Predictions of when the Murray will next flood and why

Submitted: Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 22:01
ThreadID: 71910 Views:3849 Replies:13 FollowUps:32
Hi all (on a bit of a roll with questions tonight)

Does any one have any scientific, old wives tales, or even weard and wonderful predictions as to when the Murray may next flood?

GN

Reply By: Member - Scoof (SA) - Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 22:05

Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 22:05
2011 just a prediction
AnswerID: 381187

Follow Up By: Member - G N (VIC) - Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 22:09

Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 22:09
Hi Scoof
Any reason or is it a guess?
GN
FollowupID: 648603

Follow Up By: Member - Scoof (SA) - Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 22:15

Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 22:15
I went to seminar about a year ago and it was discussed.
It is just a cycle of dry and wet and over the last 150years give or take 20 or 30yrs because I can't remember exactly but the guru said that the dry spells have been getting longer each time. He said by 2010 - 2011 we should see some improvement in river flow, let hope he is right.
FollowupID: 648605

Follow Up By: Member - G N (VIC) - Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 22:26

Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 22:26
hmmmm
interesting
I looked at the longest gap between floods i could see (although the info was a bit hard to find) and seems the longest between floods has been in last 100 years was 1917 to 1931 = 14 years.
Last flod was 1996 so + 14 = 2010 ??????

GN
FollowupID: 648609

Follow Up By: A J - Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 08:14

Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 08:14
G N (VIC) - was the 1996 flooding of the Murray the result of heavy rain or was it when they decided to release huge volumes of water from Hume Lake as the wall had moved. I think it ran a banker for some six months whilst they let water out as they thought it was going to break.

A J
FollowupID: 648645

Follow Up By: Member - G N (VIC) - Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 08:52

Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 08:52
Hi AJ

I am not sure to be honest?
You may be correct, if so previous flood was 1993, so we were due in 2007, UH OH.

Not sure if this make it sound better or worse?

GN
FollowupID: 648654

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 09:00

Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 09:00
There's bugger all there to let out now.Image Could Not Be Found
FollowupID: 648656

Reply By: Robert HL (SEQ)(aka zuksctr) - Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 22:12

Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 22:12
Looked in to my crystal balls &

came up emty.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

AnswerID: 381189

Reply By: Neil & Pauline - Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 22:23

Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 22:23
My prediction is when it rains a lot it will flood.

N
AnswerID: 381192

Reply By: TerraFirma - Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 22:46

Sunday, Aug 30, 2009 at 22:46
When we have Global Storming..!
AnswerID: 381195

Reply By: Flywest - Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 01:41

Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 01:41
How about - never!

Yes - you need the rain - BUT - you also need to get rid of the massive cotton growing storage's in Qld that stop the water ever getting that far south, even when it does rain, and then you also need to reduce or stop the irrigation licenses pumping the river and resultant ground water table so low - that no amount of rainfall will ever fill it up again.

Simply put Millions of Australians have to die in a pandemic of gargantuan proportions before enough mouths stop eating and drinking - to allow the rainfall to catch up.

Good luck with that!

AnswerID: 381205

Follow Up By: maf - Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 06:37

Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 06:37
Another southerner going off half cocked again. Queensland represents 25% the area of the Murray Darling catchment and only extracts 4% of the irrigation water in the system.
You don't hear anyone bagging the southern irrigators or talking about the huge evaporation losses in menindee lakes.
It is a common misconception that there is massive amounts of irrigation captured in queensland, but we too are in drought.
Maybe people should have a look in their own back yard before going off.
FollowupID: 648633

Follow Up By: Horacehighroller - Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 08:19

Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 08:19
MAF, I take your point , however, (slightly off topc) nothing Victorians do can help put water into the Darling river.

FollowupID: 648646

Follow Up By: Malleerv - Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 08:29

Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 08:29
Queensland may only draw 4% of river irrigation but properties like Cubbie Station harvest runoff water before it even reaches the river in their large dams. This gives them more water that is unregulated so they do not have to draw on the river that is regulated. In an average year Cubbie Station uses 200,000 mega liters of water most of which would not be regulated. They are not the only property that harvest water before it reaches the river but they are the largest.

The whole river is over allocated not just up river but down as well.
I think allocations should be kept below 25% until the river floods again the whole way down....whenever that will be.
FollowupID: 648649

Follow Up By: Dave B ( BHQ NSW) - Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 08:44

Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 08:44
maf, Menindee Lake has been dry for about six years, so there hasn't been much evaporation from there.

'Wouldn't be dead for quids'

FollowupID: 648653

Follow Up By: Madfisher - Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 10:24

Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 10:24
The Darling has only ever contributed 10% of the Murrays flow, most comes from the snow fed mountains. Biggest problem ground is so dry when it does rain their is little run off. Their was recent minor flooding of the Kiewa river in Vic, but it is most likly trapped by a dam somewhere.
FollowupID: 648662

Follow Up By: Mal58 - Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 10:34

Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 10:34
I don't know about when the next flood is going to happen, but there is a great documentary released by the ABC called "Two Men in a Tinnie" that shows the water flows along the Murray Darling.

At the risk of upsetting maf further, I would have to disagree with his comments about QLD on taking a little.
FollowupID: 648664

Follow Up By: Flywest - Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 11:22

Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 11:22
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Personal Attacks Rule .

Forum Moderation Team
FollowupID: 648667

Follow Up By: maf - Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 12:10

Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 12:10
Madfisher, my point exactly. The impact that Qld has on the lower Murray river is quite small- but Queensland gets all the bad press.
Dave, I appreciate that the lakes have been at a low level in recent years, but when they receive a inflow, the amount of evaporation losses makes the QLD Murray Darling irrigation industry look small.
I wasn't going to mention cubbie, but seen as Malleerv brought it up, Cubbie holds 564 000 megs and I'm not sure it has ever been filled to capacity. I know the figures you quote are far from the average annual useage figures, especially for the last 5 or 6 years. I think that all irrigators would be thrilled to get the 25% allocation you mentioned.
Cubbie water is measured as it is mostly diverted out of the Culgoa river and not 'stolen' from the vast inland sea of freshwater that southerners think exists in sw QLD.
FollowupID: 648673

Follow Up By: Gramps - Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 13:10

Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 13:10
LOL In the not too distant past, on a river elsewhere on this planet, a war would have been fought over exactly this issue.

FollowupID: 648681

Follow Up By: Member - G N (VIC) - Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 21:34

Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 21:34
Hi Maf

think you may be wrong about how cubie gets most of its water, its not via diversions thats how they got around the law!
GN
FollowupID: 648786

Follow Up By: Boobook2 - Tuesday, Sep 01, 2009 at 06:59

Tuesday, Sep 01, 2009 at 06:59
Gramps, I think you could also say...

LOL In the not too distant future, on a river elsewhere on this planet, a war will be fought over exactly this issue.

Perhaps the word 'elsewhere' could even be removed.

FollowupID: 648834

Follow Up By: maf - Tuesday, Sep 01, 2009 at 07:12

Tuesday, Sep 01, 2009 at 07:12
Hi GN, not sure how well you know the area but most of their diversions only occur when the rivers run. As for 'getting around the law', Cubbie doesn't do anything else any other irrigator (or landowner) is entitled to do along the river.
Cubbie only developed what the QLD Dept of Resources gave them licences to do so, 20 years ago. Whether that was the correct policy is debatable??
All the licence conditions are public information and the farm now advertised for sale, and cubbie comes under more scrutiny than anyone else, so I doubt there is anything illegal going on.
I think that if it was developed as 5 separate farms with 5 different owners, it wouldn't get a mention in the media. cheers mick.
FollowupID: 648835

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Tuesday, Sep 01, 2009 at 07:37

Tuesday, Sep 01, 2009 at 07:37
Mick,

Will we see you in St George for the Gathering or will you be planting??
As I reckon a few people attending would enjoy learning more about this topic around the campfire.

FollowupID: 648839

Follow Up By: maf - Tuesday, Sep 01, 2009 at 09:19

Tuesday, Sep 01, 2009 at 09:19
Hi Kev, Unfortunately I will be busy planting the last week of september. Hope you guys have a good time at the gathering, cheers mick.
FollowupID: 648850

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Tuesday, Sep 01, 2009 at 09:23

Tuesday, Sep 01, 2009 at 09:23
I thought you may be planting around then as I have had a few issues getting some of the Farmers interested in doing a farm tour due to them planning to be planting around the time of the gathering.

If the bloke who I have lined up falls through I have another lined up who knows the area very well but is no longer hands on with the everyday running of the properties to take the group through a farm.

FollowupID: 648851

Follow Up By: Member - G N (VIC) - Tuesday, Sep 01, 2009 at 10:29

Tuesday, Sep 01, 2009 at 10:29
Hi Maf

you are right they havnt broken the law, but the law has not managed to keep up with their well organised way to take such vast amounts of water.
also they stop most of their water BEFORE it gets to the river system so therefore do NOT have to comply with DIVERSION laws!

GN

I know we all have different opionons but it is alarming how many have the whole sitution summed up incorrectly.

this was meant to be a fun post to see who had any reasons to sugest when the river may next flood and now its become a negative winge.

when this river floods there is no dam, weir, or irrigation diverion that will stop it!

FollowupID: 648861

Reply By: Fred G NSW - Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 09:13

Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 09:13
In Sept. 2007, we were in a C/P in Mildura, and our neighbour was a fruit grower from Renmark. He had just picked up a new caravan in Mildura, and was putting it through it's paces before taking it home.
The river and the water came up in conversation, and he told me that a lot of landholders in the Riverland were making more money from selling their water allocations to the bigger growers, than from any fruit they could grow.
AnswerID: 381221

Reply By: DIO - Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 09:33

Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 09:33
Which Murray are you referring to ? If it's the River Murray (of Murray Darling fame/notoriety) then probably never (in our life-time). Too much water being taken out upstream of it and it's tributarys.
AnswerID: 381225

Reply By: OREJAP - Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 12:50

Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 12:50
What I do not understand is this, we are in drought yet more & more housing estates are popping up. At least 2 bathrooms to each house where is the water coming from to service these properties? Fellow Victorians & visitors to our state, drive along the Mansfield Jamieson Road & turn right into the Goughs bay area (There a spot called "the Pines" pine plantations) We once camped there and launched our boats and skiied all day. Twenty years ago. Go there today & no one camps there it is a 15 minute drive to the edge of the Eildon weir (sorry that was about 5 years ago) to stand in this wonderful spot & show "city" people to where the water once was they are just amazed at the dust bowl that now exists. Someone told me today that Safeway are now selling bottled water from China!!! Maybe KRUDD can buy a heap & tip it into our waterways!!!
AnswerID: 381248

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 13:36

Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 13:36
I'm no expert, but can't see a proper flood (like 1956) ever happening again. Its hard to see minor floods happening either.

Problems (IMO):
Too much groundwater being pulled from all over the country - especially for mining. Groundwater is often perceived as "free" but heavy rains often replenish groundwater before rivers.
Too much being pulled to irrigate ARID country - not just Queensland - look at the Hay Plain, Bourke, MIA, Riverland etc
Evaporative losses from artificial lakes and flooded crops. Lake Alexandrina loses as much water in evaporation as Cubby uses.
Dams and Wiers largely control flooding.
AnswerID: 381257

Follow Up By: get outmore - Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 13:51

Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 13:51
depending on the areas - there is far more groundwater now than ever due to clear felling for farming. This has resulted in rising water tables and land salinisation. and has increased salinization of SW rivers which have their source in the weatbelt

This is obviosly not the case everywhere and in the Perth Area the water is quite usable so has been drained to an extent it effects wetlands and cave systems

Yet further east diposal of groundwater from mining activities can be a big problem as there is so much of it. Most of it is competely unusable for all but comercial use . even then its use must be properly contained as it will kill all vegetation far quicker than ariel roundup spraying
FollowupID: 648689

Follow Up By: Member - Amy G (SA) - Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 19:13

Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 19:13
Warning - This answer is coming from a Hydrologist :-)

There are two sides to the salinity story- dryland and irrigation. While dryland salinity (caused by removal of deep rooted native vegetation and subsequent rise of the water table) is responsible for some of the salinity problem in this country, a large amount is also caused by irrigation salinity- that is, rise of the water table caused by increased recharge from irrigation sources. Clearly, these two factors are more often than not coupled; land is cleared of native vegetation, shallow-rooted crops are planted and then irrigated by surface water which in time can lead to dramatic salinity problems. Additionally, the lack of natural flooding processes due to weirs and river regulation lead to the build up of salts in soil zones. As well as salinity, sodic soils are a huge problem in Australia (around 1/3 of soils are sodic). Sodicity in soils (chemically characterised by an excess of sodium ions with an imbalance of calcium and magnesium or other 2+ ions) leads to problems such as hardsetting, poor plant growth and impermeable layers forming as clay particles swell with the addition of fresh water, and is too exascerbated by the lack of flooding of the land surface. Groundwater use has traditionally been unregulated and thus the true figures regarding consumption are largely unknown. Regardless, excessive groundwater consumption can lead to severe problems including land subsidence, drying of springs and soaks, reduced river flow especially in summer periods when rivers were traditionally sustained by baseflow (yes, that equals less surface water too), loss of vegetation, loss of town water supply, the list goes on.

There has been huge extraction from the Great Artesian Basin (GAB) over the last century, resulting in a considerable loss of pressure from the system. Unfortunately what the mining companies don't tell you is that is takes 2 million (yes, 2 million!) years between when water enters the system via the Great Dividing Range to when it discharges at Lake Eyre. I do know that in the WA goldfields there has been some research done into using Aquifer Storage and Recovery techniques to replenish the groundwater that is extracted for mining operations, though the research is still in its infancy (as is ASR in general actually). Tailings and mining waste disposal is another issue altogether.

Phil G is right- much of the land use in this country is rather stupid (though the processes governing whether water runs to rivers or to groundwater recharge are more complicated). Flooded crops should never have been planted in NSW- just ridiculous! My own view is that the Murray isn't going to flood again unless there is some total freak of an enormous ongoing storm- just too many dams and weirs to fill upstream. As for Queensland, they have made good progress with their reduction of domestic water use via water restrictions, but as with the rest of this country, irrigation practice (and not just on individual farms, but the whole setup of what is planted where in general) leaves a bit to be desired. Leaving you with yet another can of worms!
FollowupID: 648744

Follow Up By: get outmore - Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 19:41

Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 19:41
Thank you for what is often a rareity on forums - an informed coment

couple of questions/comments

Where ive seen salinization at its worst which is weatbelt areas little to no irragation takes place (you dont water weat and brley) but I can see this being an issue in more fertile vege areas

also In the Eastern Goldfields a heck of a lot of water is pumped for the mines both for de watering and mill/other use.
i am no Hydrolagist but i can see no usefull natural purpose for this groundwater. If it gets near the surface it kills everything being hypersaline.
as a layman i see no detrimental effect in returning this groundwater to the water cycle as it supports no springs - is poison to creeks etc

as for aquifer replenishment I worked at a mine that tried it - dewatering and re injection and it was an abysmal failure with the re injection of such massive amounts of water being far too problamatical
FollowupID: 648751

Follow Up By: Member - Amy G (SA) - Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 20:16

Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 20:16
G'Day,

Thanks for your response and questions. In non irrigated areas it is likely that the biggest cause of salinity that's going to stop cropping is the dryland type - the removal of deep-rooted native vegetation as you mentioned. However, Australia is an old, salty place in general and it has only been in somewhat recent times that people have really understood the processes that govern salinity. Some researchers believe that natural cyclic rise of groundwater is the largest contributor to salinity in Australian soils (other sources of salt include weathering of minerals eg feldspars and marine salt that evaporates and is blown inland and deposited several hundred km from the coast) and well, I probably wouldn't argue with them myself- Australia was always salty, just had natural flushing processes to clear the salt out of the top soil horizons. The biggest issue now is management and really, it is exceedingly complicated as you are aware.

I agree with you that it is preferable to use saline groundwater for mining operations as they do in the WA Goldfields. The water is extracted from considerable depth and it is unlikely that it would have ever reached the surface under natural conditions. Some trials have been conducted (particularly in the Murray in South Australia, where there is a salt interception scheme) with disposal of saline water into disposal basins for evaporation. I am not sure how they dispose of mine waste water other than in the tailings dam to be honest, but if excessive quantities of saline water are a problem as you describe then an evaporation pan might be an option.

Yep, ASR is definitely a tricky kettle of fish! Unfortunately there are problems with 1. loss of the injected water due to natural movement of water through the aquifer, 2. mixing of the injected fresh water and the more saline aquifer water via convection, and 3. biological processes causing clogging of the pore spaces in the aquifer material, preventing injection. There is considerable research being conducted at present into all of these processes for more efficient and reliable ASR schemes- hopefully it will become a more viable idea as it's really quite a sensible one. I can imagine that attempting to rectify a dewatering scheme would be a nightmare- not surprised it failed. Hopefully one day it will be a viable option.

FollowupID: 648763

Follow Up By: get outmore - Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 22:13

Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 22:13
the most common ways of getting rid of minewater is into ld disused open pits and more difficult for approval is into saltlakes

besides using it in treatment plants and ultimtly tailings dams
FollowupID: 648799

Reply By: Member - Scoof (SA) - Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 16:49

Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 16:49
I am surprised no one has mentioned all the stone age earth channels through out Vic and NSW.

They loose more water from seepage and evaporation than Adelaide uses each year.

If the Vic and NSW gov was serous about water saving it would be a great way to start.Put it in pipes like SA did decades ago.At least that way things are metered proplerly can't just jam a stick in the water wheel to stop it from metering water flow.

I will shut up now.
AnswerID: 381290

Reply By: patto - Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 17:52

Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 17:52
It will only flow properly again when my grandmother gets a proper job
AnswerID: 381298

Reply By: Peter W - Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 18:58

Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 18:58
As the Murray is now a regulated river with the various lock systems the best guess is it will NEVER be allowed to flood again.
It should not be allowed either as I was living by it in 1956 and it was no fun.
AnswerID: 381316

Follow Up By: Member - Scoof (SA) - Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 19:29

Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 19:29
But the lock were there in 56
FollowupID: 648747

Follow Up By: Member - Amy G (SA) - Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 20:28

Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 20:28
While the 10 locks were there by 1956, further development was undertaken including the 4000GL storage of Dartmouth Dam during the 1970s. Additionally, there has since been increasing demand for water due to increased population size and greater irrigation demand. I personally don't think another flood is very likely at all.
FollowupID: 648766

Reply By: Buggerlux - Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 22:33

Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 22:33
Does anyone think the water catchment dams for drinking in the east are in the wrong spot these days?

Its not like Queensland didnt get any rain the past 12 months. A shame it couldnt have been collected for irrigation?
AnswerID: 381370

Follow Up By: Buggerlux - Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 22:36

Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 22:36
I should also mention there is considered 1 in 100 year flood theory. Its worth a read.
FollowupID: 648807

Follow Up By: Buggerlux - Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 22:39

Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 22:39
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/100-year_flood
FollowupID: 648809

Follow Up By: maf - Tuesday, Sep 01, 2009 at 06:53

Tuesday, Sep 01, 2009 at 06:53
Unfortuantely most of the high rainfall amounts were along the Queensland coast and in North Queensland. The areas of the Murray Darling catchment had well below average rainfall amounts.
FollowupID: 648833