Oil Changes in a 4 stroke generator - if not used

Submitted: Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 16:52
ThreadID: 71925 Views:3519 Replies:5 FollowUps:2
I have a Yamaha EFi 1kva generator. I don't think I have actually started it in a year. Will be using it when going away twice in the next two months.

Should I change the oil if it hasn't been used or do you change only on use hours?

Probably oil has been used about 2hrs since last oil change 12 months ago.

I don't have a manual for it.

Reply By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 17:14

Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 17:14
If you go here: Yamaha Manuals and select Generators in the first box then hit the Search button it'll return all the manuals on that site for Yamaha generators.

Just select yours from the list and you'll know the answer to your question!

AnswerID: 381292

Follow Up By: Member - Porl - Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 17:18

Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 17:18
About time, I was looking for ages for the manual a few years ago and nowhere to be found on planet earth. Thanks heaps.
FollowupID: 648720

Reply By: Member - Mike W (NSW) - Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 20:06

Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 20:06
Hi Porl,

I was in similiar predicament with my Honda. To my thinking, The oil was cheap so I just replaced it .

It hasnt missed a beat and as far as I know you cant do it any harm by over replacing.

Cheers Mike
AnswerID: 381334

Reply By: Secret Mens Business - Tuesday, Sep 01, 2009 at 11:31

Tuesday, Sep 01, 2009 at 11:31
Changing the oil is so simple you should do it.
AnswerID: 381412

Reply By: Member - ross m (WA) - Tuesday, Sep 01, 2009 at 13:04

Tuesday, Sep 01, 2009 at 13:04
Oil should be good for a couple of years.
I think it only takes a cup full LOL

Ive changed the oil once in my yam 1000. I left the fuel turned on and it somehow filled the oil with petrol
AnswerID: 381432

Follow Up By: GimmeeIsolation - Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 13:50

Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 13:50
Sorry, very wrong. Having trained in Oil Analysis as a Mobile Fleet Maintenance Planner in Mining and being a Diesel Fitter by trade I can tell you oil does lose it's properties with this amount of time. If you want your gear to last, change it. Why quibble over a very small cost for an expensive item to replace. People have mowers that go for years without changing ( others, not me ) but that does not mean it is the correct way to go. Oil picks up moisture and begins to break down even in the sump of the generator not used. If you want proof, get an Oil Analysis kit from CAT or Komatsu and send it in. Don't bother with those ridiculous self test kits people try to flog - and there is a correct way to get your sample. You can get many blokes testing the same oil for different results if the correct, clean procedures are not followed. A kit from CAT or Komatsu will give you plenty of forewarning of which components are wearing by the type of metals present and any dirt/moisture/coolant ( if applicable ) ingress and if any fueling/air problems are present. I would not bother testing my small 2kV Honda Generator but this advise is for vehicles or anything expensive thats mechanical. Even the driveline components can be tested to give you trends and a lot of forewarning of a failure. Oils aint Oils Sol !
FollowupID: 649343

Reply By: Member - Paul M (VIC) - Wednesday, Sep 02, 2009 at 07:45

Wednesday, Sep 02, 2009 at 07:45
Coz ya want it when ya need it!

Run for 10 min. every month with a load on.
Keep the fuel tank full.
Change the oil every 3 months if little use.

Mine gets plenty of use, hook it into the house circuit (using sparky installed switch) when power fails.
Been a few this winter in S Gippy! ;=}
AnswerID: 381563