Blood on the bonnet

Submitted: Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 22:31
ThreadID: 71854 Views:3854 Replies:19 FollowUps:25
So anyway, I was driving to the airport last Sunday and driving around a corner I happened on two ducks on the road, obviously absorbed in their nighttime quackers, they took took late and bang bang, got them both. Now I thought nothing of it but was informed by phone later that day by SWMBO that one had left some grisly calling card on the bonnet.

Being the ever present one I asked kindly for her to remove the red stuff from the bonnet. Busy is as busy does, it slipped her mind and tonight I see its still there and tried watering it down and soaking it with a sponge, but its still a BIG smear of grisy red blood on the bonnet.

Anyone had this happen and had success in removing said stain? Its tomorrows job...... what should I try?

Reply By: qubert - Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 22:38

Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 22:38
um. it happens all the time in the bush............or you never been there?
AnswerID: 380890

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 22:39

Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 22:39
once or twice, have been to the bush qubert, was this a question I temporally asked?

FollowupID: 648316

Reply By: qubert - Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 22:43

Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 22:43
um....just wash it . yep. with water. maybe
AnswerID: 380891

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 22:43

Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 22:43
i tried water and also truck wash and still have the stain, maybe

FollowupID: 648318

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Saturday, Aug 29, 2009 at 10:43

Saturday, Aug 29, 2009 at 10:43
Truck Wash wont work...you need Duck Wash :)

FollowupID: 648350

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Aug 29, 2009 at 10:46

Saturday, Aug 29, 2009 at 10:46
you're right, I tried the truck wash and its not all its quacked up to be

FollowupID: 648352

Follow Up By: ob - Saturday, Aug 29, 2009 at 13:21

Saturday, Aug 29, 2009 at 13:21
Didn't leave a "fowl" smell as well lol
FollowupID: 648376

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 09:45

Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 09:45
No fowl smell, in effect it was poultry.

FollowupID: 648496

Reply By: qubert - Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 22:47

Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 22:47
no;1 cut. blood soaked into layer of oxidation in paint
AnswerID: 380893

Reply By: Roughasguts - Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 22:55

Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 22:55
Hot water is pretty good, but if it has set,, try some mild bleach.
AnswerID: 380895

Reply By: Member - Allan B (QLD) - Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 23:00

Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 23:00
Chemicals such as hydrogen peroxide can bleach the paint. Try a car body polish.
Won't make it any worse.

Blood being organic will fade with exposure to sunlight given time.

All else fails, try an angle grinder! LOL

AnswerID: 380896

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 23:06

Friday, Aug 28, 2009 at 23:06
I might have to do the whole bonnet if I try that!

FollowupID: 648321

Follow Up By: Mad Cowz (VIC) - Tuesday, Sep 08, 2009 at 17:55

Tuesday, Sep 08, 2009 at 17:55
Besides that you'd take a finger or 2 off too
Carpe Cerevisi

FollowupID: 649940

Reply By: Member - TonBon (NSW) - Saturday, Aug 29, 2009 at 07:35

Saturday, Aug 29, 2009 at 07:35
In some states in the US the highway patrol carry around a couple of 20L drums of Coca Cola (TM) (no affiliation with coke or any of its subsidiary companies etc etc :-) to clean blood off the road after an accident. You might want to try that, you never know.

Tony
AnswerID: 380904

Follow Up By: get outmore - Saturday, Aug 29, 2009 at 08:34

Saturday, Aug 29, 2009 at 08:34
old furphey
-does no one read snopes?
FollowupID: 648332

Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Aug 29, 2009 at 07:45

Saturday, Aug 29, 2009 at 07:45
Try some Blood, Sweat and Beers to get it off ;)

AnswerID: 380905

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Saturday, Aug 29, 2009 at 08:00

Saturday, Aug 29, 2009 at 08:00
G/Day Bonz

Me being a trusting type of fellow I genuinely believe that you hit the Quackers, but some people out there would think, yeah right he's using the old duck excuse, and we hear where a recent arrival to Australia has read this thread and thought here's my chance to make a few dollars, I'll claim insurance, I'll say he ran into me with his vehicle, I can bring more of my family out here and we can all live in luxury, AUSSIE AUSSIE, so if I was you I would leave the Quacker Blood on the bonnet for evidence, and a plus would be that pedestrians would see the blood stain and give you a wide berth, nah I'm just joking mate, use the Coke lol lol lol.

AnswerID: 380906

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Saturday, Aug 29, 2009 at 22:19

Saturday, Aug 29, 2009 at 22:19
What a Imagination!!!....LOL.

Axle.
FollowupID: 648457

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Saturday, Aug 29, 2009 at 08:06

Saturday, Aug 29, 2009 at 08:06
Bonz, I had a similar problem years ago with a Falcon I had that always drove too quickly for birds like magpies. Indeed it seemed that magpie turned itself inside-out over the front with anatomical bits hanging from the wipers and the aerial.

I eventually got it off with a lot of elbow grease. I would have thought that paints and finishes are better now than in the late 60s, even in Fords. Perhaps it is the sugar coating of the jelly bean that absorbs the proteins, I probably used dish washing detergent way back then. I am sure the red smear will change.

Together it sounds like a Ford problem, I changed, you may need to as well. LOL
AnswerID: 380907

Reply By: Member No 1- Saturday, Aug 29, 2009 at 09:34

Saturday, Aug 29, 2009 at 09:34
blood is set by hot water....wonder if the engine heat to bonnet has done the same?

pre wash stuff?
a poultice of some description?......meat tenderizer....wtf
AnswerID: 380917

Follow Up By: Member - Chris G (VIC) - Saturday, Aug 29, 2009 at 09:58

Saturday, Aug 29, 2009 at 09:58
Well well, what a caring community.
NOT A WORD ABOUT THE POOR BLOODY DUCK.
Where's your 'Thoughtfully ' now Bonz?
FollowupID: 648340

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Saturday, Aug 29, 2009 at 10:36

Saturday, Aug 29, 2009 at 10:36
its probably in the pot
FollowupID: 648349

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Aug 29, 2009 at 10:45

Saturday, Aug 29, 2009 at 10:45
well well well I didnt think people looked at that...

The duck is no more, it has expired, it in an ex-duck.

FollowupID: 648351

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, Aug 29, 2009 at 12:00

Saturday, Aug 29, 2009 at 12:00
Was the duck alright??????

Probably a bit tough after that?
FollowupID: 648365

Follow Up By: Brian (Montrose, Vic.) - Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 11:46

Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 11:46
Had the same thing happen the other day.... they just forgot to duck.
FollowupID: 648512

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Aug 29, 2009 at 10:57

Saturday, Aug 29, 2009 at 10:57
Bonz,

Try either one of these.....

A liberal dosing of brake fluid; leave overnight and then see how it is in the morning... ;-))

A good squirt of battery acid...(might want to test on a hidden section of paintwork beforehand, just to make sure it won't have an adverse reaction;-)))

Or ........ you could just duck down to your local quack and see if he could give you some Waddle Solar Guard to paint on the affected area;.... but he might give you a big bill. ;-)
AnswerID: 380927

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Saturday, Aug 29, 2009 at 11:40

Saturday, Aug 29, 2009 at 11:40
Have you been listening to the former member known as Lucy again??

FollowupID: 648356

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Aug 29, 2009 at 11:45

Saturday, Aug 29, 2009 at 11:45
Me thinks Lucy is there with him LOL

FollowupID: 648358

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Aug 29, 2009 at 12:50

Saturday, Aug 29, 2009 at 12:50
No he's not here with me....his SA visa expired and they won't let him past the checkpoints.....

FollowupID: 648373

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Aug 29, 2009 at 13:03

Saturday, Aug 29, 2009 at 13:03
I hear he is trying to get a QLD one for the St G Gathering now LOL

FollowupID: 648374

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 18:38

Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 18:38
He of Lucky fame is not here either, nor was he within coo-ee of the duck incident.

FollowupID: 648558

Reply By: Member - Mike DID - Saturday, Aug 29, 2009 at 11:52

Saturday, Aug 29, 2009 at 11:52
Cloudy Ammonia breaks down animal protein - great for bugs on bonnets and windscreens.

Get it from Coles/Woolies cleaning section.
AnswerID: 380938

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, Aug 29, 2009 at 12:01

Saturday, Aug 29, 2009 at 12:01
Gday Bonz,
Try smearing duck $hit over the blood stain and leaving it for a few weeks.

AnswerID: 380939

Reply By: Member - William H (WA) - Saturday, Aug 29, 2009 at 13:09

Saturday, Aug 29, 2009 at 13:09
Here is a blood stainImage Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be Found on a BMW Z4, and what ever it was that went through the grill,is still there,tucked in all around the motor, not a nice job for the person who had to clean it out
AnswerID: 380943

Follow Up By: warfer69 - Saturday, Aug 29, 2009 at 20:50

Saturday, Aug 29, 2009 at 20:50
**and what ever it was that went through the grill***

Hiya William

It might have been an Ol Duck wearing a fur coat ! lol
FollowupID: 648448

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 18:53

Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 18:53
Well I googled this, one report said it was a kangaroo, hit between Sydney and Melbourne....... Doubt that. The no plates are German, from Frankfurt, and the wipers indicated a Left Hand Drive car, another report says a 140mph hit of a fox.

I think thats more accurate, makes you ask Where the fox at?

FollowupID: 648560

Reply By: The Geriatric Gypsies - Saturday, Aug 29, 2009 at 15:27

Saturday, Aug 29, 2009 at 15:27
goodday bonz
i will try not to drive you quakers with a silly answer what about trying tar and bug remover ??

AnswerID: 380952

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Aug 29, 2009 at 15:32

Saturday, Aug 29, 2009 at 15:32
yes Steve that would work I reckon. Been raining all day here so haven't ventured outside

FollowupID: 648393

Reply By: snow - Saturday, Aug 29, 2009 at 23:36

Saturday, Aug 29, 2009 at 23:36
Yep, tar and bug remover, readily available from Supecheap, repco and the like,

or perhaps try eucalyptus oil or kerosene.
AnswerID: 381032

Reply By: Member -Toonfish - Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 09:54

Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 09:54
Willem hit the nail on the head ,just what i was going to suggest.

similair thing happpened to corinna the other day ,swmbo had a ambulance trip to Melbourne and there was to doves in the front grille of the ambo!
When i asked if he lined them up or had
to chase them down he seemed confused till i showed him what was left he laughed " thats where they went?"
Wonder if they were peace doves ,probably are now .

2013/14 around oz adventure bound

AnswerID: 381063

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 10:00

Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 10:00
Thanx Toonie, looks like a wolf in there to me, nice rig you got too!

FollowupID: 648497

Reply By: Traveller - Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 18:35

Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 18:35
Eucalyptus oil should move it.
AnswerID: 381141

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 18:40

Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 18:40
Well well, SWMBO toddled out today between showers while I WAS HUDDLED in front of the heater and with some concentrated dishwashing detergent took off the offending stain. Then she gloated. All was well until I asked if she cleaned the rest of the car too.

Fish and Chips for tea for some reason.......

AnswerID: 381143

Follow Up By: Mad Cowz (VIC) - Tuesday, Sep 08, 2009 at 17:59

Tuesday, Sep 08, 2009 at 17:59
considering Mrs Bonz is a nurse I thought she'd be used to removing blood and could give you a few pointers
Carpe Cerevisi

FollowupID: 649941