200
116 liter LPG tank in the rear compartment &
Diesel Gas Australia conversion ~ $4300
4 spotlights ~ $1000
Alloy Bar scrub bars and side steps ~ $1500
Dual Rear Wheel Carrier ~ $2500
6 Original Lancruiser Chrome wheels ~ $500
Dual Battery Setup ~ $500
Waeco Fridge ~ $1300
Ezi Trak GPS Tracking & disable alarm ~ $1300
Navman Marine VHF Radio ~ $350
Hi Fi System ~ $1000
GPS Nav System ~$500
ARB Compressor on board ~$500
Sat Phone ~ $1500

Theres $17950 in accessories alone allowing nothing for the vehicle - its rarity in that particular configuration.

Its due to get:-

A 3 inch stainless exhaust
Safari Air to Air intercooler
Diff Locks front & back
Fridge console

etc as time progresses and we keep working on her.

You can see that those who have these vehicles, keep them, basically - hand em on in the family etc.

Thats becaiuse we have more invested in them than anyone is willing to pay to buy them off us.

Sure - theres zillions of beat upol 80 series in the car yards - I've looked - but NOT ones in nice nick with all the fruit and the factory turbo diesel manual.
They will be autos or high mileage and beat up - no accessories etc, any number of them and most folks console themselves with one of those because they can't find any of the unique TD Manuals with all the gear for the right price that they can afford.

The vehicles are out there all right - but unless your willing to spend 40K or so - you'll end up with a stock 100 series or something and then go spend another 20 odd grand making them into what you originally wanted.

Wen the engine in this one eventually wears out - we intend to have sourced a multivalve 100 series 1HD - FTE, which we will fully rebuild and have ready to convert into the vehicle with the ele3ctronic controller so we can chip it for a few more HP.

With the about 150 HP of the stock Factory 1HD-T engine, the extra 30 HP of the diesel gas injection system, another 20 or so HP from the larger exhaust and Air to Air intercooler, and maybe another 20 or 30 HO from a chip - I reckon I can get the Cruiser engine weighing a lot less than a chevy 6.5 as per Brunswick diesels supply, putting out about 230 HP - embarrassing the Chev for both power and fuel economy and remaining with a Toyota product we can get spares for etc..

Probably re - spray the body when we do the engine - for a new lease of life.

That's why they aren't on the market - they were probably the very best Cruiser ever built & their owners love them and hang onto them.

If you want one best have deep pockets if you expect anyone to part with one.

Or

Buy a 100 series or a auto etc..

That's just how it is with the good ones.

Lots of people will tell you everything that wrong with the early 80 series as a reason why you should be able to buy one cheap. I'll give you the tip - they don't own one themselves and anyone who does won't let it go for a song.

When I paid $26 for ours back in 2005 with 180 ooo km's everyone I know said I was mad & paid waaay too much - but none of them own one and I do.

Thats coz I jumped on it same day and paid everything the seller asked without question.

That or drive one of the also rans.

Cheers & good luck in your hunt.
AnswerID: 380782

Follow Up By: Flywest - Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 03:31

Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 03:31
Always forget something, I left out the:

PBR vacuum break away breaks, ~ $1200

and

Hayman Reece Towbar, ~$ 500

High Lift springs and new double acting shocks in the rear....~$500

Make that $20,150 so far on accessories alone.

$20 for the car, due to its rarity factor,and it's not hard to see where $40 K goes!

More Cheers.
FollowupID: 648208

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 11:27

Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 11:27
Very impressive but why a Marine radio Does it float?????

FollowupID: 648251

Follow Up By: sjp - Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 13:50

Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 13:50
i used to have a 91 with 350k on the clock,but a $5 part caused mine to warp the head on the motor,so after putting all those goodies on i hope your keeping an eye on the basic stuff because iam afraid "age does weary them"
oh the part -the heater hose near the firewall !!!
FollowupID: 648261

Follow Up By: Flywest - Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 14:02

Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 14:02
[quote]why a Marine radio Does it float?????[/quote]

Also have a trailerable charter boat - so can talk from inside the cabin on the boat to the driver of the vehicle reversing the trailer into the water for me to drive the boat onto.

Can tell him or her - how much deeper or shallower to park the trailer for ideal drive on conditions, where to meet me when I'm coming back to shore (which marina or ramp etc, and when I'll be there).

With two cabs between us (That of the boat which is an enclosed pilot house style, and the enclosed cab of the 80- series) it makes communication possible without each sticking our respective heads out the window and shouting at each other over the sound of wind and 3 engines running.

Recovery is easy when everythings just right - but with a few tonnes of boat not so when currents swell and wind get involved - then everything has to be lined up just right for me to drive on to the trailer.

Failing drive on recovery, it's back to the old 'all hands in the water' in the water to hold the boat while we winch it up the trailer with the electric winch - & that soon gets old quickly!

The number of boating people who see me drive 28 odd foot of boat with twin engines up onto the trailer, in one go - hold it there with engine revs & hook the cable up to the winch post, and the vehicle drive out in under 1 or 2 minutes, who come up and express their amazement at the ability to do that - is astounding.

When it all goes wrong, and it's all hands in the water to try and hold 3 tonnes of boat in a howling breeze, cross current & swell etc while we winch it on - well that's a different story - people watching ask me - "was it really worth all that trouble just to go fishing?", and on a bad day the answer would honestly be no.

The two marine radios between vehicle and boat all just make it that much smoother quieter and easier - good communications helps a lot!

A more cynical person would say it lets my recovery driver scope out ahead of time & tell me by coded communications - where the Fisheries Inspectors will be waiting, so that I can change course & make landfall somewhere else! ;o)

But I'm not like that - purely for trailering purposes is my story, and I'm stickin to it!! LOL

FollowupID: 648262

Follow Up By: The Lobster - Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 23:51

Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 23:51
Would have thought it would be far easier and cheaper to get a cheap hand held uhf and leave it in the boat cabin... But whatever floats your boat.

No pun intended ;-)

matt
FollowupID: 648326

Follow Up By: Flywest - Saturday, Aug 29, 2009 at 15:10

Saturday, Aug 29, 2009 at 15:10
Hi Matt,

Back when the Navman marine VHF was installed to the 80 series, we lived on an Island off the Pilbara coast, where we managed a pearl farm and charter fishing resort.

7 meter tides twice a day meant that simple things like "going to town to shop" are 2 or 3 day marathons of boat and 4wd transport from the Island to Balla Balla by boat - Balla Balla to Whim Creek By Motorbike, Whim Creek to Karratha and back by 4wd etc etc, and same for return trip.

The Lodge has a long whip aerial on the roof with VHF Base station thats monitored 24/7 and reaches as far as Dampier and Port Hedland.

My Family (2 lads and daughter) were my 'employees' and so staying in touch with them no matter where they were, becomes paramount, for safety and OHS reasons not to mention the worries of a parent for his offspring.

The VHF covers all bases - no matter where they were, they could get in touch with me.

It wasn't uncommon to have to have to sail back to the Island at night because of the tides in totally uncharted water with no navigational marks - i.e. entirely by "local knowledge" - i.e knowing where you are, whether a new (no) moon night or not purely because of the tidal restrictions.

VHF's in all our boats and vehicles - just meant that when things went astray from the agreed plan (as the often did) we could be in touch.

Several times the lads would grind to a halt on a sandbank in the dark due to an exceptionally low spring tide and have to sit it out for 8 hours until the tide came back.

Without communications - one would have had to start a search and rescue - but with the VHF a simple call would put the situation into perspective.

The road from Balla Balla to whim Creek (28km's of gravel), has no houses etc so again with the 4wd any problems (flat tyres etc) could lead to lengthy delays - missing a tide shift for the boat and hence long periods where no one would know where the boys were, and resultant calls to the Roebourne or karratha police for a search, before we put the VHF into the 4wd!

It was the best thing we did.

With boats and 4wds being our "business" - it only makes sense to be able to communicate between them.

Many 4wds in convoy use 2 way radios to "stay in touch" so all members of the group know what each other are doing - so it is with our business where boats and 4wd's need to meet up for recovery onto trailer or launching etc.

We would be "co-ordinating / collecting clients / guests" from the airport in Karratha for example - who had travelled 45 hours straight from Florida in the USA to come stay and fish with us at the island resort. When you take into account the 7 meter tides and their effect on transport by boat to the island etc - the vagaries of air transport delays, missing baggage and so on, the ability to stay in touch via the VHF in the 4WD was indispensable.

Because of the range of the base station on the island and the line of soight across water, direct radio from Island to 4wd at Karratha airport was possible.

It wasn't uncommon to send the lads and 4wd to collect passengers sometimes 2 days ahead of when the plane arrived, in order to fit in with the tides to get to the airport - and then to fit in with the passengers air timetable & the tides to be able to get back to the island - and this sometimes involved overnight stays in the beachfront house at Pt Samson, from whence you could see the lights of the lodge on the Island 35Nmiles away at night and from which comms by radio were a piece of cake.

When you live on an island and shopping is once a fortnight or once a month - the convenmience to be able to call the lads on the radio - while they were in the Karratha Light Industrial area and have them collect a required plumbing part or spares for the fresh water deslainator - parts ofr the generators etc was a godsend.

People in citys take everything for granted - when you have to rely TOTALLY on yourselves for EVERYTHING including water and power and theres no shop just down the road for anything you need - you have to take advantage of those rare trips to the mainland and shops.

Nuthing worse than - the lads left yesterday and today something breaks down - they are in karratha and could have grabbed the required part to fix it - BUT you can't get in touch with them...to collect it and bring it back.

The Marine VHF and our base station on the Island fixed that!

We had mobile phones as well of course - but until the advent of the Next G network our mobiles were useless say on the Whim Creek road - no coverage at all.

The VHF was the best thing we ever put into the 4wd, because of our business and circumstance at the time.

They are not for everyone - specially people without boats - but while out at the island our boas were like your car a convenient means of transport, we had about 6 (boats) and 2 x 4wd's and motorbike etc.

We always had to have some means of communication and between:

VHF system
Next G Mobile
Sat Phone
Sat Internet

We were pretty much always able to be in touch with our staff and paying guests, no matter where in their journeys they were.

The north west marine environment (pearl farm) is a very dangerous, remote, place to live and work - with large tides and cyclones etc - crocks sharks and so on just a normal days usual range of risks to be faced and dealt with.

Communications are critical to dsafety - I could have a medivac chopper on deck at the island within 15 minutes of a call.

But if you don't know there's an emergency due to poor communications - then, you can't really help anyone.

When the people who's lives are at risk are your own kids and also paying clients to whom you have a legislated duty of care, you start to take all these things very seriously.

To me communications was a premium thing, the two boys would swim the pearl lines once aday every day. Given the tides and strong currents - sharks irrucanji jelly fish crocks etc etc, the risks were really high and communications the difference between life and death.

Siting back in suburbia in the armchair comfort of a modern home, with power and water laid on its hard to appreciate what others in the real world might need in the way of good communications and then it;s just as hard to communicate that without 10,000 words to make it understood in it;sproper context.

Of course we had hand held uhf radios - two or 3 sets, becvause we also had pealring barges anchored out in the bay in front of theisland where the boys would have to work cleaning pearl shell etc, we had dinghys that everyone would use every day and so on.

Maybe that gives some idea of why we would have marine VHF's in our boats abut also our 4wd's. Not a lot of use in the city - but for us - an everyday item just like the phone.

Just another every day hazard

For us - this was home for a year.

When your on your own - you can't rely on anyone else to save your bacon if / when things go wrong, and thus communications become paramount. What is normal daily routine doesn't make any sense to city dwellers.

Hopefully this will give you some idea why we have a marine VHF in the 4WD when to many others it would make little or no sense.

FollowupID: 648391

Follow Up By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Saturday, Aug 29, 2009 at 22:12

Saturday, Aug 29, 2009 at 22:12
Same Flywest, 92 TD bought 05 for $23k. Since then Spent a bucket load on after market goodies and a rebuild last Feb. Just a couple of cosmetic things to do. Would like a nice flash car that has all the flash things but then i wouldn't be able to fix things my self. I get it serviced every 5000k or there abouts. Hope it lasts me for a long time yet. Money in my back pocket to spend on having a look around is more appealing.
FollowupID: 648455

Follow Up By: The Lobster - Saturday, Aug 29, 2009 at 22:18

Saturday, Aug 29, 2009 at 22:18
That's a very interesting story and must have been a very exciting time for you. I bet you have many great yarns from that time. Definitely a fair justification for having a VHF in your vehicle. But why didn't you say so the first time when Graham H asked about the VHF?

Anyway, like I said, must have been an awesome time, thanks for sharing, and some great pics there. I can only imagine some of the adventures. Once in a lifetime experience eh?

matt

FollowupID: 648456

Reply By: Krakka - Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 06:09

Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 06:09
Hope your insurance covers "rarity", haven't seen it in my policy!

Krakka
AnswerID: 380786

Follow Up By: Flywest - Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 14:22

Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 14:22
[quote]Hope your insurance covers "rarity", haven't seen it in my policy![/quote]

Krakka, it does!

You didn't see it listed on the list?

"Ezi Trak GPS GSM Tracking remote disable alarm system" ~ $1300.

Apart from the agreed value insurance policy it also has the above alarm system installed, with a few "special peripherals" (like volumetric microwave sensor) added.

It rings up and tells me if anyone's tampering with the vehicle, if any doors or windows are opened, if anyone is inside the vehicle, if anyone tries to start the vehicle, if it moves (i,e drives or is towed) it tells me where it is going, what dorection and speed and what lat and long on a moving map on my laptop...i.e I can track it real time.

If the engines running I can disable it from my mobile phone, but usually not till I've called the police and they are following it - that way they get the thieves red handed.

It has a "black box" like an aeroplane, that records the location distance and speed that its traveling at, at any given time and date, which is tamper proof and admissable in a court of law - to compare aganst any speeding fines issued for example.

[quote]
URGENT PRESS RELEASE
AUSSIE MADE GPS DEVICE BEATS NSW POLICE

* Sydney driver Michael Simotas was charged with speeding by police officers using a handheld radar, allegedly doing 85 km/hr in a 60 km/hr zone.
* But Michael had a secret weapon in his car ? an EziTrak? GPS Security and Tracking System. Michael was able to download the black box from his EziTrak? unit which provided accurate, tamper-free data of the vehicle's traveling speed, position and direction.Through this data, Michael was able to prove that his vehicle briefly touched 61 km/hr at the time he was charged but was mostly traveling at 57 km/hr.
* During the subsequent case and appeal, a GPS expert gave corroborating evidence and attested to the accuracy of GPS and the inability to tamper with the data. This is the first case in NSW where GPS data has been admissible in evidence to contest the accuracy of police radar.
* So what is EziTrak?? EziTrak? is a security & tracking system which gives car and vehicle owners personalised, self-monitoring with no ongoing back-to-base fees. EziTrak? utilises GPS and GSM technology to give the owner instant tampering notification, control, tracking and emergency alert information over the phone.
* EziTrak? has an internal Black Box Recorder logging speed, position, time and date from 1 to 255 hours. This information can be downloaded to a PC and then played back on a moving map display. The data is accurate and cannot be tampered with.
* EziTrak? was designed by Sydney based company Rojone Pty Ltd. EziTrak? is manufactured in Australia and is sold throughout the country as well as being exported to the UK, USA and many other countries.
[/quote]

Source: http://www.ezitrak.com.au/ (click on the news tabs and scroll down to this one - the others make equally interesting reading)!

Disclaimer - I'm not involved with the company any more, except that I still have a couple of their alarms installed in various big boys toys.

With the comprehensive agreed value insurance & the alarm system I'm reasonably well covered compared to most here, I would say.

Ohh - one of my insurers allows me a substantial rebate on my policy because I have the unit fitted, enough that in effect 0 with the savings the insurer pays for the unit within 5 years in premium discounts alone.

Who wouldn't have one given all those plusses!

Only those who still believe that their insurer will make them whole again and have never lost a vehicle (had it stolen) and who don;t know about the existence of bump keys.

FollowupID: 648263

Follow Up By: Krakka - Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 14:52

Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 14:52
That's all well and good, and it does sound good, But i am guessing insurance isn't going to cough up anything like replacement cost. Just like most on here.

Krakka
FollowupID: 648268

Follow Up By: Flywest - Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 15:56

Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 15:56
"Agreed value" Krakka.

You can get policies now that YOU tell the insurer what your vehicles worth to replace, and IF THEY AGREE, (because you list everything done to it and the values) THEN they charge you a much higher premium to insure the vehicle for that much "the agreed value" between the 2 parties.

If is lost stolen or burnt / written off etc that's what they pay out coz you've paid a higher premium to recover that amount specified.

Normal policys - you are correct pay out "market value" which is no where near what the vehicle will cost to replace BUT the premiums are cheaper.

In my opinion people with 4wd's who travel for the grey nomad thing and have substantive $ invested in after market gizm'os should insure agreed value rather than market value.

Only the other day the son met a fellow with a 80 series Sahara he's wrecking (with a supercharged chev 6.5 V8 conversion in it).

It has all the bells n whistles - including a 6 inch lift!

He was up the north wets and pulled off the road ontop the verge a bit quicker than he should have (estimate about 70 kph) intending to slow up gradually - but it had rained and the red dust turned to slush and he skidded and rolled her into an embankment on a cutting thru a hill collapsing both A pillars.

Trucked it to nearbye town, insurance assessor wrote it off and he only got market value for it (plus he was allowed to keep the wreck).

Now he's busy trying to sell everything out of it to recoup some of his subsantive costs in the engine upgrade and all the goodies - suspension lift etc.

Eldest son has his locking diffs in mind.

Someone looking for a cheap Chev conversion could probably do well out of the engine and gear box etc.

Its only the roof damaged - a real pity because the rest of the vehicle was a peach.

Owner says on reflection - the lift kit suspension was probably partly at fault - reckons it fell on its roof a lot easier than it should have.

Classic example of a rare and valuable vehicle insured for only market value and a substantive loss and headache to the owner trying to wreck it himself to recover extra $ that it owes him above market value.

My ol mum in her late 70's bought a new Toyota corolla years ago (1993 I think) so 16 years old now.

Its just turned over 70,000 km's - in that 16 years and still looks like new -- garaged all it's life she averages about 4300 km's / year.

She was alseep in her armchair alone one night, when some of our cullacabardee cousins broke into her house and took her jewelery etc and handbag containing the keys to the car - pushed it quietly out the driveway & locked gates while she slept, and took off in it.

She was only insured for market value - a old but near new (unused) car!

RAC wanted to pay out about 3 grand on it - but it would cost over 20K to replace it!

Luckily for ol mum - the day they were to pay out after a 6 weeks wait - the police had it reported by people sick of it parked (abandoned) in their street verge.

Recovered it with zero damage at all - keys left in it, but almost outta fuel.

So - she now has it insured for agreed value to cover replacement cost should the worst happen again - having learned her lesson the hard way.

Maybe for normal 20,000 km's + a year usage, market value is OK for insurance but anything outside the norm, like low mileage or rare hard to find cars or substantially modified, - you might be better served with an Agreed Value policy in my opinion.

FollowupID: 648272

Follow Up By: Member - Mark E (VIC) - Saturday, Aug 29, 2009 at 10:24

Saturday, Aug 29, 2009 at 10:24
Flywest,

Just a bit of a ramble from me on the topic.

I agree with just about everything you say about the 80 series. I went through this dilemma a few years ago when I wanted to replace the Disco with something a little less 'quirky'.

When I looked around at the 80 series, manual TD with the FT engine, I could not find one with reasonable km on the clock. They were all 200k plus and very expensive. Some had a few accessories.

I drove a few and really liked them, but at those k's they were mostly getting a little rattly, in areas such as dashboards, doors, lock, interior panels etc.

Whilst I understand that mechanical things can be rebuilt almost forever, such as engines, gearboxes, diffs and the like, I felt there were too many other 'little' things in the car that would be worn as well and I also felt that the ongoing expense of keeping the car going over time wouldn't be worth it for peace of mind. I was prepared to pay about $30 k at the time and more on bolt-ons for touring and ended up with a 2002 pov pack 105 series with BB, winch, TB, dual batts and cargo barrier and have been generally happy with the choice. It was like a new car when I got it. Since then I have put a fair bit of 'stuff' into it. I doesn't rattle and hasn't cost me a cent in repairs, just normal maintenance. So far so good.

That being said, there are times that I have cursed the lack of grunt from the 1HZzzz and have seriously considered bolting a turbo on to her, but as you say, the cost to do it properly is prohibitive....I factor for about $9k. Then there is the issue of whether the gearbox would handle the extra performance, particularly towing.

The other issue I have is that I'm a bit keen on my radios, especially the HF and the newer TD's are all computer controlled and most interfere with the HF in some way or another.

So for me it was always going to be a compromise and when this one is due for replacement, I'll be in the same position again. I would love to have the $$ to but a 97 80 series multivalve and rebuild it from top to bottom with genuine parts, but I wouldn't even bother to think how much that may cost.....?

Enjoy your 80.

FollowupID: 648345

Follow Up By: Member - Mark E (VIC) - Saturday, Aug 29, 2009 at 10:32

Saturday, Aug 29, 2009 at 10:32
One other thing........ the IFS front end on the LC can be made to work quite well. Have a look at these pics..........

So anyone who says the IFS is hopeless hasn't really explored the aftermarket industry. It can be made strong, but whether it is as reliable as the RFS is unknown....

Just food for thought........

FollowupID: 648347

Reply By: Flywest - Saturday, Aug 29, 2009 at 15:56

Saturday, Aug 29, 2009 at 15:56
If I were to have to replace the F 250 these days, either a late 100 series TD 4.2 OR a new 200 series would be the two contenders.

Simply because trying to find a peach 1997 80 series 1HD-FT in manual would be nigh impossible.

I'm not against the 100 series at all - IFS or not.

My only concern with the 200 series is it is the first of the new models, and I reckon they always get better as short comings in the very first model is improved in subsequent models.

AnswerID: 380954

Follow Up By: The Lobster - Saturday, Aug 29, 2009 at 22:32

Saturday, Aug 29, 2009 at 22:32
Personally I'd be more inclined to get a new 76 series wagon rather than a 200. A few reasons for this. Firstly, the twin turbos on the 200 seem a bit of overkill to me. The single turbo on the 70 series is more than enough IMHO. The 76s have live axle front end. They're cheaper and they're not as massive as 200s.

You're right about teething problems with the new Toyota V8 diesel. It's seems that quite a few are having oil consumption issues. Don't know if it has been rectified yet or not.

matt
FollowupID: 648460